DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract contains more than one paragraph and more than 150 words. A new abstract is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 10, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Pub 2022/0406241) in view of Jin et al (US Pub 2010/0141777).
With respect to claim 1, Li discloses a display apparatus comprising (par 0001; discloses disclosure relates to the field of display technologies, and particularly to a display device and a method of driving the display device): power sensing circuitry to measure, when a display panel displays content, an electrical characteristic indicative of power consumed by the display panel (fig. 1; detecting module 300; par 0075; discloses the detecting module 300 is configured to detect a real-time current flowing through the LED ); and display controller circuitry in communication with the power sensing circuitry, (par 0074; discloses a detecting module 300 respectively connected to the LED light board 110 and the drive control module 200) the display controller circuitry to: obtain, as a set of power values based on measurements by the power sensing circuitry, the power consumed by the display panel, determine a power parameter based on the set of power values, and control, when the display controller circuitry determines that the power parameter reaches a threshold, the display panel to change to a different display mode (par 0084; discloses The drive control module 200 is configured to receive a real-time voltage generated by the real-time current at the two ends of the detection resistor 310, and to switch the display modes of the LED light board 110 according to a magnitude of the real-time voltage. When the real-time current increases, the real-time voltage across the detection resistor 310 increases. Obviously, the real-time current can be determined by detecting the real-time voltage across the detection resistor 310. Therefore, the drive control module 200 can switch the display modes of the LED light board 110 according to the magnitude of the real-time voltage across the detection resistor 310; par 0082; discloses the display modes of the LED light board 110 includes the high-grayscale regular display mode and the low-grayscale cooling display mode. The high-grayscale regular display mode is a normal display mode. When the real-time current is greater than a first threshold current, the drive control module 200 drives the LED light board 110 to display in the low-grayscale cooling display mode, which can reduce an output power of the LED light board 110 and the real-time current flowing through the LED to keep the real-time current within a threshold current range.);
Li doesn’t expressly disclose measuring power consumed by the display panel during a time period;
In the same field of endeavor, Jin discloses a display apparatus and control method thereof (see abstract); Jin discloses measuring power consumed by the display panel during a time period (par 0044; dsicsleod The controller 190 calculates a current power consumption of the display apparatus 100 using the measured power consumption. The controller 190 also calculates average power consumption per day of the display apparatus 100 using the measured power consumption. Further, the controller 190 calculates power consumption based on the time zone of the display apparatus 100 using the measured power consumption. Meanwhile, the controller 190 calculates a power rate of the display apparatus 100 using the measured power consumption. In short, the controller 190 calculates information about power consumption such as current power consumption, average power consumption per day, power consumption based on the time zone, a power rate, etc.);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Li to incorporate the teachings of Jin to measure power consumption of the display over a time period such that power consumption rate is accurately calculated and display parameters are effectively adjusted based on the determined power consumption rate.
With respect to claim 5, Li as modified by Jin discloses wherein the power sensing circuitry includes: a shunt resistor connected with a backlight circuit of the display; and a current sensor to sense the current through the shunt resistor (fig. 2; discloses the detecting module 300 includes resistor 310 and amplifier 320; see par 0084).
