DETAILED ACTION
*Examiner Note: Claim language is bolded. Cited References are italicized. Examiner interpretations are preceded with an asterisk *.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christman (US 2012/0065819A1) in view of Watanabe (US 2014/0163800 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Christman discloses A control system (see at least para. [0015] of
Christman which discloses “a control system 19 that also includes sensors in the battery 20 and sensors configured to sense operating conditions indicative of torque at the output member“) for controlling a powertrain system (Fig. 1, 12 and see at least para. [0016] of Christman which discloses “a method 100 of controlling a hybrid powertrain is shown as a flow diagram and is described below in detail with respect to the powertrain 12”) of a hybrid vehicle (Fig. 1, 10 and see at least para. [0010] of Christman which discloses “a hybrid vehicle 10”) comprising an engine (Fig. 1, 14 and see at least para. [0009] of Christman which discloses “an engine 14”) and an electric traction motor (Fig. 1, 18 and see at least para. [0028] of Christman which discloses “in block 128, the maximum operating output torque of block 118 is reduced by the peak torque required to start the engine, as determined in block 108, for those powertrains in which the same motor/generator that provides torque at the output member 39 is also used to provide torque to start the engine” and see at least claim 2 of Christman which also recites this dual function arrangement since it discloses “reducing the maximum operating output torque by the amount of torque required to start the engine if the motor both provides output torque and starts the engine”, *Examiner interprets the motor/generator 18 to be the claimed electric traction motor), the control system comprising one or more processors (Fig. 1, 46 and see at least para. [0015] of Christman which discloses “a processor 46” and see para. [0015] of Christman which discloses “The electronic controller 17 is operatively connected to the engine 14, the motor/ generators 16, 18, the battery 20, and to the module 22 via CAN busses and controls their operation according to the algorithm 112 stored in a processor 46. The controller 17 is also operatively connected to an operator accelerator input device 49, such as an accelerator pedal, in order to monitor the position of the device 49 through sensors. A database 48 containing test data is also stored on the controller 17 and accessed by the processor 46”), the one or more processors collectively configured to: receive a first input signal (see at least para. [0009] of Christman which discloses “The controller 17 tracks the amount of electrical power in the battery 20 via voltage sensors in the battery 20” and see at least para. [0003] of Christman which discloses “current vehicle operating conditions, such as engine temperature, motor temperature, battery voltage, and transmission output speed”, *Examiner interprets the voltage sensor output to be the claimed first input signal) indicative of one or more operating conditions (see at least para. [0003] of Christman which discloses “current vehicle operating conditions, such as engine temperature, motor temperature, battery voltage, and transmission output speed” and see at least para. [0015] of Christman which discloses “operating conditions indicative of torque at the output member”) of the vehicle, wherein the one or more operating conditions comprise an available battery power (see at least para. [0009] of Christman which discloses “The controller 17 tracks the amount of electrical power in the battery 20 via voltage sensors in the battery 20” and see at least para. [0030] of Christman which discloses “the available battery power must be used to provide the torque to start the engine” and see at least para. [0021] of Christman which discloses “the amount of power currently available from the battery for tractive torque (PwrAvail) determined in block 114 is the power used to determine the “power-based” capacity and ensures battery power reserve to start the engine 14”) of the electric traction motor determine, in dependence on the first input signal, a first portion of a power capability of the electric traction motor for use in performing an engine start (see at least para. [0021] of Christman which discloses “This amount (PwrAvail) is equal to the amount of power stored in the battery 20 as indicated by voltage sensors, less the amount of power required to power the electrically-powered vehicle components, as determined in block 104, and also less the amount of power required to start the engine 14 given the current engine temperature and the speed of the output member 39, as determined in block 102 and stored in the database. The amount of power stored in the battery 20 as indicated by voltage sensors, and the amount of battery power required to power other vehicle components determined in block 104 are determined on a continuous (real-time) basis rather than from information stored in the database 48. Thus, the amount of power currently available from the battery for tractive torque (PwrAvail) determined in block 114 is the power used to determine the “power-based” capacity and ensures battery power reserve to start the engine 14”); and output a control signal to the powertrain system to withhold the first portion (see at least para. [0015] of Christman which discloses “The electronic controller 17 is operatively connected to the engine 14, the motor/ generators 16, 