DETAILED ACTION
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claims 29-40, drawn to “an intermediate abutment”.
Group II, claims 41-56 drawn to “a dental system”.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Group I-II lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of “an intermediate abutment comprising: a prosthetic connection which extends along a prosthetic connection axis, an upper pillar extending along a pillar axis, the upper pillar comprising a frustoconical outer surface around the pillar axis, the frustoconical outer surface comprising at least two planar surfaces; a shoulder located between the prosthetic connection and the upper pillar; wherein the upper pillar comprises an inner threaded portion configured to receive a screw; and at least one scan mark located in one of the planar surfaces”, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Cuesta (US 20210186666 A1), further in view of Choi (KR 102243831 B1); please see the attached translation.
Cuesta teaches an intermediate abutment (Figure 6 and [0042]) comprising: a prosthetic connection which extends along a prosthetic connection axis, an upper pillar extending along a pillar axis, the upper pillar comprising a frustoconical outer surface around the pillar axis, the frustoconical outer surface comprising at least two planar surfaces; a shoulder located between the prosthetic connection and the upper pillar; wherein the upper pillar comprises an inner threaded portion (6a) configured to receive a screw (e.g. 3a Figure 3) (see Annotated Figure 6 and 14-15 and [0042]). Cuesta fails to disclose “and at least one scan mark located in one of the planar surfaces”.
Choi discloses an intermediate abutment (200) comprising: a prosthetic connection which extends along a prosthetic connection axis, an upper pillar (230) extending along a pillar axis, the upper pillar comprising a frustoconical outer surface around the pillar axis (Figure 2), the frustoconical outer surface comprising at least one scan mark located in one planar surface (232, see Figure 2 and [0060]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify Cuesta’s intermediate abutment to add at least one scan mark located in one planar surface, since such modification would add the functionality of a scanning surface to which digital coordinates are applied, while simultaneously performing a role of preventing rotation.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
During a telephone conversation with Brian Cash on 09/25/2026 a provisional election was made with traverse to prosecute the invention of claims 29-40. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 41-56 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/28/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the subject matter of claim 38, “wherein the upper portion forms a first angle with respect to the prosthetic connection axis and the bottom portion forms a second angle with respect to the prosthetic connection axis, the second angle being different from the first angle”, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as "Annotated Sheet" and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the corrected drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 36–38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 36 and 37 recite ““the pillar”, there is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation; it is unclear if said pillar refers back to the upper pillar or the lower pillar previously recited in the claims.
Claim 37 recite “wherein the prosthetic connection axis forms an angle smaller than 45° with respect to the pillar axis”; it is unclear if said angle is formed between the axis or if it is formed between a bevel surface on the upper pillar and the prosthetic connection axis, as disclosed in page 5 of the Specification.
Claim 38 recites “wherein the frustoconical outer surface comprises an upper portion and a lower portion, wherein the upper portion forms a first angle with respect to the prosthetic connection axis and the bottom portion forms a second angle with respect to the prosthetic connection axis, the second angle being different from the first angle”. It is unclear where the first angle and second angle are formed. The Examiner notes that said “frustoconical outer surface” is initially recited in claim 29 as being the shape of the upper pillar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
103 are summarized as follows:
nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 29-31 and 33-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cuesta (US 20210186666 A1) in view of Choi (KR 102243831 B1); please see the attached translation and the PTO 892 form.
Regarding claim 29, Cuesta teaches an intermediate abutment (Figure 6 and [0042]) comprising: a prosthetic connection which extends along a prosthetic connection axis, an upper pillar extending along a pillar axis, the upper pillar comprising a frustoconical outer surface around the pillar axis, the frustoconical outer surface comprising at least two planar surfaces; a shoulder located between the prosthetic connection and the upper pillar; wherein the upper pillar comprises an inner threaded portion (6a) configured to receive a screw (e.g. 3a Figure 3) (see Annotated Figures 6 and 14-15 and [0042]). Cuesta fails to disclose “and at least one scan mark located in one of the planar surfaces”.
Choi discloses an intermediate abutment (200) comprising: a prosthetic connection which extends along a prosthetic connection axis, an upper pillar (230) extending along a pillar axis, the upper pillar comprising a frustoconical outer surface around the pillar axis (Figure 2), the frustoconical outer surface comprising at least one scan mark located in one planar surface (232, see Figure 2 and [0060]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify Cuesta’s intermediate abutment to add at least one scan mark located in one planar surface, since such modification would add the functionality of a scanning surface to which digital coordinates are applied, while simultaneously performing a role of preventing rotation.
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1. Annotated Figures 6 and 14-15. )]
Regarding claim 30, Cuesta and Choi, as combined above, disclose the invention substantially as claimed. Cuesta discloses wherein the frustoconical outer surface comprises an even number of planar surfaces, wherein each planar surface is parallel to another planar surface (Annotated Figures 6 and 14-15).
