DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to the amendments filed on November 04, 2025. Claims 1-6 are currently pending, with Claim 4 being amended.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application JP2023-165293, filed on September 27, 2023. Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to the declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application. No action by the applicant is required at this time.
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim for priority to the PCT filing of Application No. PCT/JP2024/024547, filed on July 08, 2024. No action by the applicant is required at this time.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on November 04, 2025, and September 16, 2026, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“a work position setting unit …”, “a state determination unit …”, and a “work position correction unit …” in Claims 1 and 5.
“a notification unit …” in Claim 3.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof:
Regarding the limitations of “a work position setting unit …”, “a state determination unit …”, “a work position correction unit …”, and “a notification unit …”, the instant specification at Paragraphs [0022]-[0023] at least states that “The controller 50 includes a work position setting unit 51, a state determination unit 53, a work position correction unit 55, a driving control unit 57, and a notification unit 59 …” and “The controller 50 is a computer … and the function of the controller 50 is implemented by executing a program stored in a storage unit …”. The structure for these limitations is software or hardware for implementing the functions of the controller.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0230827 A1, to Bitter (hereinafter referred to as Bitter).
As per Claim 1, Bitter discloses the features of a work assistance system that assists a work machine (e.g. Paragraph [0057]; where a work machine can be operated in an automatic dump sequence) including
a machine body (e.g. Paragraph [0041]; where the digging machine (1) comprises a body) and
an attachment that includes a tip attachment for performing work and is operably attached to the machine body (e.g. Paragraph [0041]; where the digging machine (1) comprises a bucket (10) which is mounted on an arm assembly (40), which is pivotably mounted on the boom and to the body of the digging machine (1)),
the work assistance system comprising a controller (e.g. Paragraphs [0046], [0057]; where the control system (70) may comprise instructions stored in memory and executed by a processor, and where the control system (70) controls operation of the actuator assembly), wherein the controller includes:
a work position setting unit that sets a work position that is a target position at which the tip attachment releases a work object (e.g. Paragraphs [0058], [0064]-[0065]; Figures 9-10; where the dumping sequence may be implemented responsive to receiving the dump command (10) in combination with sensor input from load or position sensors (71), and the dump sequence comprises a pre-positioning step (111, 114) in which the system moves the bucket to a first dump orientation); and
a state determination unit that determines a state of the work object captured by the tip attachment (e.g. Paragraphs [0063], [0067]; where the position sensors (710) are arranged to sense the relative positions of all the moving parts of the machine, and where the load sensors (71) of the control system may sense the weight of a load of material (2) in the bucket); and
a work position correction unit that corrects the work position with a correction value based on the state of the work object (e.g. Paragraphs [0067], [0076]; where the load sensors (71) of the control system (70) may be arranged to sense the weight of a load of loose material (2) in the bucket and to change the first predefined angular position or range of positions of the dump orientation responsive to the sensed load).
As per Claim 2, Bitter discloses the features of Claim 1, and Bitter further discloses the features of the work assistance system according to claim 1, wherein the controller further includes a driving control unit that controls the attachment so as to release the work object at the corrected work position (e.g. Paragraphs [0057], [0067], [0076]; where the load sensors (71) of the control system (70) may be arranged to sense the weight of a load of loose material (2) in the bucket and to change the first predefined angular position or range of positions of the dump orientation responsive to the sensed load).
As per Claim 5, Bitter discloses the features of a work machine (e.g. Paragraph [0057]; where a work machine can be operated in an automatic dump sequence) comprising:
a machine body (e.g. Paragraph [0041]; where the digging machine (1) comprises a body);
an attachment that includes a tip attachment for performing work and is operably attached to the machine body (e.g. Paragraph [0041]; where the digging machine (1) comprises a bucket (10) which is mounted on an arm assembly (40), which is pivotably mounted on the boom and to the body of the digging machine (1)); and
a controller (e.g. Paragraphs [0046], [0057]; where the control system (70) may comprise instructions stored in memory and executed by a processor, and where the control system (70) controls operation of the actuator assembly), wherein the controller includes:
a work position setting unit that sets a work position that is a target position at which the tip attachment releases a work object (e.g. Paragraphs [0058], [0064]-[0065]; Figures 9-10; where the dumping sequence may be implemented responsive to receiving the dump command (10) in combination with sensor input from load or position sensors (71), and the dump sequence comprises a pre-positioning step (111, 114) in which the system moves the bucket to a first dump orientation);
a state determination unit that determines a state of the work object captured by the tip attachment (e.g. Paragraphs [0063], [0067]; where the position sensors (710) are arranged to sense the relative positions of all the moving parts of the machine, and where the load sensors (71) of the control system may sense the weight of a load of material (2) in the bucket); and
a work position correction unit that corrects the work position with a correction value based on the state of the work object (e.g. Paragraphs [0067], [0076]; where the load sensors (71) of the control system (70) may be arranged to sense the weight of a load of loose material (2) in the bucket and to change the first predefined angular position or range of positions of the dump orientation responsive to the sensed load).
