DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-8 and 10-21 submitted on 11/10/2025 are pending and have been examined.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent application No. CN202310934206, filed on 07/27/2023.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for a 371 of international Application No. PCT/CN2024/102523, filed on 06/28/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/11/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 4, 6, 13, 14, 16, 20, and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“wherein the media content comprises media content to be post…” and “generating the media content to be post…” in claims 3, 13, and 20 should be changed to, “wherein the media content comprises media content to be posted…” and “generating the media content to be posted…” for consistency and clarity on the record. For purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner will interpret the limitation as, “wherein the media content comprises media content to be posted…” and “generating the media content to be posted…”
“media content to be post…,” “shooting the media content to be post…,” and “generating the media content to be post to be post…” in claims 4, 14, and 21 should be changed to, “media content to be posted…,” “shooting the media content to be posted…,” and “generating the media content ed…” for consistency and clarity on the record. For purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner will interpret the limitation as, “media content to be posted…,” “shooting the media content to be posted…,” and “generating the media content ed…”
“after the generating the media content to be post…” and “posting the media content to be post…” in claims 6 and 16 should be changed to, “after the generating the media content to be posted…” and “posting the media content to be posted…” for consistency and clarity on the record. For purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner will interpret the limitation as, “after the generating the media content to be posted…” and “posting the media content to be posted…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 and 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. The claims recite an abstract idea. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Step 1
Claims 1-8 are directed to a process, claims 10 and 12-18 are directed to a system, and claims 11 and 19-21 are directed to an article of manufacture (see MPEP 2106.03).
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 1, taken as representative, recites at least the following limitations that recite an abstract idea:
an interaction method, comprising: displaying object information of a to-be-recommended object of a current user;
displaying at least one addition control in response to a control display operation, wherein different addition controls correspond to different object recommendation sets, and the different object recommendation sets support different recommendation methods to recommend an added object;
adding a target to-be-recommended object to a target object recommendation set of the current user in response to a trigger operation on a target addition control in the at least one addition control, wherein the target to-be-recommended object is a to-be-recommended object that is selected by the current user, and the target object recommendation set is an object recommendation set corresponding to the target addition control.
The above limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas, enumerated in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II), in that it recites a commercial interaction. For example, recommending objects is a sales and marketing activity. See ¶0003 of the instant specification where it is discussed that the invention improves product recommendation. The limitation also falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas, enumerated in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), in that it recites concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion). For example, displaying and adding steps are judgements or evaluations. Claims 10 and 11 recite similar limitations as claim 1.
Thus, under Prong 1 of Step 2A, claims 1, 10, and 11 recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2
Claim 1 includes the following additional elements that are bolded:
an interaction method, comprising: displaying object information of a to-be-recommended object of a current user on a first object page;
displaying at least one addition control in response to a control display operation, wherein different addition controls correspond to different object recommendation sets, and the different object recommendation sets support different recommendation methods to recommend an added object;
adding a target to-be-recommended object to a target object recommendation set of the current user in response to a trigger operation on a target addition control in the at least one addition control, wherein the target to-be-recommended object is a to-be-recommended object that is selected by the current user on the first object page, and the target object recommendation set is an object recommendation set corresponding to the target addition control.
Claims 10 and 11 include the same additional elements as claim 1. In addition, claim 10 includes additional elements such as an electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory communicatively connected to the at least one processor; wherein the memory stores computer programs executable by the at least one processor, the computer programs are executed by the at least one processor so that the at least one processor performs an interaction method. In addition, claim 11 includes additional elements such as a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores computer instructions, the computer instructions are used to cause the processor to implement an interaction method when executed
The additional elements recited in claims 1, 10, and 11 merely invoke such elements as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment of object pages (see MPEP 2106.05(f) and MPEP 2106.05(h). These additional elements are described at a high level in Applicant’s specification without any meaningful detail about their structure or configuration (see Fig. 7 and ¶¶0125-0127).
As such, under Prong 2 of Step 2A, when considered both individually and as a whole, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and, thus, claims 1, 10, and 11 are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
As noted above, while the recitation of the additional elements in independent claims 1, 10, and 11 are acknowledged, claims 1, 10, and 11 merely invoke such additional elements as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(f) and MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Even when considered as an ordered combination, the additional elements of claims 1, 10, and 11 do not add anything that is not already present when they are considered individually. Therefore, under Step 2B, there are no meaningful limitations in claims 1, 10, and 11 that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (see MPEP 2106.05).
As such, independent claims 1, 10, and 11 are ineligible.
Dependent claims 2, 6-9, 12, and 16-19 when analyzed as a whole, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they do not add “significantly more” to the abstract idea. More specifically, dependent claims 2, 6-9, 12, and 16-19 merely further define the abstract limitations of claims 1, 10, and 11 or provide further embellishments of the limitations recited in independent claims 1, 10, and 11. Claims 2, 6-9, 12, and 16-19 do not introduce any further additional elements. Thus, dependent claims 2, 6-9, 12, and 16-19 are ineligible.
