DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: “said component having a data storage element for storing parameter data associated with the component; and a table controller for receiving the parameter data from the component when the component is attached to the main platform” should be “[[said]] the at least one component having a data storage element for storing parameter data associated with the at least one component; and a table controller for receiving the parameter data from the at least one component when the at least one component is attached to the main platform” in lines 3-6. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities: “(a) an identification designator that uniquely identifies the component; (b) compatibility requirements of the component for use with the surgical table; (c) dimensional information of the component; (d) weight information of the component; (e) location of center of gravity of the component; and (f) safety information for the component” should be “(a) an identification designator that uniquely identifies the at least one component; (b) compatibility requirements of the at least one component for use with the surgical table; (c) dimensional information of the at least one component; (d) weight information of the at least one component; (e) location of center of gravity of the at least one component; and (f) safety information for the at least one component” in lines 3-8. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 objected to because of the following informalities: “said dimensional information” should be “[[said]] the dimensional information” in line 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities: “(1) collision avoidance behavior based on the dimensional information of the component; (2) stability assessment and response based on the weight information and the location of the center of gravity of the component, (3) selectively enabling/disabling control features based on the parameter data; and (4) updating a configured table image shown on a display unit to display an accurate representation of the components currently attached to surgical table” should be “(1) collision avoidance behavior based on the dimensional information of the at least one component; (2) stability assessment and response based on the weight information and the location of the center of gravity of the at least one component, (3) selectively enabling/disabling control features based on the parameter data; and (4) updating a configured table image shown on a display unit to display an accurate representation of the at least one component the surgical table” in lines 3-9. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the component and the main platform of the surgical table include respective control interfaces for electrically connecting the data storage element of the component with the table controller when the component is attached to the main platform of the surgical table” should be “wherein the at least one component and the main platform of the surgical table include respective control interfaces for electrically connecting the data storage element of the at least one component with the table controller when the at least one component is attached to the main platform of the surgical table” in lines 1-4. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the data storage element is electrically connected with the table controller via a wired communications interface when the component is attached to the main platform of the surgical table” should be “wherein the data storage element is electrically connected with the table controller via a wired communications interface when the at least one component is attached to the main platform of the surgical table” in lines 1-3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities: “parameter data” should be “the parameter data” in line 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 objected to because of the following informalities: “the component” should be “the at least one component” in line 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the surgical table further comprises a user control that includes a display having a configured table image showing components attached to the main platform of the surgical table, said configured table image updated by the table controller as components are attached and detached from the main platform” should be “wherein the surgical table further comprises a user control that includes a display having a configured table image showing the at least one component the at least one component . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 objected to because of the following informalities: “the component” should be “the at least one component” in line 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 14 is also rejected due to its dependency on claim 13.
Regarding claim 12, the limitation “at least one component”, “another component”, and “all component” is unclear. Examiner is unsure if it is the same component from claim 1 or if claim 12 is introducing a new component that connects with another new component in a daisy chain configuration. Examiner examined this claim as best understood.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation “a seat section”, “back section”, and “a component” is unclear. Examiner is unsure if it is the seat section, back section, and component from claim 1 or if claim 13 is introducing a new seat section, back section, and component. Examiner examined this claim as best understood.
Regarding claim 15, the limitation “a seat section” and “a component” is unclear. Examiner is unsure if it is the seat section and component from claim 1 or if claim 15 is introducing a new seat section and component. Examiner examined this claim as best understood.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation “a back section” and “a component” is unclear. Examiner is unsure if it is the back section and component from claim 1 or if claim 16 is introducing a new back section and component. Examiner examined this claim as best understood.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the mechanical interface of the seat section" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the control interface of the seat section" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-10, 13-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bernotsky et al. (US 20210289032 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Bernotsky et al. discloses a surgical table (1 – figure 1, a surgical table: paragraph 0044) comprising: a main platform (4/5 – figure 1, a seat plate [4] and back plate [5]: paragraph 0044) including a seat section (4 – figure 1, a seat plate: paragraph 0044) and a back section (5 – figure 1, a back plate: paragraph 0044); at least one component (6/7/8 – figure 1, a head plate [6] and a leg plate [7] that each have a remote node [8]: paragraph 0045-0046) that is attachable to the main platform (4/5) (figure 1, the head plate [6] and leg plate [7] of the at least one component comprising the remote node [8] are detachable to the surgical table [1] comprising the main platform [4/5]: paragraph 0045-0046), said component (6/7/8) having a data storage element (20 – figure 1, a memory device: paragraph 0060) for storing parameter data associated with the component (6/7/8) (figure 2/figure 3, the data storage element [20] stores identification data of the component [6/7/8]: paragraph 0047/0060); and a table controller (9 – figure 1, a controller configured to control functions of the surgical table [1]: paragraph 0049) for receiving the parameter data from the component (6/7/8) when the component (6/7/8) is attached to the main platform (4/5) (figure 2/figure 3, the table controller [9] receives parameter data from the component [6/7/8] via data aggregation node [10 – figure 2]: paragraph 0053-0054), said main controller (9) providing enhanced control features in accordance with the received parameter data (the table controller [9] provides enhanced control features [such as the correct accessories and components {6/7/8} needed] depending on surgery planned in the hospital; additionally, the enhanced control features include a collision avoidance behavior based on identification data of the component [6/7/8]: paragraph 0018/0062-0064).
