Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/10/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “indexed teeth that mesh with teeth of the clamshell core…operable to be removed during a repair procedure” of claims 9 and 19 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. The drawings do not show any teeth that can be removed during a repair procedure and does not appear obvious of how teeth can be removed when teeth on the piping sections engage with teeth of the clamshell core and the piping sections and the clamshell core are covered by the center coupler body and the first and second end couplers. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are also objected to because Fig. 3A has multiple views and fail to be identified by the same number followed by a capital letter as required by CFR 1.84(u). For example, Fig. 3A shows three different views and each view should be labeled as Fig. 3A1, Fig. 3A2, and Fig. 3A3.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites “sections used to impart the force” and should be “sections utilized
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “include an exterior mirroring the receiving bore of the center coupler body” which is unclear because the language does properly describe the invention. See Fig. 4C, the bore the center coupler body is the longitudinal space within the center coupler body and the exterior of the first and second end couplers do not appear to mirror the bore of the center coupler body. It seems the first and second couplers are better described as being fitted within the bore of the center coupler body. If applicant intended the exterior of the first and second couplers to mirror an internal surface of the center coupler body, then it must be properly claimed. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “include an exterior mirroring an interior of the receiving bore of the center coupler body” such that the exterior of the first and second end couplers mirrors by complementing or matching an interior of the receiving bore through at least the respective threads.
Claim 9 recites “indexed teeth that mesh with teeth of the clamshell core…a set of the indexed teeth of the two piping sections is operable to be removed” which is unclear of how the teeth can be removed when the teeth shown in the drawings are integral to the piping sections and the clamshell core and the center coupler body and the first and second end couplers cover both the piping sections and the clamshell core.
Claim 11 is unclear for similar reasons above for claim 1 and will be interpreted in the same manner.
Claim 19 is unclear for the same reasons above for claim 9.
All dependent claims of these claims are rejected under 112th second paragraph by virtue of their dependency. Thus, claims 2-8, 10, 12-18, and 20 are rejected under 112th second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Compton et al. (US 2014/0103638 A1, hereinafter “Compton”).
In regard to claim 1, Compton discloses a field repairable flangeless lined piping connection system (Figs. 7 and 8 show a field repairable flangeless lined piping connection system), comprising:
a clamshell core operable to fit over an end of each of two piping sections (Fig. 8, 215 defines a clamshell core which fits over an end of two piping sections 205 and in [0040-0041] discloses each 205 defines at least a piping section and a liner) and join the two piping sections (Fig. 8, 215 at least joins both 205 together); and
a coupler assembly including:
a center coupler body (Fig. 8, 217 defines at least center coupler body) having a receiving bore (Fig. 8, space within 217 defines a receiving bore) and operable to be disposed over the clamshell core (Fig. 8, 217 fits over 215); and
a first end coupler and a second end coupler each disposed over one of the two piping sections (Fig. 8, respective 203 each disposed over one of 205), wherein each of the first end coupler and the second end coupler include an exterior mirroring an interior of the receiving bore of the center coupler body (Fig. 8, exterior surface at each 220 at least mirrors an interior of the receiving bore of 217 such that the exterior surface define a circumferential surface that matches and fits within the respective interior of the receiving bore), and wherein the first end coupler and the second end coupler are operable to be inserted into respective ends of the center coupler body (Fig. 8, each 203 are inserted into respective ends of 217 such that each 203 are at opposite ends of 217).
In regard to claim 8, Compton discloses the field repairable flangeless lined piping connection system of Claim 1, wherein the clamshell core includes two separate pieces that are operable to fit over the end of each of the two piping sections (Fig. 7, 215 can be two separate pieces 215A and 215B that fit over the end of each of the two piping sections 205).
In regard to claim 11, Compton discloses a method of installing a field repairable flangeless piping connection system, the method comprising:
arranging two piping sections together, each of the two piping sections having a plastic liner (See claim 1 above for the same reasons that discloses “a field repairable flangeless piping connection system…a plastic liner”);
fusing the plastic liner of each of the two piping sections together (In [0039-0040] discloses the liner 205 can be fused together);
fitting a clamshell core over an end of each of two piping sections to join the two piping sections;
disposing a center coupler body having a receiving bore over the clamshell core;
disposing a first end coupler over one of the two piping sections and a second end coupler over the other of the two piping sections, wherein each of the first end coupler and the second end coupler include an exterior mirroring an interior of the receiving bore of the center coupler body; and
inserting the first end coupler and the second end coupler into respective ends of the center coupler body (See claim 1 above for the same reasons that require “fitting a clamshell core…the center coupler body”).
In regard to claim 18, Compton discloses the method of Claim 11, wherein the clamshell core includes two separate pieces and the method further comprises fitting the two separate pieces of the clamshell core over the end of each of the two piping sections (See claim 8 above for the same reasons).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Compton (US 2014/0103638 A1) in view of Bouey et al. (US 2015/0027581 A1, hereinafter “Bouey”).
In regard to claim 4, Compton discloses the field repairable flangeless lined piping connection system of Claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein one or more set screws are disposed in one or more respective apertures of the clamshell core to provide structural rigidity.
In the related field of pipe couplings, Bouey teaches at least one set screw to join two parts together provides at least the advantage of stiffness and strength (In [0049] discloses the advantage the utilizing a set screw).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the clamshell core of Compton to include one or more set screws are disposed in one or more respective apertures of the clamshell core with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of stiffness and strength as taught by Bouey.