Furthermore, it is noted that certain dependent claims recite additional elements supplemental to those recited in independent claims 1, 10, and 11: a media content generation page (claims 3, 5, 13, 15, and 20), shooting a live streaming (claims 3, 13, and 20), a shooting page and/or a material page (claims 4, 14, and 21), shooting the media content (claims 4, 14, and 21), and recommendation information input page (claims 5 and 15). However, these elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they merely amount to using a computer to apply the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use and thus do not act to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea. Additionally, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more because they merely amount to using a computer to apply the abstract idea and amount to no more than a general link of the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Thus, dependent claims 3-5, 13-15, 20, and 21 are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Devoy et al. (US 2022/0191594 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Devoy et al., hereinafter, Devoy, discloses an interaction method, comprising: displaying object information of a to-be-recommended object of a current user on a first object page (Fig. 2[showing object information]; ¶0058[the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event.]);
displaying at least one addition control in response to a control display operation, wherein different addition controls correspond to different object recommendation sets, and the different object recommendation sets support different recommendation methods to recommend an added object (Fig. 2;¶0058[In the current example 200 and as illustrated in interface 202, the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event. Likewise, as shown with respect to interface 204, the host user may select whole collections or pre-arranged groups of items by selecting a collection from the collection selection area 208. The host user may also search for specific items or collections using the search bar 210 in either the item interface 202 or the collection interface 204.]);
adding a target to-be-recommended object to a target object recommendation set of the current user in response to a trigger operation on a target addition control in the at least one addition control, wherein the target to-be-recommended object is a to-be-recommended object that is selected by the current user on the first object page, and the target object recommendation set is an object recommendation set corresponding to the target addition control (Figs. 1 and 2;¶0058[In the current example 200 and as illustrated in interface 202, the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event. Likewise, as shown with respect to interface 204, the host user may select whole collections or pre-arranged groups of items by selecting a collection from the collection selection area 208. The host user may also search for specific items or collections using the search bar 210 in either the item interface 202 or the collection interface 204.]; Examiner notes that, “displaying at least one addition control in response to a control display operation” and “adding a target to-be-recommended object to a target object recommendation set of the current user in response to a trigger operation on a target addition control in the at least one addition control” are conditional limitations and are accordingly granted little to no patentable weight. Nonetheless, the limitations have been fully examined.).
Regarding Claim 2, Devoy discloses the interaction method according to claim 1, Devoy discloses wherein after the adding a target to-be-recommended object to a target object recommendation set of the current user, the interaction method further comprises:
generating associated display content of the target object recommendation set, wherein the associated display content comprises media content (Figs. 2 and 5; ¶¶0062-0063[In the current example 500, a viewing or consuming user has selected to open the shopping interface 504, for instance, by selecting the shopping interface icon from the user input area 412 show above with respect to FIG. 4. As shown in the current example 500, when the shopping interface 504 is open, the display continues to display the streaming content of the event in the content area 506. For instance, in the illustrated example 500, the display may be split or otherwise separated such that a first portion of the display may present the shopping interface 504 and a second portion of the display may present the content of the live stream event concurrently with the shopping interface 504… The shopping interface 504 may display a list of the items and/or collections selected by the host user during the scheduling or setup phase of the live stream event]).
Regarding Claim 3, Devoy discloses the interaction method according to claim 2, Devoy discloses wherein the media content comprises media content to be posted and/or live streaming media content (Figs. 2 and 5; ¶0063[The shopping interface 504 may display a list of the items and/or collections selected by the host user during the scheduling or setup phase of the live stream event]), and
the generating associated display content of the target object recommendation set comprises: displaying a media content generation page corresponding to the target object recommendation set (Figs. 2 and 5; ¶0063[The shopping interface 504 may display a list of the items and/or collections selected by the host user during the scheduling or setup phase of the live stream event]); and
generating the media content to be posted that is displayed in association with the target object recommendation set in response to a generation operation performed within the media content generation page (Figs. 2 and 5; ¶¶0062-0063[In the current example 500, a viewing or consuming user has selected to open the shopping interface 504, for instance, by selecting the shopping interface icon from the user input area 412 show above with respect to FIG. 4. As shown in the current example 500, when the shopping interface 504 is open, the display continues to display the streaming content of the event in the content area 506. For instance, in the illustrated example 500, the display may be split or otherwise separated such that a first portion of the display may present the shopping interface 504 and a second portion of the display may present the content of the live stream event concurrently with the shopping interface 504.]); and/or
shooting a live streaming image in response to a live streaming start operation of the current user (¶0076[At 1012, the host user 104 may initiate the live stream event. For example, the host user 104 may initiate the live stream event by providing a user input and/or initiating an image and/or audio capture via one or more devices, such as the computing device 112. In other cases, the social networking system 106 may assist with or cause the live stream event to commence, such as in response to a trigger associated with the start time and date.]), and
displaying the live streaming image and a first control in a live streaming room of the current user, wherein the first control is used to trigger display of the target object recommendation set (Figs. 2 and 5; ¶¶0062-0063[In the current example 500, a viewing or consuming user has selected to open the shopping interface 504, for instance, by selecting the shopping interface icon from the user input area 412 show above with respect to FIG. 4. As shown in the current example 500, when the shopping interface 504 is open, the display continues to display the streaming content of the event in the content area 506. For instance, in the illustrated example 500, the display may be split or otherwise separated such that a first portion of the display may present the shopping interface 504 and a second portion of the display may present the content of the live stream event concurrently with the shopping interface 504.]).