As per Claim 6, Bitter discloses the features of a work assistance program used for a work machine (e.g. Paragraph [0057]; where a work machine can be operated in an automatic dump sequence) including
a machine body (e.g. Paragraph [0041]; where the digging machine (1) comprises a body) and
an attachment that includes a tip attachment for performing work and is operably attached to the machine body (e.g. Paragraph [0041]; where the digging machine (1) comprises a bucket (10) which is mounted on an arm assembly (40), which is pivotably mounted on the boom and to the body of the digging machine (1)),
the work assistance program causing a computer (e.g. Paragraphs [0046], [0057]; where the control system (70) may comprise instructions stored in memory and executed by a processor, and where the control system (70) controls operation of the actuator assembly) to execute:
a work position setting step of setting a work position that is a target position at which the tip attachment releases a work object (e.g. Paragraphs [0058], [0064]-[0065]; Figures 9-10; where the dumping sequence may be implemented responsive to receiving the dump command (10) in combination with sensor input from load or position sensors (71), and the dump sequence comprises a pre-positioning step (111, 114) in which the system moves the bucket to a first dump orientation);
a state determination step of determining a state of the work object captured by the tip attachment (e.g. Paragraphs [0063], [0067]; where the position sensors (710) are arranged to sense the relative positions of all the moving parts of the machine, and where the load sensors (71) of the control system may sense the weight of a load of material (2) in the bucket); and
a work position correction step of correcting the work position with a correction value based on the state of the work object (e.g. Paragraphs [0067], [0076]; where the load sensors (71) of the control system (70) may be arranged to sense the weight of a load of loose material (2) in the bucket and to change the first predefined angular position or range of positions of the dump orientation responsive to the sensed load).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0230827 A1, to Bitter (hereinafter referred to as Bitter), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0290178 A1, to Suzuki, et al (hereinafter referred to as Suzuki).
As per Claim 3, Bitter discloses the features of Claim 1, but Bitter fails to disclose every feature of wherein the controller further includes a notification unit that notifies the corrected work position.
However, Suzuki, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a loaded guide system, where the display shows the position of the bucket (213), which does not coincide with the next gravity center position (902a), and the operator operates the hydraulic shovel (202) with reference to the information displayed on the display unit (12) in such a manner that the two positions coincide with each other, and the system changes the display to an oval (902b) or by changing the display of the bucket position (903) (e.g. Paragraphs [0103]-[0104]; Figures 3, 9).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the shovel system of Bitter, with the feature of notifying an operator of the corrected position in the system of Suzuki, in order to clearly notify the user that the bucket position is in line with the new gravity center (see at least Paragraph [0103] of Suzuki).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0230827 A1, to Bitter (hereinafter referred to as Bitter), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0302794 A1, to Kean, et al (hereinafter referred to as Kean).
As per Claim 4, Bitter discloses the features of Claim 1, and Bitter further discloses the features of the work assistance system according to any one of claim 1, wherein the tip attachment is a bucket having an opening surface (e.g. Paragraph [0044]; Figure 1; where the leading edge (21) of the front part (20) of the bucket may form a leading, lower edge, or lip of the digging aperture (11) through which the bucket is loaded with loos material) ‘…’.
Bitter fails to disclose every feature of the state determination unit determines a protrusion height of the bucket from the opening surface with respect to the work object held by the bucket, and the work position correction unit determines the correction value based on the protrusion height, and sets, based on the correction value, a position shifted from the work position in a direction in which the attachment protrudes from the machine body as the corrected work position.
However, Kean, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a targeted loading assistance system for a work machine, where the measuring system (204) is configured to determine the measure of a load (108) located in the load carrying mechanism (106) of the work machine (102), which can include determining weight, pressure, force, volume, heaviness, or mass of a material location within the load carrying mechanism, a type of load carried by the carrying mechanism, physical dimensions of the load (108), and the prediction logic (218) can receive control data (226), indicative of the mass acceleration, minimum/maximum height of the bucket, min/max bucket tilt, bucket/boom/stick acceleration, boom swing speed/ acceleration. Bucket max load, etc., and may also receive measurements of the load distribution, load type, stack quality, height of a load; and where the prediction logic (218) can generate signals to control the machine (102) to avoid a collision or to ensure the bucket can clear an obstacle along the path (i.e., corrects the swing of the attachment) (e.g. Paragraphs [0025], [0033]-[0034], [0039]-[0040]; Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the shovel system of Bitter, with the feature of determining height/ dimension calculations of material in a bucket of a work machine in the system of Kean, in order to ensure the boom/ bucket clears an obstacle along its travel path (see at least Paragraphs [0038]-[0040] of Kean).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hatake, et al (U.S. 2023/0193588 A1), which teaches a work system control method for determining a target position of the boom and arm based on the work stage, and correcting the control amount to the target position.
Hong, et al (KR 20200132217 A), which teaches a method for measuring the shape of material in a bucket, and updating the boom, arm, and bucket positions of the excavator.
Kim (KR 20000024991 A), which teaches a method for measuring bucket displacement of an excavator and displaying updated bucket positions to the user.
Kim, et al (U.S. 2024/0271393 A1), which teaches a method for controlling an excavator based on determining the height information of the plane of the target object.
Matsuo, et al (U.S. 2017/0328032 A1), which teaches a method for determining height and volume of an object in a bucket, and displaying the information to an operator.
Ready-Campbell, et al (U.S. 2022/0364321 A1), which teaches a method for determining the state and loading of a tool of the vehicle, and change the bucket position in response.
Oasa, et al (U.S. 2025/0327273 A1), which teaches a method for determining a load height of an object inside the bucket of an excavator.
/MERRITT LEVY/Examiner, Art Unit 3663