18, the battery 20, and to the module 22 via CAN busses and controls their operation according to the algorithm 112 stored in a processor 46”) of the power capability from use in delivering power to a drivetrain (see at least para. [0010] of Christman which discloses “The carrier member 36 rotates with an output member 39 connected through a remaining drive train and vehicle wheels (not shown) and provides output torque to propel the vehicle”) of the vehicle in accordance with the determination (see at least para. [0024] of Christman which discloses “the lesser is selected as the maximum operating output torque of the powertrain 12 to reduce torque sag when the engine 14 is started” and see at least para. [0004] of Christman which discloses “The current output torque is reduced in a controlled manner, at a predetermined rate of change until the current output torque is within a predetermined range of the maximum operating output torque if an engine start is requested” and see at least para. [0030] of Christman which discloses “ the current output torque is then decreased at a predetermined rate of change in block 130 until the current output torque is within a predetermined range of the maximum operating output torque, at which point the engine 14 can be started”, *The reserved portion is withheld from the drivetrain while the remainder (second portion) continues to be delivered), and to make available a second portion of the power capability for delivering power to the drivetrain of the vehicle (see at least para. [0024] of Christman which discloses “in block 120, the power-based maximum output torque from block 118 and the output torque limit (ToMxCap) from block 116 are compared and the lesser is selected as the maximum operating output torque of the powertrain 112 to reduce torque sag when the engine 14 is started. The comparison in block 120 is required because at low speeds of the output member 39, the maximum output torque capacity (ToMxCap) determined in block 116 will be lower than the output torque determined in block 118 (i.e., the maximum output torque will be determined by the mechanical limits of motor/generator 18) even though power to provide a greater torque is available, while at higher speeds of the output member 39, the power-based maximum output torque from block 118 will be the lesser torque value”).
Christman does disclose reserving a portion of available power for use in performing an
engine start (see at least para. [0021] as discussed above which discloses “the amount of power currently available from the battery for tractive torque (PwrAvail) determined in block 114 is the power used to determine the “power-based” capacity and ensures battery power reserve to start the engine 14”).
Christman may not explicitly disclose determining whether to withhold a first portion.
However, Watanabe discloses whether to withhold a first portion (see at least para. [0100]
of Watanabe which discloses “cranking by motor generator MG1 may occur in order to start the engine. Thus, voltage margin Vmg needs a margin. Therefore, the process is returned to step S1, and lower-limit voltage margin Vmg is set at an initial value”, *Examiner interprets this as the reserve being kept/withheld when a start may be needed. Additionally, see at least para. [0099] of Watanabe which discloses “If the engine is already operating, cranking by motor generator MG1 at the time of engine start does not take place, and therefore, an abrupt power request will not occur. In such a case, more responsive running exerting the battery performance is possible without imposing unnecessary restrictions on the battery output”. Additionally, see at least para. [0084] of Watanabe which discloses “discharge allowable power operation unit 254 compares the magnitude correlation between battery voltage VB received from voltage sensor 160 and management lower-limit voltage VB_lim, and when battery voltage VB is higher than management lower-limit voltage VB_lim, derives discharge power upper limit Wout based on battery voltage VB. At this time, discharge allowable power operation unit 254 derives discharge power upper limit Wout based on SOC calculated from battery voltage VB using a well-known technique. It is noted that discharge power upper limit Wout at this time is a limit value of discharge power at each time”. Also, see at least para. [0090] of Watanabe which discloses “in the case where the motor consuming power exceeds discharge power upper limit Wout, the motor consuming power will exceed discharge power upper limit Wout when motor generators MG1, MG2 consume electric power in accordance with the request torque. Therefore, in this case, the motor consuming power is restricted so as not to exceed discharge power upper limit Wout” and see at least para. [0091] of Watanabe which discloses “torque command value Tref is restricted so as to be smaller than initial request torque Trq”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the control system of Christman to determine whether to withhold a first portion of power capability to be conditional; as taught in Watanabe with a reasonable expectation of success in order to avoid unnecessarily restricting drivetrain torque/power when the engine is already running and a start is not imminent, while still preserving Christman’s reserve mechanism for situations where a start may be requested. This will improve the overall drivetrain responsiveness without sacrificing the engine start reliability. See para. [0099] – [0100] of Watanabe for motivation.
