DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/18/2026 and 11/12/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16 to 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hull (US 2012/0097339).
Regarding Claim 16:
Hull discloses a strapping device (Figure 1a 1b, ultrasonic welding machine 100 short of any additional limitation will be considered a strapping device), comprising
an anvil comprising multiple anvil teeth that extend substantially parallel to a strap path defined through the strapping device (Figure 1a and 7 to 9, anvil 70, with teeth formed by plateau surfaces 80 with angled surfaces 81 to 84, the teeth are formed parallel to the weld line and perpendicular to the weld line as seen on Figure 7, the direction perpendicular to the weld line will be considered the strap path, short of any additional limitation), and
an ultrasonic sealer comprising:
a sonotrode comprising multiple sonotrode teeth that extend substantially parallel to the strap path, wherein each sonotrode tooth comprises opposing angled side surfaces (Figure 1a, sonotrode 50, the teeth are identical as described above for the anvil) that define grooves between adjacent sonotrode teeth, wherein a cross-section of each groove is substantially the same along a length of that groove (Figures 8 and 10e, paragraph 0064, the section of the angled surfaces 81 to 84 between two adjacent plateaus 80 will be considered the claimed groove having a cross-section that is substantially the same along a length of that groove, note that the length of the groove is not defined on the claim, the difference is that for the sonotrode teeth the top planar surface are plateau surfaces 60 and the section of the angled surfaces 61 to 44 between two adjacent plateaus 60 will be considered the claimed groove having a cross-section that is substantially the same along a length of that groove); and
an ultrasonic transducer configured to generate mechanical vibrations at an ultrasonic frequency and to transmit the ultrasonic mechanical vibrations to the sonotrode (Figure 1a, 2, Paragraph 0057, converter 10 will be considered the transducer),
wherein the ultrasonic sealer is movable along the ultrasonic-sealer axis between a retracted position in which the sonotrode teeth are spaced-apart from the anvil teeth and a sealing position in which the sonotrode teeth are in a meshing arrangement with the anvil teeth (Figure 11c shows the retracted position and 11d the sealing position with the sonotrode teeth in a meshing arrangement with the anvil teeth).
Regarding Claims 17 and 18:
Hull discloses that the angled side surfaces of each pair of adjacent sonotrode teeth are separated by a first angle, wherein the first angle is 90 degrees (Paragraph 0063, Figure 9, shows half the angle is 45 degrees, so the total angle is 90 degrees).
Regarding Claims 19 and 20:
Hull discloses that each sonotrode tooth includes a planar contact surface extending between the two opposing angled side surfaces of that sonotrode tooth (Figure 8, 10E, plateau surfaces 60 and 80 is a planar surfaces).
Regarding Claims 21 and 22:
Hull discloses that the angled side surfaces of each sonotrode tooth are planar such that the grooves have a substantially V-shaped cross-section, and the angled side surfaces of each pair of adjacent sonotrode teeth are separated by a first angle, wherein the first angle is about 90 degrees (Paragraph 0063, Figure 9, shows the V shape and that half the angle is 45 degrees, so the total angle is 90 degrees).
Regarding Claim 23:
Hull discloses that each anvil tooth comprises opposing angled side surfaces that define grooves between adjacent anvil teeth (As discussed for Claim 16), wherein each groove of the anvil is sized and shaped to receive one of the sonotrode teeth when the sonotrode teeth are in the meshing arrangement with the anvil teeth (Figure 11 shows the meshing arrangement of the teeth of sonotrode 50 with the teeth of the anvil 70).
Regarding Claim 24 and 25:
Hull discloses that the angled side surfaces of each sonotrode tooth are planar such that the grooves have a substantially V-shaped cross-section, and the angled side surfaces of each pair of adjacent sonotrode teeth are separated by a first angle, wherein the first angle is about 90 degrees (Paragraph 0063, Figure 9, shows the V shape and that half the angle is 45 degrees, so the total angle is 90 degrees).
