DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species I, as shown in figs 4 and 5, in the reply filed on 06/16/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Species i, ii, and iii all share the same or corresponding special technical feature of a torque transmission device comprising a drive shaft, a first pin, and a second pin, a drive shaft comprising first and second ends and first and second apertures, a gearbox comprising a first housing, the first end of the drive shaft being arranged inside the first housing of the gearbox, the coupling element comprising a second housing, the second end of the drive shaft being arranged inside the second housing of the coupling element, and the electromechanical actuator being configured to transmit torque, from an electric motor, to a coupling element, via a torque transmission device, when the second axis of rotation of the torque transmission device and the first axis of rotation of the coupling element are out of alignment. This is not found persuasive because PG Pub. US 2024/0240519 – Li discloses all elements as currently claimed. Therefore, the shared technical feature of the disclosed embodiments is not a “special technical feature” under Rule 13.2.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by PG Pub. US 2024/0240519 A1 – Li et al., hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 1.
Li discloses an electromechanical actuator (100, fig 1) for a screening device (fig 8), the electromechanical actuator (100, fig 1) comprising at least
-a casing (at 50, fig 1),
-an electric motor (58, fig 5),
-a gearbox (See at 70 in fig 6; See also fig 5),
-a coupling element (52, fig 1), the coupling element comprising a first axis of rotation (See fig 6), and
-a torque transmission device (72, fig 6), the torque transmission device comprising a second axis of rotation (See fig 6), the electric motor (58, fig 5), the gearbox (See at 70 in fig 6; See also fig 5) and the torque transmission device (72, fig 6) being housed inside the casing (See figs 1 and 5), the gearbox (See at 70 in fig 6; See also fig 5) being coupled to the coupling element (52, fig 1) via the torque transmission device (72, fig 6), wherein
the torque transmission device (72, fig 6) comprises at least
-a drive shaft (See annotated fig 6),
-a first pin (See annotated fig 6), and
-a second pin (See annotated fig 7),
the drive shaft (See annotated fig 6) comprises at least
-a first end (See annotated fig 6) and a second end (See annotated fig 7), the second end (See annotated fig 7) being opposite the first end (Compare figs 6 and 7. This interpretation may be overcome by reciting that the first and second ends are opposite one another in a direction of a major axis of the drive shaft, or similar.),
-a first aperture (See annotated fig 6), the first aperture (See annotated fig 6) being arranged at the first end (See annotated fig 6), the first pin (See annotated fig 6) being housed within the first aperture (See annotated fig 6), and
-a second aperture (See annotated fig 7), the second aperture (See annotated fig 7) being arranged at the second end (See annotated fig 7, and note above regarding the second end), the second pin being housed inside the second aperture (See annotated fig 7),
the gearbox (See at 70 in fig 6; See also fig 5) comprises at least one first housing (See annotated fig 5), the first end (See annotated fig 6) of the drive shaft (See annotated fig 6) being arranged inside the first housing (See annotated fig 5) of the gearbox (See at 70 in fig 6; See also fig 5), the coupling element (52, fig 6) comprises at least one second housing (the upper “forks” of the universal joint are interpreted as the “second housing”.), the second end (See annotated fig 7) of the drive shaft (See annotated fig 7) being arranged inside the second housing (See figs 6 and 7) of the coupling element (52, fig 6),and in that the electromechanical actuator (100, fig 1) is configured to transmit torque, from the electric motor (58, fig 5), to the coupling element (52, fig 6), via the torque transmission device (72, fig 6), when the second axis of rotation of the torque transmission device and the first axis of rotation of the coupling element are out of alignment (See fig 6).
Regarding claim 3.
Li discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Li further discloses the gearbox (See annotated fig 5) further comprises at least one interface element (See annotated fig 5), and the first housing (See annotated fig 5) of the gearbox is arranged inside the interface element (See annotated fig 5).
Regarding claim 7.