Regarding claim 2, Christman as modified by Watanabe discloses wherein the control
system is configured to determine whether the first input signal is below or above a minimum power threshold (see at least para. [0015] of Watanabe which discloses “the change condition further includes a condition that the voltage of the power storage device is higher than a second threshold value in addition to the conditions that the internal combustion engine is being operated and the magnitude of voltage change of the power storage device is less than or equal to the first threshold value”), the first portion of the power capability being withheld from use in delivering power to the drivetrain if the first input signal is above the minimum power threshold (see at least para. [0080] of Watanabe which discloses “When the engine start request condition is met, HV control unit 250 drives, as engine start control, motor generator MG1 as an electric motor upon receipt of supply of electric power from battery 70, thereby cranking and starting engine 10. Furthermore, HV control unit 250 generates an engine start request signal at an H (logic high) level for output to battery management lower-limit voltage setting unit 252”).
Regarding claim 3, Christman as modified by Watanabe discloses wherein the control
system is configured to receive a second input signal (see at least para. [0011] of Christman which discloses “control signals from the controller 17“) indicative of one or more vehicle operating modes, and wherein the determination is based on the first input signal and the second input signal (see at least para. [0009] of Christman which discloses “In some operating modes, the first motor/generator 16 may also be controlled to function as a motor” and see at least para. [0016] of Christman which discloses “other hybrid electro-mechanical powertrains that have both electric-only operating modes and require a shift to a hybrid operating mode by using a motor to start an engine during the electric-only operating mode”).
Regarding claim 4, Christman as modified by Watanabe discloses wherein the one or more
vehicle operating modes comprise at least one of an operating mode in which the use of the electric traction motor as a sole source of motive power is prioritised, a transfer box setting and a terrain mode (see at least claim 10 of Christman which discloses “an electric motor” and see at least para. [0002] of Christman which discloses “Some electromechanical hybrid powertrains are configured to operate in electric-only modes in which one or more motors provide power to propel the vehicle with the engine off”, *Examiner interprets that since these limitations are cited in the alternative only 1 limitation is required, i.e., the electric traction motor. Christman discloses the motor/generator for selectively operating as an electric motor provide output torque through output member 39 and the remaining drivetrain to propel the vehicle. Motor/generator 18 therefore constitutes an electric traction motor because it delivers electrically generated torque for vehicle propulsion).
Regarding claim 5, Christman as modified by Watanabe discloses wherein the first input
signal further comprises one or more of a temperature signal indicative of a temperature of the engine (see at least para. [0003] of Christman which discloses “The stored test data may account for current vehicle operating conditions, such as engine temperature, motor temperature” and see at least para. [0017] of Christman which discloses “the peak battery power (Pwr2Strt) required to start the engine 14 at different engine temperatures (which correlate with engine friction) is determined by testing a powertrain substantially identical to powertrain 10 on a dynamometer and recording the data. Operating conditions in addition to the engine temperature may also be tracked”), a time signal indicative of a duration of time since the engine was last operated, a vehicle speed signal indicative of a speed of the vehicle (see at least para. [0020] of Christman which discloses “for powertrains in which the same motor/generator used to start the engine also provides output torque at the transmission output member, the peak torque required to start the engine is tested at various operating conditions such as various engine temperatures and transmission output speeds”, *Examiner interprets that since these limitations are cited in the alternative only 1 limitation is required).
Regarding claim 6, Christman as modified by Watanabe discloses wherein the control
system is further configured to: determine a power required to start the engine based on the first input signal (see at least para. [0004] of Christman which discloses “power required to start the engine is calculated by multiplying the amount of power determined to be currently available for tractive torque by a ratio of the output torque limit to the amount of power required to provide the output torque limit” and see at least claim 10 of Christman which discloses “determining the amount of battery power required to start the engine based on stored test data”) ; and determine the first portion of power capability to be withheld based on the determined power (see at least para. [0023] of Christman which discloses “a reserve of power required to start the engine 14 by multiplying the amount of power determined to be currently available for tractive torque (PwrAvail) in step 114 by a ratio of the output torque limit (ToMxCap) from block 116 to the amount of power required to provide the output torque limit”).