Regarding Claim 26 and 27:
Hull discloses that each sonotrode tooth includes a contact surface extending between the two opposing angled side surfaces of that sonotrode tooth (Figures 8 and 10E, The teeth are identical, so Figure 8 is valid for both with the difference that for the sonotrode teeth the top planar surface are plateau surfaces 60 and the section of the angled surfaces 61 to 44 between two adjacent plateaus 60 will be considered the claimed groove having a cross-section that is substantially the same along a length of that groove), wherein each anvil tooth includes a contact surface extending between the two opposing angled side surfaces of that anvil tooth (Same as discussed for Claim 16, Figure 8, paragraph 0063, the section of the angled surfaces 81 to 84 between two adjacent plateaus 80 will be considered the claimed groove having a cross-section that is substantially the same along a length of that groove, note that the length of the groove is not defined on the claim),
Regarding Claim 28 and 29:
Hull discloses that Hull discloses that the angled side surfaces of each sonotrode tooth are planar such that the grooves have a substantially V-shaped cross-section, and the angled side surfaces of each pair of adjacent sonotrode teeth are separated by a first angle, wherein the first angle is about 90 degrees (Paragraph 0063, the anvil and sonotrode teeth are identical, Figures 9 and 10e, show the V shape and that half the angle is 45 degrees, so the total angle is 90 degrees).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 to 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gurak (US 4482421) in view of Luedtke (DE 3911634) and Hull (US 2012/0097339).
Regarding Claims 1 to 5:
Gurak discloses a strapping device (Figures 2, to 6, Abstract, apparatus not numbered) comprising an anvil comprising an anvil contact plane angularly offset from a horizontal axis by a first nonzero angle (Figures 10 and 11, Anvil 22 has a contact plane not numbered, angularly offset from a horizontal axis defined by the top surface of cutter 32, that is parallel also to the longitudinal axis of cam shaft 56); and
an ultrasonic sealer (Figure 11, mechanism for providing a friction-fused joint, not numbered) comprising:
a sonotrode comprising a sonotrode contact plane angularly offset from the horizontal axis by the first nonzero angle (Figure 11, transducer tip 36 will be considered the sonotrode, and has a not numbered contact plane will be considered the sonotrode contact plane facing the anvil 22, that is angularly offset from the horizontal axis by an angle that will be considered the first nonzero angle), and
an ultrasonic transducer configured to generate mechanical vibrations at an ultrasonic frequency and to transmit the mechanical vibrations to the sonotrode (Figure 11, transducer 24 will be considered ultrasonic transducer),
wherein the ultrasonic sealer extends longitudinally along an ultrasonic-sealer axis that is angularly offset from a vertical axis by a second nonzero angle (Figure 11, longitudinal axis of 24), and wherein the ultrasonic sealer is movable between a retracted position in which the sonotrode is spaced-apart from the anvil teeth and a sealing position (Figure 11 shows the sealing position and the spaced apart on segmented lines with the anvil and sonotrode separated).
Gurak does not disclose the ultrasonic sealer being movable along the ultrasonic-sealer axis between a retracted position in which the sonotrode is spaced-apart from the anvil and a sealing position, Gurak discloses that the ultrasonic sealer is pivoted around an axis, not movable along the longitudinal axis.
Luedke teaches an ultrasonic sealer that prevents the fluttering of the band ends, leading to their displacement and thereby ensures that the strength of the overlap weld is not impaired. The ultrasonic sealer is movable along the ultrasonic-sealer axis between a retracted position in which the sonotrode is spaced-apart from the anvil and a sealing position (Figure 1 shows the sealing position, the longitudinal transducer 7 moves longitudinally along guide rod 2), the front face of the transducer, corresponding to the sonotrode contact plane is perpendicular to its longitudinal axis of vibration and arranged to the direction of movement in the machine and parallel to the anvil contact plane.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate to Gurak the teachings of Luedke and replace the pivoting ultrasonic sealer for the one of Luedke, that has a sonotrode contact plane that is perpendicular to its longitudinal axis of vibration and mounted with the sonotrode perpendicular to the contact surface on the anvil, the ultrasonic sealer movable along the ultrasonic-sealer axis, that prevents the fluttering of the band ends to ensure that the strength of the overlap weld is not impaired; and since the contact surface of the anvil of Gurak is angularly offset from a horizontal axis by a first nonzero angle and the horizontal axis and the vertical axis as defined in the specification are perpendicular to each other, the combination would result on an ultrasonic sealer that extends longitudinally along an ultrasonic-sealer axis that is angularly offset from a vertical axis by a second nonzero angle, the first nonzero angle and the second nonzero angle are substantially the same.
