DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The claim set is objected to because of the following informalities: inconsistency in terminology. Throughout the claim set, the foldable interconnected attachment mechanism is referred to in different ways such as the foldable interconnected attachment mechanism, said interconnected attachment mechanism, the attachment mechanism, etc. Consistency is required and appropriate correction is required.
Claim 33 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites the following, which is grammatically awkward and appears to be incorrect – “comprises a valve (27) configured to release fluid from valve said cushion (50).” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 34 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim ends with “;.”. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the drawstring must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). At least two figures purport to show the drawstring 52, but element 52 does not appear to be a drawstring as depicted. Either the specification is incorrect or the drawings are incorrect. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 30-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 30 recites the limitation “secure said cushion in an open state.” It is unclear what is meant by a cushion in an open state. The scope of the limitation is not explained or defined by the claim, the specification, or the drawings. It is not a term of art. The scope is therefore unclear and the recitation renders the claim indefinite.
The term “comfortable posture and comfort during rest” in claim 32 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 36 has indefinite scope as the scope is unable to be determined. The claim appears to only require and limit a portion of claim 35, resulting in a lack of clarity and indefiniteness. The claim fails to account for claim 35 presenting numerous options, but requiring only one of them. It is unclear what the scope of claim 36 may be when, for example, claim 35 only requires something other than the element required in claim 36 (i.e., in this instance, the section cup). Given the serious indefiniteness and lack of clarity, art is unable to be applied to the claim at this time.
Claim 39 suffers from the same issue(s) as claim 36; see above. Given the serious indefiniteness and lack of clarity, art is only applied as best understood below at this time.
Claim 40 suffers from the same issue(s) as claim 36; see above. Given the serious indefiniteness and lack of clarity, art is unable to be applied to the claim at this time.
Claim 41 suffers from the same issue(s) as claim 36; see above. Given the serious indefiniteness and lack of clarity, art is unable to be applied to the claim at this time.
Claim 46 recites the limitation "said support mechanism.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 46 recites the limitation "said bracket.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 49 has indefinite scope as the scope is unable to be determined. The claim appears to only require and limit a portion of claim 48, resulting in a lack of clarity and indefiniteness. The claim fails to account for claim 48 presenting three options – paragraph 1, paragraph 2, or both. It is unclear what the scope of claim 49 may be when, for example, claim 48 only requires the limitations beginning with “a foldable shelf” and none of the limitations in the first part of claim 48 or in claim 49 itself are required. Given the serious indefiniteness and lack of clarity, art is unable to be applied to claim 49 at this time.
Claims 36, 39, 40, 41, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 36 fails to include all of the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 35 only requires one of the recited paragraphs – see the “or” language toward the end of the claim. Claim 36 only addresses and incorporate a portion of the claim from which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Due to the above, art is unable to be applied to claim 36 at this time.
Claims 39, 40, and 41 all suffer from the same issues as claim 36. See above. Due to the above, art is unable to be applied to the claims at this time.
Claim 49 fails specifically fails to include all of the limitations of claim 48. Note that it only addresses the neck surrounding parts etc., but that claim 48 does not require those. Claim 48 presents three options – the first paragraph of limitations, the second paragraph of limitations, or both paragraphs of limitations. Claim 49 only addresses and incorporates paragraph 1 of the limitations from claim 48. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Due to the above, art is unable to be applied to claim 49 at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 30-32, 34-35, 37-39, 42, 44, 46, and 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Foch (US 20130254999 A1).
Re Claim 30
Foch discloses:
A travel pillow (see all figures) comprising:
a portable cushion (100 or 102) configured to support a user's head in a resting position (it is a pillow; see also, title, abstract, numerous of the figures including for example fig. 10);
a foldable attachment mechanism (202) interconnected with said cushion and configured to attach a smooth surface of a supporting object (see all figs.; it is noted that most of the structure is common between the figures and the clip style varies between some of the embodiments and that attaching to a smooth surface of a supporting object is readily disclosed throughout multiple of the figures); and
a storage compartment (103 and/or 104) interconnected with said cushion (fig. 1) and configured to store said foldable mechanism when not in use;
wherein the foldable interconnected attachment mechanism is connected to the cushion at a connection point and is angularly displaceable relative to the cushion around the connection point, thereby allowing the user to position said travel pillow at any preferred angle (see fig. 13, for example; it is noted that the elements are able to be placed relative to each other at any preferred angle); and,
further wherein said foldable interconnected attachment mechanism and said storage compartment, secure said cushion in an open state and provide the user with the ability to adjust said travel pillow to a preferred position, ensuring a comfortable posture and restful experience during travel (see fig. 13; see above; see abstract).
Re Claim 31
Foch discloses:
wherein said cushion is configured to provide support and adjustment as needed by the user, when said interconnected attachment mechanism is in an open state (it is plainly configured to do so; it is a pillow with adjustable and portable characteristics; see mapping above).
Re Claim 32
Foch discloses:
wherein said cushion, and said foldable interconnected attachment mechanism allow the user to position their pillow at any personal preferred angle, ensuring comfortable posture and comfort during rest (it is plainly allowed / is not prevented; it is a pillow with adjustable and portable characteristics; see mapping above).
Re Claim 34
Foch discloses:
wherein said interconnected attachment mechanism is selected from the group consisting of a pressure seal, a vacuum mat, a telescopic column, a telescopic rod, a telescopic arm, a pivot joint (see fig. 13), and any combination thereof;.