Regarding claim 8, Christman as modified by Watanabe discloses wherein the control
system is further configured to: receive an engine start signal from the powertrain system indicative of an engine start; and output, in response to the engine start signal, a control signal to the powertrain system to make the first portion of the power capability of the electric traction motor available for use in delivering power to the drivetrain (see at least para. [0080] of Watanabe which discloses “When the engine start request condition is met, HV control unit 250 drives, as engine start control, motor generator MG1 as an electric motor upon receipt of supply of electric power from battery 70, thereby cranking and starting engine 10. Furthermore, HV control unit 250 generates an engine start request signal at an H (logic high) level for output to battery management lower-limit voltage setting unit 252”).
Regarding claim 9, Christman as modified by Watanabe discloses a powertrain system, the
powertrain system comprising an engine (see at least para. [0009] of Christman which discloses “The powertrain 12 includes an engine 14 and a hybrid transmission 15. The hybrid transmission 15 includes a first motor/generator 16, a second motor/generator 18, and a planetary gear set 30. The engine 14 powers the first motor/generator 16”) and an electric traction motor (Fig. 1, 18 and see at least para. [0028] of Christman which discloses “in block 128, the maximum operating output torque of block 118 is reduced by the peak torque required to start the engine, as determined in block 108, for those powertrains in which the same motor/generator that provides torque at the output member 39 is also used to provide torque to start the engine” and see at least claim 2 of Christman which also recites this dual function arrangement since it discloses “reducing the maximum operating output torque by the amount of torque required to start the engine if the motor both provides output torque and starts the engine”, *Examiner interprets the motor/generator 18 to be the claimed electric traction motor).
Regarding claim 10, Christman as modified by Watanabe discloses A vehicle (see at least
para. [0004] of Christman which discloses “a method of controlling a powertrain on a vehicle includes determining an amount of power currently available from a battery for tractive torque. The amount of power currently available from the battery for tractive torque is an amount of power stored in the battery less an amount of power required to power at least some other electrically-powered vehicle components, and less an amount of power required to start the engine”) comprising the control system (see at least para. [0015] of Christman which discloses “a control system 19 that also includes sensors in the battery 20 and sensors configured to sense operating conditions indicative of torque at the output member“) of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Christman discloses A method for controlling a powertrain system (Fig.
1, 12 and see at least para. [0016] of Christman which discloses “a method 100 of controlling a hybrid powertrain is shown as a flow diagram and is described below in detail with respect to the powertrain 12”) of a hybrid vehicle (Fig. 1, 10 and see at least para. [0010] of Christman which discloses “a hybrid vehicle 10”) comprising an engine (Fig. 1, 14 and see at least para. [0009] of Christman which discloses “an engine 14”) and an electric traction motor (Fig. 1, 18 and see at least para. [0028] of Christman which discloses “in block 128, the maximum operating output torque of block 118 is reduced by the peak torque required to start the engine, as determined in block 108, for those powertrains in which the same motor/generator that provides torque at the output member 39 is also used to provide torque to start the engine” and see at least claim 2 of Christman which discloses “reducing the maximum operating output torque by the amount of torque required to start the engine if the motor both provides output torque and starts the engine”), the method comprising: receiving a first input signal (see at least para. [0009] of Christman which discloses “The controller 17 tracks the amount of electrical power in the battery 20 via voltage sensors in the battery 20” and see at least para. [0003] of Christman which discloses “current vehicle operating conditions, such as engine temperature, motor temperature, battery voltage, and transmission output speed”, *Examiner interprets the voltage sensor output to be the claimed first input signal) indicative of one or more operating conditions (see at least para. [0003] of Christman which discloses “current vehicle operating conditions, such as engine temperature, motor temperature, battery voltage, and transmission output speed” and see at least para. [0015] of Christman which discloses “operating conditions indicative of torque at the output member”) of the