DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a first Office Action Non-Final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-20 as originally filed are currently pending and considered below.
Status of Claims
This Non-Final Office action is in response to the application filed on 11/05/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Application 19/481,814 was filed 11/05/2025 and claims priority to Japanese Patent Application No. 2023-086906 filed on 5/26/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/05/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are “an acquisition unit”, “an information generation unit”, “an agreement generation unit” in Claim 1 and Claim 20, “the information generation unit” in Claim 2, Claim 3, Claim 4, “a timeline generation unit” in Claim 10, “acquisition unit “ and “information generation unit” in Claim 12, Claim 13, Claim 14, Claim 15, Claim 16, Claim 17, “information generation unit” in Claim 18. Additionally, the word “unit” is considered to be a generic placeholder coupled with the above functions but without a structural recitation.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
For example, the specification [0099] discloses the corresponding structure of the claimed systems that are performing the claimed functions as being a processing unit that is implementing the functions recited by the claimed modules (implementing the algorithm that is part of the covered structure defined by a 112f limitation). Therefore, the covered structure that is defined by the invocation of 112f for the various “units” that are executing the claimed functions is found to be a generic computer (a processing unit) that is implementing the algorithm that is being used to accomplish the claimed functions. The claims noted above use a generic placeholder term of “unit” that is coupled to a function(s) to be performed, and are not being modified by any structure in the claim itself; therefore, the claim language passes the 3-prong test for determining if 112f has been invoked.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101, Software Per Se
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Per MPEP 2106.03: Non-limiting examples of claims that are not directed to any of the statutory categories include: Products that do not have a physical or tangible form, such as information (often referred to as “data per se”) or a computer program per se (often referred to as “software per se”) when claimed as a product without any structural recitations. Claims 1 recites “A program for causing a computer to function”. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four statutory categories of patent eligible subject matter because the broadest reasonable interpretation of the recited “program” encompasses software per se, where the recited acquisition unit, information generation unit, and agreement generation unit merely define functional software modules without positively reciting a physical or tangible embodiment of the program. The reference to a computer merely describes the environment in which the program operates and does not positively recite the computer as the claimed subject matter. Accordingly, the claims are directed to software per se rather than a statutory machine. It is suggested to amend claims 1 and 2 to positively recite hardware or other structural components of the claimed system to overcome this rejection. Claims 2-18 do not recite any physical structure and are rejected base on similar reasoning.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 19 is directed to a method (process) and Claim 20 is directed to a computing apparatus (machine/apparatus). Thus, these claims fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
For step 2A, the Examiner has identified independent method Claim 1 as the claim that represents the claimed invention for analysis. Claim 1, as exemplary example for Claims 19 and 20 is recited below, isolating the abstract idea from the additional elements, wherein the abstract idea is set in bold:
A program for causing a computer to function as: an acquisition unit that acquires information regarding a percentage of rights of each of creators of a collaborative work via a chat between the creators; an information generation unit that generates information for recording the information regarding the percentages of the rights in a blockchain; and an agreement generation unit that generates an agreement regarding the percentages of the rights based on the information regarding the percentages of the rights and an agreement status of each of the creators regarding the percentages of the rights.
The above bolded limitations recite the abstract idea of managing and formalizing an agreement between collaborators regrading the allocation of ownership rights in a collaborative work. These limitations under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers certain methods of organizing human activity (i.e., commercial interactions include agreements in the form of contracts, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and business relations. For example, for the related computer components, this claim encompasses activities relating to determining and managing the allocation of rights among creators that could be performed manually by the creators as part of negotiating and reaching an agreement regarding their respective rights. Such activities can traditionally be carried out through conversations between the creators, manually recording each creator’s percentage of rights, determining whether each creator agrees to the proposed percentages, and preparing an agreement reflecting the agreed upon allocation. Additionally, acquiring information regarding percentages of rights, recording such information, determining the creators’ agreement status, and generating an agreement constitutes a certain method of organizing human activity in the form of a commercial or legal interaction, as it involves managing an agreement concerning ownership rights. The claimed activities are ultimately used to facilitate and formalize the allocation of rights among creators and therefore amount to a commercial or legal interaction involving agreements in the form of contracts. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers commercials interactions between parties, but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The mere nominal recitation of a “a computer”, “an acquisition unit”, “an information generation unit”, “a blockchain”, “an agreement generation unit” do not take the claim out of the methods of organizing human interactions grouping. Thus, claims 1, 19, and 20 recites an abstract idea. (Step 2A- Prong 1: YES. The claims recite an abstract idea).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (2nd prong of eligibility test for step 2A). Claim 1 recites the additional elements of a “computer”, “an acquisition unit”, “an information generation unit”, “a blockchain”, “an agreement generation unit”. Claim 19 recites the additional elements of “a computer” and “a blockchain”. Claim 20 recites the additional elements of “an information processing apparatus”, “an acquisition unit”, “an information generation unit”, “blockchain”, “an agreement generation unit”. These additional elements are all considered nothing more than generic computing devices to perform generic communicating functions. These elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component in technological environment. Additionally, the recitation of blockchain technology does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because such elements are described only in terms of their generic functionality and are recited as tools to perform the abstract idea, rather than as a specific technological implementation or an improvement to computer technology. Accordingly, these additional elements (combination of computer and the use of units) do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and are recited at a high level of generality when considered both individually and as a whole. Thus, Claims 1, 19, and 20 are directed to an abstract idea without integration into a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO: the additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application).
For step 2B, the claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they do not amount to more than simply instructing one to practice the abstract idea by using generic computer components to carry out the steps that define the abstract idea, as discussed above. This does not render the claims as being eligible. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional elements of using computer and units when considered both individually and as an ordered combination did not add significantly more to the abstract idea because they were simply applying the abstract idea using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, these additional elements, do not change the outcome of the analysis, and claims 1, 19, and 20 are not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more).
Claims 2-4 recite limitations that further define the same abstract idea of independent claims to include generates information for further recording, information regarding agreement of each of the creators on the percentages of the rights before creation of the collaborative work, wherein when the percentages of the rights are readjusted after creation of the collaborative work, generates information for further recording information regarding the readjusted percentages of the rights, wherein information for further recording, information on agreement of each of the creators on the readjusted percentages of the rights. In addition, the claims recite the additional element of “information generation unit” and “blockchain”, which is considered nothing more than a general link to technology because there is no recitation of specifics of how this additional element is being used. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and (h) indicate that merely “generally linking” the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide a practical application or significantly more. Therefore, the claims are patent ineligible.
Claims 5 and 7-9 recite limitations that further define the same abstract idea of independent claims to include wherein a minimum guaranteed value of each of the creators for the percentages of the rights is set for the percentages of the rights recorded before the creation of the collaborative work, wherein a content of the agreement is verifiable via the information obtained, and wherein information regarding the created collaborative work is further recorded, and wherein information regarding agreement of each of the creators on the created collaborative work is further recorded. In addition, the claims recite the additional element of “blockchain”, which is considered nothing more than a general link to technology because there is no recitation of specifics of how this additional element is being used. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and (h) indicate that merely “generally linking” the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide a practical application or significantly more. Therefore, the claims are patent ineligible.
Claim 6 recite limitations that further define the same abstract idea of independent claims to include wherein when a percentage among the percentages of the rights readjusted after the creation of the collaborative work is lower than the minimum guaranteed value, the recording of the information regarding the percentages of the rights is rejected. In addition, the claims recite the additional element of “blockchain” and “smart contract”, which is considered nothing more than a general link to technology because there is no recitation of specifics of how this additional element is being used. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and (h) indicate that merely “generally linking” the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide a practical application or significantly more. Therefore, the claim is patent ineligible.
Claim 10 recite limitations that further define the same abstract idea of independent claims to include further causing to further function that generates a timeline indicating exchange in the chat in time series. In addition, the claims recite the additional element of “a timeline generation unit” and “computer”, which is considered nothing more than a general link to technology because there is no recitation of specifics of how this additional element is being used. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and (h) indicate that merely “generally linking” the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide a practical application or significantly more. Therefore, the claim is patent ineligible.