With respect to claim 10, Li discloses a method for adjusting a display panel, (par 0001; discloses disclosure relates to the field of display technologies, and particularly to a display device and a method of driving the display device) the method comprising: measuring, by power sensing circuitry when a display panel displays content, an electrical characteristic indicative of power consumed by the display panel (fig. 1; detecting module 300; par 0075; discloses the detecting module 300 is configured to detect a real-time current flowing through the LED ); and obtaining, by display controller circuitry, as a set of power values based on measurements by the power sensing circuitry, the power consumed by the display panel; determining, by the display controller circuitry, a power parameter of the set of power values; and controlling, by the display controller circuitry when the display controller circuitry determines that the power parameter reaches a threshold, the display panel to change to a different display mode having a different setting for at least one display parameter of the display ((par 0084; discloses The drive control module 200 is configured to receive a real-time voltage generated by the real-time current at the two ends of the detection resistor 310, and to switch the display modes of the LED light board 110 according to a magnitude of the real-time voltage. When the real-time current increases, the real-time voltage across the detection resistor 310 increases. Obviously, the real-time current can be determined by detecting the real-time voltage across the detection resistor 310. Therefore, the drive control module 200 can switch the display modes of the LED light board 110 according to the magnitude of the real-time voltage across the detection resistor 310; par 0082; discloses the display modes of the LED light board 110 includes the high-grayscale regular display mode and the low-grayscale cooling display mode. The high-grayscale regular display mode is a normal display mode. When the real-time current is greater than a first threshold current, the drive control module 200 drives the LED light board 110 to display in the low-grayscale cooling display mode, which can reduce an output power of the LED light board 110 and the real-time current flowing through the LED to keep the real-time current within a threshold current range.);
Li doesn’t expressly disclose measuring power consumed by the display panel during a time period;
In the same field of endeavor, Jin discloses a display apparatus and control method thereof (see abstract); Jin discloses measuring power consumed by the display panel during a time period (par 0044; dsicsleod The controller 190 calculates a current power consumption of the display apparatus 100 using the measured power consumption. The controller 190 also calculates average power consumption per day of the display apparatus 100 using the measured power consumption. Further, the controller 190 calculates power consumption based on the time zone of the display apparatus 100 using the measured power consumption. Meanwhile, the controller 190 calculates a power rate of the display apparatus 100 using the measured power consumption. In short, the controller 190 calculates information about power consumption such as current power consumption, average power consumption per day, power consumption based on the time zone, a power rate, etc.);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Li to incorporate the teachings of Jin to measure power consumption of the display over a time period such that power consumption rate is accurately calculated and display parameters are effectively adjusted based on the determined power consumption rate.
With respect to claim 15, Li discloses an electronic device comprising: a display panel (par 0001; discloses disclosure relates to the field of display technologies, and particularly to a display device and a method of driving the display device); power sensing circuitry to measure, when the display panel displays content, an electrical characteristic indicative of power consumed by the display panel (fig. 1; detecting module 300; par 0075; discloses the detecting module 300 is configured to detect a real-time current flowing through the LED ); and a display controller circuitry in communication with the power sensing circuitry (par 0074; discloses a detecting module 300 respectively connected to the LED light board 110 and the drive control module 200), the display controller circuitry to: obtain, as a set of power values based on measurements by the power sensing circuitry, the power consumed by the display panel, determine a power parameter of the set of power values, and control, when the display controller circuitry determines that the power parameter reaches a threshold, the display panel to change to a different display mode (par 0084; discloses The drive control module 200 is configured to receive a real-time voltage generated by the real-time current at the two ends of the detection resistor 310, and to switch the display modes of the LED light board 110 according to a magnitude of the real-time voltage. When the real-time current increases, the real-time voltage across the detection resistor 310 increases. Obviously, the real-time current can be determined by detecting the real-time voltage across the detection resistor 310. Therefore, the drive control module 200 can switch the display modes of the LED light board 110 according to the magnitude of the real-time voltage across the detection resistor 310; par 0082; discloses the display modes of the LED light board 110 includes the high-grayscale regular display mode and the low-grayscale cooling display mode. The high-grayscale regular display mode is a normal display mode. When the real-time current is greater than a first threshold current, the drive control module 200 drives the LED light board 110 to display in the low-grayscale cooling display mode, which can reduce an output power of the LED light board 110 and the real-time current flowing through the LED to keep the real-time current within a threshold current range.);
Li doesn’t expressly disclose measuring power consumed by the display panel during a time period;
In the same field of endeavor, Jin discloses a display apparatus and control method thereof (see abstract); Jin discloses measuring power consumed by the display panel during a time period (par 0044; dsicsleod The controller 190 calculates a current power consumption of the display apparatus 100 using the measured power consumption. The controller 190 also calculates average power consumption per day of the display apparatus 100 using the measured power consumption. Further, the controller 190 calculates power consumption based on the time zone of the display apparatus 100 using the measured power consumption. Meanwhile, the controller 190 calculates a power rate of the display apparatus 100 using the measured power consumption. In short, the controller 190 calculates information about power consumption such as current power consumption, average power consumption per day, power consumption based on the time zone, a power rate, etc.);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Li to incorporate the teachings of Jin to measure power consumption of the display over a time period such that power consumption rate is accurately calculated and display parameters are effectively adjusted based on the determined power consumption rate.
Claim(s) 2-3, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Pub 2022/0406241) in view of Jin et al (US Pub 2010/0141777) and Li (US Pub 2014/0047256) referred to as Li256.