Regarding claim 2, Bernotsky et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Bernotsky et al. further discloses wherein the parameter data includes one or more of the following:(a) an identification designator that uniquely identifies the component; (b) compatibility requirements of the component for use with the surgical table; (c) dimensional information of the component; (d) weight information of the component; (e) location of center of gravity of the component; and (f) safety information for the component (figure 2, the parameter data includes identification data of the components [6/7/8]: paragraph 0060/0062).
Regarding claim 4, Bernotsky et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Bernotsky et al. further discloses wherein the enhanced control features include one or more of the following: (1) collision avoidance behavior based on the dimensional information of the component (6/7/8); (2) stability assessment and response based on the weight information and the location of the center of gravity of the component (6/7/8), (3) selectively enabling/disabling control features based on the parameter data; and (4) updating a configured table image shown on a display unit to display an accurate representation of the components currently attached to surgical table (1) (the enhanced control features include a collision avoidance behavior based on identification data of the component [6/7/8]: paragraph 0018).
Regarding claim 6, Bernotsky et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Bernotsky et al. further discloses wherein the component (6/7/8) and the main platform (4/5) of the surgical table (1) include respective control interfaces (19 – figure 3, a wireless interface: paragraph 0059) for electrically connecting the data storage element (20) of the component (6/7/8) with the table controller (9) when the component (6/7/8) is attached to the main platform (4/5) of the surgical table (1) (figure 2/figure 3, the data aggregation node [10] and the remote nodes [8] comprising the data storage element [20] exchange data via wireless or wired communication and the data aggregation node [10] also exchanges system data with the table controller [9] of the surgical table [1] via wireless or wired communication; furthermore, the control interfaces [19] serves for data exchange with another remote node of the component [8] or with the data aggregation node [10]: paragraph 0007/0053-0055/0059-0060).
Regarding claim 7, Bernotsky et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Bernotsky et al. further discloses wherein the data storage element (20) is electrically connected with the table controller (9) via a wired communications interface when the component (6/7/8) is attached to the main platform (4/5) of the surgical table (1) (figure 2/figure 3, the data aggregation node [10] and the remote nodes [8] comprising the data storage element [20] exchange data via wired communication and the data aggregation node [10] also exchanges system data with the table controller [9] of the surgical table [1] via wired communication: paragraph 0007/0053-0055/0060).
Regarding claim 8, Bernotsky et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Bernotsky et al. further discloses wherein the data storage element (20) transmits parameter data to the table controller (9) via a wireless communications interface (figure 2/figure 3, the data aggregation node [10] and the remote nodes [8] comprising the data storage element [20] exchange data via wireless communication and the data aggregation node [10] also exchanges system data with the table controller [9] of the surgical table [1] via wireless communication: paragraph 0007/0053-0055/0060).
Regarding claim 9, Bernotsky et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 8. Bernotsky et al. further discloses wherein the component (6/7/8) includes a wireless transmitter for transmitting the parameter data to a wireless receiver in communication with the table controller (9) (figure 2/figure 3, the remote note [8] and data aggregation node [10] comprises a transmitter and/or receiver for radio communication and the aggregation node [10] comprises at least one of a transmitter and a receiver for radio communication to the table controller [9]: paragraph 0007/0053-0055).