Claim 11 recite limitations that further define the same abstract idea of independent claims to include further wherein data is further transmitted and received between the creators in the timeline. The claimed elements are considered part of the abstract idea because they merely define managing and formalizing an agreement between collaborators regrading the allocation of ownership rights in a collaborative work, without adding any concrete technological implementation or improvement. Additionally, the dependent claims do not include any new additional elements and therefore are considered patent ineligible for the reasons given above.
Claim 12-14 recite limitations that further define the same abstract idea of independent claims to include wherein when the number of the creators of the collaborative work is increased or decreased, t reacquires information regarding the percentage of the rights of each of the creators, and generates information for further recording the reacquired information regarding the percentages of the rights, acquires information regarding a work independently created by each of the creators prior to creation of the collaborative work, and generates information for recording the acquired works in the blockchain, and generates proof information for proving existence of the works, acquires, from a first creator, a request for creating the collaborative work, verifies proof information of a work previously registered by the first creator when the request is acquired, and generates information regarding the project for the collaborative work based on the request when the proof information is verified. In addition, the claims recite the additional element of “the acquisition unit”, “information generation unit”, and “blockchain” which are considered nothing more than a general link to technology because there is no recitation of specifics of how this additional element is being used. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and (h) indicate that merely “generally linking” the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide a practical application or significantly more. Therefore, the claims are patent ineligible.
Claim 15-17 recite limitations that further define the same abstract idea of independent claims to include acquires a request for requesting participation in the project from a second creator who is a creator requesting participation in the project, and when the request for the participation is acquired, in a case where a work registered in advance by the second creator is present, the information generation unit verifies proof information of the work registered in advance by the second creator and generates information indicating that the work has been verified, and in a case where the work registered in advance by the second creator is not present, generates information indicating that the work is not verified, acquires a vote indicating whether or not the second creator is permitted to participate in the project, and generates, based on a result of the vote, information for displaying the second creator who is permitted to participate in the project, acquires, from the first creator, information indicating whether or not the second creator is permitted to participate in the project, and generates, based on the information acquired from the first creator, information for displaying the second creator who is permitted to participate in the project. In addition, the claims recite the additional element of “the acquisition unit”, and “information generation unit”, which are considered nothing more than a general link to technology because there is no recitation of specifics of how this additional element is being used. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and (h) indicate that merely “generally linking” the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide a practical application or significantly more. Therefore, the claims are patent ineligible.
Claim 18 recite limitations that further define the same abstract idea of independent claims to include wherein uses as the proof information. In addition, the claims recite the additional element of “information generation unit”, “a non-fungible token”, “blockchain”, which are considered nothing more than a general link to technology because there is no recitation of specifics of how this additional element is being used. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and (h) indicate that merely “generally linking” the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide a practical application or significantly more. Therefore, the claims are patent ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-11, 13, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGowan et al. (US20190259115) in view of Greven et al. (US 20210105148).
McGowan et al. is directed to a business concept and application platform that allows content creators to collaborate and share the copyright and proceeds of their work product. The simplified approach provides: the sharing of revenue and fractional ownership of intellectual property without a complicated and lengthy legal agreement process; and the migration of digital creators from worker status, into IP owning creators, collaborating in a virtual global environment.
With regards to Claim 1, McGowan et al. teaches a program for causing a computer to function as (See Abstract & FIG 1):
an acquisition unit that acquires information regarding a percentage of rights of each of creators of a collaborative work [via a chat between the creators]; (See [0011] -FIG. 1 illustrates an embodiment of the overall system architecture of the invention, whereby a computer system provides main business logic to facilitate the share, distribution and contribution mechanism for the creator community. Also See [0052]- The core business logic is to manage the share percentage, content distribution and contribution (102) among the members. Also See [0053]- The Digital Content owner can search a specific Creator by typing in name of the sharer (200) and specify the percentage of share (201) and can add multiple sharers (202) as long as the total percentage does not exceed 100%. Also See [0038]- available (after the submission—it can be posted and members can show their interest or chat to get more info); approved (the Project owner pre-approves a certain interested Collaborator); rejected (other members or Collaborators can reject the Project from the approved status, after either knowing more about its requirements via chat.)
an information generation unit that generates information for recording the information regarding the percentages of the rights in [a blockchain]; (See [0052]- The core business logic is to manage the share percentage, content distribution and contribution (102) among the members. The disk stores the uploaded and submitted content (104). The database (103) is an archival of share percentage agreements from members' Projects for revenue distribution and reference tracking for any future disputes.)
an agreement generation unit that generates an agreement regarding the percentages of the rights based on the information regarding the percentages of the rights and an agreement status of each of the creators regarding the percentages of the rights (See [0036]- Some of the documents may consist of a Model Rights Agreement, Property Rights Agreement, and potential Future Agreements. The Model Rights Agreement is typically signed by a Creator, such as an actor, actress or general public, who is visible (or partakes) in video footage or other Digital Content. This agreement is signed prior to submitting the Digital Content to Blackbox. The Property Rights Agreement is typically signed by the Creator who is owner of the Digital Content, such as captured footage. This agreement is signed prior to submitting Digital Content to the system. The Future Agreements are legally binding between two or more Creators, or members agreeing to spit/share the revenue generated from the Digital Content or Project. Before the first release of a Project, it is intended that the all agreements are automatically handled by Blackbox legal verbiage as part of member registration and acceptance of terms of services. Also See [0055]-After the Collaborator agrees to the Project assignment and the sharing percentage, and the owner commits the Project (408), it is considered as legally binding between the parties for that Project. After the Project owner marks the Project as complete (412), the content will be viewed by all parties and revenue can be tracked by all parties. The Project creation from the beginning begins with the Project owner agreeing informally with the sharers (400). Next the sharing percentage of the Project is assigned (403) before a Project invitation is submitted (404). The Collaborators and sharers then get notification (405) and can make a decision about whether to join onto the Project (406). If they decline to join the Project, then may discuss new terms with the Project owner (407) before a Project invitation is resubmitted (404). If they decide to join the Project the Project owner gets notification and commits to the Project (408). Next the Collaborators get notification of the commitment so they can begin working on the Project (409).).
McGowan et al. teaches acquiring information regrading a percentage of rights of each of creators of a collaborative work but it does not expressly teach that the percentage information is acquired via a chat between the creators. McGowan et al. also teaches recording the information regarding the percentages of the rights but does not teach recording them in a blockchain.
Greven et al. is directed to Techniques and solutions are described for facilitating collaborations between entities. A hub computing system is provided that is accessible to multiple client systems. The hub computing system can be used to create instances of collaboration entities, which can be of various defined types. Object instances can be created and included in, or referenced by, the collaboration entity instances.
Greven et al. teaches:
a chat between the creators (See [0010]-A communication session, such as a chat session, is hosted between the first client system and at least a second client system regarding the collaboration entity instance. It is requested that a third record be recorded in the blockchain reflecting the hosting of the communication session. Also See [0057]-The hub services 144 can include a chat service 182. The chat service 182 can allow users of client systems 108 to exchange messages regarding a particular topic or subject, which can be organized in various manners, such as with reference to a particular collaboration entity instance 148 or object instance 156. When a chat occurs, the chat service 182 can cause an entry to be written to the blockchain 132.)
recording the information in a blockchain (See [0004]-At least a portion of the actions taken with respect to a collaboration entity instance can be recorded in a blockchain. The blockchain records can be used to verify actions taken with respect to a collaboration entity instance, and to verify the integrity of collaboration entity instances. Also See [0006]-A first record is caused to be written in a blockchain. The first record includes a first identifier of the first collaboration entity instance. The first identifier is generated from content of the first collaboration entity instance, which can include content of objects included in, or referenced by, the first collaboration entity instance. In a specific example, the first identifier is a hash value generated by applying a hash function to content of the first collaboration entity instance.)
McGowan et al. and Greven et al. are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of collaborative platforms for managing creator participation, collaboration, and rights among users of a collaborative project. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGowan et al. reference to further include a chat between the creators and recording the information in a blockchain as taught by Greven et al. This is desirable such it that it allows for a centralized hub that allows peers to collaborate with respect to instances of collaboration entities, where a collaboration entity can be of a type defined for a particular type of collaboration and can include, or be associated with, various documents, files, or other objects, or with respect to one or more processes (See Greven, [0021]).
