DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 5, 12, 14 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claims 3, 5, 12 and 14, they recite “a demand response processor responsive to demand response, DR, events”. They are misleading and Examiner suggests “a demand response (DR) processor responsive to
As to claim 16, it recites “the display driver is configured to [control, make, etc.] transition gradually from the non-reduced energy mode to the reduced energy mode”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2011/0261267 A1, hereinafter Kim 1).
As to claim 1, Kim 1 discloses a device (Kim 1, FIGS. 4-10, [0064], “DTV 100”) comprising:
an image processor (Kim 1, FIG. 4, [0074], “controller 180”), configured to receive a first video (Kim 1, FIG. 4, [0106], “transport stream (TS) through the broadcasting receiver 140”) and produce a display-configured second video for a display (Kim 1, FIG. 4, [0110], “the A/V decoder 184 may decode the broadcasting contents stored in the storage 160 and output the decoded broadcasting contents”), the second video (Kim 1, FIG. 4, [0110, the “decoded broadcasting contents”) based on the first video (Kim 1, FIG. 4, [0106], “transport stream (TS)”) and including a set of pixels (Kim 1, see FIGS. 7-10, [0151], e.g., set of pixels corresponding to “contents displaying area 151a”); and
a display driver (Kim 1, [0082], “output unit 150”), configured to receive the second video (Kim 1, FIG. 4, [0110, the “decoded broadcasting contents”) and transform the second video (Kim 1, e.g., FIGS. 6-10, [0139], “control the output unit 150 to reduce or to increase the displaying size of broadcasting contents to a target size at step S150”) into drive signals for the display based on an active energy mode set (Kim 1, e.g., FIG. 6, [0137], “request for controlling displaying size received? S140”) by a selector in the device (Kim 1, FIGS. 4-10, [0108], “UI processor (interface) 183”),
the display driver (Kim 1, [0082], “output unit 150”) having a plurality of selectable energy modes (Kim 1, FIGS. 6-23, e.g., modes for “outputting contents S100”, i.e., normal mode, “controlling displaying size S140”, “controlling brightness S250”, “controlling sound volume S350”, “controlling saturation S440”, “controlling output attribute received S540”, etc.), the plurality of selectable energy modes comprising at least one reduced-energy mode (Kim 1, FIGS. 6-23, e.g., mode for “outputting contents S100”, i.e., normal mode) and a non-reduced energy mode (Kim 1, e.g., FIGS. 6-10, mode for “controlling displaying size S140”), each of the at least one reduced-energy mode (Kim 1, e.g., FIGS. 6-10, mode for “controlling displaying size S140”) blanking the only perimeter-region pixels when selected (Kim 1, e.g., see FIGS. 9-10, [0153], “ broadcasting contents may be displayed only on the content displaying area (CA) in the entire display unit 151. Backlights (BL1) of not-selected displaying area may be turned off while backlights BL2 are continuously turned on at the contents displaying area 151a”), the display driver (Kim 1, [0082], “output unit 150”) blanking no pixels when the non-reduced energy mode is selected (Kim 1, e.g., see FIG. 6, “request for controlling displaying size received? S140” → No → “output contents S100”, i.e., normal mode).
As to claim 2, Kim 1 discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the selector (Kim 1, FIGS. 4-10, [0108], “UI processor (interface) 183”) is set according to a user preference (Kim 1, e.g., see FIGS. 7-8, [0216], “information window 65” asking “which size do you want?”).
As to claim 3, Kim 1 discloses the device of claim 2, further comprising:
a demand response processor (Kim 1, FIG. 4, [1012], “smart grid engine 181 receives the smart grid information”) responsive to demand response, DR, events (Kim 1, FIG. 4, [0071], e.g., “electricity service charge (electricity rate) information and/or demand response (DR) information”), the demand response processor (Kim 1, FIG. 4, [1012], “smart grid engine 181”) coupled to the selector (Kim 1, FIGS. 4-10, [0108], “UI processor (interface) 183”) and configured to set the selector (Kim 1, FIGS. 4-10, [0108], “UI processor (interface) 183”) so at least one first reduced-energy mode (Kim 1, e.g., FIGS. 6-10, mode for “controlling displaying size S140”) is active when a DR event is in progress (Kim 1, .e.g., see FIG. 6, [0122], “smart grid information received? S110” → Yes → … → “control displaying size of contents S150”).