With respect to claim 2, Li as modified by Jin discloses wherein the threshold is an upper threshold, (Li; par 0082; discloses when the real-time current is greater than a first threshold current, the drive control module 200 drives the LED light board 110 to display in the low-grayscale cooling display mode; i.e. switch from high-grayscale mode to low-grayscale mode);
Li as modified by Jin don’t expressly disclose the different display mode is a dynamic viewing mode;
In the same field of endeavor, Li256 discloses system and method of operating a display device (see abstract); Li256 discloses the different display mode is a dynamic viewing mode (par 0029; discloses Based on the terminal device's operating mode, obtaining the load occupancy parameter corresponding to the operating mode in accordance with a set correspondence between operating modes and load occupancy parameters; par 0031; discloses the operating mode in this embodiment can refer to the state of the terminal device is in, such as a game mode, reading mode, sleep mode, etc. Different operating modes can correspond to different load occupancy parameters or the same load occupancy parameter);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Li as modified by Jin to incorporate the teachings of Li256 to operate the display device in dynamic viewing mode allowing user to view gaming content on the display device.
With respect to claim 3, Li as modified by Jin discloses wherein the threshold is a lower threshold, (Li; par 0082; discloses the real-time current is less than the second threshold current, the drive control module 200 drives the LED light board 110 to display in the high-grayscale regular display mode, thereby, the LED light board 110 return to a normal display mode; i.e. switch from low-grayscale mode to high-grayscale mode);
Li as modified by Jin don’t expressly disclose the different display mode is a reading mode;
In the same field of endeavor, Li256 discloses system and method of operating a display device (see abstract); Li256 discloses the different display mode is a reading mode (par 0029; discloses Based on the terminal device's operating mode, obtaining the load occupancy parameter corresponding to the operating mode in accordance with a set correspondence between operating modes and load occupancy parameters; par 0031; discloses the operating mode in this embodiment can refer to the state of the terminal device is in, such as a game mode, reading mode, sleep mode, etc. Different operating modes can correspond to different load occupancy parameters or the same load occupancy parameter);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Li as modified by Jin to incorporate the teachings of Li256 to operate the display device in reading mode allowing user to view content on the display device while using less power.
With respect to claim 13, Li as modified by Jin discloses wherein the threshold is a lower threshold, (Li; par 0082; discloses the real-time current is less than the second threshold current, the drive control module 200 drives the LED light board 110 to display in the high-grayscale regular display mode, thereby, the LED light board 110 return to a normal display mode; i.e. switch from low-grayscale mode to high-grayscale mode);
Li as modified by Jin don’t expressly disclose the different display mode is a reading mode;
In the same field of endeavor, Li256 discloses system and method of operating a display device (see abstract); Li256 discloses the different display mode is a reading mode (par 0029; discloses Based on the terminal device's operating mode, obtaining the load occupancy parameter corresponding to the operating mode in accordance with a set correspondence between operating modes and load occupancy parameters; par 0031; discloses the operating mode in this embodiment can refer to the state of the terminal device is in, such as a game mode, reading mode, sleep mode, etc. Different operating modes can correspond to different load occupancy parameters or the same load occupancy parameter);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Li as modified by Jin to incorporate the teachings of Li256 to operate the display device in reading mode allowing user to view content on the display device while using less power.
With respect to claim 14, Li as modified by Jin discloses wherein the threshold is an upper threshold, (Li; par 0082; discloses when the real-time current is greater than a first threshold current, the drive control module 200 drives the LED light board 110 to display in the low-grayscale cooling display mode; i.e. switch from high-grayscale mode to low-grayscale mode);
Li as modified by Jin don’t expressly disclose the different display mode is a dynamic viewing mode;
In the same field of endeavor, Li256 discloses system and method of operating a display device (see abstract); Li256 discloses the different display mode is a dynamic viewing mode (par 0029; discloses Based on the terminal device's operating mode, obtaining the load occupancy parameter corresponding to the operating mode in accordance with a set correspondence between operating modes and load occupancy parameters; par 0031; discloses the operating mode in this embodiment can refer to the state of the terminal device is in, such as a game mode, reading mode, sleep mode, etc. Different operating modes can correspond to different load occupancy parameters or the same load occupancy parameter);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Li as modified by Jin to incorporate the teachings of Li256 to operate the display device in dynamic viewing mode allowing user to view gaming content on the display device.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Pub 2022/0406241) in view of Jin et al (US Pub 2010/0141777) and Li (US Pub 2014/0047256) referred to as Li256 and Hu et al (US Pat 11,532,271).