vehicle, wherein the one or more operating conditions comprise an available battery power (see at least para. [0009] of Christman which discloses “The controller 17 tracks the amount of electrical power in the battery 20 via voltage sensors in the battery 20” and see at least para. [0030] of Christman which discloses “the available battery power must be used to provide the torque to start the engine” and see at least para. [0021] of Christman which discloses “the amount of power currently available from the battery for tractive torque (PwrAvail) determined in block 114 is the power used to determine the “power-based” capacity and ensures battery power reserve to start the engine 14”) of the electric traction motor; determining, in dependence on the first input signal, a first portion of a power capability of the electric traction motor for use in performing an engine start (see at least para. [0021] of Christman which discloses “This amount (PwrAvail) is equal to the amount of power stored in the battery 20 as indicated by voltage sensors, less the amount of power required to power the electrically-powered vehicle components, as determined in block 104, and also less the amount of power required to start the engine 14 given the current engine temperature and the speed of the output member 39, as determined in block 102 and stored in the database. The amount of power stored in the battery 20 as indicated by voltage sensors, and the amount of battery power required to power other vehicle components determined in block 104 are determined on a continuous (real-time) basis rather than from information stored in the database 48. Thus, the amount of power currently available from the battery for tractive torque (PwrAvail) determined in block 114 is the power used to determine the “power-based” capacity and ensures battery power reserve to start the engine 14”); and outputting a control signal to the powertrain system to withhold the first portion (see at least para. [0015] of Christman which discloses “The electronic controller 17 is operatively connected to the engine 14, the motor/ generators 16, 18, the battery 20, and to the module 22 via CAN busses and controls their operation according to the algorithm 112 stored in a processor 46”) of the power capability from use in delivering power to a drivetrain (see at least para. [0010] of Christman which discloses “The carrier member 36 rotates with an output member 39 connected through a remaining drive train and vehicle wheels (not shown) and provides output torque to propel the vehicle”) of the vehicle in accordance with the determination (see at least para. [0024] of Christman which discloses “the lesser is selected as the maximum operating output torque of the powertrain 12 to reduce torque sag when the engine 14 is started” and see at least para. [0004] of Christman which discloses “The current output torque is reduced in a controlled manner, at a predetermined rate of change until the current output torque is within a predetermined range of the maximum operating output torque if an engine start is requested” and see at least para. [0030] of Christman which discloses “ the current output torque is then decreased at a predetermined rate of change in block 130 until the current output torque is within a predetermined range of the maximum operating output torque, at which point the engine 14 can be started”, *The reserved portion is withheld from the drivetrain while the remainder (second portion) continues to be delivered), and to make available a second portion of the power capability for delivering power to the drivetrain of the vehicle (see at least para. [0024] of Christman which discloses “in block 120, the power-based maximum output torque from block 118 and the output torque limit (ToMxCap) from block 116 are compared and the lesser is selected as the maximum operating output torque of the powertrain 12 to reduce torque sag when the engine 14 is started. The comparison in block 120 is required because at low speeds of the output member 39, the maximum output torque capacity (ToMxCap) determined in block 116 will be lower than the output torque determined in block 118 (i.e., the maximum output torque will be determined by the mechanical limits of motor/generator 18) even though power to provide a greater torque is available, while at higher speeds of the output member 39, the power-based maximum output torque from block 118 will be the lesser torque value”).
Christman does disclose reserving a portion of available power for use in performing an
engine start (see at least para. [0021] as discussed above which discloses “the amount of power currently available from the battery for tractive torque (PwrAvail) determined in block 114 is the power used to determine the “power-based” capacity and ensures battery power reserve to start the engine 14”).
Christman may not explicitly disclose determining whether to withhold a first portion.