Li discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Li discloses a screening device (Fig 8), the screening device comprising at least
-a screen (See annotated fig 8), the screen comprising a first end (at first movable bar, annotated fig 8) and a second end (at 82, fig 8), the second end being opposite the first end (See fig 8),
-a first movable bar (See annotated fig 8), the first end of the screen being connected to the first movable bar (See annotated fig 8), and
-a motorized driving device (100, fig 1), the motorized driving device being configured to move the screen (Paragraph [0043]; The device further includes a drive module that is detachably secured to the clamping module. The drive module may be detached from the clamping module, for example if maintenance or replacement of one or more components within the drive module is required. The drive module includes an actuator for connecting to a tilting mechanism housed within the headrail and configured to open and close the window blinds),
the motorized driving device (100, fig 1) comprising at least
-an electromechanical actuator (100, fig 1) according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 above),
the electromechanical actuator (100, fig 1) being configured to move the first movable bar (See annotated fig 8).
Regarding claim 19.
Li discloses all limitations of claim 3.
Li discloses a screening device (Fig 8), the screening device comprising at least
-a screen (See annotated fig 8), the screen comprising a first end (at first movable bar, annotated fig 8) and a second end (at 82, fig 8), the second end being opposite the first end (See fig 8),
-a first movable bar (See annotated fig 8), the first end of the screen being connected to the first movable bar (See annotated fig 8), and
-a motorized driving device (100, fig 1), the motorized driving device being configured to move the screen (Paragraph [0043]; The device further includes a drive module that is detachably secured to the clamping module. The drive module may be detached from the clamping module, for example if maintenance or replacement of one or more components within the drive module is required. The drive module includes an actuator for connecting to a tilting mechanism housed within the headrail and configured to open and close the window blinds),
the motorized driving device (100, fig 1) comprising at least
-an electromechanical actuator (100, fig 1) according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 above),
the electromechanical actuator (100, fig 1) being configured to move the first movable bar (See annotated fig 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4-6, and 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of US Pat. 11,629,760 – Lock.
Regarding claim 2.
Li discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Li does not disclose each of the first and second ends of the drive shaft is spherical in shape, and the first housing of the gearbox and the second housing of the coupling element have a shape of revolution, respectively around an axis of rotation.
However, Lock teaches each of the first (at 2110a, fig 22) and second ends (at 2110b, fig 22) of the drive shaft (including 2114, fig 22) is spherical in shape (as at 351 in fig 2), and the first housing of the gearbox (at 2110a, fig 22) and the second housing of the coupling element (at 2110b, fig 22) have a shape of revolution (as at 356, fig 2), respectively around an axis of rotation (See fig 22).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuator of Li by substituting its universal joint with the universal joint of Lock. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reducing the likelihood of binding in the universal joint.
Regarding claim 4.
Li discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Li does not disclose the torque transmission device further comprises
-a first transmission element, and
-a second transmission element,
the first transmission element is fixed to the first pin,
the second transmission element is fixed to the second pin,
the gearbox comprises a first groove, the first groove emerging inside the first housing of the gearbox,
the coupling element comprises a second groove, the second groove emerging inside the second housing of the coupling element,
the first transmission element is housed inside the first groove of the gearbox, and
the second transmission element is housed inside the second groove of the coupling element.
However, Lock teaches the torque transmission device (2100, fig 22) further comprises
-a first transmission element (as at 370 in fig 2), and
-a second transmission element (as at 370 in fig 2),
the first transmission element (as at 370 in fig 2) is fixed to the first pin (as at 380 in fig 2),
the second transmission element (as at 370 in fig 2) is fixed to the second pin (as at 380 in fig 2),
the gearbox (Construed here to include the input shaft 2112 first mechanical joint 2110a, fig 22) comprises a first groove (as at 335, fig 2), the first groove emerging inside the first housing (2110a, fig 22) of the gearbox,
the coupling element (Construed here to include the second mechanical joint 2110b, fig 22) comprises a second groove (as at 335, fig 2), the second groove emerging inside the second housing (2110b, fig 22) of the coupling element,
the first transmission element (as at 370 in fig 2) is housed inside the first groove (as at 335, fig 2) of the gearbox, and
the second transmission element (as at 370 in fig 2) is housed inside the second groove (as at 335, fig 2) of the coupling element (See figs 1 and 22).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuator of Li by substituting its torque transmission device with the torque transmission device of Lock. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reducing the likelihood of binding in the torque transmission device.
Regarding claim 5.