Gurak as modified by Luedke does not disclose the anvil comprising multiple anvil teeth, the sonotrode comprising multiple sonotrode teeth, in the retracted position the sonotrode teeth are spaced-apart from the anvil teeth or in the sealing position the sonotrode teeth are in a meshing arrangement with the anvil teeth.
Hull teaches a sonotrode and anvil to be used in combination for ultrasonic welding of work pieces, to produce a narrower weld region, but one exhibiting greater durability, thereby permitting use of less packaging material, the anvil and sonotrode surfaces comprise a three-dimensional grid pattern to be capable of distributed vibration-transmissive contact. The surfaces comprise a series of plateau surfaces being regularly spaced apart from each other in a first direction, and in a second direction that is orthogonal to the first direction, to form the grid pattern. The rectangular-shaped plateaus may be spaced apart by valleys (Abstract, Paragraphs 0062 to 0064, Figure 8 shows an enlarged detail view of the grid surface of the anvil and the sonotrode, Figure 9 a section cut through the anvil; short of any additional limitation plateau surface 80 form a planar contact surface of the anvil and with the surrounding side surfaces 81 to 84 form multiple anvil teeth that can be seen on Figure 9, for the sonotrode plateau surface 60 form a planar contact surface sonotrode the with the surrounding side surfaces 61 to 64 form multiple sonotrode teeth similar to the ones that can be seen on Figure 9 and a section of them can be seen on Figure 10E). The ultrasonic sealer is movable from a retracted position in which the sonotrode teeth are spaced-apart from the anvil teeth (Figure 11C, paragraph 0066) to a sealing position in which the sonotrode teeth are in a meshing arrangement with the anvil teeth (Figure 11D). The anvil and sonotrode teeth extend in two directions perpendicular to each other.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate to the modified invention of Gurak in view of Luedke the teachings of Hull and add teeth to the surfaces of the anvil and sonotrode to define planar contact surfaces at the top of the teeth forming respective sonotrode and anvil contact planes parallel to each other, and to have the ultrasonic sealer movable from a retracted position in which the sonotrode teeth are spaced-apart from the anvil teeth to a sealing position in which the sonotrode teeth are in a meshing arrangement with the anvil teeth, extending in a direction parallel to a strap path defined through the strapping device and also in a direction perpendicular to a strap path, to obtain a narrower weld region, exhibiting greater durability, thereby permitting use of less packaging material.
Note that the resulting structure would produce an anvil having multiple anvil teeth that define an anvil contact plane angularly offset from a horizontal axis by a first nonzero angle and a sonotrode comprising multiple sonotrode teeth that define a sonotrode contact plane angularly offset from the horizontal axis by the first nonzero angle as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 6:
Gurak discloses that the first nonzero angle and the second nonzero angle are approximately 20 degrees, In the annotated Figure 11 below, the angle between the segmented lines corresponds to the angle between the horizontal plane and the contact surface of the anvil, corresponding to the first nonzero angle, and as measured it is about 20 degrees. Since the first nonzero angle and the second nonzero angle are substantially the same, as already discussed for Claims 1 and 5, then both would be about 20 degrees.
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Regarding Claims 7 to 9:
As already discussed for Claims 1 to 5 above, the modified invention of Gurak discloses that the anvil teeth and the sonotrode teeth extend substantially parallel to a strap path defined through the strapping device (Hull, Figure 8, the teeth as claimed comprise a series of planar plateau surfaces, 60 for the sonotrode and 80 for the anvil, being regularly spaced apart from each other in a first direction, and in a second direction that is orthogonal to the first direction, to form the grid pattern, the teeth are formed parallel to the weld line and perpendicular to the weld line as seen on Figure 7, the direction perpendicular to the weld line will be considered the strap path, short of any additional limitation).
Regarding Claims 10 and 12:
As discussed for Claim 1 above, the modified invention of Gurak discloses the invention as claimed.