However, Watanabe discloses whether to withhold a first portion (see at least para. [0100]
of Watanabe which discloses “cranking by motor generator MG1 may occur in order to start the engine. Thus, voltage margin Vmg needs a margin. Therefore, the process is returned to step S1, and lower-limit voltage margin Vmg is set at an initial value”, *Examiner interprets this as the reserve being kept/withheld when a start may be needed. Additionally, see at least para. [0099] of Watanabe which discloses “If the engine is already operating, cranking by motor generator MG1 at the time of engine start does not take place, and therefore, an abrupt power request will not occur. In such a case, more responsive running exerting the battery performance is possible without imposing unnecessary restrictions on the battery output”. Additionally, see at least para. [0084] of Watanabe which discloses “discharge allowable power operation unit 254 compares the magnitude correlation between battery voltage VB received from voltage sensor 160 and management lower-limit voltage VB_lim, and when battery voltage VB is higher than management lower-limit voltage VB_lim, derives discharge power upper limit Wout based on battery voltage VB. At this time, discharge allowable power operation unit 254 derives discharge power upper limit Wout based on SOC calculated from battery voltage VB using a well-known technique. It is noted that discharge power upper limit Wout at this time is a limit value of discharge power at each time”. Also, see at least para. [0090] of Watanabe which discloses “in the case where the motor consuming power exceeds discharge power upper limit Wout, the motor consuming power will exceed discharge power upper limit Wout when motor generators MG1, MG2 consume electric power in accordance with the request torque. Therefore, in this case, the motor consuming power is restricted so as not to exceed discharge power upper limit Wout” and see at least para. [0091] of Watanabe which discloses “torque command value Tref is restricted so as to be smaller than initial request torque Trq”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the control system of Christman to determine whether to withhold a first portion of power capability to be conditional; as taught in Watanabe with a reasonable expectation of success in order to avoid unnecessarily restricting drivetrain torque/power when the engine is already running and a start is not imminent, while still preserving Christman’s reserve mechanism for situations where a start may be requested. This will improve the overall drivetrain responsiveness without sacrificing the engine start reliability. See para. [0099] – [0100] of Watanabe for motivation.
Regarding claim 12, Christman as modified by Watanabe discloses wherein the method
comprises determining whether the first input signal is below or above a minimum power threshold (see at least para. [0015] of Watanabe which discloses “the change condition further includes a condition that the voltage of the power storage device is higher than a second threshold value in addition to the conditions that the internal combustion engine is being operated and the magnitude of voltage change of the power storage device is less than or equal to the first threshold value”), the first portion of the power capability being withheld from use in delivering power to the drivetrain if the first input signal is above the minimum power threshold (see at least para. [0080] of Watanabe which discloses “When the engine start request condition is met, HV control unit 250 drives, as engine start control, motor generator MG1 as an electric motor upon receipt of supply of electric power from battery 70, thereby cranking and starting engine 10. Furthermore, HV control unit 250 generates an engine start request signal at an H (logic high) level for output to battery management lower-limit voltage setting unit 252”).
Regarding claim 13, Christman as modified by Watanabe discloses wherein the method
comprises receiving a second input signal (see at least para. [0011] of Christman which discloses “control signals from the controller 17“) indicative of one or more vehicle operating modes, wherein the determination is based on the first input signal and the second input signal (see at least para. [0009] of Christman which discloses “In some operating modes, the first motor/generator 16 may also be controlled to function as a motor” and see at least para. [0016] of Christman which discloses “other hybrid electro-mechanical powertrains that have both electric-only operating modes and require a shift to a hybrid operating mode by using a motor to start an engine during the electric-only operating mode”).
Regarding claim 14, Christman as modified by Watanabe discloses wherein the one or more
vehicle operating modes comprise at least one of an operating mode in which the use of the electric traction motor as a sole source of motive power is prioritised, a transfer box setting and a terrain mode (see at least claim 10 of Christman which discloses “an electric motor” and see at least para. [0002] of Christman which discloses “Some electromechanical hybrid powertrains are configured to operate in electric-only modes in which one or more motors provide power to propel the vehicle with the engine off”, *Examiner interprets that since these limitations are cited in the alternative only 1 limitation is required, i.e., the electric traction motor. Christman discloses the motor/generator for selectively operating as an electric motor provide output torque through output member 39 and the remaining drivetrain to propel the vehicle. Motor/generator 18 therefore constitutes an electric traction motor because it delivers electrically generated torque for vehicle propulsion).