Li discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Li does not disclose the gearbox comprises two first grooves, each of the first grooves emerging inside the first housing of the gearbox,
the coupling element comprises two second grooves, each of the second grooves emerging inside the second housing of the coupling element,
the first pin comprises a first end and a second end, the second end being opposite the first end,
the second pin comprises a first end and a second end, the second end being opposite the first end,
each of the first and second ends of the first pin is housed inside one of the first grooves of the gearbox, and
each of the first and second ends of the second pin is housed inside one of the second grooves of the coupling element.
However, Lock teaches the gearbox (Construed here to include the input shaft 2112 first mechanical joint 2110a, fig 22) comprises two first grooves (as at 335, fig 2), each of the first grooves emerging inside the first housing (2110a, fig 22) of the gearbox,
the coupling element (Construed here to include the second mechanical joint 2110b, fig 22) comprises two second grooves (as at 335, fig 2), each of the second grooves emerging inside the second housing (2110b, fig 22) of the coupling element,
the first pin (as at 380, fig 2) comprises a first end and a second end, the second end being opposite the first end (See fig 2),
the second pin (as at 380, fig 2) comprises a first end and a second end, the second end being opposite the first end (See fig 2),
each of the first and second ends of the first pin is housed inside one of the first grooves of the gearbox (as in fig 4), and
each of the first and second ends of the second pin is housed inside one of the second grooves of the coupling element (as in fig 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuator of Li by substituting its torque transmission device with the torque transmission device of Lock. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reducing the likelihood of binding in the torque transmission device.
Regarding claim 6.
Li discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Li does not disclose the gearbox comprises two first orifices, each of the first orifices emerging inside the first housing of the gearbox,
the coupling element comprises two second orifices, each of the second orifices emerging inside the second housing of the coupling element,
the first pin comprises a first end and a second end, the second end being opposite the first end,
the second pin comprises a first end and a second end, the second end being opposite the first end,
each of the first and second ends of the first pin is fixed inside one of the first orifices of the gearbox, and
each of the first and second ends of the second pin is fixed inside one of the second orifices of the coupling element.
However, Lock teaches the gearbox (Construed here to include the input shaft 2112 first mechanical joint 2110a, fig 22) comprises two first orifices (as at 335 in fig 2), each of the first orifices emerging inside the first housing (2110a, fig 22) of the gearbox,
the coupling element (Construed here to include the second mechanical joint 2110b, fig 22) comprises two second orifices (as at 335 in fig 2), each of the second orifices emerging inside the second housing (2110b, fig 22) of the coupling element,
the first pin (39) comprises a first end (39a) and a second end (39b), the second end (39b) being opposite the first end (39a),
the second pin (as at 380, fig 2) comprises a first end and a second end, the second end being opposite the first end (See fig 2),
each of the first and second ends of the first pin is fixed inside one of the first orifices of the gearbox (as in fig 4), and
each of the first and second ends of the second pin is fixed inside one of the second orifices of the coupling element (as in fig 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuator of Li by substituting its torque transmission device with the torque transmission device of Lock. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reducing the likelihood of binding in the torque transmission device.
Regarding claim 11.
The combination of Li and Lock teaches all limitations of claim 2.
Li further discloses the gearbox (See annotated fig 5) further comprises at least one interface element (See annotated fig 5), and the first housing (See annotated fig 5) of the gearbox is arranged inside the interface element (See annotated fig 5).
Regarding claim 12.
The combination of Li and Lock teaches all limitations of claim 2.
Li does not disclose the torque transmission device further comprises
a first transmission element, and
a second transmission element,
the first transmission element is fixed to the first pin,
the second transmission element is fixed to the second pin,
the gearbox comprises a first groove, the first groove emerging inside the first housing of the gearbox,
the coupling element comprises a second groove, the second groove emerging inside the second housing of the coupling element,
the first transmission element is housed inside the first groove of the gearbox, and
the second transmission element is housed inside the second groove of the coupling element.
