DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/18/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Figures 1A-1F should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because reference character “210” in Figure 2 does not comprise a lead line. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 6, line 3 recites “the first speed’ which lacks antecedent basis in the claim and therefore renders the claim indefinite. It is noted that the “first speed” is defined in Claim 5 but Claim 6 is dependent on Claim 4. Claim 7 is rendered indefinite for the same reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Termanas (US PGPUB 2020/0139657), in view of Meersoek (US PGPUB 2012/0098189), and in further view of Pasic (US Patent 4,196,663).
Regarding Claim 1, Termanas discloses a strapping machine (10; Figure 1) comprising:
a frame (100);
a platen (300) supported by the frame (100; Para. 0018);
a load supporter (200) below the platen (300), wherein a strapping area is defined between the load supporter (200) and the platen (300; Para. 0021);
a platen actuator (350) operably connected to the platen (300) to move the platen (300) toward and away from the load supporter (200; Para. 0021-0022);
a strap chute (400) circumscribing the strapping area (Para. 0023);
a strapping head (500; Figure 2); and
a controller (800) configured to:
control the strapping head (500) to begin feeding strap from a strap supply (600) into the strap chute (400; Para. 0036);
after the load has reached the strapping area (between 300, 200), control the platen actuator (350) to move the platen (300) toward the load supporter (200) and the load (Para. 0034) and controlling the strapping head (500) to retract the strap such that at least part of the strap remains in the strap chute (400; Paras. 0023-0024, 0036; note Para. 0028 outlines control of both the top platen actuator and the strapping head based on feedback); and
after the platen (300) contacts the load (indicated by compression force detected per Para. 0035 at step “1004” in Figure 3), control the platen actuator (350) to stop moving the platen (300; “1006”; Figure 3; Para. 0036) and control the strapping head (500) to form a tensioned loop of strap around the load (Para. 0036).
However, Termanas fails to explicitly disclose the controller being configured to control the strapping head to feed a strap from the strap supply into the strap chute before a load is moved into the strapping area and control the strapping head retract the strap while the platen actuator is controlled to move the platen toward the load and the load supporter.
First, attention is Meersoek which teaches a strapping apparatus (100; Figure 2) which includes a strap guide (110) and a strap feeder (160) wherein the strap feeder (160) is controlled to feed strap material (M) before, during or after a stack (S) is inserted into a stack receipt zone (101) but feeding the strap material (M) before the stack is inserted into the receipt zone is preferred for the fastest strapping procedure (Para. 0131).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Termanas such that the controller controls the strapping head to feed the strap prior to a load moving into the strapping area as taught by Meersoak. By modifying Termanas in this manner, the time taken to strap the load can be reduced as taught by Meersoak (Paras. 0131, 0150).
Second, attention can be readily brought to the teachings of Pasic which includes another strapping machine (30; Figure 1) which includes a platen (16) for moving towards and compressing a load (S) while a strap is retracted/tensioned (Col 2, lines 5-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have further modified Termanas to be controllable to retract and tension the strap as the platen is moved towards the load as taught by Pasic. By modifying Termanas in this manner, the load can be readily further compressed while the straps are being tensioned thereby further decreasing the time it takes to strap the load and further ensure desired compression is achieved.
Lastly, it is noted that in view of the modification based on Meersoak such that the controller of Termanas feed the strap into the strap chute prior to the load being moved into the strapping area, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have readily controlled the strapping head of Termanas to retract the strap as the platen is lowered to avoid gathering/jamming of excess strap material within the strap chute.
Regarding Claim 2, Termanas, as modified, discloses the controller (800) is further configured to, before the load reaches the strapping area, control the strapping head (500) to finish feeding the strap from the strap supply (600) into the strap chute (400; see modification in view of Meersoak which clearly teaches such finished feeding/ formation).
Regarding Claim 8, Termanas discloses method of strapping a load, the method comprising:
begin feeding strap from a strap supply (600) into a strap chute (400) of the strapping machine (10; Para. 0036);
after the load has reached the strapping area (between 200 and 300), moving a platen (300) toward the load and retracting the strap such that at least part of the strap remains in the strap chute (400); and
after the platen (300) contacts the load, stopping the platen and forming a tensioned loop of strap around the load.
However, Termanas fails to explicitly disclose feeding the strap from the strap supply into the strap chute before a load is moved into the strapping area and retracting the strap while the platen is moved toward the load.
First, attention is Meersoek which teaches a strapping apparatus (100; Figure 2) and method of operation which includes a strap guide (110) and a strap feeder (160) wherein the strap feeder (160) feeds strap material (M) before, during or after a stack (S) is inserted into a stack receipt zone (101) but feeding the strap material (M) before the stack is inserted into the receipt zone is preferred for the fastest strapping procedure (Para. 0131).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Termanas such that the strap is fed prior to a load moving into the strapping area as taught by Meersoak. By modifying Termanas in this manner, the time taken to strap the load can be reduced as taught by Meersoak (Paras. 0131, 0150).
Second, attention can be readily brought to the teachings of Pasic which includes another strapping machine (30; Figure 1) and method of operation which includes a platen (16) which moves towards and compresses a load (S) while a strap is retracted/tensioned (Col 2, lines 5-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have further modified Termanas to retract and tension the strap as the platen is moved towards the load as taught by Pasic. By modifying Termanas in this manner, the load can be readily further compressed while the straps are being tensioned thereby further decreasing the time it takes to strap the load and further ensure desired compression is achieved.