Regarding claim 15, Christman as modified by Watanabe discloses Computer readable
instructions which, when executed by a computer, are arranged to perform the method according to claim 1 (see at least para. [0012] of Christman which discloses “The algorithm 112 described below controls the powertrain 10 so that the rate of change in output torque at the output member 39 during such an engine start is controlled to a level that is determined to be acceptable to vehicle occupants” and para. [0015] discloses “The electronic controller 17 is operatively connected to the engine 14, the motor/ generators 16, 18, the battery 20, and to the module 22 via CAN busses and controls their operation according to the algorithm 112 stored in a processor 46” and see at least para. [0021] of Christman which discloses “Once the database 48 is created in blocks 102, 106, 108 and 110, the portion of the method 110 carried out by the processor 46, i.e., the algorithm 112, begins with block 114. In block 114, the amount of power currently available (PwrAvail) from the battery 20 for tractive torque is determined”).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christman (US 2012/0065819A1) in view of Watanabe (US 2014/0163800 A1) and further in view of Park (US2007/0135976A1).
Regarding claim 7, Christman as modified by Watanabe discloses wherein the control
system is further configured to determine the first portion of power capability to be withheld, wherein the control system is configured to determine the target engine speed based on the received power demand signal and vehicle speed signal (see at least para. [0040] of Watanabe which discloses “Engine 10 is further provided with an engine rotation speed sensor 11 for detecting a rotation speed Ne of a crankshaft of engine 10 (hereinafter denoted as an engine rotation speed). Engine rotation speed sensor 11 transmits a signal indicating detected engine rotation speed Ne to ECU 200”).
Christman as modified by Watanabe, may not explicitly disclose based on a target engine
speed.
However Park discloses a target engine speed (see at least para. [0010] of Park which
discloses “determining a target engine speed and a target engine torque based on a torque, a car speed and a battery power required for the series/parallel hybrid car; (b) controlling the target engine torque by an engine controller and controlling the target engine speed by controlling generator speed; and (c) compensating for a difference between the required torque and the torque directly outputted from an engine by using a motor torque”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the control
system of Christman, as modified by Watanabe, based on a target engine speed, as taught in Park with a reasonable expectation of success to facilitate more effective power capability withholding. See para. [0010] – [0011] for motivation.
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fu (US 6,831,429 B2) discloses a method for estimating available torque output from a battery-powered traction motor system in a vehicle, wherein the system includes a high-voltage battery coupled to a traction motor by an inverter, wherein the inverter is controlled in response to a torque or speed command within an inverter controller, and wherein the system further includes a DC-to-DC converter coupled to the high-voltage battery to provide a reduced voltage to charge a low-voltage battery. The method comprises determining battery operating conditions of the high-voltage battery including available battery power and battery voltage. Traction motor electrical parameters such as resistance, inductances, and flux linkage corresponding to operating conditions are determined, with consideration of temperature and magnetic saturation. The battery information (such as voltage, current, and internal resistance) is transformed into synchronous coordinates. Imamura (US 11,453,384) discloses a vehicle control system applied to a vehicle comprising: a prime mover; a first motor having a generating function; at least a pair of drive wheels; an electric storage device from which an electric power is supplied to the first motor, and to which an electric power generated by the first motor is supplied; a differential mechanism that comprises a plurality of rotary elements including a rotary element connected to the prime mover, another rotary element connected to the first motor, and still another rotary element connected to the drive wheels, that delivers torque of the prime mover at least partially to the drive wheels when a reaction torque established by the first motor is applied thereto; and an engagement device that is selectively engaged to transmit torque between a predetermined pair of the plurality of rotary elements of the differential mechanism. In the vehicle to which the control system is applied, a speed of one of the rotary elements of the predetermined pair of the rotary elements is changed with a change in a speed of the first motor, and the engagement device is allowed to be engaged when a speed difference between the predetermined pair of the rotary elements is less than a predetermined value. In order to achieve the above-explained objective, according to the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure, the control system is provided with a controller that controls the electric power applied to the electric storage device and the electric power discharged from the electric storage device.
Conclusion
/DANA D IVEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/D.D.I/August 25, 2026
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662