In regard to claim 5, Compton discloses the field repairable flangeless lined piping connection system of Claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein the end of each of the two piping sections includes knurled sections that provide a mechanical resistance with the clamshell core.
In the related field of pipe couplings, Bouey teaches a roughening to join two parts together (Fig. 2E, threads define teeth that mesh with grooves on an outside portion of a piping section and in [0050] discloses the threads can also be a surface roughening) in order to have at least the advantage of a suitable and reliable friction connection can be made to hold two parts together.
Although Bouey does not explicitly disclose knurling, knurling is a well-known type of surface roughening as disclosed at https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Knurling.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the end of each of the two piping sections of Compton to include a surface roughening with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a known and reliable connection such as a surface roughening as taught by Bouey.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the end of each of the two piping sections of Compton in view of Bouey to include knurled sections as the surface roughening with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a known and reliable connection such as knurling.
In regard to claim 6, Compton discloses the field repairable flangeless lined piping connection system of Claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein a body of the clamshell core includes ridges that provide a mechanical resistance with the two piping sections.
In the related field of pipe couplings, Bouey teaches ridges that provide mechanical resistance between two parts (Fig. 7A, ridges 546 for 508 and at least 502) in order to have at least the advantage of increased strength and seal between the two parts (In [0101-0102] discloses the advantages of utilizing teeth/ridges 546).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a body of the clamshell core of Compton to include ridges that provide a mechanical resistance with the two piping sections with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of increased strength and seal as taught by Bouey.
In regard to claim 7, Compton discloses the field repairable flangeless lined piping connection system of Claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein the clamshell core includes teeth that mesh with grooves on an outside portion of the two piping sections.
In the related field of pipe couplings, Bouey teaches teeth that mesh with grooves on an outside portion of a piping section (Fig. 2E, threads define teeth that mesh with grooves on an outside portion of a piping section) in order to have at least the advantage of a suitable and reliable friction connection can be made to hold two parts together.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the clamshell core of Compton to include teeth that mesh with grooves on an outside portion of the two piping sections with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a known and reliable connection such as threads as taught by Bouey.
In regard to claim 14, Compton discloses the method of Claim 11, and Compton in view of Bouey disclose wherein one or more set screws are disposed in one or more respective apertures of the clamshell core to provide structural rigidity (See claim 4 above for the same reasons).
In regard to claim 15, Compton discloses the method of Claim 11, and Compton in view of Bouey disclose wherein the end of each of the two piping sections includes knurled sections that provide a mechanical resistance with the clamshell core (See claim 5 above for the same reasons).
In regard to claim 16, Compton discloses the method of Claim 11, and Compton in view of Bouey disclose wherein a body of the clamshell core includes ridges that provide a mechanical resistance with the two piping sections (See claim 6 above for the same reasons).
In regard to claim 17, Compton discloses the method of Claim 11, and Compton in view of Bouey disclose wherein the clamshell core includes teeth that mesh with grooves on an outside portion of the two piping sections (See claim 7 above for the same reasons).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 9-10, 12-13, and 19-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance of claims 2, 9-10, 12, and 19-20:
In regard to claim 2, Compton discloses the field repairable flangeless lined piping connection system of Claim 1, but does not show or suggest wherein insertion of the first and second end couplers into the center coupling body imparts a force to create a mechanical deformation via an interference fit. It would not have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Compton to include wherein insertion of the first and second end couplers into the center coupling body imparts a force to create a mechanical deformation via an interference fit with a reasonable expectation of success because such a modification would require hindsight reasoning and reconstruction.
In regard to claim 9, Compton discloses the field repairable flangeless lined piping connection system of Claim 1, but does not show or suggest wherein the two piping sections include indexed teeth that mesh with teeth of the clamshell core, and wherein a set of the indexed teeth of the two piping sections is operable to be removed during a repair procedure. It would not have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Compton to include wherein the two piping sections include indexed teeth that mesh with teeth of the clamshell core, and wherein a set of the indexed teeth of the two piping sections is operable to be removed during a repair procedure with a reasonable expectation of success because such a modification would require hindsight reasoning and reconstruction.
In regard to claim 10, Compton discloses the field repairable flangeless lined piping connection system of Claim 1, but does not show or suggest wherein the first and second end couplers each include a threaded portion that interfaces with an interior threaded portion of the center coupler body during insertion of the first and second end couplers into the respective ends of the center coupler body. It would not have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Compton to include wherein the first and second end couplers each include a threaded portion that interfaces with an interior threaded portion of the center coupler body during insertion of the first and second end couplers into the respective ends of the center coupler body with a reasonable expectation of success because such a modification would require hindsight reasoning and reconstruction.
In regard to claim 12, the claim is allowable for the same reasons above for claim 2.
In regard to claim 19, the claim is allowable for the same reasons above for claim 9.
In regard to claim 20, the claim is allowable for the same reasons above for claim 10.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Krausse et al. (US 5,730,472) discloses a field repairable flangeless lined piping connection system that has two piping sections, a liner, a clamshell core, and two end couplers similar to applicant’s claimed invention.
Stephenson (US 4,635,967) discloses a field repairable flangeless lined piping connection system that has two piping sections, a liner, a clamshell core, a center coupler body, and two end couplers similar to applicant’s claimed invention.
Hara et al. (US 3,711,126), Lewis (US 1,202,196), Greaves (US 4,565,393), Moore (US 255,734), and Cogan (US 318,356) disclose a field repairable flangeless lined piping connection system that has two piping sections, a center coupler body, and two end couplers similar to applicant’s claimed invention.
/WILLIAM S. CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679