Regarding Claim 4, Devoy discloses the interaction method according to claim 3, Devoy discloses wherein the media content generation page comprises a shooting page and/or a material page (Figs. 1-2; ¶0059[In the current example 300, the host user, such as host user 104 of FIG. 1, may initiate a live stream event, such as by selecting the live icon 304, or pre-record an event, such as by selecting the story icon 306. The host user may also view the image content being recorded in a content area 308, such that the host user may view the live stream content concurrently with the viewing users, such as users 102(1)-(n) of FIG. 1.]),
the generating the media content to be posted that is displayed in association with the target object recommendation set in response to a generation operation performed within the media content generation page comprises: shooting the media content to be posted that is displayed in association with the target object recommendation set in response to a first generation operation performed within the shooting page (Figs. 3 and 5; ¶0059[In the current example 300, the host user, such as host user 104 of FIG. 1, may initiate a live stream event, such as by selecting the live icon 304, or pre-record an event, such as by selecting the story icon 306. The host user may also view the image content being recorded in a content area 308, such that the host user may view the live stream content concurrently with the viewing users, such as users 102(1)-(n) of FIG. 1] in view of ¶0063[The shopping interface 504 may display a list of the items and/or collections selected by the host user during the scheduling or setup phase of the live stream event.]); and/or
generating the media content to be posted that is displayed in association with the target object recommendation set based on a material in a selected state in the material page in response to a second generation operation performed within the material page (Fig. 2; ¶0058[The host user may also select a topic, as well as items and/or item collections (e.g., a series of related items or items grouped by the host user) to be featured during the live stream event. In the current example 200 and as illustrated in interface 202, the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event. Likewise, as shown with respect to interface 204, the host user may select whole collections or pre-arranged groups of items by selecting a collection from the collection selection area 208. The host user may also search for specific items or collections using the search bar 210 in either the item interface 202 or the collection interface 204.]).
Regarding Claim 5, Devoy discloses the interaction method according to claim 3, Devoy discloses wherein before the displaying a media content generation page corresponding to the target object recommendation set, the interaction method further comprises: displaying a recommendation information input page of the target object recommendation set, wherein the recommendation information input page is used to input recommendation information of an object added to the target object recommendation set for the current user (Fig. 2; ¶0058[The host user may also select a topic, as well as items and/or item collections (e.g., a series of related items or items grouped by the host user) to be featured during the live stream event. In the current example 200 and as illustrated in interface 202, the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event. Likewise, as shown with respect to interface 204, the host user may select whole collections or pre-arranged groups of items by selecting a collection from the collection selection area 208. The host user may also search for specific items or collections using the search bar 210 in either the item interface 202 or the collection interface 204.]);
the displaying a media content generation page corresponding to the target object recommendation set comprises: switching a current page from the recommendation information input page to the media content generation page corresponding to the target object recommendation set in response to an input completion operation performed within the recommendation information input page (Figs. 2-3; ¶0059[FIG. 3 is an example illustrating a streaming interface 302 associated with a live stream event according to some implementations. In the current example 300, the host user, such as host user 104 of FIG. 1, may initiate a live stream event, such as by selecting the live icon 304, or pre-record an event, such as by selecting the story icon 306. The host user may also view the image content being recorded in a content area 308, such that the host user may view the live stream content concurrently with the viewing users, such as users 102(1)-(n) of FIG. 1.]).
Regarding Claim 6, Devoy discloses the interaction method according to claim 3, Devoy discloses wherein after the generating the media content to be posted that is displayed in association with the target object recommendation set, the interaction method further comprises: posting the media content to be posted in response to a posting operation for the media content to be posted (Figs. 1 and 2; ¶0041[The social networking system 106 may also, with input from a user, create and store a record of relationships of the user with other users of the social networking system 106, as well as provide services (e.g., posts, comments, photo-sharing, messaging, tagging, mentioning of other users or entities, games, etc.) to facilitate social interaction between or among the users]).
Regarding Claim 7, Devoy discloses the interaction method according to claim 1, Devoy discloses wherein the adding a target to-be-recommended object to a target object recommendation set of the current user in response to a trigger operation on a target addition control in the at least one addition control comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of:
adding the target to-be-recommended object to a first target object recommendation set of the current user in response to a trigger operation for a first target addition control in the at least one addition control, wherein the first target object recommendation set is displayed in association with at least one media content posted by the current user (Fig. 2; ¶0058[The host user may also select a topic, as well as items and/or item collections (e.g., a series of related items or items grouped by the host user) to be featured during the live stream event. In the current example 200 and as illustrated in interface 202, the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event. Likewise, as shown with respect to interface 204, the host user may select whole collections or pre-arranged groups of items by selecting a collection from the collection selection area 208. The host user may also search for specific items or collections using the search bar 210 in either the item interface 202 or the collection interface 204.]);
adding the target to-be-recommended object to a second target object recommendation set of the current user in response to a trigger operation for a second target addition control in the at least one addition control, wherein the second target object recommendation set is displayed in association with live streaming media content of the current user (Fig. 2; ¶0058[The host user may also select a topic, as well as items and/or item collections (e.g., a series of related items or items grouped by the host user) to be featured during the live stream event. In the current example 200 and as illustrated in interface 202, the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event. Likewise, as shown with respect to interface 204, the host user may select whole collections or pre-arranged groups of items by selecting a collection from the collection selection area 208. The host user may also search for specific items or collections using the search bar 210 in either the item interface 202 or the collection interface 204.]); and
adding the target to-be-recommended object to a third target object recommendation set of the current user in response to a trigger operation for a third target addition control in the at least one addition control, wherein the third target object recommendation set is displayed on a second object page of the current user (Fig. 2; ¶0058[The host user may also select a topic, as well as items and/or item collections (e.g., a series of related items or items grouped by the host user) to be featured during the live stream event. In the current example 200 and as illustrated in interface 202, the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event. Likewise, as shown with respect to interface 204, the host user may select whole collections or pre-arranged groups of items by selecting a collection from the collection selection area 208. The host user may also search for specific items or collections using the search bar 210 in either the item interface 202 or the collection interface 204.]).