With regards to Claim 19, is rejected on a similar basis to Claim 1.
With regards to Claim 20, is rejected on a similar basis to Claim 1.
With regards to Claim 2, the McGowan-Greven combination teaches the claimed invention as recited in the independent claim above.
McGowan et al. teaches:
wherein the information generation unit further generates information for further recording, [in the blockchain], information regarding agreement of each of the creators on the percentages of the rights before creation of the collaborative work (See [0036]- Some of the documents may consist of a Model Rights Agreement, Property Rights Agreement, and potential Future Agreements. This agreement is signed prior to submitting the Digital Content to Blackbox. The Property Rights Agreement is typically signed by the Creator who is owner of the Digital Content, such as captured footage. This agreement is signed prior to submitting Digital Content to the system. The Future Agreements are legally binding between two or more Creators, or members agreeing to spit/share the revenue generated from the Digital Content or Project. Before the first release of a Project, it is intended that the all agreements are automatically handled by Blackbox legal verbiage as part of member registration and acceptance of terms of services. Also See [0055]-After the Collaborator agrees to the Project assignment and the sharing percentage, and the owner commits the Project (408), it is considered as legally binding between the parties for that Project… If they decide to join the Project the Project owner gets notification and commits to the Project (408). Next the Collaborators get notification of the commitment so they can begin working on the Project (409).).
McGowan et al. also teaches recording the information regarding the percentages of the rights but does not teach recording them in a blockchain.
Greven et al. teaches:
recording the information in a blockchain (See [0004]-At least a portion of the actions taken with respect to a collaboration entity instance can be recorded in a blockchain. The blockchain records can be used to verify actions taken with respect to a collaboration entity instance, and to verify the integrity of collaboration entity instances. Also See [0006]-A first record is caused to be written in a blockchain. The first record includes a first identifier of the first collaboration entity instance. The first identifier is generated from content of the first collaboration entity instance, which can include content of objects included in, or referenced by, the first collaboration entity instance. In a specific example, the first identifier is a hash value generated by applying a hash function to content of the first collaboration entity instance.)
McGowan et al. and Greven et al. are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of collaborative platforms for managing creator participation, collaboration, and rights among users of a collaborative project. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGowan-Greven combination to further include recording the information in a blockchain as taught by Greven et al. This is desirable such it that it allows for a centralized hub that allows peers to collaborate with respect to instances of collaboration entities, where a collaboration entity can be of a type defined for a particular type of collaboration and can include, or be associated with, various documents, files, or other objects, or with respect to one or more processes (See Greven, [0021]).
With regards to Claim 7, the McGowan-Greven combination teaches the claimed invention as recited in the independent claim above.
McGowan et al. does not teach wherein a content of the agreement is verifiable via the information obtained from the blockchain.
Greven et al. teaches:
wherein a content of the agreement is verifiable via the information obtained from the blockchain (See [0004]- at least a portion of the actions taken with respect to a collaboration entity instance can be recorded in a blockchain. The blockchain records can be used to verify actions taken with respect to a collaboration entity instance, and to verify the integrity of collaboration entity instances. Also See [0019]- For example, a contract may go through multiple rounds of negotiation and revision before being finalized. It can be important for parties to ensure that they are looking at the correct version of the document. A contracting party may wish, for example, to verify that a contract to be signed is the same as a contract version that they approved. Also See [0029]-The hub provides various services, including services that provide a verifiable record of a collaboration entity instance and the activities taken with respect to it. The activities can be recorded in a blockchain, which provides an open record that parties can access. ).
McGowan et al. and Greven et al. are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of collaborative platforms for managing creator participation, collaboration, and rights among users of a collaborative project. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGowan-Greven combination to further include wherein a content of the agreement is verifiable via the information obtained from the blockchain as taught by Greven et al. This is desirable such it that it allows for a centralized hub that allows peers to collaborate with respect to instances of collaboration entities, where a collaboration entity can be of a type defined for a particular type of collaboration and can include, or be associated with, various documents, files, or other objects, or with respect to one or more processes (See Greven, [0021]).
With regards to Claim 8, the McGowan-Greven combination teaches the claimed invention as recited in the independent claim above.
McGowan et al. does not teach wherein information regarding the created collaborative work is further recorded in the blockchain.
Greven et al. teaches:
wherein information regarding the created collaborative work is further recorded in the blockchain (See [0004]- at least a portion of the actions taken with respect to a collaboration entity instance can be recorded in a blockchain. The blockchain records can be used to verify actions taken with respect to a collaboration entity instance, and to verify the integrity of collaboration entity instances. Also See [0009]- method is provided for facilitating collaborations between a plurality of client systems using a hub system that includes a plurality of hub services that are configured to record activities related to collaboration entity instances of the hub system in a blockchain. Also See [0034]-As described in Example 1, the blockchain 132 can be used to record information regarding activities associated with the hub system 112, or to store documents or other objects. In some cases, actions taken on a client system 108 can result in entries being recorded in the blockchain 132 that relate to activity on the hub system 112. For example, if an application 116 associates an activity or object with the hub system 112, modifies an object, sends an object to the hub system, or receives an object, a corresponding record can be written in the blockchain 132. ).
McGowan et al. and Greven et al. are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of collaborative platforms for managing creator participation, collaboration, and rights among users of a collaborative project. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGowan-Greven combination to further include wherein information regarding the created collaborative work is further recorded in the blockchain as taught by Greven et al. This is desirable such it that it allows for a centralized hub that allows peers to collaborate with respect to instances of collaboration entities, where a collaboration entity can be of a type defined for a particular type of collaboration and can include, or be associated with, various documents, files, or other objects, or with respect to one or more processes (See Greven, [0021]).
With regards to Claim 9, the McGowan-Greven combination teaches the claimed invention as recited in the independent claim above.
McGowan et al. teaches:
wherein information regarding agreement of each of the creators on the created collaborative work is further recorded [in the blockchain] (See [0036]- Some of the documents may consist of a Model Rights Agreement, Property Rights Agreement, and potential Future Agreements. This agreement is signed prior to submitting the Digital Content to Blackbox. The Property Rights Agreement is typically signed by the Creator who is owner of the Digital Content, such as captured footage. This agreement is signed prior to submitting Digital Content to the system. The Future Agreements are legally binding between two or more Creators, or members agreeing to spit/share the revenue generated from the Digital Content or Project. Before the first release of a Project, it is intended that the all agreements are automatically handled by Blackbox legal verbiage as part of member registration and acceptance of terms of services. Also See [0055]-After the Collaborator agrees to the Project assignment and the sharing percentage, and the owner commits the Project (408), it is considered as legally binding between the parties for that Project… If they decide to join the Project the Project owner gets notification and commits to the Project (408). Next the Collaborators get notification of the commitment so they can begin working on the Project (409).).
McGowan et al. also teaches information regarding agreement of each of the creators on the created collaborative work is further recorded but does not teach recording them in a blockchain.
Greven et al. teaches:
recording the information in a blockchain (See [0004]-At least a portion of the actions taken with respect to a collaboration entity instance can be recorded in a blockchain. The blockchain records can be used to verify actions taken with respect to a collaboration entity instance, and to verify the integrity of collaboration entity instances. Also See [0006]-A first record is caused to be written in a blockchain. The first record includes a first identifier of the first collaboration entity instance. The first identifier is generated from content of the first collaboration entity instance, which can include content of objects included in, or referenced by, the first collaboration entity instance. In a specific example, the first identifier is a hash value generated by applying a hash function to content of the first collaboration entity instance.)
McGowan et al. and Greven et al. are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of collaborative platforms for managing creator participation, collaboration, and rights among users of a collaborative project. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGowan-Greven combination to further include recording the information in a blockchain as taught by Greven et al. This is desirable such it that it allows for a centralized hub that allows peers to collaborate with respect to instances of collaboration entities, where a collaboration entity can be of a type defined for a particular type of collaboration and can include, or be associated with, various documents, files, or other objects, or with respect to one or more processes (See Greven, [0021]).