However, Lock teaches the torque transmission device (2100, fig 22) further comprises
-a first transmission element (as at 370 in fig 2), and
-a second transmission element (as at 370 in fig 2),
the first transmission element (as at 370 in fig 2) is fixed to the first pin (as at 380 in fig 2),
the second transmission element (as at 370 in fig 2) is fixed to the second pin (as at 380 in fig 2),
the gearbox (Construed here to include the input shaft 2112 first mechanical joint 2110a, fig 22) comprises a first groove (as at 335, fig 2), the first groove emerging inside the first housing (2110a, fig 22) of the gearbox,
the coupling element (Construed here to include the second mechanical joint 2110b, fig 22) comprises a second groove (as at 335, fig 2), the second groove emerging inside the second housing (2110b, fig 22) of the coupling element,
the first transmission element (as at 370 in fig 2) is housed inside the first groove (as at 335, fig 2) of the gearbox, and
the second transmission element (as at 370 in fig 2) is housed inside the second groove (as at 335, fig 2) of the coupling element (See figs 1 and 22).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuator of Li by substituting its torque transmission device with the torque transmission device of Lock. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reducing the likelihood of binding in the torque transmission device.
Regarding claim 13.
Li discloses all limitations of claim 3.
Li does not disclose the torque transmission device further comprises
a first transmission element, and
a second transmission element,
the first transmission element is fixed to the first pin,
the second transmission element is fixed to the second pin,
the gearbox comprises a first groove, the first groove emerging inside the first housing of the gearbox,
the coupling element comprises a second groove, the second groove emerging inside the second housing of the coupling element,
the first transmission element is housed inside the first groove of the gearbox, and
the second transmission element is housed inside the second groove of the coupling element.
However, Lock teaches the torque transmission device (2100, fig 22) further comprises
-a first transmission element (as at 370 in fig 2), and
-a second transmission element (as at 370 in fig 2),
the first transmission element (as at 370 in fig 2) is fixed to the first pin (as at 380 in fig 2),
the second transmission element (as at 370 in fig 2) is fixed to the second pin (as at 380 in fig 2),
the gearbox (Construed here to include the input shaft 2112 first mechanical joint 2110a, fig 22) comprises a first groove (as at 335, fig 2), the first groove emerging inside the first housing (2110a, fig 22) of the gearbox,
the coupling element (Construed here to include the second mechanical joint 2110b, fig 22) comprises a second groove (as at 335, fig 2), the second groove emerging inside the second housing (2110b, fig 22) of the coupling element,
the first transmission element (as at 370 in fig 2) is housed inside the first groove (as at 335, fig 2) of the gearbox, and
the second transmission element (as at 370 in fig 2) is housed inside the second groove (as at 335, fig 2) of the coupling element (See figs 1 and 22).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuator of Li by substituting its torque transmission device with the torque transmission device of Lock. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reducing the likelihood of binding in the torque transmission device.
Regarding claim 14.
The combination of Li and Lock teaches all limitations of claim 2.
Li does not disclose the gearbox comprises two first grooves, each of the first grooves emerging inside the first housing of the gearbox,
the coupling element comprises two second grooves, each of the second grooves emerging inside the second housing of the coupling element,
the first pin comprises a first end and a second end, the second end being opposite the first end,
the second pin comprises a first end and a second end, the second end being opposite the first end,
each of the first and second ends of the first pin is housed inside one of the first grooves of the gearbox, and
each of the first and second ends of the second pin is housed inside one of the second grooves of the coupling element.
However, Lock teaches the gearbox (Construed here to include the input shaft 2112 first mechanical joint 2110a, fig 22) comprises two first grooves (as at 335, fig 2), each of the first grooves emerging inside the first housing (2110a, fig 22) of the gearbox,
the coupling element (Construed here to include the second mechanical joint 2110b, fig 22) comprises two second grooves (as at 335, fig 2), each of the second grooves emerging inside the second housing (2110b, fig 22) of the coupling element,
the first pin (as at 380, fig 2) comprises a first end and a second end, the second end being opposite the first end (See fig 2),
the second pin (as at 380, fig 2) comprises a first end and a second end, the second end being opposite the first end (See fig 2),
each of the first and second ends of the first pin is housed inside one of the first grooves of the gearbox (as in fig 4), and
each of the first and second ends of the second pin is housed inside one of the second grooves of the coupling element (as in fig 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuator of Li by substituting its torque transmission device with the torque transmission device of Lock. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reducing the likelihood of binding in the torque transmission device.