Regarding Claim 10, Devoy discloses an electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory communicatively connected to the at least one processor; wherein the memory stores computer programs executable by the at least one processor, the computer programs are executed by the at least one processor so that the at least one processor performs an interaction method, and the interaction method comprises (Fig. 14; ¶¶0111-0112[Accordingly, the processing system 1404 is illustrated as including hardware elements 1410 that may be configured as processors… The computer-readable storage media 1406 is illustrated as including memory/storage 1412]):
displaying object information of a to-be-recommended object of a current user on a first object page (Fig. 2[showing object information]; ¶0058[the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event.]);
displaying at least one addition control in response to a control display operation, wherein different addition controls correspond to different object recommendation sets, and the different object recommendation sets support different recommendation methods to recommend an added object (Fig. 2;¶0058[In the current example 200 and as illustrated in interface 202, the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event. Likewise, as shown with respect to interface 204, the host user may select whole collections or pre-arranged groups of items by selecting a collection from the collection selection area 208. The host user may also search for specific items or collections using the search bar 210 in either the item interface 202 or the collection interface 204.]);
adding a target to-be-recommended object to a target object recommendation set of the current user in response to a trigger operation on a target addition control in the at least one addition control, wherein the target to-be-recommended object is a to-be-recommended object that is selected by the current user on the first object page, and the target object recommendation set is an object recommendation set corresponding to the target addition control (Figs. 1 and 2;¶0058[In the current example 200 and as illustrated in interface 202, the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event. Likewise, as shown with respect to interface 204, the host user may select whole collections or pre-arranged groups of items by selecting a collection from the collection selection area 208. The host user may also search for specific items or collections using the search bar 210 in either the item interface 202 or the collection interface 204.]).
Regarding Claim 11, Devoy discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores computer instructions, the computer instructions are used to cause the processor to implement an interaction method when executed, and the interaction method comprises (Fig. 14; ¶¶0111-0112[Accordingly, the processing system 1404 is illustrated as including hardware elements 1410 that may be configured as processors… The computer-readable storage media 1406 is illustrated as including memory/storage 1412]):
displaying object information of a to-be-recommended object of a current user on a first object page (Fig. 2[showing object information]; ¶0058[the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event.]);
displaying at least one addition control in response to a control display operation, wherein different addition controls correspond to different object recommendation sets, and the different object recommendation sets support different recommendation methods to recommend an added object (Fig. 2;¶0058[In the current example 200 and as illustrated in interface 202, the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event. Likewise, as shown with respect to interface 204, the host user may select whole collections or pre-arranged groups of items by selecting a collection from the collection selection area 208. The host user may also search for specific items or collections using the search bar 210 in either the item interface 202 or the collection interface 204.]);
adding a target to-be-recommended object to a target object recommendation set of the current user in response to a trigger operation on a target addition control in the at least one addition control, wherein the target to-be-recommended object is a to-be-recommended object that is selected by the current user on the first object page, and the target object recommendation set is an object recommendation set corresponding to the target addition control (Figs. 1 and 2;¶0058[In the current example 200 and as illustrated in interface 202, the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event. Likewise, as shown with respect to interface 204, the host user may select whole collections or pre-arranged groups of items by selecting a collection from the collection selection area 208. The host user may also search for specific items or collections using the search bar 210 in either the item interface 202 or the collection interface 204.]).
Regarding Claim 12, Devoy discloses the electronic device according to claim 10, Devoy discloses wherein after the adding a target to-be-recommended object to a target object recommendation set of the current user, the interaction method further comprises:
generating associated display content of the target object recommendation set, wherein the associated display content comprises media content (Figs. 2 and 5; ¶¶0062-0063[In the current example 500, a viewing or consuming user has selected to open the shopping interface 504, for instance, by selecting the shopping interface icon from the user input area 412 show above with respect to FIG. 4. As shown in the current example 500, when the shopping interface 504 is open, the display continues to display the streaming content of the event in the content area 506. For instance, in the illustrated example 500, the display may be split or otherwise separated such that a first portion of the display may present the shopping interface 504 and a second portion of the display may present the content of the live stream event concurrently with the shopping interface 504… The shopping interface 504 may display a list of the items and/or collections selected by the host user during the scheduling or setup phase of the live stream event]).
