DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (KR 20230081140 A) in view of Kim (KR 20210100400 A).
Regarding Claim 1:
Hwang discloses in Figures 1-3 a multi coupler connection device (100) for connecting a supply-side coupler (20) of a supply hose (21) with a storage unit (10, the chemical drum is the storage unit) storing chemicals with a storage-side coupler (Paragraph [0026], the injection port is the storage-side coupler that allows for chemical liquid to be loaded into the drum) of any one of the plurality of storage units (10), the device (100) comprising: an articulated robot (120) that moves and connects the supply-side coupler (20) with the storage-side coupler (Paragraphs [0026] and [0032], the articulated robot moves and connects the supply-side coupler to the storage-side coupler); a transfer unit (121) that moves the articulated robot (120) in a direction in which the plurality of storage units (10) are disposed (Paragraph [0034]); and a vision unit (223) that captures images to detect a position or type of the supply-side coupler and/or the storage-side coupler (Paragraphs [0032] and [0037], the vision sensor is captures images to align the coupler with the storage unit).
The device of Hwang does not disclose a supply hose brought into an interior of any one of a plurality of door units corresponding to each of a plurality of storage units each storing different chemicals with a storage-side coupler of any one of the plurality of storage units.
Kim teaches in Figures 2-13 an automatic connection apparatus for chemical transfer comprising: a supply hose (601) brought into an interior of a door unit (104) corresponding to a storage unit each storing chemical with a storage-side coupler (401) of the of storage units (Paragraph [0028] and [0046], the storage tank is the storage unit storing a chemical).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hwang to include a supply hose brought into an interior of a door unit corresponding to a storage unit each storing chemical with a storage-side coupler of the of storage units as taught by Kim with the motivation to block air transfer from inside the transfer housing to the storage housing to prevent contamination.
The recitation “an interior of any one of a plurality of door units corresponding to each of a plurality of storage units each storing different chemicals with a storage-side coupler of any one of the plurality of storage units” has not been given patentable weight because the recitation occurs in the preamble. A preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951). Additionally, see MPEP 2115 in regards to the preamble.
Regarding Claim 9:
Hwang discloses in Figures 1-3 a multi coupler connection device (100) for connecting a supply-side coupler (20) of a supply hose (21) with a storage unit (10, the chemical drum is the storage unit) storing chemicals with a storage-side coupler (Paragraph [0026], the injection port is the storage-side coupler that allows for chemical liquid to be loaded into the drum) of any one of the plurality of storage units (10), the device (100) comprising: an articulated robot (120) that moves and connects the supply-side coupler (20) with the storage-side coupler (Paragraphs [0026] and [0032], the articulated robot moves and connects the supply-side coupler to the storage-side coupler); a transfer unit (121) that moves the articulated robot (120) in a direction in which the plurality of storage units (10) are disposed (Paragraph [0034]); and a vision unit (223) to determine whether the supply-side coupler (20) should be connected to the storage-side coupler (Paragraphs [0037] and [0051], the vision sensor is used to determine if the two key codes match which would allow for the transfer of the chemical).
The device of Hwang does not disclose a supply hose brought into an interior of any one of a plurality of door units corresponding to each of a plurality of storage units each storing different chemicals with a storage-side coupler of any one of the plurality of storage units.
Kim teaches in Figures 2-13 an automatic connection apparatus for chemical transfer comprising: a supply hose (601) brought into an interior of a door unit (104) corresponding to a storage unit each storing chemical with a storage-side coupler (401) of the of storage units (Paragraph [0028] and [0046], the storage tank is the storage unit storing a chemical).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hwang to include a supply hose brought into an interior of a door unit corresponding to a storage unit each storing chemical with a storage-side coupler of the of storage units as taught by Kim with the motivation to block air transfer from inside the transfer housing to the storage housing to prevent contamination.
The recitation “an interior of any one of a plurality of door units corresponding to each of a plurality of storage units each storing different chemicals with a storage-side coupler of any one of the plurality of storage units” has not been given patentable weight because the recitation occurs in the preamble. A preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951). Additionally, see MPEP 2115 in regards to the preamble.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Kim in further view of Kim 2 (KR 20220113121 A).
Regarding Claim 2:
Hwang discloses in Figures 1-3 the articulated robot (120) comprises a gripper (221) and the vision unit (223) is disposed adjacent to the gripper (221).
The device of Hwang and Kim do not teach the articulated robot comprises a gripper that grips the supply-side coupler.
Kim 2 teaches in Figures 1-7 an automatic coupling system, comprising: the articulated robot (30) comprises a gripper (33) that grips the supply-side coupler (40).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hwang and Kim to include the articulated robot comprises a gripper that grips the supply-side coupler as taught by Kim 2 with the motivation to reduce the overall size of the system by reducing the number of parts required during fluid transfer.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Kim in further view of Littfin (US 20230373103 A1).
Regarding Claim 3:
Hwang discloses in Figures 1-3 the vision unit (223) captures images of a storage-side code attached to the storage- side coupler (Paragraph [0037]).
The device of Hwang and Kim do not teach the vision unit captures images of a storage-side code attached to the storage- side coupler to detect the position of the storage-side coupler.
Littfin teaches in Figures 6A-11 end of arm attachment for a robotic arm, comprising: the vision unit (257) captures images of a storage-side code attached to the storage- side coupler to detect the position of the storage-side coupler (Paragraph [0057], the vision unit captures images of markings to detect the position of the storage-side coupler).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hwang and Kim to include the vision unit captures images of a storage-side code attached to the storage- side coupler to detect the position of the storage-side coupler as taught by Littfin with the motivation to identify each port opening of the storage tank to prevent damaging the storage tank.