With regards to Claim 10, the McGowan-Greven combination teaches the claimed invention as recited in the independent claim above.
McGowan et al. does not teach further causing the computer to further function as a timeline generation unit that generates a timeline indicating exchange in the chat in time series.
Greven et al. teaches:
further causing the computer to further function as a timeline generation unit that generates a timeline indicating exchange in the chat in time series (See [0051] Blockchain entries for collaboration entity instance creation or modification can include information such as a time the event occurred, an identifier of a client system 108 or particular user who created or modified the instance. Also See [0055]- The versioning service 180 can also be used to track if a collaboration entity instance 148 (or component thereof) is sent outside of the hub system 112, such as to a client system 108. In the case that a command is received from one client system 108 to send a collaboration entity instance 148 (or component thereof) to another client system, an entry in the blockchain 132 can record information including an identification of the sending time,. Also See [0057]- the entry in the blockchain 132 for a chat can include information such as an identifier of the relevant collaboration entity instance 148, an identifier of the chat, authentication information from the chat, a link to a record of the chat, a date/time the chat occurred (including, optionally information useable to determine a stop time and a stop time for the chat), a chat type (e.g., whether it was a text, audio, or video chat, and whether any media or object instances 156 were shared or displayed).)
McGowan et al. and Greven et al. are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of collaborative platforms for managing creator participation, collaboration, and rights among users of a collaborative project. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGowan-Greven combination to further include further causing the computer to further function as a timeline generation unit that generates a timeline indicating exchange in the chat in time series as taught by Greven et al. This is desirable such it that it allows for a centralized hub that allows peers to collaborate with respect to instances of collaboration entities, where a collaboration entity can be of a type defined for a particular type of collaboration and can include, or be associated with, various documents, files, or other objects, or with respect to one or more processes (See Greven, [0021]).
With regards to Claim 11, the McGowan-Greven combination teaches the claimed invention as recited in the independent claim above.
McGowan et al. does not teach wherein data is further transmitted and received between the creators in the timeline.
Greven et al. teaches:
wherein data is further transmitted and received between the creators in the timeline (See [0051] Blockchain entries for collaboration entity instance creation or modification can include information such as a time the event occurred, an identifier of a client system 108 or particular user who created or modified the instance. Also See [0055]- The versioning service 180 can also be used to track if a collaboration entity instance 148 (or component thereof) is sent outside of the hub system 112, such as to a client system 108. In the case that a command is received from one client system 108 to send a collaboration entity instance 148 (or component thereof) to another client system, an entry in the blockchain 132 can record information including an identification of the sending time,. Also See [0057]- the entry in the blockchain 132 for a chat can include information such as an identifier of the relevant collaboration entity instance 148, an identifier of the chat, authentication information from the chat, a link to a record of the chat, a date/time the chat occurred (including, optionally information useable to determine a stop time and a stop time for the chat), a chat type (e.g., whether it was a text, audio, or video chat, and whether any media or object instances 156 were shared or displayed).)
McGowan et al. and Greven et al. are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of collaborative platforms for managing creator participation, collaboration, and rights among users of a collaborative project. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGowan-Greven combination to further include wherein data is further transmitted and received between the creators in the timeline as taught by Greven et al. This is desirable such it that it allows for a centralized hub that allows peers to collaborate with respect to instances of collaboration entities, where a collaboration entity can be of a type defined for a particular type of collaboration and can include, or be associated with, various documents, files, or other objects, or with respect to one or more processes (See Greven, [0021]).
With regards to Claim 13, the McGowan-Greven combination teaches the claimed invention as recited in the independent claim above.
McGowan et al. teaches :
wherein the acquisition unit acquires information regarding a work independently created by each of the creators prior to creation of the collaborative work, (See [0034]- [0034] In one embodiment, a Project may be worked on by numerous Creators, who become Collaborators on that project. A Collaborator may be, but is not limited to any number of Creators. For example, a curator may perform the raw footage editing and tagging. The Blackbox member can select from the list of available curators (who are also the Blackbox members). The member must register with the system and specify one of his roles is curator to be selected in the display list of available curators. Once the curator is selected by the member and the Project is submitted, that curator will receive an email notification of new work item. The curator can log into Blackbox to access to the Project details, to perform the Project acceptance, and to download materials for the editing and tagging. They may then submit or upload the footage produced from the Project )
Greven teaches:
and the information generation unit generates information for recording the acquired works in the blockchain, and generates proof information for proving existence of the works (See [0029]-The hub provides various services, including services that provide a verifiable record of a collaboration entity instance and the activities taken with respect to it. The activities can be recorded in a blockchain, which provides an open record that parties can access. Although the collaboration entity instance, or its components, need not be stored in the blockchain, the blockchain record can include information sufficient to verify the blockchain record, or verify particular collaboration entity instances or elements thereof as consistent with the official record contained in the blockchain. Also See [0051]-Blockchain entries for collaboration entity instance creation or modification can include information such as a time the event occurred, an identifier of a client system 108 or particular user who created or modified the instance, an identifier for a project that is associated with the instance, information sufficient to determine who may access the instance, and information useable to authenticate, validate, or otherwise verify the legitimacy of the instance. Also See [0004]-At least a portion of the actions taken with respect to a collaboration entity instance can be recorded in a blockchain. The blockchain records can be used to verify actions taken with respect to a collaboration entity instance, and to verify the integrity of collaboration entity instances.)
McGowan et al. and Greven et al. are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of collaborative platforms for managing creator participation, collaboration, and rights among users of a collaborative project. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGowan-Greven combination to further include and the information generation unit generates information for recording the acquired works in the blockchain, and generates proof information for proving existence of the works as taught by Greven et al. This is desirable such it that it allows for a centralized hub that allows peers to collaborate with respect to instances of collaboration entities, where a collaboration entity can be of a type defined for a particular type of collaboration and can include, or be associated with, various documents, files, or other objects, or with respect to one or more processes (See Greven, [0021]).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGowan et al. (US20190259115) in view of Greven et al. (US 20210105148), further in view of Maj et al. (US20220006642).
With regards to Claim 3, the McGowan-Greven combination teaches the claimed invention as recited in the independent claim above.
McGowan et al. teaches :
the percentages of the rights (See [0011] -FIG. 1 illustrates an embodiment of the overall system architecture of the invention, whereby a computer system provides main business logic to facilitate the share, distribution and contribution mechanism for the creator community. Also See [0052]- The core business logic is to manage the share percentage, content distribution and contribution (102) among the members. Also See [0053]- The Digital Content owner can search a specific Creator by typing in name of the sharer (200) and specify the percentage of share (201) and can add multiple sharers (202) as long as the total percentage does not exceed 100%.).)
However, the McGowan-Greven combination does not teach wherein when the percentages of the rights are readjusted after creation of the collaborative work, the information generation unit generates information for further recording information regarding the readjusted percentages of the rights in the blockchain.
Maj et al. is directed to a method that ensures validity, reliability, preservation, and accessibility of data and its related metadata for an underlying asset or project using blockchain technology, specifically non-fungible tokens, the modern cloud, and cryptography.
Maj et al. teaches:
wherein when the percentages of the rights are readjusted after creation of the collaborative work, the information generation unit generates information for further recording information regarding the readjusted percentages of the rights in the blockchain (See [0048]- The system is configured so that a project can be updated. Updates are stored to the block chain. Block 170 would only be triggered as part of the life cycle of a project, shown in FIG. 10, and is an optional step to amend any change to the project. Also See [0057]- FIG. 4 is a flowchart of a project amendment. An amendment is initiated or triggered in block 400 by a user of the platform when some portion of a project's content changes and needs to be reflected on the blockchain. For example if content ownership transfers or terms of a contract are amended. In block 410, in a front-end platform, a user updates all information to reflect the changes and confirms the validity of the information through review controls discussed below in FIG. 13. Also See [0063]-An amendment occurs when a user amends a project that has already been completely run through the process. The amended version is a project amendment and tokenization process discussed above is completed. A New version of the project is created in block 610 that is transmitted to the blockchain. Also See [0094]-FIGS. 26 and 27 show transaction history change screenshots. The Figures depict the version history and changes. In FIG. 26, the changes include a publisher false/true designation change 2610, ownership percentage change 2620, changes in the present version 2630, and the update time 2640. Also See [0095]- Tokens that are updated versions of the original master token or marked as derivatives to be included as part of the group with separate attribute fields are designated. In the example of FIG. 28, three (3) owners are depicted, although any number of owners are contemplated and can be accommodated. One owner, Owner 1, is shown having a greater ownership percentage and is also designated as an Admin. Any distribution of ownership percentages, whether they be weighted or equal is contemplated. As shown, both active and retired Tokens are tracked as well as derivative tokens.).