With respect to claim 4, Li as modified by Jin and Li256 don’t expressly disclose wherein the power parameter is a standard deviation of the set of power values;
In the same field of endeavor, Hu discloses system and method for profiling power usage of displays (see abstract); Hu discloses wherein the power parameter is a standard deviation of the set of power values (col 4; lines 9-21; discloses In one implementation, for each of the static colored images, we generated 5 measurements, out of which we chose 3 that had the least standard deviation and took the average. First, we measured the CPU idle power as the power draw when the screen is off and the app is running using a wakelock (a mechanism that ensures the device remains on). Second, we measure the OLED dark screen power by displaying a dark screen with all the pixel values set to zero and then subtract the CPU idle power (from Step 1) from the measured phone power in order to determine the constant C of equation (1). Finally, to measure the power draw by all the colored pixels);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Li as modified by Jin and Li256 to incorporate the teachings of Hu to determine the power usage of displays using the standard deviation of the measurements such that power consumption of the display panel accurately calculated.
Claim(s) 6, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Pub 2022/0406241) in view of Jin et al (US Pub 2010/0141777) and Sorek et al (US Pub 2015/0070742).
With respect to claim 6, Li as modified by Jin don’t expressly disclose wherein, to control the display panel to change to the different display mode, the display controller circuitry is to control the display panel to one or more of: adjust a sharpness of the display panel, adjust a brightness peaking of the display panel, adjust a response time of the display panel, or a color temperature of the display panel;
In the same field of endeavor, Sorek discloses display device and control method (see abstract); Sorek discloses wherein, to control the display panel to change to the different display mode, the display controller circuitry is to control the display panel to one or more of: adjust a sharpness of the display panel, adjust a brightness peaking of the display panel, adjust a response time of the display panel, or a color temperature of the display panel (par 0047; discloses where the power saving mode may change display parameters reduce power usage, some examples may include reducing the brightness, contrast, update frequency, and/or the color palette.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Li as modified by Jin to incorporate the teachings of Sorek to adjust the brightness, contrast or color of the display device in order to reduce the power consumption of the display device.
With respect to claim 11, Li as modified by Jin don’t expressly disclose wherein, to control the display panel to change to the different display mode, the controller is to control the display panel to one or more of: adjust a sharpness of the display panel, adjust a brightness peaking of the display panel, and adjust a response time of the display panel, or a color temperature of the display panel;
In the same field of endeavor, Sorek discloses display device and control method (see abstract); Sorek discloses wherein, to control the display panel to change to the different display mode, the controller is to control the display panel to one or more of: adjust a sharpness of the display panel, adjust a brightness peaking of the display panel, and adjust a response time of the display panel, or a color temperature of the display panel; (par 0047; discloses where the power saving mode may change display parameters reduce power usage, some examples may include reducing the brightness, contrast, update frequency, and/or the color palette.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Li as modified by Jin to incorporate the teachings of Sorek to adjust the brightness, contrast or color of the display device in order to reduce the power consumption of the display device.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Pub 2022/0406241) in view of Jin et al (US Pub 2010/0141777), YOSHIZUMI (US Pub 2013/0321373) and Wu et al (US Pub 2019/0391633).
