Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species II (article of footwear as shown in figure 2) in the reply filed on 8/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “traditional strobal” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. It is recommended claim 10 be deleted since applicant has not explained or shown, in the disclosure, what is meant by a “traditional strobal”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the phrase “wherein a total length…the insole” is unclear, inaccurate and indefinite. Applicant is claiming “An article of footwear” and as shown in the figures the “the total length of the boundary at a top edge of the outer sole” is not shorter “than the total length of the boundary of the top surface the insole”. Applicant appears to be referring to the length of the outsole before it is assembled with the upper and the insole. However, this is not being claimed. The article of footwear as shown in the figures has “the total length of the boundary at a top edge of the outer sole” is longer “than the total length of the boundary of the top surface the insole”. This is how the claims will be interpreted in the rejection below.
In claim 10, the phrase “the upper is a traditional strobal” is unclear and indefinite inasmuch as it is not clear what structure this would encompass and therefore the scope of claim is indefinite.
Claim 11 is unclear and indefinite. It is not clear what applicant means by “alternative fabrication”. Moreover, it is not clear what additional structure is being added by this language and the functional language which follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, as understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 3878626 (Isman).
Isman discloses an article of footwear comprising:
an upper (sock 1);
an insole (sole part 3) received within the upper; and
an outer sole (sole part 2) configured to receive the insole and at least a portion of the upper, wherein upstanding walls of the outer sole are stretched over the upper where it receives the insole in order to sandwich the upper between an inner surface of the outer sole and an outer surface of the insole (at least see col. 1, lines 13-15 and col. 1, line 66 to col. 2. Line 8; col. 2, lines 41-44 and figures 1,2 and 7), wherein the insole comprises a top surface and a bottom surface opposite to the top surface, and wherein the outer surface extends around a perimeter of the insole, between the top surface and the bottom surface of the insole (see the figures), and wherein a total length of a boundary at a top edge of the outer sole is shorter than the total length of the boundary of the top surface the insole (see figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, at least see col. 1, lines 13-15 and col. 1, line 66 to col. 2. Line 8; col. 2, lines 41-44 and figures 1,2 and 7.
Regarding claims 3-4; see figure 2-3.
Regarding claim 5, see reference numerals 11,12 which represent engaging features on the inner surface of the outer sole and the outer surface of the insole. The continuous flange (12) shows two ridges and the continuous recess (11) represents a valley. Moreover, see figures 4 and 5 which show a peripheral flange and recess and a head and recess respectively which also represent engaging features as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isman ‘626.
Isman teaches an article of footwear as claimed (see the rejection above for details).
With regard to claim 9, Isman teaches the flexible upper (1).may be a usual sock, stocking or the like. The examiner takes official notice that it is old and conventional in the textile art to form socks by tubular knitting. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the Isman’s sock upper by tubular knitting to provide a flexible, foot-surrounding structure using a conventional sock-manufacturing technique.
Regarding claim 10, as understood, the upper (1) shows a sole portion which extends below the bottom of the foot and therefore is a “traditional strobal” as claimed.
Regarding claim 11, as understood, see figure 2 which shows the upper having enough material to pass under the insole after fabrication.
Claims 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isman ‘626 in view of US 2023/0157412 (Sussmann).
Regarding claims 1-5, Isman teaches an article of footwear as claimed (see the rejection above for details).
Regarding claims 6-8, see figures 4-5 of Isman which show the outer surface of the insole (3) having a peripheral flange (figure 4) which engages with a peripheral recess inner surface of the outer sole (2); and the outer surface of the insole (3) having a head (figure 5) which engages with a peripheral recess on the inner surface of the outer sole (2). Isman lacks the engagement features between the inner surface of the outsole and the outer surface of the insole being ridges and valleys. Sussmann teaches the engagement features (at least see figures 11-15) between the inner surface of the outsole (600) and the outer surface of the midsole being ridges and valleys (see ridges and valleys in both members: outsole has ridges (616A-616G) and valleys (gaps 684) between them; and midsole (696) has ridges (740A-740M) and valleys (720A-720G) between them. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the engagement features between the outer sole and the inner sole of the footwear taught by Isman with the ridges and valley, as taught by Sussmann. The ridges and valleys are on both the outer sole and inner sole and therefore have the limitations of both claims 7 and 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited and not relied upon by the Examiner for the above rejections are considered to be pertinent in that the references cited are considered to be the nearest prior art to the subject matter defined in the claims as required by MPEP707.05.
Applicant is duly reminded that a complete response must satisfy the requirements of 37 C.F. R. 1.111, including:
-“The reply must present arguments pointing out the specific distinctions believed to render the claims, including any newly presented claims, patentable over any applied references.”
--“A general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references does not comply with the requirements of this section.”
-Moreover, “The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP 2163.06” MPEP 714.02. The “disclosure” includes the claims, the specification and the drawings.
/Ted Kavanaugh/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3732
Tel: (571) 272-4556