Regarding Claim 4:
Hwang discloses in Figures 1-3 the vision unit (223) captures images of a hole into which the chemical of the storage-side coupler flows to detect the position of the storage-side coupler (Paragraphs [0028] and [0032], the vision sensor is used to align the coupler with the storage unit in order to transfer the chemical).
The device of Hwang and Kim do not expressly teach the vision unit captures images of a hole into which the chemical of the storage-side coupler flows to detect the position of the storage-side coupler.
Littfin teaches in Figures 6A-11 end of arm attachment for a robotic arm, comprising: the vision unit (257) captures images of a hole to detect the position of the storage-side coupler (Paragraph [0057], the vision system detects each port opening (storage-side coupler) of the storage unit).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hwang and Kim to include the vision unit captures images of a hole to detect the position of the storage-side coupler as taught by Littfin with the motivation to identify each port opening of the storage tank to prevent damaging the storage tank.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Kim in further view of Vilnai (US 20150242855 A1).
Regarding Claim 5:
Hwang discloses in Figures 1-3 the vision unit (223) and a supply-side code attached to the supply-side coupler (Paragraph [0037], the supply-side coupler has a key code).
The device of Hwang and Kim do not teach the vision unit captures images of a supply-side code attached to the supply-side coupler to detect the position of the supply-side coupler.
Vilnai teaches in Figure 1 a fuel monitoring system, comprising: the vision unit (102) captures images of a supply-side code attached to the supply-side coupler to detect the position of the supply-side coupler (Paragraphs [0149] and [0167], an optical code is located on the nozzle (supply-side coupler) that is detected by the vision unit).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hwang and Kim to include the vision unit captures images of a supply-side code attached to the supply-side coupler to detect the position of the supply-side coupler as taught by Vilnai with the motivation to ensure the correct fluid is provided to the tank to prevent potential damage by the mixing of fluids.
Regarding Claim 6:
Hwang discloses in Figures 1-3 the vision unit (223) captures images of a storage-side code attached to the storage- side coupler (Paragraph [0037]).
The device of Hwang and Kim do not teach a supply-side code attached to the supply-side coupler to recognize the storage-side coupler to be connected to the supply-side coupler.
Vilnai teaches in Figure 1 fuel monitoring system, comprising: a supply-side code attached to the supply-side coupler (110) to recognize the storage-side coupler (112) to be connected to the supply-side coupler (Paragraphs [0149] and [0167], an optical code is located on the nozzle (supply-side coupler) that is detected by the vision unit and determines if the correct nozzle is used).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hwang and Kim to include a supply-side code attached to the supply-side coupler to recognize the storage-side coupler to be connected to the supply-side coupler as taught by Vilnai with the motivation to ensure the correct fluid is provided to the tank to prevent potential damage by the mixing of fluids.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Kim in further view of Koo (KR 20230086966 A) and Wang (CN 111452063 A).
Regarding Claim 7:
Hwang discloses in Figures 1-3 the transfer unit (121).
The device of Hwang and Kim do not teach the transfer unit comprises: a vehicle frame; a vehicle body coupled to an upper portion of the vehicle frame and supporting the articulated robot; and a pair of vehicle drive wheels coupled to the vehicle frame and generating driving force.
Koo teaches in Figures 1-18 a chemical supply system, comprising: the transfer unit (61) comprises: a vehicle frame (64, the autonomous driving device is the vehicle frame) and a vehicle body (63) coupled to an upper portion of the vehicle frame (64) and supporting the articulated robot (82).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hwang and Kim to include the transfer unit comprises: a vehicle frame and a vehicle body coupled to an upper portion of the vehicle frame and supporting the articulated robot as taught by Koo with the motivation to maneuver the robot between stations within the facility to reduce the number of robots needed overall.
The device of Hwang, Koo, and Kim do not teach a vehicle frame and a pair of vehicle drive wheels coupled to the vehicle frame and generating driving force.
Wang teaches in Figures 1-2 a room robot, comprising: the transfer unit (61) comprises: a vehicle frame (4, base is the vehicle frame) and a pair of vehicle drive wheels (103, the pressure rollers are the drive wheels) coupled to the vehicle frame (4) and generating driving force (Paragraphs [0051-0052], the pulley connected to the motor generates a driving force that causes the wheels to move the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hwang, Koo, and Kim to include a vehicle frame and a pair of vehicle drive wheels coupled to the vehicle frame and generating driving force as taught by Wang with the motivation to control the movement of the robot.
Regarding Claim 8:
Hwang discloses in Figures 1-3 the transfer unit (121) and the articulated robot (120) are coupled together.
The device of Hwang and Kim do not teach the articulated robot is coupled to the vehicle body at a midpoint of a line connecting rotation centers of the pair of vehicle drive wheels.
Koo teaches in Figures 1-18 the articulated robot (82) is coupled to the vehicle body (63).
The device of Hwang, Koo, and Kim do not expressly teach the articulated robot is coupled to the vehicle body at a midpoint of a line connecting rotation centers of the pair of vehicle drive wheels.
Wang teaches in Figures 1-2 the robot (5, 8, and 6, the first arm, second arm, and valve opening and closing device are the robot) is coupled to the vehicle frame (4) at a midpoint of a line connecting rotation centers (Figure 1, the robot is located at a midpoint line of a connecting rotation of centers) of the pair of vehicle drive wheels (103).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hwang, Koo, and Kim to include the robot is coupled to the vehicle frame at a midpoint of a line connecting rotation centers of the pair of vehicle drive wheels as taught by Wang with the motivation to have the robot located on the robot in a position that allows for less adjustment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Song (US 11835165 B2) teaches an automatic chemical supply apparatus comprising a supply-side coupler, a supply hose, a connection device, a storage unit, and a storage-side coupler.
/STEPHANIE A SHRIEVES/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/DAVID COLON-MORALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753