DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-7 are pending in this application. This communication is the first action on its merits. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 11/5/2025 has been considered by the office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dyevich (WO 2013049647 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Dyevich discloses a foam mattress (See Fig. 1, mattress 100 made up foam) comprising a lower mattress body (See Fig. 1, base structure 108) and an upper mattress body (See Fig. 1, top layer 102) wherein during use the upper mattress body rests on the lower mattress body (See Fig. 1, top layer 102 on top of base structure 108), characterised in that the upper mattress body is arranged to be able to slide over the lower mattress body (See Fig. 1-3, top layer 102 flush with base structure 108); wherein the upper mattress body is formed from a slab of foam material with a first hardness h1 (See Table 1, top layer 102 having IDF range of 16-30 and made of latex foam), the lower mattress body is formed from a slab of foam material with a second hardness h2 wherein the first hardness h1 of upper mattress body is equal to or lower than the second hardness h2 of the lower mattress body (See Table 1, base structure 108 having IDF range of 16-30 and made of densificated polyurethane foam) and the lower mattress body and/or the upper mattress body comprise at least one support-providing insert made of a material with a third hardness h3 which is greater than the second hardness h2 (See Fig. 1-3 and Table 1, calf pillow 104 having IDF range of 24-46).
Regarding Claim 2, Dyevich discloses the foam mattress (See Fig. 1, mattress 100 made up foam) according to claim 1 wherein the lower mattress body comprises a lower back to upper thigh insert for providing support in a lower back to upper thigh region of the mattress (See Fig. 1-5, core layer 110 providing support in zones 112, 114, 116).
Regarding Claim 6, Dyevich discloses the foam mattress (See Fig. 1, mattress 100 made up foam) according to claim 2 characterised in that the lower back to upper thigh insert comprises a lower back support and a thigh support which are connected by a pelvic support (See Fig. 1-5, core layer 110 providing support in zones 112, 114, 116, “additional core layers may be disposed at different locations such as, for example within the region of the scapular”; [00033]).
Regarding Claim 7, Dyevich discloses the foam mattress (See Fig. 1, mattress 100 made up foam) according to claim 6 characterised in that at least one of the lower back support and the thigh support has a central portion which is concave when viewed from an end of the mattress (See Fig. 5, core layer exhibited concave features when viewed from the side of mattress 100).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyevich (WO 2013049647 A1) in view of Bastiaens (EP 1149547 A1)
Regarding Claim 3, Dyevich discloses the foam mattress (See Fig. 1, mattress 100 made up foam) according to claim 1, a wedge- profiled calf insert for providing support in a calf region of the mattress (See Fig. 1-5, calf pillow 104).
Dyevich fails to explicitly disclose wherein the upper mattress body comprises a wedge-profiled neck and shoulder insert for providing support in a neck and shoulder region of the mattress.
However, Bastiaens teaches wherein the upper mattress body comprises a wedge-profiled neck and shoulder insert for providing support in a neck and shoulder region of the mattress (See Fig. 4, “the support blocks 26-42 can have different heights, the interior of the mattress or cushion can be adapted individually to the height of the user, whereby head, shoulders, lumbar region, hips, thighs, legs and feet are optimally supported”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Dyevich by adding the inserts taught by Bastiaens. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the “head, shoulders, lumbar region, hips, thighs, legs and feet are optimally supported”; (Bastiaens). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Regarding Claim 4, Dyevich discloses the foam mattress (See Fig. 1, mattress 100 made up foam) according to claim 1.
Dyevich fails to explicitly disclose wherein the lower mattress body comprises a neck and shoulder insert for providing support in a neck and shoulder region of the mattress and/or a calf insert for providing support in a calf region of the mattress.
However, Bastiaens teaches wherein the lower mattress body comprises a neck and shoulder insert for providing support in a neck and shoulder region of the mattress and/or a calf insert for providing support in a calf region of the mattress (See Fig. 4, “the support blocks 26-42 can have different heights, the interior of the mattress or cushion can be adapted individually to the height of the user, whereby head, shoulders, lumbar region, hips, thighs, legs and feet are optimally supported”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Dyevich by adding the inserts taught by Bastiaens. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the “head, shoulders, lumbar region, hips, thighs, legs and feet are optimally supported”; (Bastiaens). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Regarding Claim 5, Dyevich discloses the foam mattress (See Fig. 1, mattress 100 made up foam) according to claim 1.
Dyevich fails to explicitly disclose wherein the upper mattress body comprises a wedge-profiled lower back support body and/or a wedge-profiled thigh support body.
However, Bastiaens teaches wherein the upper mattress body comprises a wedge-profiled lower back support body and/or a wedge-profiled thigh support body (See Fig. 4, “the support blocks 26-42 can have different heights, the interior of the mattress or cushion can be adapted individually to the height of the user, whereby head, shoulders, lumbar region, hips, thighs, legs and feet are optimally supported”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Dyevich by adding the inserts taught by Bastiaens. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the “head, shoulders, lumbar region, hips, thighs, legs and feet are optimally supported”; (Bastiaens). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
WO 2007129981 A1: Hoegberg discloses a foam mattress comprising a concave shaped insert supporting the back, waist and thighs.
US 3639927 A: Munch discloses a foam mattress with a wedge-shaped portion configured to support the legs and thighs.
US 2013049647 A1: Lafleche discloses a patient support with multiple wedge insert portions configured to provide additional support.
/GEORGE SAMUEL GINES/Examiner, Art Unit 3673
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673