Regarding claim 15.
Li discloses all limitations of claim 3.
Li does not disclose the gearbox comprises two first grooves, each of the first grooves emerging inside the first housing of the gearbox,
the coupling element comprises two second grooves, each of the second grooves emerging inside the second housing of the coupling element,
the first pin comprises a first end and a second end, the second end being opposite the first end,
the second pin comprises a first end and a second end, the second end being opposite the first end,
each of the first and second ends of the first pin is housed inside one of the first grooves of the gearbox, and
each of the first and second ends of the second pin is housed inside one of the second grooves of the coupling element.
However, Lock teaches the gearbox (Construed here to include the input shaft 2112 first mechanical joint 2110a, fig 22) comprises two first grooves (as at 335, fig 2), each of the first grooves emerging inside the first housing (2110a, fig 22) of the gearbox,
the coupling element (Construed here to include the second mechanical joint 2110b, fig 22) comprises two second grooves (as at 335, fig 2), each of the second grooves emerging inside the second housing (2110b, fig 22) of the coupling element,
the first pin (as at 380, fig 2) comprises a first end and a second end, the second end being opposite the first end (See fig 2),
the second pin (as at 380, fig 2) comprises a first end and a second end, the second end being opposite the first end (See fig 2),
each of the first and second ends of the first pin is housed inside one of the first grooves of the gearbox (as in fig 4), and
each of the first and second ends of the second pin is housed inside one of the second grooves of the coupling element (as in fig 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuator of Li by substituting its torque transmission device with the torque transmission device of Lock. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reducing the likelihood of binding in the torque transmission device.
Regarding claim 16.
The combination of Li and Lock teaches all limitations of claim 2.
Li does not disclose the gearbox comprises two first orifices, each of the first orifices emerging inside the first housing of the gearbox,
the coupling element comprises two second orifices, each of the second orifices emerging inside the second housing of the coupling element,
the first pin comprises a first end and a second end, the second end being opposite the first end,
the second pin comprises a first end and a second end, the second end being opposite the first end,
each of the first and second ends of the first pin is fixed inside one of the first orifices of the gearbox, and
each of the first and second ends of the second pin is fixed inside one of the second orifices of the coupling element.
However, Lock teaches the gearbox (Construed here to include the input shaft 2112 first mechanical joint 2110a, fig 22) comprises two first orifices (as at 335 in fig 2), each of the first orifices emerging inside the first housing (2110a, fig 22) of the gearbox,
the coupling element (Construed here to include the second mechanical joint 2110b, fig 22) comprises two second orifices (as at 335 in fig 2), each of the second orifices emerging inside the second housing (2110b, fig 22) of the coupling element,
the first pin (39) comprises a first end (39a) and a second end (39b), the second end (39b) being opposite the first end (39a),
the second pin (as at 380, fig 2) comprises a first end and a second end, the second end being opposite the first end (See fig 2),
each of the first and second ends of the first pin is fixed inside one of the first orifices of the gearbox (as in fig 4), and
each of the first and second ends of the second pin is fixed inside one of the second orifices of the coupling element (as in fig 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuator of Li by substituting its torque transmission device with the torque transmission device of Lock. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reducing the likelihood of binding in the torque transmission device.
Regarding claim 17.
Li discloses all limitations of claim 3.
Li does not disclose the gearbox comprises two first orifices, each of the first orifices emerging inside the first housing of the gearbox,
the coupling element comprises two second orifices, each of the second orifices emerging inside the second housing of the coupling element,
the first pin comprises a first end and a second end, the second end being opposite the first end,
the second pin comprises a first end and a second end, the second end being opposite the first end,
each of the first and second ends of the first pin is fixed inside one of the first orifices of the gearbox, and
each of the first and second ends of the second pin is fixed inside one of the second orifices of the coupling element.