Lastly, it is noted that in view of the modification based on Meersoak such that Termanas feeds the strap into the strap chute prior to the load being moved into the strapping area, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have readily had the strapping head of Termanas retract the strap as the platen is lowered to avoid gathering/jamming of excess strap material within the strap chute.
Regarding Claim 9, Termanas, as modified, discloses finishing feeding the strap from the strap supply (600) into the strap chute (400) before the load reaches the strapping area. (400; see modification in view of Meersoak which clearly teaches such finished feeding/ formation).
Regarding Claim 10, Termanas, as modified, discloses feeding the strap from the strap supply (600) into the strap chute (400) via a strap-feeding assembly (510) and holding a leading end of the strap after feeding is complete via a strap-sealing assembly (520; Para. 0024, 0036).
Regarding Claim 11, Termanas, as modified, discloses forming the tensioned loop of strap around the load comprises:
retracting the strap such that it exits the strap chute (400) and engages the load (Para. 0036);
tensioning the strap to a designated tension (Para. 0036);
attaching two portions of the strap to one another (via 520; Para. 0036); and
cutting the strap from the strap supply (from 600 via 520; Para. 0036).
Regarding Claim 12, Termanas, as modified, discloses retracting the strap such that at least part of the strap remains in the strap chute (400) comprises retracting the strap at a first speed (Para.0036 note that the strap must be retracted with at least one speed).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Termanas (US PGPUB 2020/0139657), in view of Meersoek (US PGPUB 2012/0098189) and Pasic (US Patent 4,196,663), as applied to Claim 2, and in further view Hohn (US PGPUB 2014/0083310).
Regarding Claims 3 and 4, Termanas, as modified, discloses the strapping head includes a strap-feeding assembly (510), and a strap-sealing assembly (520), wherein the controller (800) is further configured to control the strap-feeding assembly (510) to feed the strap from the strap supply (600) into the strap chute (400) and to control the strap-sealing assembly (520) to hold a leading end of the strap after feeding is complete (Para. 0024, 0036),
wherein the controller (800) is further configured to control the strapping head to form the tensioned loop of strap around the load by:
controlling the strap-feeding assembly (510) to retract the strap such that it exits the strap chute (400) and engages the load (Para. 0036);
controlling the strap-sealing assembly (520) to attach two portions of the strap to one another and to cut the strap from the strap supply (600; Para. 0024, 0036).
Further, although Termanas discloses the strap feeding assembly (510) is controlled to apply tension to the strap to a desired tension (Para. 0024, 0036), Termanas does not disclose a separate strap-tensioning assembly within the strapping head.
Attention is brought to the teachings of Hohn which includes a strap feeding assembly (8; Figure 1) for feeding a strap (7) and a separate strap tensioning assembly (9) to apply tension to the strap to a desired tension (Para. 0028, 0033).
It can be implied that the strap-feeding assembly of Termanas comprises both structures for feeding and structures for tensioning the strap but regardless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have included a separate strap tensioning assembly in Termanas as taught by Hohn such that such assemblies can be independently controlled and actuated.
Regarding Claim 5, Termanas, as modified, discloses the controller (800) is further configured to control the strapping head (500) to retract the strap such that at least part of the strap remains in the strap chute (400) by controlling the strap-feeding assembly (510) to retract the strap at a first speed (Para. 0023-0024 note that the strap must be retracted at a speed).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Termanas (US PGPUB 2020/0139657), in view of Meersoek (US PGPUB 2012/0098189), Pasic (US Patent 4,196,663), and Hohn (US PGPUB 20141/0083310), as applied to Claim 4, and in further view Pearson (US PGPUB 2009/0108042).
Regarding Claims 6-7, Termanas, as modified, discloses several features of the claimed invention including the controller (800) is further configured to control the strap-feeding assembly (510) to retract the strap at a speed such that it exits the strap chute (400) and engages the load (Para. 0024, 0036), wherein the second speed is greater than the first speed.
Attention is brought to Pearson which teaches another strapping machine (2; Figure 1) which feeds a strap into a chute (5) and comprises a motor assembly (11) which comprises an adjustable speed drive for feeding and retracting the strap at different speeds (Para. 0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the feeding assembly of Termanas to be capable of and controlled to change speeds as taught by Pearson in order to increase the versatility and adaptability of the machine to apply straps at different speed as desired.
Note such a modification leads to a strap feeding assembly (510) of Termanas being capable of such first and second speeds as claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. see “Notice of References Cited”.
-Marstedt (US PGPUB 2022/0024622) discloses feeding a strap before the load arrives.
-Tanner (US PGPUB 2023/0391483) discloses adjustable retraction speeds.
-Morrison (US PGPUB 2008/0072539) discloses adjustable strap speeds.
-Ashkenazi (US PGPUB 2006/0168917) discloses feeding a strap prior to placement of the stack (Para. 0003).
Hataya (US Patent 6,899,505) discloses feeding a strap prior to placement of the load (Figures 4A-4F).
/JOSHUA G KOTIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3731 9/4/2026