Regarding claim 31, Cuesta and Choi, as combined above, disclose the invention substantially as claimed. Cuesta discloses wherein the prosthetic connection comprises a deep portion and a shallow portion, the shallow portion located between the deep portion and the shoulder, wherein the deep portion comprises a deep portion frustoconical surface which forms a first angle with respect to the prosthetic connection axis, and wherein the shallow portion comprises a shallow portion frustoconical surface which forms a second angle with respect to the prosthetic connection axis (Annotated Figure 6). However, Cuesta and Choi fail to specifically disclose a first angle between 0.1° and 2° a second angle between 30° and 60° with respect to the prosthetic connection axis.
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 2. Annotated Figure 6.)]
However, Cuesta discloses the advantage of designing the intermediate abutment having a conical wall to generating friction when connecting the abutment to the implant ([0043]). Therefore, the amount by which these wall taper is a result effective variable, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the wall of the intermediate abutment to have angles 0.1° and 60°, since it has been held that when the general conditions are disclosed in the art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Decreasing or increasing the tapering angles of different sections of the abutment’s wall would effectively meet the needs of an implant which has been design to have corresponding matching structures for a fitting connection. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (See MPEP § 2144.05)
Regarding claim 33, Cuesta and Choi, as combined above, disclose the invention substantially as claimed. Cuesta discloses further comprising a threaded lower pillar (6d) connected to the prosthetic connection and configured to be screwed into an external threaded element ([0043]).
Regarding claim 34, Cuesta and Choi, as combined above, disclose the invention substantially as claimed. Cuesta discloses wherein the intermediate abutment further comprises a retention hole (hole where threads 6a are located) configured to receive a retention screw (e.g. 3a) ([0042]).
Regarding claim 35, Cuesta and Choi, as combined above, disclose the invention substantially as claimed. Cuesta discloses wherein the shoulder comprises a shoulder surface which extends along the prosthetic connection axis (Annotated Figures 6 and 14-15), wherein the shoulder surface comprises at least one of: a frustoconical surface, a concave surface, a convex surface, and a cylindrical surface (e.g. a concave surface).
Regarding claim 36, Cuesta and Choi, as combined above, disclose the invention substantially as claimed. Cuesta discloses wherein the prosthetic connection axis is parallel to the pillar axis or coincident with the pillar axis (Annotated Figures 6 and 14-15).
Regarding claim 37, Cuesta and Choi, as combined above, fail to disclose “wherein the prosthetic connection axis forms an angle smaller than 45° with respect to the pillar axis”.
Choi further teaches that its upper pillar (230) tapers at an angle of e.g. 15° with respect to the longitudinal axis (Figure 4 and [0058]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify Cuesta’s head to make it taper at an angle of less than 45°, since such modification creates a seating structure for a corresponding prosthesis that securely mates with the tapering pillar.
Regarding claim 38, Cuesta and Choi, as combined above, disclose the invention substantially as claimed. Cuesta discloses wherein the frustoconical outer surface comprises an upper portion and a lower portion (Annotated Figure 6 #2, below), wherein the upper portion forms a first angle with respect to the prosthetic connection axis and the bottom portion forms a second angle with respect to the prosthetic connection axis, the second angle being different from the first angle.
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 3. Annotated Figure 6 #2.)]
Claim(s) 32 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cuesta in view of Choi, further in view of DiAngelo (US 20090325125 A1).
Regarding claims 32 and 38, Cuesta and Choi fail to disclose “the upper pillar comprises a bevelled edge” and “wherein the shoulder comprises a peripheral bevelled portion in an end of the shoulder which is closest to the upper pillar”.
DiAngelo discloses a dental abutment to be inserted into the patient's mouth (Abstract). Said abutment comprises edges in contact with soft tissue that are beveled (claim 22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify Cuesta/Choi’s intermediate abutment to make comprising a bevelled edge on the upper pillar and a bevelled portion in an end of the shoulder which is closest to the upper pillar, since such modification would reduce friction and roughness when interacting with soft tissue in the mouth, such as the tongue.
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cuesta in view of Choi, further in view of Suttin (US 20200375705 A1).
Regarding claim 40, Cuesta and Choi fail to disclose “wherein the upper pillar presents a surface roughness that is larger than a surface roughness of a remainder exterior surface of the intermediate abutment”.
Suttin disclose a dental abutment to be inserted into the patient's mouth (Abstract). Said abutment comprises a top surface that is configured to be scanned has a roughened surface having a roughness value of (Ra) from about 0.05 Ra to about 0.5 Ra ([0113]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify Cuesta/Choi’s intermediate abutment to make the upper pillar having a surface roughness that is larger than a surface roughness of a remainder exterior surface, since such modification would increases the scannability of the part having the scan mark ([0113]).
Conclusion
/LUIS RUIZ MARTIN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772