Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakai (US 20200213566).
Regarding claim 1 Sakai teaches a display control method (fig.3) to be executed by a first control device (fig.1, 1a) and a second control device (fig.1, 1b), the first control device controlling a first display device (fig. 1, 4a),
the second control device controlling a second display device (fig. 1, 4b), the display control method comprising:
in a case where a user makes a selection input for selecting a display mode in which an image is displayed in accordance with a time point (fig. 3,),
obtaining the time point by the first control device (fig. 3, see FIRST PREJECTOR);
transmitting, when the obtained time point is a predetermined time point, time-point information indicating the predetermined time point ([0058] In step S16, the control unit 10 of the first projector 1a determined as the master device reads out the schedule information stored in the SD card 2. The schedule information is information prescribing the timing of projecting the image 3, as described above, and includes information about at what hour and what minute on what day of what month the playlist starts being played back) or
identification information for identifying the image (fig. 1, image of a man) corresponding to the predetermined time point to the second control device (1b) by the first control device (fig. 4);
transmitting a switching instruction to switch to the display mode to the second control device by the first control device (fig. 3, when S15 is No);
controlling the first display device such that the first display device displays the image corresponding to the predetermined time point by the first control device (fig. 4);
saving, when the time-point information or the identification information from the first control device is received, the identification information by the second control device ([0005] [0008] [0054] [0058]); and
controlling, when the switching instruction from the first control device is received, the second display device on a basis of the saved identification
information such that the second display device displays the image corresponding to the predetermined time point (fig. 6) by the second control device (fig. 3, fig. 4, [0064]).
2. --- 3. (Cancelled).
Regarding claim 4 Sakai teaches wherein the second control device controls, when the information for specifying the image corresponding to the predetermined time point the instruction from the first control device has not been received after the second display device has been activated, the second display device such that the second display device displays the image that the second display device displays at a previous activation ([0052] [0070]).
Regarding claim 6 Sakai teaches wherein each of the first control device and the second control device stores the image corresponding to each of the time points for each of the time points ([0104] [0114] [0059] fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7 Sakai teaches wherein the first control device and the second control device each store the image that the first display device and the second display device display to a user at a previous activation and identification information on the user in association with each other, respectively ([0048] fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9 Sakai teaches a display control device comprising:
a first control device (fig.1, 1a) that controls a first display device (fig. 1, 4a); and
a second control device (fig.1, 1b) that controls a second display device (fig. 1, 4b), wherein the first control device:
in a case where a user makes a selection input for selecting a display mode in which an image is displayed in accordance with a time point, obtains the time point (fig. 3,);
transmits, when the obtained time point is a predetermined time point. on a basis of the saved identification information for identifying the image corresponding to the predetermined time point to the second control device ([0058] fig. 3-4):
transmits a switching instruction to switch to the display mode to the second control device (fig. 3, when S15 is No); and
controls the first display device such that the first display device displays the image corresponding to the predetermined time point, and the second control device (fig. 4):
saves, when the time-point information or the identification information from the first control device is received, the identification information ([0005] [0008] [0054] [0058]); and
controls, when the switching instruction from the first control device is received, the second display device on a basis of the saved identification information such that the second display device displays the image corresponding to the predetermined time point (fig. 3, fig. 4, [0064], fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10 the limitations are significantly similar to the limitations of claim 9 so rejected same way.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai (US 20200213566) in view of Yusa (US 20230111941).
Regarding claim 8 Sakai is silent on wherein the first control device:
is a device mounted in a vehicle; obtains the time point when an accessory power supply or ignition power supply of the vehicle is turned on; and
controls the first display device such that the first display device displays the image corresponding to the obtained time point.
However, Yusa teaches on wherein the first control device:
is a device mounted in a vehicle; obtains the time point when an accessory power supply or ignition power supply of the vehicle is turned on (fig.2, (fig.2, [0049] head-up display device 12 displays an on-screen display related to turn-by-turn information, points of interest (PoI) information, traffic information, disaster information, driving information i.e. ignition power supply of the vehicle is turned on); and
controls the first display device such that the first display device displays the image corresponding to the obtained time point ([0049] also see fig. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Sakai in light of Yusa so that it may include on wherein the first control device:
is a device mounted in a vehicle; obtains the time point when an accessory power supply or ignition power supply of the vehicle is turned on; and
controls the first display device such that the first display device displays the image corresponding to the obtained time point.
The motivation is to provide display control device is a device that controls four display devices provided in an automobile and includes a color display mode of each of the four on-screen displays generated to the set display mode, and display each of the plurality of on-screen displays that have been unified to the set display mode on a different one of the plurality of display devices so that a sense of unity of colors is achieved.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-WO2017047866
/TOWFIQ ELAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625