DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7, 9, 11-13, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Allemand (US20170303737).
1. Allemand teaches a method for producing an article of cookware (Fig. 13-13a and paragraph 0002) with a textured internal surface (Fig. 13) comprising: performing a first forging step (paragraph 0002, paragraph 0105) to create a three-dimensional body of the article of cookware from a sheet (Fig. 13 at 10 and paragraph 0002) material having first (inner surface in Fig. 13) and second opposing major surfaces (outer surface in 13), wherein the three-dimensional body comprises a concave form (Fig. 13) in which the first surface comprises an internal surface (Fig. 13 at 37) and the second surface comprises an external surface (Fig. 13 at the outer base); performing a second forging step (paragraph 0106) on the three-dimensional body to impart a surface texture (Fig 13a) over the internal surface; roughening the internal surface texture (Fig. 13a) to receive a surface coating; applying a non-stick coating (Fig. 13a at 7) to the internal surface with a thickness (Fig. 13 a at 7) so that the surface texture (Fig. 13a) is present after coating.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the second forging step imparts the
surface texture over at least 90% of the internal surface of the concave three-dimensional body (P, 0076).
3. The method of any preceding claim 1, wherein the second forging step creates the surface texture over the entire internal surface of the three-dimensional body (P, 0076).
6. The method of any preceding claim 1, wherein the first forging step (P, 0105) forms a base and side wall of the three-dimensional body, and wherein the second forging step (P0106) creates the surface texture on the internal surface over both the base and side wall (P, 0076).
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the texture is present over the
internal surface where the base meets the side wall, e.g. over a curved transition between the base and side wall (P0076).
9. Allemand teaches a cookware article (Fig. 13 and 13a) comprising: a three-dimensional body (Fig. 13) of concave form (Fig. 13) having internal (Fig. 13 at 37) and external surfaces (outer surface in Fig. 13), the body comprising an underlying metallic material (Fig. 13a at 10, paragraph 0101) and a non-stick coating layer (Fig. 13a at 7) over the internal surface; a surface texture (Fig. 13a at 10) pressed into the underlying metallic material (Fig. 13a at 10) of the body, the surface texture comprising a pattern of discrete raised portions (Fig. 13a) spaced by valleys (Fig. 13a at 15) therebetween, said pattern extending over the internal surface (paragraph 0076); the non-stick coating layer (Fig. 13a at 7) overlying the textured surface (Fig. 13a at 10), the non-stick coating layer having a thickness (Fig. 13a at 7) such that the pattern of the surface texture is present in the surface coating (Fig. 13a at 7).
11. The cookware article of claim 9, wherein the surface texture is continuous over the entirety of the internal surface (P0076).
12. The cookware article of claim 9, wherein the plurality of raised portions are each surrounded by a valley (Fig. 13a at 15).
13. The cookware article of claim 12, wherein the valleys form a continuous network over the surface texture (Fig. 13a and Fig. 13).
19. The cookware article of claim 9, wherein the underlying metallic material comprises aluminum (P0020).
20. The cookware article of claim 9, wherein the surface texture of underlying metallic material has a roughened surface at the interface with the non-stick coating (Fig. 13a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 8, 10, 14, 15, 16, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allemand.
4.The method of any preceding claim 1, Allemand DIFFERS in that it does not disclose wherein the non-stick coating forms a layer of 50µm or less over the internal surface. However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable values involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, to modify Allemand, by employing such a value, in order to have an optimal cooking device, as desired by a user.
5. The method of any preceding claim 1, Allemand DIFFERS in that it does not disclose wherein the second forging step comprises pressing a die onto the internal surface, the die having a pre-determined pattern on its outer surface that is an inverse of the surface texture imparted onto the internal surface of the three-dimensional body. However, Official Notice is taken that it is old and well known to use a press die inside a machine to stamp a pattern. Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, to modify Allemand, by employing such a die press, in order to have an optimal cooking device, as desired by a user.
8. The method of any preceding claim 1, Allemand DIFFERS in that it does not disclose wherein the roughening of the internal surface texture creates microscopic texture therein on a lengthscale that is at least an order of magnitude smaller than the surface texture. However a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). However, a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, to modify Allemand, by employing such a size and shape, in order to have an optimal cooking device, as desired by a user.
10. The cookware article of claim 9, Allemand DIFFERS in that it does not disclose wherein the texture comprises an irregular pattern. However, a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, to modify Allemand, by employing such a shape, in order to have an optimal cooking device, as desired by a user.
14. The cookware article of claim 13, Allemand DIFFERS in that it does not disclose wherein the raised portions and valleys have curved sides. However, a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, to modify Allemand, by employing such a shape, in order to have an optimal cooking device, as desired by a user.
15. The cookware article of claim 9, Allemand DIFFERS in that it does not disclose wherein the raised portions comprise irregular shapes in plan. However, a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, to modify Allemand, by employing such a shape, in order to have an optimal cooking device, as desired by a user.
16. The cookware article of claim 9, Allemand DIFFERS in that it does not disclose wherein the raised portions have a width in the range of 0.5mm to 5mm. However, It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, to modify Allemand, by employing such a range, in order to have an optimal cooking device, as desired by a user.
17. The cookware article of claim 12, Allemand DIFFERS in that it does not disclose wherein the height difference between any raised portion and any valley is in the range of 0.2mm to 0.8mm, or 0.3mm to 0.5mm. However, It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, to modify Allemand, by employing such a range, in order to have an optimal cooking device, as desired by a user.
18. The cookware article of claim 9, Allemand DIFFERS in that it does not disclose wherein the raised portions are arched in sectional profile. However, a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, to modify Allemand, by employing such a shape, in order to have an optimal cooking device, as desired by a user.
Conclusion
/KAREEN K THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736