DETAILED ACTION
Claims 16-30 are currently pending. Claims 16-30 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 11, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of typographical errors. See Figure 9A “Trailing edge lenght".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 16 and 26, Line 7 of Claim 16 and Line 4 of Claim 26 recite “configured to reduce an amplitude of Karman vortices”. However, it is unclear what structure would be required to perform such a function, because to “reduce” is a comparative term. The claim does not clarify what the reduction is compared to. In other word, what is the baseline amplitude that the claimed structure is configured to reduce?
Regarding Claim 23, Lines 6-7 recite “at (lA)” and “at (lB)”. It is unclear what lA and lB are. They appear to lack antecedent basis, since they have not been previously defined by the claims. If Applicant intended to introduce these limitations at this point of the recitation, the claims should be amended to be more clear, such as by saying “at a point (lA)”.
Claim 17-22, 24-25 and 27-30 are subsequently rejected for their dependencies upon a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-20, 24-30, as far as they are definite and understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Simon et al. (WO 03/076797 A), hereinafter Simon. Please note that Simon was cited in the IDS filed November 11, 2025 under Voith Siemens Hydro Power et al. References to the text of Simon will refer to the machine translation provided with the IDS, with citations referring to the sections as noted in the translation. For example, “<Desc/Clms Page number 2>, ¶ 1” refers to the section beginning “or flexible guide plates” on Pg. 1 of the translation. “<Desc/Clms Page number 2>, ¶ 4” refers to the section beginning “According to current technology” on Pg. 2 of the translation.
Regarding Claim 16, Figure 1 of Simon discloses a component for a hydraulic turbine (Kaplan is a type of hydraulic turbine), the component comprising: a pressure side; a suction side (face of the blade shown towards the view presented and the face opposite not shown, if one is considered “pressure” the other is “suction”); the pressure side and the suction side extending between a leading edge (right edge in Figure 1) and a trailing edge (left edge in Figure 1) of the component; and at least a part of the trailing edge comprising a plurality of patterns (see wavy features) along at least a portion of the trailing edge configured to reduce an amplitude of Karman vortices and disorganize a flow downstream of the trailing edge (<Desc/Clms Page number 5>, ¶ 3 - <Desc/Clms Page number 6>, ¶2). See also the various embodiments in Figures 2-14 that disclose other contemplated patterns which meet the claim (<Desc/Clms Page number 4>, ¶ 1). (<Desc/Clms Page number 2>, ¶ 2-5 describe the invention as disorganizing the flow and preventing, i.e. reducing amplitude, of Karman vortices.
Regarding Claim 17, Simon discloses the component as set forth in Claim 16.
Simon discloses wherein the plurality of patterns comprises one of waves, indentations, or both. The embodiments of Figures 1-14 meet the broadest reasonable interpretation of pattern shape.
Regarding Claim 18, Simon discloses the component as set forth in Claim 16.
Simon discloses wherein the plurality of patterns is defined along an entirety of the trailing edge. See embodiments of Figures 1-2 of example (left edge) (<Desc/Clms Page number 6>, ¶ 3).
Regarding Claim 19, Simon discloses the component as set forth in Claim 16.
Simon discloses wherein the plurality of patterns is repetitive or periodic along the trailing edge. See the embodiments of Figures 1-2, 5a-14. Figures 6a-c are repetitive/periodic at intervals.
Regarding Claim 20, Simon discloses the component as set forth in Claim 16.
Simon disclose wherein the plurality of patterns is non repetitive or non-periodic along the trailing edge. See the embodiments of Figures 3-4 (<Desc/Clms Page number 6>, ¶ 4-8).
Regarding Claim 24, Simon discloses the component as set forth in Claim 16.
Simon discloses wherein the component comprises a blade, a stay vane, or a guide vane (<Desc/Clms Page number 5>, ¶ 2). See also Figure 1.
Regarding Claim 25, Simon discloses the component as set forth in Claim 16.
Simon discloses a hydraulic turbine, the turbine configured as one of: a Francis turbine, a Kaplan turbine, or a pump-turbine (<Desc/Clms Page number 1>, ¶ 1, <Desc/Clms Page number 5>, ¶ 2)
Regarding Claim 26, Figure 1 of Simon discloses a method for improving dynamic and vibratory behavior of a component of a hydraulic turbine (Kaplan is a type of hydraulic turbine) that includes a pressure side and a suction side (face of the blade shown towards the view presented and the face opposite not shown, if one is considered “pressure” the other is “suction”) extending between a leading edge (right edge in Figure 1) and a trailing edge (left edge in Figure 1) of the component, the method comprising forming a plurality of patterns (see wavy features) along at least a portion of the trailing edge configured to reduce an amplitude of Karman vortices and disorganize a flow downstream of the trailing edge (<Desc/Clms Page number 5>, ¶ 3 - <Desc/Clms Page number 6>, ¶2). See also the various embodiments in Figures 2-14 that disclose other contemplated patterns which meet the claim (<Desc/Clms Page number 4>, ¶ 1). (<Desc/Clms Page number 2>, ¶ 2-5 describe the invention as disorganizing the flow and preventing, i.e. reducing amplitude, of Karman vortices.
Regarding Clam 27, Simon discloses the method as set forth in Claim 26.
Simon discloses wherein the plurality of patterns is one of waves, indentations, or teeth. The embodiments of Figures 1-14 meet the broadest reasonable interpretation of pattern shape.