McGowan et al., Greven et al., and Maj et al. are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of collaborative platforms for managing creator participation, collaboration, and rights among users of a collaborative project. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGowan-Greven combination to further include wherein when the percentages of the rights are readjusted after creation of the collaborative work, the information generation unit generates information for further recording information regarding the readjusted percentages of the rights in the blockchain as taught by Maj et al. This is desirable such it that it allows for a platform that has been developed in order to simplify and ensure proper execution of data management through a variety of processes that run simultaneously. (See Maj, [0004]).
With regards to Claim 4, the McGowan-Greven-Maj combination teaches the claimed invention as recited in the claim above.
McGowan et al. teaches:
wherein the information generation unit generates information for further recording,[ in the blockchain], information on agreement of each of the creators on the [readjusted] percentages of the rights (See [0036]- Some of the documents may consist of a Model Rights Agreement, Property Rights Agreement, and potential Future Agreements. This agreement is signed prior to submitting the Digital Content to Blackbox. The Property Rights Agreement is typically signed by the Creator who is owner of the Digital Content, such as captured footage. This agreement is signed prior to submitting Digital Content to the system. The Future Agreements are legally binding between two or more Creators, or members agreeing to spit/share the revenue generated from the Digital Content or Project. Before the first release of a Project, it is intended that the all agreements are automatically handled by Blackbox legal verbiage as part of member registration and acceptance of terms of services. Also See [0055]-After the Collaborator agrees to the Project assignment and the sharing percentage, and the owner commits the Project (408), it is considered as legally binding between the parties for that Project… If they decide to join the Project the Project owner gets notification and commits to the Project (408). Next the Collaborators get notification of the commitment so they can begin working on the Project (409).).
McGowan et al. also teaches recording the information regarding the percentages of the rights but does not teach recording them in a blockchain.
Greven et al. teaches:
recording the information in a blockchain (See [0004]-At least a portion of the actions taken with respect to a collaboration entity instance can be recorded in a blockchain. The blockchain records can be used to verify actions taken with respect to a collaboration entity instance, and to verify the integrity of collaboration entity instances. Also See [0006]-A first record is caused to be written in a blockchain. The first record includes a first identifier of the first collaboration entity instance. The first identifier is generated from content of the first collaboration entity instance, which can include content of objects included in, or referenced by, the first collaboration entity instance. In a specific example, the first identifier is a hash value generated by applying a hash function to content of the first collaboration entity instance.)
McGowan et al., Greven et al., and Maj et al. are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of collaborative platforms for managing creator participation, collaboration, and rights among users of a collaborative project. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGowan-Greven-Maj combination to further include recording the information in a blockchain as taught by Greven et al. This is desirable such it that it allows for a centralized hub that allows peers to collaborate with respect to instances of collaboration entities, where a collaboration entity can be of a type defined for a particular type of collaboration and can include, or be associated with, various documents, files, or other objects, or with respect to one or more processes (See Greven, [0021]).
However, the McGowan-Greven combination does not teach readjusted percentages of the rights.
Maj et al. teaches:
readjusted percentages of the rights (See [0057]- FIG. 4 is a flowchart of a project amendment. An amendment is initiated or triggered in block 400 by a user of the platform when some portion of a project's content changes and needs to be reflected on the blockchain. For example if content ownership transfers or terms of a contract are amended. In block 410, in a front-end platform, a user updates all information to reflect the changes and confirms the validity of the information through review controls discussed below in FIG. 13. Also See [0063]-An amendment occurs when a user amends a project that has already been completely run through the process. The amended version is a project amendment and tokenization process discussed above is completed. A New version of the project is created in block 610 that is transmitted to the blockchain. Also See [0094]-FIGS. 26 and 27 show transaction history change screenshots. The Figures depict the version history and changes. In FIG. 26, the changes include a publisher false/true designation change 2610, ownership percentage change 2620, changes in the present version 2630, and the update time 2640. Also See [0095]- Tokens that are updated versions of the original master token or marked as derivatives to be included as part of the group with separate attribute fields are designated. In the example of FIG. 28, three (3) owners are depicted, although any number of owners are contemplated and can be accommodated. One owner, Owner 1, is shown having a greater ownership percentage and is also designated as an Admin. Any distribution of ownership percentages, whether they be weighted or equal is contemplated. As shown, both active and retired Tokens are tracked as well as derivative tokens.).
McGowan et al., Greven et al., and Maj et al. are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of collaborative platforms for managing creator participation, collaboration, and rights among users of a collaborative project. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGowan-Greven -Maj combination to further include readjusted percentages of the rights as taught by Maj et al. This is desirable such it that it allows for a platform that has been developed in order to simplify and ensure proper execution of data management through a variety of processes that run simultaneously. (See Maj, [0004]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGowan et al. (US20190259115) in view of Greven et al. (US 20210105148), in view of Maj et al. (US20220006642), further in view of Jakobsson et al. (US20220398538).
With regards to Claim 5, the McGowan-Greven-Maj combination teaches the claimed invention as recited in the claim above.
Greven et al. teaches:
recording the information in a blockchain (See [0004]-At least a portion of the actions taken with respect to a collaboration entity instance can be recorded in a blockchain. The blockchain records can be used to verify actions taken with respect to a collaboration entity instance, and to verify the integrity of collaboration entity instances. Also See [0006]-A first record is caused to be written in a blockchain. The first record includes a first identifier of the first collaboration entity instance. The first identifier is generated from content of the first collaboration entity instance, which can include content of objects included in, or referenced by, the first collaboration entity instance. In a specific example, the first identifier is a hash value generated by applying a hash function to content of the first collaboration entity instance.)
However, the McGowan-Greven-Maj combination does not teach wherein a minimum guaranteed value of each of the creators for the percentages of the rights is set for the percentages of the rights recorded [in the blockchain] before the creation of the collaborative work.
Jakobsson et al. is directed to systems and devices to initiate collaborative content generation within an NFT platform are illustrated. One embodiment includes a method for facilitating engagement between content creators.
Jakobsson et al. teaches:
wherein a minimum guaranteed value of each of the creators for the percentages of the rights is set for the percentages of the rights recorded [in the blockchain] before the creation of the collaborative work (See [0219]- [0220]-collaboration UIs may also filter requests based on terms. Terms in accordance with many embodiments of the invention can include (but are not limited to) prices, schedules, skillsets, distribution rights, royalty amounts, etc. For example, a first content creator may be willing to pay up to $100 for the fulfillment of a given request. This request may not be seen by a second content creator whose minimum payment may be set at $150. Terms in accordance with a variety of embodiments of the invention can correspond to the distribution rights of the generated content. For example, a first user may intend to generate up to 10 identical and/or related NFTs based on the generated content. In doing so, their terms may require the right to sell these with a maximum royalty payment of 5% going to the second content creator. If so, a content creator who requires at least a 10% royalty may not see this request. A second content creator that requires that at most 4 NFTs can be generated from content made by them also may not see the request…. content creators may be able to see, before submitting the request, how many potential matches there are. Potential matches may correspond to the maximum number of second content creators that may see the request. Potential matches may provide an indication to the first content creator regarding whether the request is likely to be successfully completed.).
*Examiner is interpreting the claimed “minimum guaranteed value” to encompass a predetermined minimum percentage associated with a creator’s rights or economic interest, which as disclosed by the art teaches requiring a minimum royalty percentage before participating in the collaboration.