Regarding claim 10, Bernotsky et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 9. Bernotsky et al. further discloses wherein the wireless transmitter and wireless receiver use one of the following for wireless communications protocols: Bluetooth, near-field communication (NFC), and radio frequency identification (RFID) (the wireless transmitter and wireless receiver uses near-field-communication, Bluetooth, or radio communication [radio frequency identification]: paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 13, Bernotsky et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Bernotsky et al. further discloses wherein said main platform (4/5) includes a seat section (4 – figure 1, a seat plate: paragraph 0044) and a back section (5 – figure 1, a back plate: paragraph 0044), wherein said seat section (4) and back sections (5) include: a mechanical interface for mechanically connecting a component (6/7/8 – figure 1, a head plate [6] and a leg plate [7] that each have a remote node [8]: paragraph 0045-0046) thereto (figure 1, there is a mechanical interface that allows the seat section [4] to mechanically connect to the leg plate [7] and allows the back section [5] to mechanically connect to the head plate [6]; also, since the component [6/7/8] is attachable and detachable from the main platform [4/5], it is inherent that there is some kind of a mechanical interface: paragraph 0045-0046); and a control interface for electrically connecting a component (6/7/8) to the table controller (9) (figure 2/figure 3, the component [6/7/8] is electrically connected to the table controller [9] via the data aggregation node [10]; the data aggregation node [10] and the remote nodes [8] exchange data via wireless or wired communication and the data aggregation node [10] also exchanges system data with the table controller [9] of the surgical table [1] via wireless or wired communication: paragraph 0007/0053-0055).
Regarding claim 14, Bernotsky et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 13. Bernotsky et al. further discloses wherein said component (6/7/8) includes: a mechanical interface for mechanically connecting the component (6/7/8) to the main platform (4/5) (figure 1, there is a mechanical interface that allows the component [6/7/8] to mechanically connect to the main platform [4/5]; also, since the component [6/7/8] is attachable and detachable from the main platform [4/5], it is inherent that there is some kind of a mechanical interface between the structures: paragraph 0045-0046); and a control interface for electrically connecting the component (6/7/8) to the table controller (9) (figure 2/figure 3, the component [6/7/8] is electrically connected to the table controller [9] via the data aggregation node [10]; the data aggregation node [10] and the remote nodes [8] exchange data via wireless or wired communication and the data aggregation node [10] also exchanges system data with the table controller [9] of the surgical table [1] via wireless or wired communication: paragraph 0007/0053-0055).
Regarding claim 15, Bernotsky et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Bernotsky et al. further discloses wherein said main platform (4/5) comprises: a seat section (4 – figure 1, a seat plate: paragraph 0044), wherein said seat section (4) includes a mechanical interface for mechanically connecting a component (7/8 – figure 1, a leg plate [7] that has a remote node [8]: paragraph 0045-0046) thereto (figure 1, there is a mechanical interface that allows the component [7/8] to mechanically connect to the seat section [4]; also, since the component [7/8] is attachable and detachable from the seat section [4], it is inherent that there is some kind of a mechanical interface between the structures: paragraph 0045-0046) and a control interface for electrically connecting a component (7/8) to the table controller (9) (figure 2/figure 3, the component [7/8] is electrically connected to the table controller [9] via the data aggregation node [10]; the data aggregation node [10] and the remote nodes [8] exchange data via wireless or wired communication and the data aggregation node [10] also exchanges system data with the table controller [9] of the surgical table [1] via wireless or wired communication: paragraph 0007/0053-0055), said component (7/8) comprising: a mechanical interface adapted to mate with the mechanical interface of the seat section (4) (figure 1, there is a mechanical interface that allows the component [7/8] to mechanically mate with the seat section [4]; also, since the component [7/8] is attachable and detachable from the seat section [4], it is inherent that there is some kind of a mechanical interface between the structures: paragraph 0045-0046); and a control interface for electrically connecting with the control interface of the seat section (4) (figure 2/figure 3, the component [7/8] is electrically connected to the table controller [9] via the data aggregation node [10]; the data aggregation node [10] and the remote nodes [8] exchange data via wireless or wired communication and the data aggregation node [10] also exchanges system data with the table controller [9] of the surgical table [1] comprising the seat section [4] via wireless or wired communication: paragraph 0007/0053-0055).