As to claim 4, Kim 1 discloses the device of claim 3, wherein the at least one first reduced-energy mode (Kim 1, e.g., FIGS. 6-10, mode for “controlling displaying size S140”) blanks at least as many pixels as are blanked (Kim 1, e.g., see FIG. 10, [0153], pixels corresponding to “backlights (BL1) of not-selected displaying area 151b”) when the selector is set according to the user preference (Kim 1, e.g., see FIGS. 7-8, “do you want to reduce a displaying size of contents?” → “YES” & “which size do you want?” → “800 * 600”).
As to claim 5, Kim 1 discloses the device of claim 1, further comprising:
a demand response (DR) processor (Kim 1, FIG. 4, [1012], “smart grid engine 181 receives the smart grid information”) responsive to demand response, DR, events (Kim 1, FIG. 4, [0071], e.g., “electricity service charge (electricity rate) information and/or demand response (DR) information”), the demand response processor (Kim 1, FIG. 4, [1012], “smart grid engine 181”) coupled to the selector (Kim 1, FIGS. 4-10, [0108], “UI processor (interface) 183”) and configured to set the selector (Kim 1, FIGS. 4-10, [0108], “UI processor (interface) 183”) so the non-reduced energy mode is active when no DR event is in progress (Kim 1, e.g., see FIG. 6, “request for controlling displaying size received? S140” → No → “output contents S100”, i.e., normal mode), the demand response processor (Kim 1, FIG. 4, [1012], “smart grid engine 181”) configured to set the selector so a first reduced-energy mode is active when a DR event is in progress (Kim 1, .e.g., see FIG. 6, [0122], “smart grid information received? S110” → Yes → … → “control displaying size of contents S150”).
As to claim 8, Kim 1 discloses the device of claim 1, further comprising the display (Kim 1, see FIG. 5, [0082], “display unit 151”).
As to claim 9, Kim 1 discloses the device of claim 8, wherein the device (Kim 1, FIGS. 4-10, [0064], “DTV 100”) is a television (Kim 1, FIGS. 3 and 5, [0017], “digital television (DTV) 100”).
As to claim 10, it differs from claim 1 only in that it is the method performed by the device of claim 1. It recites substantially the same limitations as in claim 1, and Kim 1 discloses them. Please see claim 1 for detailed analysis.
As to claims 11-14, they recite substantially the same limitations as in claims 2-5, respectively, and Kim 1 discloses them. Please see claims 2-5 for detailed analysis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2011/0261267 A1, Kim 1) in view of Kim et al. (KR 10-2507174 B1, hereinafter Kim 2, IDS, English translation by Clarivate Analytics).
As to claim 6, Kim 1 teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of selectable energy modes comprises two different reduced-energy modes (Kim 1, FIGS. 6-23, e.g., modes for “controlling displaying size S140”, “controlling brightness S250”, “controlling sound volume S350”, “controlling saturation S440”, “controlling output attribute received S540”, etc.) and the selector (Kim 1, FIGS. 4-10, [0108], “UI processor (interface) 183”) is configured to set zero, one, or two of the reduced-energy modes (Kim 1, [0234], “The first to fifth embodiments may be combined together. For example, the brightness of contents may be controlled at the same of reducing a displaying size of contents”).
Kim 1 does not explicitly teach “wherein more pixels are blanked when the two reduced energy modes are selected than when only one of the two reduced-energy modes is selected, and not all of the pixels are blanked when the two reduced-energy modes are selected”.
However, Kim 2 teaches the concept that not all of the pixels are blanked when the two reduced-energy modes are selected (Kim 2, e.g., FIG. 9, “In FIG. 9, for example, in an output mode of 60Hz (outputting 60 frames per second), odd-numbered frames including the first frame normally output odd-numbered pixels and blank even-numbered pixels, and conversely, even-numbered frames including the second frame The frame exemplifies the case of blanking the odd-numbered pixels and outputting the even-numbered pixels normally”).
