DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the claims filed 11/14/2025.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/14/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites the limitation "blockage port" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites the limitation "the recovery port" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCaffrey et al. in US Patent Application 2009/0016871 (hereinafter “McCaffrey”).
Regarding Claim 1, McCaffrey discloses a system (systems and methods involving variable vanes; title) comprising: a first blade (first vane 501; FIG. 5; paragraph [0026]) and a second blade (second vane 503; FIG. 5; paragraph [0026]), each of the first blade and the second blade comprising an upper surface (top surfaces of each vane as shown in FIG. 5), a lower surface spaced apart from the upper surface (bottom surfaces of each vane as shown in FIG. 5), a leading edge (left side as shown in FIG. 5), and a trailing edge (right side as shown in FIG. 5), wherein the first blade and the second blade are spaced apart to define a throat area through which a fluid can flow in a direction from the leading edge to the trailing edge (flow through throat area shown in FIG. 5 by arrow depicting flow path 502); a first active flow control port disposed on the upper surface of the first blade (ports 534 shown in FIG. 5; paragraph [0028]); and a second active flow control port disposed on the upper surface of the first blade closer to the trailing edge than the first active flow control port (ports 509 shown in FIG. 5; paragraph [0026]), wherein each of the first and second active flow control ports is configured to inject a control fluid into the throat area to vary at least one of (i) a cross-sectional area of the fluid flowing through the throat area (boundary layers 536 and 525 shown in FIG. 5 and described in paragraph [0029]) and (ii) an exit angle of the fluid as it leaves the throat area adjacent to the trailing edge.
Regarding Claim 2, McCaffrey discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first active flow control port is a blockage port configured to inject the control fluid into the throat area to reduce the cross-sectional area of the fluid flowing through the throat area (shown as boundary layer 536 in FIG. 5 and described in paragraph [0029]).
Regarding Claim 3, McCaffrey discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the second active control port is a recovery port placed in close proximity to the blockage port (ports 534 and 522 shown in FIG. 5 in close proximity), the recovery port being closer to the trailing edge of the first blade than the blockage port (ports 522 shown closer to trailing edge than ports 534 in FIG. 5), wherein each of the blockage port and the recovery port is configured to inject the control fluid into the throat arca to vary the cross-sectional area of the fluid flowing through the throat area (boundary layers 536 and 525 shown in FIG. 5 and described in paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 4, McCaffrey discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the control fluid from the blockage port separates the fluid from the first blade (flow is separated by boundary layer 513; Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, McCaffrey discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the control fluid from the recovery port attaches the fluid back to the first blade (as claim 5 sets forth no particular structure but rather recites some resulting environmental condition, and McCaffrey discloses the same structure required of the claim, McCaffrey anticipates the claim).
Regarding claim 6, McCaffrey discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the upper surface of the first blade is a suction surface of the first blade, the lower surface of the second blade is a pressure surface, and the throat area is defined by the pressure surface of the second blade and the suction surface of the first blade (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 7, McCaffrey discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the system is a turbine system and the first blade and the second blade are turbine blades (abstract).
Regarding claim 8, McCaffrey discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the second active flow control port is a vortex-generating jet (the port provides a jet of air that is capable of forming a vortex in the working fluid flow).
Regarding claim 9, the device of McCaffrey employs a control system (paragraph [0020]) and is capable of oscillating the control fluid exiting the second active flow control port with a first frequency in a plane substantially parallel to the upper surface of the first blade (opening and closing supply valves at a frequency).
Regarding claim 10, McCaffrey discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a third active flow control port disposed on the lower surface of the second blade opposite of the first and second active flow control ports (Fig. 5; pressure side of the airfoil).
Regarding claim 11, McCaffrey discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the exit angle of the fluid as it leaves the throat area is altered by greater than 1 degree when the control fluid is dispensed from the third active flow control port (McCaffrey is capable of producing this condition based upon supply pressure and working fluid flow and thus anticipates the claim).
Regarding claim 12, McCaffrey discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a control fluid source in fluid communication with the first and second active flow control ports (paragraph [0020]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 13, McCaffrey discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first active flow control port is a plurality of first active flow control ports arranged on the upper surface of the first blade in a transverse direction along the width of the first blade that is perpendicular to the direction of the fluid flowing through the throat area (see multiple ports 534 in Fig. 5 that anticipate this language).
Regarding claim 14, McCaffrey discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the second active flow control port is a plurality of second active flow control ports arranged on the upper surface of the first blade in the transverse direction (see multiple ports 509 in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 15, McCaffrey discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the second active flow control port is placed on the upper surface of the first blade directly opposite the trailing edge of the second blade (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 16, as McCaffrey is capable of achieving a blocked flow fraction of the first and second active flow control ports greater than 10%, McCaffrey anticipates claim 16.
Regarding Claim 17, McCaffrey discloses a system (systems and methods involving variable vanes; title) comprising: a plurality of turbine blades arranged adjacent to each other in a device (first vane 501 and second vane 503; FIG. 5; paragraph [0026]), the plurality of turbine blades including a first blade and a second blade each comprising an upper surface (top surfaces of each vane as shown in FIG. 5), a lower surface spaced apart from the upper surface (bottom surfaces of each vane as shown in FIG. 5), a leading edge (left side as shown in FIG. 5), and a trailing edge (right side as shown in FIG. 5), wherein the first blade and the second blade are spaced apart to define a throat arca through which a fluid can flow in a direction from the leading edge to the trailing edge (flow through throat area shown in FIG. 5 by arrow depicting flow path 502); a first active flow control port disposed on the upper surface of the first blade (ports 534 shown in FIG. 5; paragraph [0028]); a first injector plenum partially defined by the first blade and in fluid communication with the first active flow control port (film-cooling chamber 532; FIG. 5; paragraph [0028]); a second active flow control port disposed on the upper surface of the first blade closer to the trailing edge than the first active flow control port (ports 509 shown in FIG. 5; paragraph [0026]); and a second injector plenum partially defined by the first blade and in fluid communication with the second active flow control port (suction side chamber 510; FIG. 5; paragraph [0028]), the second injector plenum being separate from the first injector plenum (film-cooling chamber 532 and suction side chamber 510 shown separate in FIG. 5), wherein each of the first and second active flow control ports is configured to inject a control fluid into the throat area to vary at least one of (i) a cross-sectional area of the fluid flowing through the throat arca (e.g., vary the nozzle guide vane throat arca) (boundary layers 536 and 525 shown in FIG. 5 and described in paragraph [0029]) and (ii) an exit angle of the fluid as it leaves the throat area adjacent to the trailing edge.
Regarding claim 18, McCaffrey discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the first active flow control port is a plurality of first active flow control ports arranged on the upper surface of the first blade in a transverse direction along the width of the first blade that is perpendicular to the direction of the fluid flowing through the throat area (see multiple ports 534 in Fig. 5 that anticipate this language).
Regarding Claim 19, McCaffrey as applied against claim 17 comprises a fluid source in fluid communication with one or more of the first injector plenum and the second injector plenum (Paragraphs [0026] and [0029] describe film-cooling chamber 532 and suction side chamber 510 shown separate in FIG. 5 receiving pressurized air.
Regarding claim 20, operation of the device of McCaffrey as applied above against claims 1-19 meets all of the limitations set forth in the method of claim 20. The rejection will not be repeated verbatim so as to not unnecessarily belabor the record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Relevant Prior Art:
US8197209 discloses a gas turbine engine stator vane assembly with injection ports to vary effective throat cross-sectional size between adjacent vanes.
/ELDON T BROCKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799