Regarding claim 16, Bernotsky et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Bernotsky et al. further discloses wherein said main platform (4/5) includes a back section (5 – figure 1, a back plate: paragraph 0044), wherein said back section (5) includes a mechanical interface for mechanically connecting a component (6/7/8 – figure 1, a head plate [6] and leg plate [7] that has a remote node [8]: paragraph 0045-0046) thereto (figure 1, there is a mechanical interface that allows the head plate component [6] to mechanically connect to the back section [5]; also, since the component [6/7/8] is attachable and detachable from the main platform [4/5], it is inherent that there is some kind of a mechanical interface between the structures: paragraph 0045-0046) and a control interface for electrically connecting a component (6/7) to the table controller (9) (figure 2/figure 3, the component [6/7/8] is electrically connected to the table controller [9] via the data aggregation node [10]; the data aggregation node [10] and the remote nodes [8] exchange data via wireless or wired communication and the data aggregation node [10] also exchanges system data with the table controller [9] of the surgical table [1] via wireless or wired communication: paragraph 0007/0053-0055), said component (6/7/8) comprising: a mechanical interface adapted to mate with the mechanical interface of the seat section (figure 1, there is a mechanical interface that allows the leg plate component [7] to mechanically mate with the seat section [4]; also, since the component [6/7/8] is attachable and detachable from the seat section [4], it is inherent that there is some kind of a mechanical interface between the structures: paragraph 0045-0046); and a control interface for electrically connecting with the control interface of the seat section (4) (figure 2/figure 3, the component [6/7/8] is electrically connected to the table controller [9] via the data aggregation node [10]; the data aggregation node [10] and the remote nodes [8] exchange data via wireless or wired communication and the data aggregation node [10] also exchanges system data with the table controller [9] of the surgical table [1] comprising the seat section [4] via wireless or wired communication: paragraph 0007/0053-0055).
Regarding claim 19, Bernotsky et al. discloses a method of operating a surgical table (1 – figure 1, a surgical table: paragraph 0044), said method comprising: receiving parameter data from a component (6/7/8 – figure 1, a head plate [6] and a leg plate [7] that each have a remote node [8]: paragraph 0045-0046) attached to the surgical table (1) (figure 2, a table controller [9 – figure 2] receives parameter data from the component [6/7/8] via data aggregation node [10 – figure 2]: paragraph 0053-0054); providing enhanced control features of the surgical table (1) in accordance with the received parameter data (the table controller [9] provides enhanced control features [such as the correct accessories and components {6/7/8} needed] depending on surgery planned in the hospital; additionally, the enhanced control features include a collision avoidance behavior based on identification data of the component [6/7/8]: paragraph 0018/0062-0064).
Regarding claim 20, Bernotsky et al. discloses the method as discussed in claim 19. Bernotsky et al. further discloses wherein the parameter data received from the component includes one or more of the following:(a) an identification designator that uniquely identifies the component;(b) compatibility requirements of the component for use with the surgical table;(c) dimensional information of the component;(d) weight information of the component;(e) location of center of gravity of the component; and(f) safety information for the component (figure 2, the parameter data includes identification data of the components [6/7/8]: paragraph 0060/0062).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernotsky et al. (US 20210289032 A1) in view of Hempel (US 20200188206 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Bernotsky et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 2.
However, Bernotsky et al. fails to disclose wherein said dimensional information includes one or more of the following: size, length, width, height, thickness, and shape.
Hempel teaches analogous parameter data wherein said dimensional information includes one or more of the following: size, length, width, height, thickness, and shape (figure 2/figure 3, the controller [8 – figure 1] retrieves stored data of the bounding boxes and further bounding boxes of the internal physical model and can calculate transformed data of actual positions and orientations of the bounding boxes to avoid collisions of components: paragraph 0048-0052).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included in the parameter data of Bernotsky et al. with dimensional information including one or more of size, length, width, height, thickness, and shape as taught by Hempel in order to provide a surgical table that has an improved parameter data to prevent collisions between components of the surgical table (paragraph 0055-0060, Hempel).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernotsky et al. (US 20210289032 A1) in view of Kneale et al. (US 20090119834 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Bernotsky et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
However, Bernotsky et al. fails to disclose wherein the data storage element is a non-volatile memory (NVM) device.
Kneale et al. teaches wherein an analogous data storage element is a non-volatile memory (NVM) device (a non-volatile memory intended for storage: paragraph 0063).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the data storage element of Bernotsky et al. to be a non-volatile memory device taught by Kneale et al. in order to provide a surgical table that has an improved data storage element that would allow storage of data even when disconnected from a power source (paragraph 0063, Kneale et al.).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernotsky et al. (US 20210289032 A1) in view of Hertz et al. (US 20190262204 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Bernotsky et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
However, Bernotsky et al. fails to disclose wherein the surgical table further comprises a user control that includes a display having a configured table image showing components attached to the main platform of the surgical table, said configured table image updated by the table controller as components are attached and detached from the main platform.