Regarding Claim 13, Devoy discloses the electronic device according to claim 12, Devoy discloses wherein the media content comprises media content to be posted and/or live streaming media content (Figs. 2 and 5; ¶0063[The shopping interface 504 may display a list of the items and/or collections selected by the host user during the scheduling or setup phase of the live stream event]), and
the generating associated display content of the target object recommendation set comprises: displaying a media content generation page corresponding to the target object recommendation set (Figs. 2 and 5; ¶0063[The shopping interface 504 may display a list of the items and/or collections selected by the host user during the scheduling or setup phase of the live stream event]); and
generating the media content to be posted that is displayed in association with the target object recommendation set in response to a generation operation performed within the media content generation page (Figs. 2 and 5; ¶¶0062-0063[In the current example 500, a viewing or consuming user has selected to open the shopping interface 504, for instance, by selecting the shopping interface icon from the user input area 412 show above with respect to FIG. 4. As shown in the current example 500, when the shopping interface 504 is open, the display continues to display the streaming content of the event in the content area 506. For instance, in the illustrated example 500, the display may be split or otherwise separated such that a first portion of the display may present the shopping interface 504 and a second portion of the display may present the content of the live stream event concurrently with the shopping interface 504.]); and/or
shooting a live streaming image in response to a live streaming start operation of the current user (¶0076[At 1012, the host user 104 may initiate the live stream event. For example, the host user 104 may initiate the live stream event by providing a user input and/or initiating an image and/or audio capture via one or more devices, such as the computing device 112. In other cases, the social networking system 106 may assist with or cause the live stream event to commence, such as in response to a trigger associated with the start time and date.]), and
displaying the live streaming image and a first control in a live streaming room of the current user, wherein the first control is used to trigger display of the target object recommendation set (Figs. 2 and 5; ¶¶0062-0063[In the current example 500, a viewing or consuming user has selected to open the shopping interface 504, for instance, by selecting the shopping interface icon from the user input area 412 show above with respect to FIG. 4. As shown in the current example 500, when the shopping interface 504 is open, the display continues to display the streaming content of the event in the content area 506. For instance, in the illustrated example 500, the display may be split or otherwise separated such that a first portion of the display may present the shopping interface 504 and a second portion of the display may present the content of the live stream event concurrently with the shopping interface 504.]).
Regarding Claim 14, Devoy discloses the electronic device according to claim 13, Devoy discloses wherein the media content generation page comprises a shooting page and/or a material page (Figs. 1-2; ¶0059[In the current example 300, the host user, such as host user 104 of FIG. 1, may initiate a live stream event, such as by selecting the live icon 304, or pre-record an event, such as by selecting the story icon 306. The host user may also view the image content being recorded in a content area 308, such that the host user may view the live stream content concurrently with the viewing users, such as users 102(1)-(n) of FIG. 1.]),
the generating the media content to be posted that is displayed in association with the target object recommendation set in response to a generation operation performed within the media content generation page comprises: shooting the media content to be posted that is displayed in association with the target object recommendation set in response to a first generation operation performed within the shooting page (Figs. 3 and 5; ¶0059[In the current example 300, the host user, such as host user 104 of FIG. 1, may initiate a live stream event, such as by selecting the live icon 304, or pre-record an event, such as by selecting the story icon 306. The host user may also view the image content being recorded in a content area 308, such that the host user may view the live stream content concurrently with the viewing users, such as users 102(1)-(n) of FIG. 1] in view of ¶0063[The shopping interface 504 may display a list of the items and/or collections selected by the host user during the scheduling or setup phase of the live stream event.]); and/or
generating the media content to be posted that is displayed in association with the target object recommendation set based on a material in a selected state in the material page in response to a second generation operation performed within the material page (Fig. 2; ¶0058[The host user may also select a topic, as well as items and/or item collections (e.g., a series of related items or items grouped by the host user) to be featured during the live stream event. In the current example 200 and as illustrated in interface 202, the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event. Likewise, as shown with respect to interface 204, the host user may select whole collections or pre-arranged groups of items by selecting a collection from the collection selection area 208. The host user may also search for specific items or collections using the search bar 210 in either the item interface 202 or the collection interface 204.]).
Regarding Claim 15, Devoy discloses the electronic device according to claim 13, Devoy discloses wherein before the displaying a media content generation page corresponding to the target object recommendation set, the interaction method further comprises: displaying a recommendation information input page of the target object recommendation set, wherein the recommendation information input page is used to input recommendation information of an object added to the target object recommendation set for the current user (Fig. 2; ¶0058[The host user may also select a topic, as well as items and/or item collections (e.g., a series of related items or items grouped by the host user) to be featured during the live stream event. In the current example 200 and as illustrated in interface 202, the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event. Likewise, as shown with respect to interface 204, the host user may select whole collections or pre-arranged groups of items by selecting a collection from the collection selection area 208. The host user may also search for specific items or collections using the search bar 210 in either the item interface 202 or the collection interface 204.]);
the displaying a media content generation page corresponding to the target object recommendation set comprises: switching a current page from the recommendation information input page to the media content generation page corresponding to the target object recommendation set in response to an input completion operation performed within the recommendation information input page (Figs. 2-3; ¶0059[FIG. 3 is an example illustrating a streaming interface 302 associated with a live stream event according to some implementations. In the current example 300, the host user, such as host user 104 of FIG. 1, may initiate a live stream event, such as by selecting the live icon 304, or pre-record an event, such as by selecting the story icon 306. The host user may also view the image content being recorded in a content area 308, such that the host user may view the live stream content concurrently with the viewing users, such as users 102(1)-(n) of FIG. 1.]).
