Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2,6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kumakiri (JP 2002221579 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kumakiri discloses a vehicle seat(fig 2) comprising: a pad member(15); a sheet-shaped member(18,22) covering a surface of the pad member; a back member(21) provided on a back surface side(fig 5) of the sheet-shaped member; and a sensor(14a) including a detecting unit(31) configured to acquire information related to a seated person(para 0005), wherein at least a portion of the detecting unit is arranged between the sheet-shaped member and the back member(fig 3,5).
Regarding claim 2, Kumakiri discloses wherein the sheet-shaped member and the back member constitute a skin material(para 0011,0018,0019) and the back member includes an adhered portion adhered to the sheet-shaped member(para 0012) and a non-adhered portion that cooperates with the sheet-shaped member to define an accommodating space for accommodating the detecting unit(para 0012, wadding 24 is selectively adhered to the rear surface of the trim cover).
Regarding claim 6, Kumakiri discloses wherein the detecting unit is provided with an electrode(34a-g) for detecting the seated person based on a change in capacitance (para 0013,0014,0028).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumakiri (JP 2002221579 A) in view of Sakano (JP 2005095342 A).
Regarding claim 5, Kumakiri discloses a back member comprising a wadding (para 0012) and does not specify the material of the trim cover. Sakano discloses a similar apparatus wherein the back member is formed with less flexible materials such as leather (para 0026). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumaki such that the back member is more flexible than the sheet member to allow the device to maintain stability while improving user comfort.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumakiri (JP 2002221579 A) in view of Ozawa (JP 2014231254 A)
Regarding claim 7, Kumakiri discloses wherein the detecting unit is provided with an electrode (34 a-g) that is electrostatically coupled to a body of the seated person to detect an electrical potential of a body. Kumakiri does not disclose the detecting unit detects heart rate or a heartbeat interval. However, Ozawa discloses a similar apparatus wherein the detecting unit surface(detecting unit 40, surface 1) of the seated person so as to acquire at least one of heart rate, heartbeat interval, and an electrocardiogram of the seated person(para 0013). ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumakiri such that the seat comprises additional sensors to detect heart rate to ensure passenger safety during traverse.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumakiri (JP 2002221579 A)
Regarding claim 8, Kumakiri discloses wherein the sensor includes a harness (32) connected to the detecting unit. Kumakiri does not disclose the pad member is provided with a through hole through which the harness passes. However, the harness of Kumakiri extends from the sensor between the padding to the connector located outside(fig 2,6 para 0013). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pad member of Kumakiri to comprise a through hole to provide a predispositioned outlet for the harness connection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3,4, objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the closes prior art on record is Kumakiri (JP 2002221579 A). However, Kumakiri does not show disclose or render obvious the combination of claim 2 wherein the back member is formed in a sheet shape extending along the surface of the pad member and provided with a slit extending along the non-adhered portion.
Regarding claim 4, the closes prior art on record is Kumakiri (JP 2002221579 A). However, Kumakiri does not show disclose or render obvious the combination of claim 2 wherein the back member is provided with a slit connected to the accommodating space.
Claims 9-11 are allowed
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 9, the closes prior art on record is Kumakiri (JP 2002221579 A). However Kumakiri does not show disclose or render obvious the combination of a manufacturing method of a vehicle seat, the vehicle seat comprising: a pad member; a sheet-shaped member covering a surface of the pad member; a back member provided on a back surface side of the sheet-shaped member, and a sensor including a detecting unit configured to acquire information related to a seated person, and the method including steps of: peeling at least a portion of the back member from the sheet-shaped member; and sandwiching the detecting unit between the sheet-shaped member and the back member peeled from the sheet-shaped member.
Conclusion
SHAMS. DHANANI
Examiner
Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614