McGowan et al., Greven et al., Maj et al., and Jakobsson et al. are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of collaborative platforms for managing creator participation, collaboration, and rights among users of a collaborative project. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGowan-Greven-Maj combination to further include wherein a minimum guaranteed value of each of the creators for the percentages of the rights is set for the percentages of the rights recorded [in the blockchain] before the creation of the collaborative work as taught by Jakobsson et al. This is desirable such it that it allows for platforms for collaborative development of content which can allow users to collaborate on developments while maintaining rights and policies of individual contributors. (See Jakobsson, [0129]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGowan et al. (US20190259115) in view of Greven et al. (US 20210105148), in view of Maj et al. (US20220006642), in view of Jakobsson et al. (US20220398538), further in view of Yao (US20200151718).
With regards to Claim 6, the McGowan-Greven-Maj- Jakobsson combination teaches the claimed invention as recited in the claim above.
Maj et al. teaches:
readjusted percentages of the rights (See [0057]- FIG. 4 is a flowchart of a project amendment. An amendment is initiated or triggered in block 400 by a user of the platform when some portion of a project's content changes and needs to be reflected on the blockchain. For example if content ownership transfers or terms of a contract are amended. In block 410, in a front-end platform, a user updates all information to reflect the changes and confirms the validity of the information through review controls discussed below in FIG. 13. Also See [0063]-An amendment occurs when a user amends a project that has already been completely run through the process. The amended version is a project amendment and tokenization process discussed above is completed. A New version of the project is created in block 610 that is transmitted to the blockchain. Also See [0094]-FIGS. 26 and 27 show transaction history change screenshots. The Figures depict the version history and changes. In FIG. 26, the changes include a publisher false/true designation change 2610, ownership percentage change 2620, changes in the present version 2630, and the update time 2640. Also See [0095]- Tokens that are updated versions of the original master token or marked as derivatives to be included as part of the group with separate attribute fields are designated. In the example of FIG. 28, three (3) owners are depicted, although any number of owners are contemplated and can be accommodated. One owner, Owner 1, is shown having a greater ownership percentage and is also designated as an Admin. Any distribution of ownership percentages, whether they be weighted or equal is contemplated. As shown, both active and retired Tokens are tracked as well as derivative tokens.).
McGowan et al., Greven et al., Maj et al., and Jakobsson et al. are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of collaborative platforms for managing creator participation, collaboration, and rights among users of a collaborative project. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGowan-Greven -Maj-Jakobsson combination to further include readjusted percentages of the rights as taught by Maj et al. This is desirable such it that it allows for a platform that has been developed in order to simplify and ensure proper execution of data management through a variety of processes that run simultaneously. (See Maj, [0004]).
However, the McGowan-Greven-Maj combination does not teach wherein when a percentage among the percentages of the rights [readjusted] after the creation of the collaborative work is lower than the minimum guaranteed value.
Jakobsson et al. teaches:
wherein when a percentage among the percentages of the rights [readjusted] after the creation of the collaborative work is lower than the minimum guaranteed value, (See [0219]- [0220]-collaboration UIs may also filter requests based on terms. Terms in accordance with many embodiments of the invention can include (but are not limited to) prices, schedules, skillsets, distribution rights, royalty amounts, etc. For example, a first content creator may be willing to pay up to $100 for the fulfillment of a given request. This request may not be seen by a second content creator whose minimum payment may be set at $150. Terms in accordance with a variety of embodiments of the invention can correspond to the distribution rights of the generated content. For example, a first user may intend to generate up to 10 identical and/or related NFTs based on the generated content. In doing so, their terms may require the right to sell these with a maximum royalty payment of 5% going to the second content creator. If so, a content creator who requires at least a 10% royalty may not see this request. A second content creator that requires that at most 4 NFTs can be generated from content made by them also may not see the request…. content creators may be able to see, before submitting the request, how many potential matches there are. Potential matches may correspond to the maximum number of second content creators that may see the request. Potential matches may provide an indication to the first content creator regarding whether the request is likely to be successfully completed.).
McGowan et al., Greven et al., Maj et al., and Jakobsson et al. are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of collaborative platforms for managing creator participation, collaboration, and rights among users of a collaborative project. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGowan-Greven -Maj-Jakobsson combination to further include wherein when a percentage among the percentages of the rights [readjusted] after the creation of the collaborative work is lower than the minimum guaranteed value as taught by Jakobsson et al. This is desirable such it that it allows for platforms for collaborative development of content which can allow users to collaborate on developments while maintaining rights and policies of individual contributors. (See Jakobsson, [0129]).
However, the McGowan-Greven-Maj-Jakobsson does not teach the recording of the information regarding the [percentages of the rights] in the blockchain is rejected by a smart contract.
Yao is directed to a computer-implemented method for improving security of smart contract comprises: obtaining a first and a second transactions both invoking a smart contract, wherein the first transaction is associated with a protection condition; executing the second transaction and updating a current state of the smart contract.
Yao teaches:
the recording of the information regarding the [percentages of the rights] in the blockchain is rejected by a smart contract (See [0004]- obtaining a first transaction and a second transaction both invoking a smart contract, wherein the first transaction is associated with a protection condition; executing the second transaction and updating a current state of the smart contract; determining whether the updated current state of the smart contract satisfies the protection condition; in response to determining that the updated current state does not satisfy the protection condition, recording the second transaction into another new data block for adding to the blockchain, without executing the first transaction. Also See [0006] In some embodiments, the current state comprises a current price of a transactional item of the smart contract; and the protection condition is associated with a price range, an amount range, or a time range of the transactional item.).
*Examiner is interpreting the claimed “rejected by a smart contract” to encompass preventing execution of a transaction when a predetermined condition is not satisfied as disclosed in the prior art.
McGowan et al., Greven et al., Maj et al., Jakobsson et al., and Yao are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of collaborative platforms for managing creator participation, collaboration, and rights among users of a collaborative project. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGowan-Greven -Maj-Jakobsson combination to further include the recording of the information regarding the [percentages of the rights] in the blockchain is rejected by a smart contract as taught by Yao. This is desirable such it that it allows for systems, methods for improving security of smart contract on blockchain and provide technical solutions to at least mitigate the TOD problem. (See Yao, [0129]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGowan et al. (US20190259115) in view of Greven et al. (US 20210105148), in view of D'AMORE et al. (US20150339020).
With regards to Claim 12, the McGowan-Greven combination teaches the claimed invention as recited in the independent claim above.
McGowan teaches the percentages of the rights but does not teach the information generation unit generates information for further recording the [reacquired] information regarding [the percentages of the rights] in the blockchain.
Greven teaches:
the information generation unit generates information for further recording the [reacquired] information regarding [the percentages of the rights] in the blockchain (See [0004]-At least a portion of the actions taken with respect to a collaboration entity instance can be recorded in a blockchain. The blockchain records can be used to verify actions taken with respect to a collaboration entity instance, and to verify the integrity of collaboration entity instances. Also See [0006]-A first record is caused to be written in a blockchain. The first record includes a first identifier of the first collaboration entity instance. The first identifier is generated from content of the first collaboration entity instance, which can include content of objects included in, or referenced by, the first collaboration entity instance. In a specific example, the first identifier is a hash value generated by applying a hash function to content of the first collaboration entity instance.).
McGowan et al. and Greven et al. are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of collaborative platforms for managing creator participation, collaboration, and rights among users of a collaborative project. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGowan-Greven combination to further include the information generation unit generates information for further recording the [reacquired] information regarding [the percentages of the rights] in the blockchain as taught by Greven et al. This is desirable such it that it allows for a centralized hub that allows peers to collaborate with respect to instances of collaboration entities, where a collaboration entity can be of a type defined for a particular type of collaboration and can include, or be associated with, various documents, files, or other objects, or with respect to one or more processes (See Greven, [0021]).
However, the McGowan-Greven combination does not teach wherein when the number of the creators of the collaborative work is increased or decreased, the acquisition unit reacquires information regarding the percentage of the rights of each of the creators.
D'AMORE et al. is directed to systems, methods, and tangible computer-readable storage mediums for selecting a user for collaboration on a work, negotiating aspects of a collaboration and generating and managing agreements for collaboration.