Re Claim 35
Foch discloses:
wherein said interconnected attachment mechanism comprises
a support mechanism proximal to said cushion configured to attach said cushion to the attachment mechanism (see fig. 13, e.g. at 1303);
a support mechanism distal to said cushion configured to attach said attachment mechanism to a smooth surface of a supporting object (see fig. 13, 801);
a securing mechanism configured to allow easy adjustment and lack of retraction at a chosen position selected from the group consisting of wing bolts, push-button, lever locks, rotating locks, zipper locks, detent mechanisms, manual twist locks, electronic or digital locks and any combination thereof;
a vacuum suction cup;
a joint on the proximal end to which said cushion is attached configured to allow the angle of the cushion to be adjusted relatively to the rod (fig. 13);
a joint on the distal end of said cushion configured to allow adjusting an angle of the rod relative to the supporting object (fig. 13); or
a pump mechanism.
Re Claim 37
Foch discloses:
wherein said supporting object with a smooth surface is selected from the group consisting of a vehicle's window, a wall, a table, a chair or any other flat surface (e.g. 801 and/or 201), and any combination thereof.
Re Claim 38
Foch discloses:
wherein said interconnected attachment mechanism enables 360° rotation about an axis of the joint (see fig. 13; it is plainly enabled / is not prevented and the apparatus can be rotated about the axis in a 360 degree manner).
Re Claim 39
Foch discloses:
wherein the said joint on said proximal end is a pivot joint (see fig. 13 and note the foldable nature and arrangement).
Re Claim 42
Foch discloses:
wherein said storage compartment at the rear part of said cushion comprises at least one recess (see fig. 13 at 103 and/or 104) configured to store said folded interconnected attachment mechanism of said pillow when it is not in use and to secure said cushion in said open state (see fig. 13 and note that the arm is to be folded and stored within the cavity etc. as claimed).
Re Claim 44
Foch discloses:
wherein said pillow comprises a bracket (1303 and/or 105) at the back of the cushion (fig. 13) configured to secure the pillow (fig. 13).
Re Claim 46
Foch discloses:
wherein said support mechanism (1303) proximal to said cushion is interconnected to said storage compartment (via contact and/or adjacency), or to said bracket (105; see fig. 13).
Re Claim 48
Foch discloses:
wherein said cushion comprises three cushion parts, a back part of said cushion connected to said interconnected attachment mechanism, and two neck surrounding parts, wherein the neck surrounding parts are detachably connected to the back part allowing the user to use the travel pillow when no supporting object with a smooth surface is available;
a foldable shelf on the front side of said cushion, configured to accommodate a cellular phone or tablet when unfolded (see 105 in fig 13; alternatively, see also 105 in more detail presented in any one or more of figs. 18-21);
or both.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foch (US 20130254999 A1).
Re Claim 47
Foch discloses all claim limitations, see above, but does not explicitly disclose with regard to the figure 13 embodiment the following and which is not commonly shown structure in the embodiments throughout:
further comprising a case detachably attached to the travel pillow and configured to store said travel pillow.
Foch discloses a pillow casing which covers said pillow body exteriorly and would therefore be detachably attached to the travel pillow and configured to store said travel pillow as claimed and as is common and known in the art ([0061]). It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the Foch embodiment as described above to include the limitations at issue from above for the purpose of covering / storing said travel pillow, e.g. for protection and/or transport.
Claim(s) 33, 43, and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foch (US 20130254999 A1) in view of Official Notice.
Re Claim 33
Foch discloses all claim limitations, see above, except:
wherein at least one of the following is true:
said cushion is inflatable;
said cushion comprises a valve configured to release fluid from valve said cushion; and
said cushion comprises at least one valve configured to allow inflating and deflating of the cushion.
Examiner hereby takes official notice that all of the above are old and well known in the art. Inflatable cushions, cushions with a valve configured to release fluid from the valve of said cushion, and cushions which comprise at least one valve configured to allow inflating and deflating of the cushion are each common within the art for the purpose of facilitating storage of the apparatus, for the purpose of adjusting pressure / firmness of the cushion, and/or for the purpose of suiting a user’s comfort needs. It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Foch to have any one or more of the above, including all of the above, for the purpose(s) as articulated above.
Re Claim 43
Foch discloses all claim limitations, see above, except:
wherein said storage compartment comprises at least one drawstring configured to secure the stored interconnected attachment mechanism in a closed state.
Examiner hereby takes official notice that securing and storing elements, including in a closed state, via a drawstring is old and well known in the art for the purpose of preventing inadvertent or undesirable shift of the elements. It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Foch so as to have the limitations above for the purpose(s) as articulated above.
Re Claim 45
Foch discloses all claim limitations, see above, except:
wherein said bracket comprises a drawstring to secure and to store said interconnected attachment mechanism.
Examiner hereby takes official notice that securing and storing elements, including in a closed state, via a drawstring is old and well known in the art for the purpose of preventing inadvertent or undesirable shift of the elements. It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Foch so as to have the limitations above for the purpose(s) as articulated above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Other relevant cushions / pillows including portable cushions / pillows are provided. Various references provided include supporting arms. Particular attention is drawn to 20180084919 which features a supporting arm, albeit not pivotable, but with an inflatable mechanism and a telescoping connection. See also 9867486 which is highly pertinent to at least claim 30; see fig. 5 and fig 6 in particular.
/DAVID E. SOSNOWSKI/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3673
/David E Sosnowski/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673