Hertz et al. teaches wherein an analogous surgical table (10D – figure 31, a patient support apparatus: paragraph 0226) further comprises a user control that includes a display (180/182 – figure 31, a graphical user interface [180, GUI] that includes a screen [182] for display of graphical images and text: paragraph 0218/0226/0234) having a configured table image showing analogous components (228D – figure 31, a padding on top of the surgical table [224D]: paragraph 0234) attached to an analogous main platform (226D – figure 31, a lateral frame: paragraph 0234) of the analogous surgical table (10D) (the components [228D] is attached to the main platform [226D] via rail frame [20 – figure 2]: paragraph 0168), said configured table image updated by an analogous table controller (184 – figure 120, a control system coupled with the display [180]: paragraph 0219) as components (228D) are attached and detached from the analogous main platform (226D) (figure 31/figure 47, the display [180] is updated as components [228D] are attached and detached from the main platform [226D]: paragraph 0234/0255).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the surgical table of Bernotsky et al. to have a user control that includes a display having a configured table image showing components attached to the main platform of the surgical table, said configured table image updated by the table controller as components are attached and detached from the main platform as taught by Hertz et al. in order to provide an improved surgical table that allows interactive user-input and to allow users to easily see the current positions of the components of the surgical table (paragraph 0218/0225-0226, Hertz et al.).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernotsky et al. (US 20210289032 A1) in view of Hazlett et al. (US 12117334 B1).
Regarding claim 12, Bernotsky et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
However, Bernotsky et al. fails to disclose wherein at least one component is adapted to connect with another component in a daisy chain configuration, whereby the table controller receives respective parameter data from all components in the daisy chain configuration.
Hazlett et al. teaches wherein at least one component is adapted to connect with another component in a daisy chain configuration (106 – figure 5A, a sensor sub-system that are daisy chained together: column 6, lines 32-43), whereby an analogous table controller (110 – figure 1A, one or more controllers: column 1, lines 65-67 & column 2, lines 1-16/column 9, lines 51-58) receives respective parameter data from all components (106) in the daisy chain configuration (the controller [110] communicates to the components [106] and receives parameter data: column 1, lines 65-67 & column 2, lines 1-16).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the table controller of Bernotsky et al. to have at least one component adapted to connect with another component in a daisy chain configuration, whereby the table controller receives respective parameter data from all components in the daisy chain configuration as taught by Hazlett et al. in order to provide a surgical table that has an improved table controller to allow the table controller to communicatively couple to all components and execute an action based on the data, while simplifying wiring configurations (column 1, lines 65-67 & column 2/ column 6, lines 32-43, lines 1-16, Hazlett et al.).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernotsky et al. (US 20210289032 A1) in view of Pennington et al. (US 6038718 A).
Regarding claim 17, Bernotsky et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Bernotsky et al. further discloses wherein wireless communications are used to transmit the parameter data to the table controller (9) (figure 2/figure 3, the data aggregation node [10] and the remote nodes [8] exchange data via wired or wireless communication and the data aggregation node [10] also exchanges system data with the table controller [9] of the surgical table [1] via wired or wireless communication: paragraph 0007/0053-0055).
However, Bernotsky et al. fails to disclose wherein said main platform includes at least one rail adapted for attaching a component to the surgical table.
Pennington et al. teaches wherein an analogous main platform (14/16/18/20 – figure 1, head section [14], back section [16], seat section [18], and leg section [20]: column 4, lines 64-67 & column 5, lines 1-5) includes at least one rail (102/104 – figure 11, side rails: column 7, lines 36-45) adapted for attaching a component to an analogous surgical table (10 – figure 1, surgical table: column 4, lines 64-67 & column 5, lines 1-5) (the rail [102/104] is for mounting accessories [components]: column 7, lines 36-45).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided main platform of Bernotsky et al. with at least one rail as taught by Pennington et al. in order to provide a surgical table that has an improved main platform that allows clinicians to mount additional accessories onto the main platform (column 7, lines 36-45, Pennington et al.).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernotsky et al. (US 20210289032 A1) in view of Durlach et al. (WO 2020264140 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Bernotsky et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
However, Bernotsky et al. fails to disclose wherein said table controller increments a usage counter for the component.
Durlach et al. teaches wherein an analogous table controller (48 – figure 2, a controller that includes a usage monitor [77 – figure 2]: paragraph 00193) increments a usage counter for the component (any components such as the siderails, actuators, etc.: paragraph 00194) (the table controller [48] has a data logger that keeps track of the number of times each component are moved, activated, or otherwise, used: paragraph 00194).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the table controller of Bernotsky et al. with a usage counter for the component as taught by Durlach et al. in order to provide a surgical table that has an improved table controller that allows users or caregivers to monitor the usage of components and to determine whether servicing of the components are required to ensure proper function (paragraph 00193-00194, Durlach et al.).
Conclusion
/ANDREW JUN-WAI MOK/Examiner, Art Unit 3786
/KARI K RODRIQUEZ/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786