D'AMORE et al. teaches:
wherein when the number of the creators of the collaborative work is increased or decreased, the acquisition unit reacquires information regarding the percentage of the rights of each of the creators, (See [0132]-Before the design is complete, both AI-1 and Member 920 realize that they will need another collaborator who has experience and knowledge with hydraulics and hydraulic systems. AI-1 requests permission from John Doe Air to add an additional collaborator to the collaboration. John Doe Air updates the CWCS Software Plug-in preferences to allow an additional collaborator…Only one of the members (Member 1545) agrees to work with AI-1 and Member 920. Member 1545 is a human and not a computer. AI-1 resets the Working Profile Preferences to include all three members, and the CWCS generates a new agreement for Member 1545 and amended agreements for AI-1 and Member 920. All three agreements are then digitally signed and executed. Also See [0204]- a corresponding plurality of different options for terms for ownership, licensing and/or usage rights, or the like (including, but not limited to: defining percentages or other divisions of shared ownership in portions or all of a Collaborative Work, defining portions of a Collaborative Work that are owned by particular users or entities, license royalties, limitations on licensed use or publication of a Collaborative Work. Also See [0124]- Users 4 and 5 next desire to have the licensing rights percentage to the new collaborative images changed, so they contact User 3 and negotiate new rights using the Working Profile Preferences until they have all agreed on the licensing rights percentage. Once all the Working Profile Preferences are agreed upon, User 3 locks the Working Profile preferences and the CWCS generates an agreement based on the Working Profile Preferences. Users 3, 4, and 5, through the CWCS, agree on terms of collaboration and electronically sign the appropriate documentation, which is subsequently attached to the Master Profile. Also [0061]- once a Working Profile is opened, the Working Profile Preferences for the Working Profile cannot be changed without a new agreement being created and signed by the Content Controller and Content Participants. In some embodiments, Working Profiles Preferences cannot be changed once a Working Profile is opened without the execution of a new agreement for any changes to be made. )
McGowan et al., Greven et al., and D'AMORE et al. are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of collaborative platforms for managing creator participation, collaboration, and rights among users of a collaborative project. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGowan-Greven combination to further include wherein when the number of the creators of the collaborative work is increased or decreased, the acquisition unit reacquires information regarding the percentage of the rights of each of the creators as taught by D'AMORE et al.. This is desirable such it that it allows for a method for tracking collaboration and allow creators to initiate and effectuate the creation of collaborative works and to effectively authorize and track their use and rights related to the collaborative works. (See D’AMORE [0003]).
Claims 14-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGowan et al. (US20190259115) in view of Greven et al. (US 20210105148), further in view of Jakobsson et al. (US20220398538)
With regards to Claim 14, the McGowan-Greven combination teaches the claimed invention as recited in the independent claim above.
The McGowan-Greven combination does not teach herein the acquisition unit acquires, from a first creator, a request for creating the collaborative work ,the information generation unit verifies proof information of a work previously registered by the first creator when the request is acquired, and generates information regarding the project for the collaborative work based on the request when the proof information is verified.
Jakobsson et al. teaches:
wherein the acquisition unit acquires, from a first creator, a request for creating the collaborative work ,the information generation unit verifies proof information of a work previously registered by the first creator when the request is acquired, and generates information regarding the project for the collaborative work based on the request when the proof information is verified (See [0015]-In a further embodiment, the received request from the first content creator includes the first piece of content and information pertaining to the work intended to be performed on the first piece of content. Also See [0317]- FIG. 17A further illustrates an option within the embodiment, wherein the process can include providing (1750) the determined novelty score to one or more users. In numerous embodiments, novelty scores can be provided to one or more of the originators. Processes in accordance with a variety of embodiments of the invention can provide the determined novelty score to the author of the content that is most similar to the content received from the originator. This may enable the originator of the already existing content to inspect the newly received content and make a judgment of how similar the newly received content is to the already existing content. In an example, the originator of the already existing content may issue a rating that may affect the novelty score of the originator of the newly received content. In many embodiments, novelty scores can be presented to any user being registered with a content provider. In this optional step, the process may make the novelty score of the originator available to other users and/or originators. Also See [0137]-NFT blockchains in accordance with various embodiments of the invention enable issuance of NFTs by verified users. In many embodiments, the verified users can be content creators that are vetted by an administrator of networks that may be responsible for deploying and maintaining the NFT blockchain. Also See [0171]- Once an output is produced, verifiers 640 in the network can verify the proof, something which typically requires much less processing power, to determine the first device that would have the right to add the winning block 650 to the blockchain 630. As such, under a Proof of Work consensus mechanism, each miner involved can have a success probability proportional to the computational effort expended. ).
McGowan et al., Greven et al., and Jakobsson et al. are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of collaborative platforms for managing creator participation, collaboration, and rights among users of a collaborative project. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGowan-Greven-Jakobsson combination to further include wherein the acquisition unit acquires, from a first creator, a request for creating the collaborative work ,the information generation unit verifies proof information of a work previously registered by the first creator when the request is acquired, and generates information regarding the project for the collaborative work based on the request when the proof information is verified as taught by Jakobsson et al. This is desirable such it that it allows for platforms for collaborative development of content which can allow users to collaborate on developments while maintaining rights and policies of individual contributors. (See Jakobsson, [0129]).
With regards to Claim 15, the McGowan-Greven-Jakobsson combination teaches the claimed invention as recited in the claim above.
The McGowan-Greven combination does not teach wherein the acquisition unit acquires a request for requesting participation in the project from a second creator who is a creator requesting participation in the project, and when the request for the participation is acquired, in a case where a work registered in advance by the second creator is present, the information generation unit verifies proof information of the work registered in advance by the second creator and generates information indicating that the work has been verified, and in a case where the work registered in advance by the second creator is not present, the information generation unit generates information indicating that the work is not verified.
Jakobsson et al. teaches:
wherein the acquisition unit acquires a request for requesting participation in the project from a second creator who is a creator requesting participation in the project, and when the request for the participation is acquired, in a case where a work registered in advance by the second creator is present, the information generation unit verifies proof information of the work registered in advance by the second creator and generates information indicating that the work has been verified, and in a case where the work registered in advance by the second creator is not present, the information generation unit generates information indicating that the work is not verified (See [0004]-embodiment includes a method for facilitating engagement between two or more content creators. The method receives, at a collaboration system, a request from a first content creator, where the request is for second content creators to work on a first piece of content. The method processes, at the collaboration system, the request in order to identify a set of one or more potential second content creators suitable for working on the first piece of content. The method sends the received request to the set of potential second content creators. The method receives, at the collaboration system, an acceptance of the request from at least one of the set of potential second content creators. Also See [0015]- In a further embodiment, the received request from the first content creator includes the first piece of content and information pertaining to the work intended to be performed on the first piece of content. Also See [0137]-NFT blockchains in accordance with various embodiments of the invention enable issuance of NFTs by verified users. In many embodiments, the verified users can be content creators that are vetted by an administrator of networks that may be responsible for deploying and maintaining the NFT blockchain. Also See [0171]- Once an output is produced, verifiers 640 in the network can verify the proof, something which typically requires much less processing power, to determine the first device that would have the right to add the winning block 650 to the blockchain 630. As such, under a Proof of Work consensus mechanism, each miner involved can have a success probability proportional to the computational effort expended. ).
McGowan et al., Greven et al., and Jakobsson et al. are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of collaborative platforms for managing creator participation, collaboration, and rights among users of a collaborative project. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGowan-Greven-Jakobsson combination to further include wherein the acquisition unit acquires a request for requesting participation in the project from a second creator who is a creator requesting participation in the project, and when the request for the participation is acquired, in a case where a work registered in advance by the second creator is present, the information generation unit verifies proof information of the work registered in advance by the second creator and generates information indicating that the work has been verified, and in a case where the work registered in advance by the second creator is not present, the information generation unit generates information indicating that the work is not verified as taught by Jakobsson et al. This is desirable such it that it allows for platforms for collaborative development of content which can allow users to collaborate on developments while maintaining rights and policies of individual contributors. (See Jakobsson, [0129]).