However, Lock teaches the gearbox (Construed here to include the input shaft 2112 first mechanical joint 2110a, fig 22) comprises two first orifices (as at 335 in fig 2), each of the first orifices emerging inside the first housing (2110a, fig 22) of the gearbox,
the coupling element (Construed here to include the second mechanical joint 2110b, fig 22) comprises two second orifices (as at 335 in fig 2), each of the second orifices emerging inside the second housing (2110b, fig 22) of the coupling element,
the first pin (39) comprises a first end (39a) and a second end (39b), the second end (39b) being opposite the first end (39a),
the second pin (as at 380, fig 2) comprises a first end and a second end, the second end being opposite the first end (See fig 2),
each of the first and second ends of the first pin is fixed inside one of the first orifices of the gearbox (as in fig 4), and
each of the first and second ends of the second pin is fixed inside one of the second orifices of the coupling element (as in fig 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuator of Li by substituting its torque transmission device with the torque transmission device of Lock. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reducing the likelihood of binding in the torque transmission device.
Regarding claim 18.
The combination of Li and Lock teaches all limitations of claim 2.
Li discloses a screening device (Fig 8), the screening device comprising at least
-a screen (See annotated fig 8), the screen comprising a first end (at first movable bar, annotated fig 8) and a second end (at 82, fig 8), the second end being opposite the first end (See fig 8),
-a first movable bar (See annotated fig 8), the first end of the screen being connected to the first movable bar (See annotated fig 8), and
-a motorized driving device (100, fig 1), the motorized driving device being configured to move the screen (Paragraph [0043]; The device further includes a drive module that is detachably secured to the clamping module. The drive module may be detached from the clamping module, for example if maintenance or replacement of one or more components within the drive module is required. The drive module includes an actuator for connecting to a tilting mechanism housed within the headrail and configured to open and close the window blinds),
the motorized driving device (100, fig 1) comprising at least
-an electromechanical actuator (100, fig 1) according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 above),
the electromechanical actuator (100, fig 1) being configured to move the first movable bar (See annotated fig 8).
Claim(s) 7-10, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PG Pub. US 2021/0172246 A1 – Huang et al., hereinafter Huang in view of Li.
Regarding claim 7.
Huang discloses a screening device (100, fig 5), the screening device comprising at least
-a screen (108, fig 5), the screen comprising a first end (108b, fig 5) and a second end (108a, fig 5), the second end being opposite the first end (See fig 5),
-a first movable bar (104, fig 5), the first end of the screen being connected to the first movable bar (See fig 5).
Huang does not disclose -a motorized driving device, the motorized driving device being configured to move the screen,
the motorized driving device comprising at least
-an electromechanical actuator according to claim 1,
the electromechanical actuator being configured to move the first movable bar.
However, Li teaches -a motorized driving device (100, fig 1), the motorized driving device being configured to move the screen ((Paragraph [0044]; The drive module further includes a drive mechanism, such as motor, operatively coupled to the actuator and configured to drive movement),
the motorized driving device (100, fig 1) comprising at least
-an electromechanical actuator (100, fig 1) according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 above),
the electromechanical actuator (100, fig 1) being configured to move the first movable bar (Paragraph [0044]; The drive module further includes a drive mechanism, such as motor, operatively coupled to the actuator and configured to drive movement).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the screening device of Huang with the electromechanical actuator of Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing the motorization or automation of the manual blind of Huang.
Regarding claim 8.
The combination of Huang and Li discloses all limitations of claim 7.
Huang discloses a screening device (100, fig 5) comprising
-a first cord or a first chain (114, fig 5),
-a second cord or a second chain (114, fig 5),
-a first drive arrangement (132, fig 5), the first drive arrangement being configured to cooperate with the first cord or the first chain (Paragraph [0041]; The control module 134 is coupled to the rotary axle 130, and is operable to drive the rotary axle 130 to rotate in either direction about the rotation axis 144 for raising or lowering the bottom part 104. See also Paragraph [0040]; The rotary axle 130 is respectively coupled to the cord winding units 132, and can rotate about a rotation axis 144. Each of the cord winding units 132 is respectively connected with the bottom part 104 via one suspension cord 114, and is operable to wind the suspension cord 114 for raising the bottom part 104 and to unwind the suspension cord 114 for lowering the bottom part 104.),
-a second drive arrangement (132, fig 5), the second drive arrangement being configured to cooperate with the second cord or the second chain (Paragraph [0041]; The control module 134 is coupled to the rotary axle 130, and is operable to drive the rotary axle 130 to rotate in either direction about the rotation axis 144 for raising or lowering the bottom part 104. See also Paragraph [0040]; The rotary axle 130 is respectively coupled to the cord winding units 132, and can rotate about a rotation axis 144. Each of the cord winding units 132 is respectively connected with the bottom part 104 via one suspension cord 114, and is operable to wind the suspension cord 114 for raising the bottom part 104 and to unwind the suspension cord 114 for lowering the bottom part 104.),
Huang does not disclose and the electromechanical actuator is configured to move the first movable bar by means of the first and second cords or chains.