With respect to claim 7, Li as modified by Jin don’t expressly disclose wherein the power sensing circuitry and the display controller circuitry are housed by a housing of a standalone electronic display;
In the same field of endeavor, YOSHIZUMI discloses wherein the power sensing circuitry and the display controller circuitry are housed by a housing of a standalone electronic display; (fig. 1; discloses standalone device 100 with housing; par 0060; discloses the electronic device 100 includes a processor 151, a main memory 152, a memory controller 153, an auxiliary memory 154, a sensor controller 155, the sensor 111, a display controller 157, a display device 158, a power supply controller 159, a power supply 160, a communication controller 161, a communication interface (I/F) 162, a sound controller 163, the speaker 104, a sound output connector 165, a microphone 166, an input I/F 167, a housing switch 168, a touch panel 169, a camera 171, an external port 172, an output I/F 173, the vibration motor 105, and an external port 174. Among these, the processor 151, the main memory 152, the memory controller 153, the sensor controller 155, the display controller 157, the power supply controller 159, the communication controller 161, the sound controller 163, the input I/F 167, and the output I/F 173 are electrically connected to one another through one or more system buses 150 and can communicate with one another);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Li as modified by Jin to incorporate the teachings of YOSHIZUMI to include the display controller and power sensing circuit within the housing of the electronic device such that electronic components are securely mounted within the electronic device;
Li as modified by Jin and YOSHIZUMI don’t expressly disclose the display controller circuitry is a scaler integrated circuit (IC);
In the same field of endeavor, Wu discloses a display controller where the display controller circuitry is a scaler integrated circuit (IC) (par 0011; discloses FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a display controller 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention. The display controller 100 can be a Scaler IC (Integrated Circuit) controller inside a display. Circuit components of the display controller 100 can be embedded into a chip);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Li as modified by Jin and YOSHIZUMI to incorporate the teachings of Wu to form the display controller as a scaler integrated circuit in order to reduce cost and size by integrating other components within the display controller.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Pub 2022/0406241) in view of Jin et al (US Pub 2010/0141777) and Gough et al (US Pub 2014/0189408) and Kim et al (US Pub 2013/0155036).
With respect to claim 8, Li as modified by Jin don’t expressly disclose wherein the power sensing circuitry and the display controller circuitry are integrated into a laptop, and the display controller circuitry includes an embedded controller (BC) of the laptop, and wherein, to control the display panel to change to the different display mode, the EC is to output a mode control command to an additional processing unit of the laptop, the mode control command indicating a request to the additional processing unit to change the display panel to the different display mode;
In the same field of endeavor, Gough discloses an electronic apparatus wherein the power sensing circuitry and the display controller circuitry are integrated into a laptop, and the display controller circuitry includes an embedded controller (BC) of the laptop (par 0058; discloses apparatus may include a laptop; par 0018; discloses embedded controller 102 may relate to LCD video I/F 1025 of FIG. 9, SPI Master 1050 of FIG. 9, power management controller 1118 of FIG. 10, display controller 1112 of FIG. 10, communication interfaces 1120 of FIG. 10, and/or the like);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Li as modified by Jin to incorporate the teachings of Gough to form the device as a laptop allowing user to easily transport device as well as conserve battery power by changing the mode of the device;
Li as modified by Jin and Gough don’t expressly disclose wherein, to control the display panel to change to the different display mode, the EC is to output a mode control command to an additional processing unit of the laptop, the mode control command indicating a request to the additional processing unit to change the display panel to the different display mode;
In the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses an electronic device and control method (see abstract); Kim discloses wherein, to control the display panel to change to the different display mode, the EC is to output a mode control command to an additional processing unit of the laptop, the mode control command indicating a request to the additional processing unit to change the display panel to the different display mode (par 0052; discloses the CPU 110 may detect a mode change command and transmit a control signal corresponding to a detection result to the display driver 200 through the display controller 120A; par 0053; discloses the mode change command may be a command for changing from a first mode to a second mode);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Li as modified by Jin and Gough to incorporate the teachings of Kim to use command code transmitted from display controller to display driver to switch the mode of the display such that images based on the correct mode is displayed on the screen of the device.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Pub 2022/0406241) in view of Jin et al (US Pub 2010/0141777), Gough et al (US Pub 2014/0189408) and LIU et al (US Pub 2019/0265772).