With regards to Claim 17, the McGowan-Greven-Jakobsson combination teaches the claimed invention as recited in the claim above.
The McGowan-Greven combination does not teach wherein the acquisition unit acquires, from the first creator, information indicating whether or not the second creator is permitted to participate in the project, and the information generation unit generates, based on the information acquired from the first creator, information for displaying the second creator who is permitted to participate in the project.
Jakobsson teaches:
wherein the acquisition unit acquires, from the first creator, information indicating whether or not the second creator is permitted to participate in the project, and the information generation unit generates, based on the information acquired from the first creator, information for displaying the second creator who is permitted to participate in the project (See [0004]-embodiment includes a method for facilitating engagement between two or more content creators. The method receives, at a collaboration system, a request from a first content creator, where the request is for second content creators to work on a first piece of content. The method processes, at the collaboration system, the request in order to identify a set of one or more potential second content creators suitable for working on the first piece of content. The method sends the received request to the set of potential second content creators. The method receives, at the collaboration system, an acceptance of the request from at least one of the set of potential second content creators. Also See [0015]- In a further embodiment, the received request from the first content creator includes the first piece of content and information pertaining to the work intended to be performed on the first piece of content. Also See [0137]-NFT blockchains in accordance with various embodiments of the invention enable issuance of NFTs by verified users. In many embodiments, the verified users can be content creators that are vetted by an administrator of networks that may be responsible for deploying and maintaining the NFT blockchain. Also See [0171]- Once an output is produced, verifiers 640 in the network can verify the proof, something which typically requires much less processing power, to determine the first device that would have the right to add the winning block 650 to the blockchain 630. As such, under a Proof of Work consensus mechanism, each miner involved can have a success probability proportional to the computational effort expended. ).
McGowan et al., Greven et al., and Jakobsson et al. are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of collaborative platforms for managing creator participation, collaboration, and rights among users of a collaborative project. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGowan-Greven-Jakobsson combination to further include wherein the acquisition unit acquires, from the first creator, information indicating whether or not the second creator is permitted to participate in the project, and the information generation unit generates, based on the information acquired from the first creator, information for displaying the second creator who is permitted to participate in the project as taught by Jakobsson et al. This is desirable such that it allows for platforms for collaborative development of content which can allow users to collaborate on developments while maintaining rights and policies of individual contributors. (See Jakobsson, [0129]).
With regards to Claim 18, the McGowan-Greven combination teaches the claimed invention as recited in the independent claim above.
The McGowan-Greven combination does not teach wherein the information generation unit uses a non-fungible token as the proof information in the blockchain.
Jakobsson teaches:
wherein the information generation unit uses a non-fungible token as the proof information in the blockchain (See [0004]- The method generates a token comprising the second piece of content, wherein the token can be securely attributed to at least one of the first content creator and the second content creator. Also See [0136]- , content creators 104 can incentivize users to grant access to media consumption data using offers including (but not limited to) offers of fungible tokens 118 and/or NFTs 106. In this way, the ability of the content creators to mint NFTs enables consumers to engage directly with the content creators and can be utilized to incentivize users to share with content creators' data concerning user interactions with additional content. Also See [0171]- An example of Proof of Work consensus mechanisms that may be implemented in decentralized blockchains, in accordance with a number of embodiments of the invention, is conceptually illustrated in FIG. 6. The example disclosed in this figure is a challenge—response authentication, a protocol classification in which one party presents a complex problem (“challenge”) 610 and another party must broadcast a valid answer (“proof”) 620 to have clearance to add a block to the decentralized ledger that makes up the blockchain 630. Once an output is produced, verifiers 640 in the network can verify the proof, something which typically requires much less processing power, to determine the first device that would have the right to add the winning block 650 to the blockchain 630. As such, under a Proof of Work consensus mechanism, each miner involved can have a success probability proportional to the computational effort expended. Also See [0181] Systems in accordance with many embodiments of the invention may introduce the notion of a qualifying proof, which, unlike qualitative proofs, are either valid or not valid, using no tie-breaking mechanism. ).
McGowan et al., Greven et al., and Jakobsson et al. are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of collaborative platforms for managing creator participation, collaboration, and rights among users of a collaborative project. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGowan-Greven-Jakobsson combination to further include wherein the information generation unit uses a non-fungible token as the proof information in the blockchain as taught by Jakobsson et al. This is desirable such that it allows for platforms for collaborative development of content which can allow users to collaborate on developments while maintaining rights and policies of individual contributors. (See Jakobsson, [0129]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGowan et al. (US20190259115) in view of Greven et al. (US 20210105148), in view of Jakobsson et al. (US20220398538), further in view of Wang (US 20120072496).
With regards to Claim 16, the McGowan-Greven-Jakobsson combination teaches the claimed invention as recited in the claim above.
Jakobsson teaches:
the information generation unit generates, [based on a result of the vote], information for displaying the second creator who is permitted to participate in the project (See [0018] In a still further embodiment, the processor indicates the identified second content creators in part by providing a rating associated with the identified second content creators, wherein the rating is associated with previously performed work of the identified second content creators. Also See [0223]-Collaboration systems in accordance with several embodiments of the invention may keep track of the actions of a first content creator upon receiving the completion of the work requested by the first content creator. Said actions may include, but are not limited to, ratings given by the first content creator, fulfillment of any duties towards a second content creator as indicated in the request, etc. Also See [0225]-In some embodiments, after a content creator has indicated acceptance, they may have a given period of time to generate the promised content (i.e. response). This period may be associated with terms expressed by the first content creator and/or be part of terms configured by the second content creator. The second content creator may, in a window of the UI, have a list of tasks they have committed to. The list of tasks may be sorted based on a criterion.).
McGowan et al., Greven et al., and Jakobsson et al. are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of collaborative platforms for managing creator participation, collaboration, and rights among users of a collaborative project. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGowan-Greven-Jakobsson combination to further include the information generation unit generates, [based on a result of the vote], information for displaying the second creator who is permitted to participate in the project as taught by Jakobsson et al. This is desirable such that it allows for platforms for collaborative development of content which can allow users to collaborate on developments while maintaining rights and policies of individual contributors. (See Jakobsson, [0129])
However, the McGowan-Greven-Jakobsson combination does not teach wherein the acquisition unit acquire.
Wang is directed to self-organization methodologies and system for internet users to build web-based organizational hierarchical structure that is constituent of units within which direct and sufficient communication can be fulfilled.
Wang teaches:
wherein the acquisition unit acquires a vote indicating whether or not the second creator is permitted to participate in the project,(See [0033]-SOC can grow by recruiting new members 1101, 1201 from outside of the structure through its lowest/base level by invitation--which is the method available in the initial phase of SOC implementation--or by self-introduction by the potential new member. The system will prompt a voting process for the unit that prospective member is intended to join to cast votes, and the prospective member will become member officially and assume all the responsibilities and rights if the majority 1100 of the unit vote in favor. Also See [0081]- [0033] SOC can grow by recruiting new members 1101, 1201 from outside of the structure through its lowest/base level by invitation--which is the method available in the initial phase of SOC implementation--or by self-introduction by the potential new member. The base level or layer includes all units not have a subordinate unit underneath of it. The system will prompt a voting process for the unit that prospective member is intended to join to cast votes, and the prospective member will become member officially and assume all the responsibilities and rights if the majority 1100 of the unit vote in favor.)
McGowan et al., Greven et al., Jakobsson et al., and Wang are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of collaborative platforms for managing creator participation, collaboration, and rights among users of a collaborative project. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGowan-Greven-Jakobsson combination to further include wherein the acquisition unit acquires a vote indicating whether or not the second creator is permitted to participate in the project as taught by Wang. This is desirable such that it allows for a method and system of organizing and filtering information that can be applied to build self-organization structure from nonexistence which grows through a viral expansion loop. (See Wang, [0015]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gokan (US 20220171830) teaches relates to an information processing apparatus, an information processing method, and an information processing program, capable of managing the copyright-related information of content appropriately.
All sources listed above are relevant to the disclosed and claimed invention.
/A.W.H./
Examiner, Art Unit 3626
/SANGEETA BAHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626