Regarding Claim 28, Simon discloses the method as set forth in Claim 26.
Simon discloses wherein the plurality of patterns is one or a combination of: defined along an entirety of the trailing edge (<Desc/Clms Page number 6>, ¶ 3, see also left edge of Figures 1-2); is a repetitive or periodic plurality of patterns (Figures 1-2, 5a-14); or is a non repetitive or non-periodic plurality of patterns (Figures 3-4, <Desc/Clms Page number 6>, ¶ 4-8).
Regarding Claim 29, Simon discloses the method as set forth in Claim 26.
Simon discloses wherein: the component comprises a blade, a stay vane, or a guide vane (<Desc/Clms Page number 5>, ¶ 2, see also Figure 1); and the turbine is one of a Francis turbine, a Kaplan turbine, or a pump-turbine (<Desc/Clms Page number 1>, ¶ 1, <Desc/Clms Page number 5>, ¶ 2).
Regarding Claim 30, Simon discloses the method as set forth in Claim 26.
Simon discloses wherein the plurality of patterns are made by one or a combination of grinding, smoothing, or polishing of the trailing edge (<Desc/Clms Page number 3>, ¶ 5). The step of milling meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of these terms as it involves the removal of material by a rotating component, creating a new surface finish in the process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23, as far as they are definite and understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon.
Regarding Claims 21-23, Simon teaches the component as set forth in Claim 16.
Simon teaches wherein a normal projection of at least a portion of the pressure side trailing edge in a plane comprises a plurality of local extremum that define the plurality of patterns (Claim 21). This is merely defining parts of the pattern, such as a plane the peaks and troughs of the pattern are located in the Figures 1-14 embodiments. Simon also teaches wherein the component comprises a blade of a runner (Claim 22) (<Desc/Clms Page number 5>, ¶ 2).
Simon does not expressly teach wherein the plane is: tangent to the pressure side at a point located at a distance of between 2%(l) and 15%(l) from the trailing edge, wherein (l) is a length of the component measured from a middle of the leading edge to a middle of the trailing edge; or is defined by three unaligned points of the pressure side located at the distance of between 2%(l) and 15%(l) (Claim 21), a distance (d) on the trailing edge between two neighboring extremum being in a range between 3x10-3(D) and 3x10-1(D), wherein (D) is a diameter of the runner (Claim 22), wherein the plane is defined by the three unaligned points (A, B, C) of the pressure side wherein: an intersection between a plane normal to the trailing edge at a point (O) and the surface of the pressure surface defining a curve L1, wherein the point (O) is located between 5% and 95% of a full length of the trailing edge: point (A) is located on the curve L1 at (lA) between the distance of 2%(l) and 15%(l); point (B) is located on the curve L1 at (lB) between the distance of 2%(l) and 15%(l); point (C) is located on the surface of the pressure side at a distance between 2% and 10% of the length (l) from the point A in the normal direction to the curve L1 (Claim 23) as claimed.
However, the courts have held various practices to be routine expedients requiring only ordinary skill in the art. One such practice is a change in relative dimensions. Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see MPEP 2144.04, IV, A). With respect to the instant application, the plane being tangent to a particular location defined in Claims 21, 23 is considered the result of the relative dimensions of portions of the component. For instance, if the tangent is present at a particular location, forming a taller extremum while keeping other dimensions the same leads to a steeper angle as it crosses said point, eventually causing an intersection rather than a tangent. This would change location of the tangent point. The relative distance (d) compared to the diameter (D) of Claim 22 is considered relative dimensions between the two values. <Desc/Clms Page number 2> - <Desc/Clms Page number 3> note the pattern taught by Simon helps prevent the formation of Karman vortices, and tailors the size of the pattern to target particular local flow and dimensional conditions. There is currently no evidence on record the claimed relative dimensions (size compared to overall dimensions such that there is a tangent at a particular region, relative distance to overall diameter) would result in a difference. As such, the difference is considered merely a matter of design choice. If there is evidence, Applicant may point to particularly where in the disclosure this is present or provide such evidence.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the component taught by Simon such that the plane is: tangent to the pressure side at a point located at a distance of between 2%(l) and 15%(l) from the trailing edge, wherein (l) is a length of the component measured from a middle of the leading edge to a middle of the trailing edge; or is defined by three unaligned points of the pressure side located at the distance of between 2%(l) and 15%(l) (Claim 21), a distance (d) on the trailing edge between two neighboring extremum being in a range between 3x10-3(D) and 3x10-1(D), wherein (D) is a diameter of the runner (Claim 22), wherein the plane is defined by the three unaligned points (A, B, C) of the pressure side wherein: an intersection between a plane normal to the trailing edge at a point (O) and the surface of the pressure surface defining a curve L1, wherein the point (O) is located between 5% and 95% of a full length of the trailing edge: point (A) is located on the curve L1 at (lA) between the distance of 2%(l) and 15%(l); point (B) is located on the curve L1 at (lB) between the distance of 2%(l) and 15%(l); point (C) is located on the surface of the pressure side at a distance between 2% and 10% of the length (l) from the point A in the normal direction to the curve L1 (Claim 23), since a change in relative dimensions is considered merely a matter of design choice.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Van et al. (US 2016/0177919 A1), Obrecht et al. (US 2015/0267678 A1), Sullivan et al. (US 2012/0061522 A1) teach other various components with patterned trailing edges.
/ELTON K WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745