DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This communication is a First Office Action Non-Final Rejection on the merits.
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are currently pending and considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, introduction of “wherein the elastic member has a squeeze rate equal to or less than 30% when an elastic force of the hammer spring in a most significantly compressed state is applied to the elastic member” renders the claim indefinite because, as written, the scope of the claim is uncertain. Specifically, “an elastic force of the hammer spring in a most significantly compressed state is applied to the elastic member” varies based on how much force the motor (thereby hammer) is capable for produce (that is, if an electric tool has a motor with higher power output, it would apply higher elastic force to the elastic member than an electric tool with lower-powered motor). Therefore, the squeeze rate (thereby the scope) may vary. For the purposes of examination, a prior art that reads on claim 1 is understood to read on claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horie to US 2013/0284480 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Horie discloses an electric tool (1, Fig. 1) including
an impact mechanism (20), the impact mechanism comprising at least:
a drive shaft (21);
a hammer (26) having a hammer body (26);
a striking portion (28);
a hammer spring (23); and
an elastic member (o ring 25) sandwiched between the hammer body and the hammer spring (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Horie discloses the electric tool of claim 1, wherein the elastic member has a ring shape (o ring 25 is a ring shape).
Regarding claim 3, Horie discloses the electric tool of claim 1, wherein the hammer body has a groove having a ring shape which is open backward, and the elastic member is housed in the groove (grove upon which the o ring 25 is sandwiched between 26 and 23; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Horie discloses the electric tool of claim 1, further comprising a plate member (washer 24) having a ring shape (washer has a ring shape) between the hammer spring and the elastic member (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Horie discloses the electric tool of claim 1, wherein the elastic member has a squeeze rate equal to or less than 30% when an elastic force of the hammer spring in a most significantly compressed state is applied to the elastic member (see 112b rejection above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horie in view of Furutachi (US 2025/0034357 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Horie discloses the electric tool of claim 1.
Horie does not explicitly disclose wherein the elastic member is made of fluororubber.
However, Furutachi discloses: “Fluororubber compositions have excellent oil resistance and fuel resistance, and are used as sealing molded materials, such as oil seals, O rings, and packings, in a wide range of fields, such as automotive and industrial machinery.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the elastic member, as disclosed by Horie, to be made of fluorubber, as taught by Furutachi, due to its advantages for o rings in machinery.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horie in view of Arroyo (US 2024/0297548 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Horie discloses the electric tool of claim 1.
Horie does not explicitly disclose wherein the elastic member has a hardness equal to or greater than 85 degrees.
However, Arroyo discloses that in a motorized unit 1, an elastic member may comprise a material having a Shore A hardness in the region of 65-90 (“[0010] The o-ring may comprise a material having a Shore A hardness in the region of 65-90” para 10)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the elastic member, as disclosed by Horie, to have a hardness equal to or greater than 85 degrees, as taught by Arroyo, since it has been held that “[i]in the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); in re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Furthermore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have modified the elastic member with a motivation of providing relative resistance to compression in normal use, while also enabling compression in the event of abnormal use (Arroyo para 10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (See PTO-892 Notice of References Cited).
/HIMCHAN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3731