At the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the “controller 180” taught by Kim 1 to further combine the mode for “controlling displaying size S140” with the mode for the “blanking the odd-numbered pixels and outputting the even-numbered pixels normally”, as taught by Kim 2, so that more pixels are blanked when the two reduced energy modes are selected than when only one of the two reduced-energy modes is selected, in order to provide “a monitor control device and method for reducing power consumption through pixel data modulation for saving monitor power by blanking some pixel data to reduce the total amount of pixel data to be processed and saving power while suppressing flicker without lowering overall resolution by differently modulating the positions of blanking pixels for each frame” (Kim 2, Abstract).
As to claim 7, Kim 2 teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the display driver comprises a plurality of display driver chips (Kim 2, FIG. 8, “gate driver circuit 82” and “source driver circuit 83”) deployed parallel to a first axis of a display (Kim 2, see FIG. 8, “LCD panel”), comprising at least a first chip on a first edge of the display (Kim 2, see FIG. 8). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 6.
As to claim 15, it recites substantially the same limitations as in claim 6, and Kim 1 in view of Kim 2 teaches them. Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 6. Please see claim 6 for detailed analysis.
As to claim 16, Kim 2 teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the display driver is configured to (OBJ) transition gradually from the non-reduced energy mode to the reduced energy mode, when selected (Kim 2, e.g., FIG. 7, “In operation 605, the processor may stepwise change the first frequency (60 Hz) to the second frequency (120 Hz). The gradual frequency change may mean changing from the first frequency (60 Hz) to the second frequency (120 Hz) without immediately passing through another frequency (90 Hz) to the second frequency”). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 6.
As to claim 18, Kim 1 in view of Kim 2 teaches the device of claim 8, wherein the display (Kim 2, FIG. 8, “LCD panel 80”) is an LCD spatial light modulator-based display (Kim 2, see FIG. 8) configured to dim backlight elements (Kim 2, FIG. 8, “the MCU 31 controls the dimming of the backlight 81”) in the perimeter region (Kim 2, see FIG. 8) in response to the perimeter-region pixels being blanked (Kim 1, see FIGS. 9-10). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 6.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2011/0261267 A1, Kim 1) in view of Shimaya (US 2010/0082414 A1).
As to claim 17, Kim 1 does not teach the device of claim 3, comprising: a user interface configured to enable a user to set the demand response processor to select a second reduced-energy mode when no DR event is in progress, the second reduced-energy mode saving less energy than the first reduced-energy mode.
However, Shimaya teaches the concept of enabling a user to set the demand response processor to select a second reduced-energy mode (Shimaya, e.g., FIG. 8, “Luminance level setting 8 : Luminous level (medium)”) when no DR event is in progress, the second reduced-energy mode saving (Shimaya, e.g., FIG. 8, 0 < “reduced power” < 50W) less energy than the first reduced-energy mode (Shimaya, e.g., FIG. 8, “Luminance level setting 16 : Luminous level (minimum)”, “reduced power” = 50W).
At the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the “UI processor (interface) 183” taught by Kim 1 to further enable a user to set, e.g., 1st and 2nd Luminous levels with different energy savings, as taught by Shimaya, in order to provide “a display device and a control method for the same, which contribute to power saving and take a user's taste or preferences into consideration” (Shimaya, [0003]).
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Segall et al. (US 2011/0310071 A1) teaches the concept of “an energy interface receiving an energy signal from a location remote to the display indicative of energy usage” (Abs.);
Poornachandran et al. (US 2009/0249095 A1) teaches the concept of “a processor-based system receiving user inputs to determine how to achieve power conservation needs for preferences of the user” (Abs.); and
Nagaoka (US 2007/0229664 A1) teaches the concept that “when a blank datum for a blank area in an image signal is detected by a blank area detecting unit, … processes the image signal so as to interpose a brightness gradation area” (Abs.).
Inquiry
Sep. 3, 2026
/RICHARD J HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623
***