Regarding Claim 16, Devoy discloses the electronic device according to claim 13, Devoy discloses wherein after the generating the media content to be posted that is displayed in association with the target object recommendation set, the interaction method further comprises: posting the media content to be posted in response to a posting operation for the media content to be posted (Figs. 1 and 2; ¶0041[The social networking system 106 may also, with input from a user, create and store a record of relationships of the user with other users of the social networking system 106, as well as provide services (e.g., posts, comments, photo-sharing, messaging, tagging, mentioning of other users or entities, games, etc.) to facilitate social interaction between or among the users]).
Regarding Claim 17, Devoy discloses the electronic device according to claim 10, Devoy discloses wherein the adding a target to-be-recommended object to a target object recommendation set of the current user in response to a trigger operation on a target addition control in the at least one addition control comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of:
adding the target to-be-recommended object to a first target object recommendation set of the current user in response to a trigger operation for a first target addition control in the at least one addition control, wherein the first target object recommendation set is displayed in association with at least one media content posted by the current user (Fig. 2; ¶0058[The host user may also select a topic, as well as items and/or item collections (e.g., a series of related items or items grouped by the host user) to be featured during the live stream event. In the current example 200 and as illustrated in interface 202, the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event. Likewise, as shown with respect to interface 204, the host user may select whole collections or pre-arranged groups of items by selecting a collection from the collection selection area 208. The host user may also search for specific items or collections using the search bar 210 in either the item interface 202 or the collection interface 204.]);
adding the target to-be-recommended object to a second target object recommendation set of the current user in response to a trigger operation for a second target addition control in the at least one addition control, wherein the second target object recommendation set is displayed in association with live streaming media content of the current user (Fig. 2; ¶0058[The host user may also select a topic, as well as items and/or item collections (e.g., a series of related items or items grouped by the host user) to be featured during the live stream event. In the current example 200 and as illustrated in interface 202, the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event. Likewise, as shown with respect to interface 204, the host user may select whole collections or pre-arranged groups of items by selecting a collection from the collection selection area 208. The host user may also search for specific items or collections using the search bar 210 in either the item interface 202 or the collection interface 204.]); and
adding the target to-be-recommended object to a third target object recommendation set of the current user in response to a trigger operation for a third target addition control in the at least one addition control, wherein the third target object recommendation set is displayed on a second object page of the current user (Fig. 2; ¶0058[The host user may also select a topic, as well as items and/or item collections (e.g., a series of related items or items grouped by the host user) to be featured during the live stream event. In the current example 200 and as illustrated in interface 202, the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event. Likewise, as shown with respect to interface 204, the host user may select whole collections or pre-arranged groups of items by selecting a collection from the collection selection area 208. The host user may also search for specific items or collections using the search bar 210 in either the item interface 202 or the collection interface 204.]).
Regarding Claim 19, Devoy discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 11, Devoy discloses after the adding a target to-be-recommended object to a target object recommendation set of the current user, the interaction method further comprises:
generating associated display content of the target object recommendation set, wherein the associated display content comprises media content (Figs. 2 and 5; ¶¶0062-0063[In the current example 500, a viewing or consuming user has selected to open the shopping interface 504, for instance, by selecting the shopping interface icon from the user input area 412 show above with respect to FIG. 4. As shown in the current example 500, when the shopping interface 504 is open, the display continues to display the streaming content of the event in the content area 506. For instance, in the illustrated example 500, the display may be split or otherwise separated such that a first portion of the display may present the shopping interface 504 and a second portion of the display may present the content of the live stream event concurrently with the shopping interface 504… The shopping interface 504 may display a list of the items and/or collections selected by the host user during the scheduling or setup phase of the live stream event]).