With respect to claim 9, Li as modified by Jin don’t expressly disclose wherein the power sensing circuitry and the display controller circuitry are integrated into a laptop, and the display controller circuitry includes a processing unit executing an operating system;
In the same field of endeavor, Gough discloses an electronic apparatus wherein the power sensing circuitry and the display controller circuitry are integrated into a laptop (par 0058; discloses apparatus may include a laptop; par 0018; discloses embedded controller 102 may relate to LCD video I/F 1025 of FIG. 9, SPI Master 1050 of FIG. 9, power management controller 1118 of FIG. 10, display controller 1112 of FIG. 10, communication interfaces 1120 of FIG. 10, and/or the like); and the display controller circuitry includes a processing unit executing an operating system (par 0036; discloses the apparatus may comprise means, including, for example processor 1104 of FIG. 10, for performing the operations of FIG. 4. In an example embodiment, an apparatus, for example system 1100 of FIG. 10, is transformed by having memory, for example system memory 1108 of FIG. 10, comprising computer code configured to, working with a processor, for example processor 1104 of FIG. 10);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Li as modified by Jin to incorporate the teachings of Gough to form the device as a laptop allowing user to easily transport device as well as conserve battery power by changing the mode of the device;
Li as modified by Jin and Gough don’t expressly disclose wherein, to obtain the power consumed by the display panel at points of time during the time period, the processing unit is to receive the set of power values via an input/output (I/0) access driver from one selected from the group consisting of an embedded controller (EC) of the laptop and a memory of the device;
In the same field of endeavor, LIU discloses computer system and power consumption control method (see abstract); LIU discloses wherein, to obtain the power consumed by the display panel at points of time during the time period, the processing unit is to receive the set of power values via an input/output (I/0) access driver from one selected from the group consisting of an embedded controller (EC) of the laptop and a memory of the device (par 0037; discloses The central processing unit 21 can control an operation system program that is loaded to the host 10 (e.g., loaded into the memory of the host 10); par 0045; discloses the peripheral power consumption information is provided to the embedded controller 12 through the corresponding pin when the corresponding peripheral device is electrically connected to the embedded controller 12. Particularly, the designated information has been recorded in each peripheral device (e.g., written into a specified memory) during the assembling procedure. After the peripheral device is electrically connected with the embedded controller 12 through the confirmed pin, the peripheral power consumption information is provided to the embedded controller 12);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Li as modified by Jin and Gough to incorporate the teachings of LIU to detect power consumption of display panel based on the pin connected to the embedded controller allowing embedded controller to track power consumption of plurality of components within the computer device based on the connection with the embedded controller via corresponding pin.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Pub 2022/0406241) in view of Jin et al (US Pub 2010/0141777), Hu et al (US Pat 11,532,271) and Li (US Pub 2014/0047256) referred to as Li256.
With respect to claim 12, Li as modified by Jin discloses wherein the controller is to: control, when the controller determines that the power consumption is above an upper threshold, the display panel to change to a different display mode (LI; par 0082; discloses When the real-time current is greater than a first threshold current, the drive control module 200 drives the LED light board 110 to display in the low-grayscale cooling display mode, which can reduce an output power of the LED light board 110 and the real-time current flowing through the LED to keep the real-time current within a threshold current range);
Li as modified by Jin don’t expressly disclose the controller determine the standard deviation of power consumption;
In the same field of endeavor, Hu discloses system and method for profiling power usage of displays (see abstract); Hu discloses determining the standard deviation of power consumption;(col 4; lines 9-21; discloses In one implementation, for each of the static colored images, we generated 5 measurements, out of which we chose 3 that had the least standard deviation and took the average. First, we measured the CPU idle power as the power draw when the screen is off and the app is running using a wakelock (a mechanism that ensures the device remains on). Second, we measure the OLED dark screen power by displaying a dark screen with all the pixel values set to zero and then subtract the CPU idle power (from Step 1) from the measured phone power in order to determine the constant C of equation (1). Finally, to measure the power draw by all the colored pixels);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Li as modified by Jin to incorporate the teachings of Hu to determine the power usage of displays using the standard deviation of the measurements such that power consumption of the display panel accurately calculated;
Li as modified by Jin and Hu don’t expressly disclose the different display mode is a dynamic viewing mode;
In the same field of endeavor, Li256 discloses system and method of operating a display device (see abstract); Li256 discloses the different display mode is a dynamic viewing mode (par 0029; discloses Based on the terminal device's operating mode, obtaining the load occupancy parameter corresponding to the operating mode in accordance with a set correspondence between operating modes and load occupancy parameters; par 0031; discloses the operating mode in this embodiment can refer to the state of the terminal device is in, such as a game mode, reading mode, sleep mode, etc. Different operating modes can correspond to different load occupancy parameters or the same load occupancy parameter);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Li as modified by Jin and Hu to incorporate the teachings of Li256 to operate the display device in dynamic viewing mode allowing user to view gaming content on the display device.
Conclusion
/SUJIT SHAH/ Examiner, Art Unit 2624