The modified invention of Gurak does not disclose an ultrasonic-scaler support as claimed.
As discussed above for Claim 1, Luedke teaches an ultrasonic sealer that prevents the fluttering of the band ends, leading to their displacement and thereby ensures that the strength of the overlap weld is not impaired. The ultrasonic sealer is movable along the ultrasonic-sealer axis between a retracted position in which the sonotrode is spaced-apart from the anvil and a sealing position, Figure 1 shows the sealing position, the longitudinal transducer 7 moves longitudinally along guide rod 2 supported by guide carriage 3, that will be considered a first support to which the ultrasonic transducer is mounted of an ultrasonic sealer support, welding counter plate 4 comprising the anvil will be considered the second support and a drive, not shown, that will be considered the biasing element, sets the guide carriage 3 and thus the longitudinal converter 8 in the vertical up and down movements, the first support is movable relative to the second support along the ultrasonic-sealer axis, from a first distance when the longitudinal transducer 7 is separated from the anvil on welding counter plate 4 to a second distance when the longitudinal transducer 7 is close to the anvil by contacting the overlap ends 5 and 6 to be joined on welding counter plate 4, the first distance being greater than the second and the biasing element biasing the first and second support in to both configurations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate to the modified invention of Gurak the teachings of Luedke and make the strapping device include an ultrasonic sealer support comprising a first support for the ultrasonic transducer and a second support supporting the anvil, the first support to move relative to the second support along the ultrasonic-sealer axis, from a retracted position in which the sonotrode is spaced-apart from the anvil, with the first and second supports are separated by a first distance, and a sealing position, in which the sonotrode is close to the anvil by contacting the materials to be joined, by action of a biasing element, with the first and second supports are separated by a second distance and the first distance being greater than the first, as a well-known in the art way to press the sonotrode against the anvil to join overlapped band ends preventing the fluttering of the band ends.
Regarding Claim 11:
As discussed above for Claim 1, Gurak was amended with the teachings of Hull, that teaches that the anvil and sonotrode teeth extend in two directions perpendicular to each other, on Figure 7 the direction perpendicular to the weld line will be considered the strap path, short of any additional limitation, so the teeth of the sonotrode and anvil extend in the strap path direction and also on a direction perpendicular to it.
Regarding Claim 13:
As discussed for Claim 1 above, the modified invention of Gurak discloses the invention as claimed.
The modified invention of Gurak does not disclose if the ultrasonic transducer is configured to generate the mechanical vibrations at an ultrasonic frequency of approximately 35 kilohertz.
Hull teaches an electronic transducer (Paragraph 0052) producing an axial, peak-to-peak vibratory movement usually being at a frequency of 35,000 Hertz.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate to the modified invention of Gurak the teachings of Hull and have the ultrasonic transducer is configured to generate the mechanical vibrations at an ultrasonic frequency of approximately 35 kilohertz since that is a common frequency of operation for a transducer in the art.
Regarding Claim 14:
Gurak discloses that the first nonzero angle and the second nonzero angle are approximately 20 degrees, In the annotated Figure 11 below, the angle between the segmented lines corresponds to the angle between the horizontal plane and the contact surface of the anvil, corresponding to the first nonzero angle, and as measured it is about 20 degrees. Since the first nonzero angle and the second nonzero angle are substantially the same, as already discussed for Claims 1 and 5, then both would be about 20 degrees.
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Regarding Claim 15:
As discussed above for Claim 1, Gurak was amended with the teachings of Hull, that teaches that the anvil and sonotrode teeth extend in two directions perpendicular to each other, on Figure 7 the direction perpendicular to the weld line will be considered the strap path, short of any additional limitation, so the teeth of the sonotrode and anvil extend in the strap path direction and also on a direction perpendicular to it.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In particular Minani (JP 2000/202912) teaches contact surfaces in an angle with the horizontal and in combination could have been used for a proper rejection of both independent claims, Molander (US 6562166) teaches teeth intermeshing in the sonotrode and anvil, and Takidis (US 2019/0039325) also teaches a relevant strapping device with toothed anvil and sonotrode surfaces.
/EDUARDO R FERRERO/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731