Regarding Claim 20, Devoy discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 19, Devoy discloses wherein the media content comprises media content to be posted and/or live streaming media content (Figs. 2 and 5; ¶0063[The shopping interface 504 may display a list of the items and/or collections selected by the host user during the scheduling or setup phase of the live stream event]), and
the generating associated display content of the target object recommendation set comprises: displaying a media content generation page corresponding to the target object recommendation set (Figs. 2 and 5; ¶0063[The shopping interface 504 may display a list of the items and/or collections selected by the host user during the scheduling or setup phase of the live stream event]); and
generating the media content to be posted that is displayed in association with the target object recommendation set in response to a generation operation performed within the media content generation page (Figs. 2 and 5; ¶¶0062-0063[In the current example 500, a viewing or consuming user has selected to open the shopping interface 504, for instance, by selecting the shopping interface icon from the user input area 412 show above with respect to FIG. 4. As shown in the current example 500, when the shopping interface 504 is open, the display continues to display the streaming content of the event in the content area 506. For instance, in the illustrated example 500, the display may be split or otherwise separated such that a first portion of the display may present the shopping interface 504 and a second portion of the display may present the content of the live stream event concurrently with the shopping interface 504.]); and/or
shooting a live streaming image in response to a live streaming start operation of the current user (¶0076[At 1012, the host user 104 may initiate the live stream event. For example, the host user 104 may initiate the live stream event by providing a user input and/or initiating an image and/or audio capture via one or more devices, such as the computing device 112. In other cases, the social networking system 106 may assist with or cause the live stream event to commence, such as in response to a trigger associated with the start time and date.]), and
displaying the live streaming image and a first control in a live streaming room of the current user, wherein the first control is used to trigger display of the target object recommendation set (Figs. 2 and 5; ¶¶0062-0063[In the current example 500, a viewing or consuming user has selected to open the shopping interface 504, for instance, by selecting the shopping interface icon from the user input area 412 show above with respect to FIG. 4. As shown in the current example 500, when the shopping interface 504 is open, the display continues to display the streaming content of the event in the content area 506. For instance, in the illustrated example 500, the display may be split or otherwise separated such that a first portion of the display may present the shopping interface 504 and a second portion of the display may present the content of the live stream event concurrently with the shopping interface 504.]).
Regarding Claim 21, Devoy discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 20, Devoy discloses wherein the media content generation page comprises a shooting page and/or a material page (Figs. 1-2; ¶0059[In the current example 300, the host user, such as host user 104 of FIG. 1, may initiate a live stream event, such as by selecting the live icon 304, or pre-record an event, such as by selecting the story icon 306. The host user may also view the image content being recorded in a content area 308, such that the host user may view the live stream content concurrently with the viewing users, such as users 102(1)-(n) of FIG. 1.]),
the generating the media content to be posted that is displayed in association with the target object recommendation set in response to a generation operation performed within the media content generation page comprises: shooting the media content to be posted that is displayed in association with the target object recommendation set in response to a first generation operation performed within the shooting page (Figs. 3 and 5; ¶0059[In the current example 300, the host user, such as host user 104 of FIG. 1, may initiate a live stream event, such as by selecting the live icon 304, or pre-record an event, such as by selecting the story icon 306. The host user may also view the image content being recorded in a content area 308, such that the host user may view the live stream content concurrently with the viewing users, such as users 102(1)-(n) of FIG. 1] in view of ¶0063[The shopping interface 504 may display a list of the items and/or collections selected by the host user during the scheduling or setup phase of the live stream event.]); and/or
generating the media content to be posted that is displayed in association with the target object recommendation set based on a material in a selected state in the material page in response to a second generation operation performed within the material page (Fig. 2; ¶0058[The host user may also select a topic, as well as items and/or item collections (e.g., a series of related items or items grouped by the host user) to be featured during the live stream event. In the current example 200 and as illustrated in interface 202, the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event. Likewise, as shown with respect to interface 204, the host user may select whole collections or pre-arranged groups of items by selecting a collection from the collection selection area 208. The host user may also search for specific items or collections using the search bar 210 in either the item interface 202 or the collection interface 204.]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devoy in view of Oskolkov et al. (US 2012/0253972 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Devoy discloses the interaction method according to claim 1, Devoy discloses wherein after the adding a target to-be-recommended object to a target object recommendation set of the current user, the interaction method further comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of:
displaying the target object recommendation set (Fig. 5; ¶0063[The shopping interface 504 may display a list of the items and/or collections selected by the host user during the scheduling or setup phase of the live stream event.]); and
displaying addition information of the target to-be-recommended object, wherein the addition information is used to indicate whether the target to-be-recommended object is successfully added and/or a target to-be-recommended object to be added (Figs. 2 and 5; ¶0063[The shopping interface 504 may display a list of the items and/or collections selected by the host user during the scheduling or setup phase of the live stream event.]); and/or
before the displaying object information of a to-be-recommended object of a current user on a first object page, the interaction method further comprises: displaying a third object page, wherein object information of at least one candidate recommendation object and a second control corresponding to a display theme of the third object page are displayed in the third object page (Fig. 5; ¶0063[The shopping interface 504 may display a list of the items and/or collections selected by the host user during the scheduling or setup phase of the live stream event.]);
adding a first candidate recommendation object to the first object page of the current user in response to an object addition operation for the first candidate recommendation object in the at least one candidate recommendation object (Fig. 2; ¶0058[The host user may also select a topic, as well as items and/or item collections (e.g., a series of related items or items grouped by the host user) to be featured during the live stream event. In the current example 200 and as illustrated in interface 202, the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event. Likewise, as shown with respect to interface 204, the host user may select whole collections or pre-arranged groups of items by selecting a collection from the collection selection area 208. The host user may also search for specific items or collections using the search bar 210 in either the item interface 202 or the collection interface 204.]); and
adding a second candidate recommendation object corresponding to the second control to an object recommendation set corresponding to the display theme in response to a trigger operation of the second control (Fig. 2; ¶0058[The host user may also select a topic, as well as items and/or item collections (e.g., a series of related items or items grouped by the host user) to be featured during the live stream event. In the current example 200 and as illustrated in interface 202, the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event. Likewise, as shown with respect to interface 204, the host user may select whole collections or pre-arranged groups of items by selecting a collection from the collection selection area 208. The host user may also search for specific items or collections using the search bar 210 in either the item interface 202 or the collection interface 204.]).