However, Li teaches and the electromechanical actuator (100, fig 1) is configured to move the first movable bar (see annotated fig 8) by means of the first and second cords or chains (Paragraph [0044]; The drive module further includes a drive mechanism, such as motor, operatively coupled to the actuator and configured to drive movement, such as rotation, of the actuator such that the tilting mechanism is operated when connected to the actuator.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the screening device of Huang with the electromechanical actuator of Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing the motorization or automation of the manual blind of Huang.
Regarding claim 9.
The combination of Huang and Li discloses all limitations of claim 7.
Huang discloses a screening device (100, fig 5) comprising
-a second movable bar (106, fig 5), the second end (108a, fig 5) of the screen (108, fig 5) being connected to the second movable bar (See fig 5).
Huang does not disclose the electromechanical actuator is configured to move the second movable bar.
However, Li teaches the electromechanical actuator is configured to move the second movable bar. (Paragraph [0044]; The drive module further includes a drive mechanism, such as motor, operatively coupled to the actuator and configured to drive movement, such as rotation, of the actuator such that the tilting mechanism is operated when connected to the actuator.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the screening device of Huang with the electromechanical actuator of Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing the motorization or automation of the manual blind of Huang.
Regarding claim 10.
The combination of Huang and Li teaches all limitations of claim 9.
Huang discloses the screening device (100, fig 5) further comprises
-a third cord or a third chain (116, fig 5),
-a fourth cord or a fourth chain (116, fig 5),
-a third drive arrangement (138, fig 5), the third drive arrangement being configured to cooperate with the third cord or the third chain (Paragraph [0051]; the cord winding unit 138 may include a rotary drum (not shown) that is rotationally coupled to the rotary axle 136 and is connected with one end of the suspension cord 116, and another end of the suspension cord 116 can be connected with the intermediate rail 106, whereby the rotary drum can rotate along with the rotary axle 136 to wind or unwind the suspension cord 116.), and
-a fourth drive arrangement (138, fig 5), the fourth drive arrangement being configured to cooperate with the fourth cord or the fourth chain (Paragraph [0051]; the cord winding unit 138 may include a rotary drum (not shown) that is rotationally coupled to the rotary axle 136 and is connected with one end of the suspension cord 116, and another end of the suspension cord 116 can be connected with the intermediate rail 106, whereby the rotary drum can rotate along with the rotary axle 136 to wind or unwind the suspension cord 116.),
Huang does not disclose the electromechanical actuator is configured to move the second movable bar by means of the third and fourth cords or chains.
However, Li teaches the electromechanical actuator (100, fig 1) is configured to move the second movable bar by means of the third and fourth cords or chains (Paragraph [0044]; The drive module further includes a drive mechanism, such as motor, operatively coupled to the actuator and configured to drive movement, such as rotation, of the actuator such that the tilting mechanism is operated when connected to the actuator.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the screening device of Huang with the electromechanical actuator of Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing the motorization or automation of the manual blind of Huang.
Regarding claim 20.
The combination of Huang and Li teaches all limitations of claim 8.
Huang further discloses the screening device (100, fig 5) further comprises a second movable bar (106, fig 5), the second end of the screen (108a, fig 5) being connected to the second movable bar,
Huang does not disclose the electromechanical actuator is configured to move the second movable bar.
However, Li teaches the electromechanical actuator (100, fig 1) is configured to move the second movable bar (Paragraph [0044]; The drive module further includes a drive mechanism, such as motor, operatively coupled to the actuator and configured to drive movement, such as rotation, of the actuator such that the tilting mechanism is operated when connected to the actuator.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the screening device of Huang with the electromechanical actuator of Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing the motorization or automation of the manual blind of Huang.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/J.W.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634