DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claims 3 and 4, it is unclear what would, and would not, be included in the category of “meandering” arrangement, and a “meander-shaped support structure.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 1724481 to Heidrich (hereinafter “Heidrich”).
-From Claim 1: Heidrich discloses a spatially elastic coupling (10) for connecting a driving unit and a driven unit, comprising at least a first and second connecting element (7, 7’) extending radially to the axis of rotation, and at least one rotationally symmetrical torsionally and flexurally elastic stiffness module (16), wherein the first and second connecting elements (7, 7’) are arranged coaxially to one another and are connected by the torsionally and flexurally elastic stiffness module (16), and wherein the torsionally and flexurally elastic stiffness module (16) extends coaxially to the axis of rotation of the coupling and radial, axial and/or angular misalignment between a driving and/or driven unit or another spatially elastic coupling (10) can be compensated for.
-From Claim 2: Heidrich discloses wherein the torsionally and flexurally elastic stiffness module (16) is formed from a plurality of connecting pieces and/or columns in a single or multiple monopteros arrangement or as a cylindrical lattice structure, which coaxially connect the first and second connecting element and is or are arranged rotationally symmetrically (See Figs 4a, 5a, 5b).
-From Claim 3: Heidrich discloses wherein the connecting pieces and/or columns are arranged parallel, V-shaped, X-shaped, meandering and/or multiply crossed. (See Figs 4a, 5a, 5b).
-From Claim 4: Heidrich discloses wherein the connecting pieces and/or columns are manufactured in sandwich construction and the core is formed with a honeycomb structure, foam structure and/or meander-shaped support structure. (See e.g. Fig. 5a)
-From Claim 5: Heidrich discloses wherein at least one torsionally and flexurally elastic stiffness module (16) has a cross-sectional taper or cross-sectional widening in at least one partial portion. (See e.g., Fig. 5b)
-From Claim 6: Heidrich discloses wherein at least the torsionally and flexurally elastic stiffness module (16) is made of steel, titanium, elastomer, plastics material and/or a fiber composite. (¶9)
-From Claim 7: Heidrich discloses wherein the first and second connecting elements (7, 7’) and at least one torsionally and flexurally elastic stiffness module (16) are formed from uniform material. (¶9)
-From Claim 8: Heidrich discloses wherein the coupling (10) is made in one piece. (¶9)
-From Claim 9: Heidrich discloses connected to a tooth coupling, flange coupling, ring disk coupling, plate coupling, diaphragm coupling, lamellar coupling, friction coupling, and/or to two shaft portions. (Fig. 1)
-From Claim 10: Heidrich discloses wherein at least one connecting element (7, 7’) is designed as a diaphragm element (5) with a radially tapered material cross section. (Fig. 1, Fig. 3)
-From Claim 11: Heidrich discloses wherein the first and/or second connecting element (7, 7’) is disk-shaped, lamellar, rod-shaped or star-shaped. (Fig. 1)
-From Claim 12: Heidrich discloses wherein at least one connecting element (7, 7’) has axially extending recesses and/or apertures. (Fig. 13b, 204)
-From Claim 13: Heidrich discloses a coupling arrangement, comprising at least two spatially elastic couplings (10) claimed according to claim 1, which are connected in series in an axially aligned manner and are connected with a non-positive fit, a positive fit, and/or a material bond.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, as the cited references include structure similar to that of the presently claimed invention.
/DANIEL J WILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678 8/17/2026