Although Devoy discloses displaying information of a to-be-recommended object, Devoy does not explicitly disclose a reason why the object fails to be added.
However, Oskolkov et al., hereinafter, Oskolkov, teaches displaying a reason why an object fails to be added (Fig. 12; ¶0064[FIG. 12 illustrates an example of an authorization process during a user's attempt to add a new item to a Bag from a third party non-partnering web space 1201. Thereby, when a user clicks on the add to Bag link 1202 at a third party partnering web space 1201, the third party system validates the user's authorization 1203, and, if the user is not logged on, the system displays a warning box 1204, requesting the user to register and log in 1205. If authorization fails, operation is cancelled and the user remains at the third party website 1206. When a user succeeds to authorize at the partnering third party web space, the system adds the item to the user Bag 1105]).
The method of Oskolkov is applicable to the method of Devoy as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are both targeted to electronic commerce and shopping lists. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the displaying of to-be-recommended objects as disclosed by Devoy to include a reason why an object fails to be added as taught by Oskolkov. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the method of Devoy in order to create a wish list associated with a particular shopping site and add the desired items to that wish list (¶0002).
Regarding Claim 18, Devoy discloses the electronic device according to claim 10, Devoy discloses wherein after the adding a target to-be-recommended object to a target object recommendation set of the current user, the interaction method further comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of:
displaying the target object recommendation set (Fig. 5; ¶0063[The shopping interface 504 may display a list of the items and/or collections selected by the host user during the scheduling or setup phase of the live stream event.]); and
displaying addition information of the target to-be-recommended object, wherein the addition information is used to indicate whether the target to-be-recommended object is successfully added and/or a target to-be-recommended object to be added (Figs. 2 and 5; ¶0063[The shopping interface 504 may display a list of the items and/or collections selected by the host user during the scheduling or setup phase of the live stream event.]); and/or
before the displaying object information of a to-be-recommended object of a current user on a first object page, the interaction method further comprises: displaying a third object page, wherein object information of at least one candidate recommendation object and a second control corresponding to a display theme of the third object page are displayed in the third object page (Fig. 5; ¶0063[The shopping interface 504 may display a list of the items and/or collections selected by the host user during the scheduling or setup phase of the live stream event.]);
adding a first candidate recommendation object to the first object page of the current user in response to an object addition operation for the first candidate recommendation object in the at least one candidate recommendation object (Fig. 2; ¶0058[The host user may also select a topic, as well as items and/or item collections (e.g., a series of related items or items grouped by the host user) to be featured during the live stream event. In the current example 200 and as illustrated in interface 202, the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event. Likewise, as shown with respect to interface 204, the host user may select whole collections or pre-arranged groups of items by selecting a collection from the collection selection area 208. The host user may also search for specific items or collections using the search bar 210 in either the item interface 202 or the collection interface 204.]); and
adding a second candidate recommendation object corresponding to the second control to an object recommendation set corresponding to the display theme in response to a trigger operation of the second control (Fig. 2; ¶0058[The host user may also select a topic, as well as items and/or item collections (e.g., a series of related items or items grouped by the host user) to be featured during the live stream event. In the current example 200 and as illustrated in interface 202, the host user may select items from an item selection area 206 to associate the selected items with the live stream event. Likewise, as shown with respect to interface 204, the host user may select whole collections or pre-arranged groups of items by selecting a collection from the collection selection area 208. The host user may also search for specific items or collections using the search bar 210 in either the item interface 202 or the collection interface 204.]).
Although Devoy discloses displaying information of a to-be-recommended object, Devoy does not explicitly disclose a reason why the object fails to be added.
However, Oskolkov teaches displaying a reason why an object fails to be added (Fig. 12; ¶0064[FIG. 12 illustrates an example of an authorization process during a user's attempt to add a new item to a Bag from a third party non-partnering web space 1201. Thereby, when a user clicks on the add to Bag link 1202 at a third party partnering web space 1201, the third party system validates the user's authorization 1203, and, if the user is not logged on, the system displays a warning box 1204, requesting the user to register and log in 1205. If authorization fails, operation is cancelled and the user remains at the third party website 1206. When a user succeeds to authorize at the partnering third party web space, the system adds the item to the user Bag 1105]).
The system of Oskolkov is applicable to the system of Devoy as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are both targeted to electronic commerce and shopping lists. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the displaying of to-be-recommended objects as disclosed by Devoy to include a reason why an object fails to be added as taught by Oskolkov. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the system of Devoy in order to create a wish list associated with a particular shopping site and add the desired items to that wish list (¶0002).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu (US 2023/0171438 A1) discloses posting a variety of items in a live streaming room and introduce the items during live streaming to attract viewers to purchase the items in the live streaming room.
“Recommender Systems for E-commerce in online video advertising: Survey” discloses recent techniques to compare various types of the recommender systems, recent recommendation algorithms and their use in the online videos advertisement.
/AHOORA LADONI/Examiner, Art Unit 3689
/ANNA MAE MITROS/Examiner, Art Unit 3689