DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skidmore et al. (US 2008/0266842 A1, herein referred to as: Skidmore).
Regarding claim 1, Skidmore teaches or suggests a suspension unit for suspending a light-emitting device from a ceiling (Figs. 1-73), comprising: a plurality of hanging columns (118, 120) fixed to the ceiling (at an opposite end of 120, paragraphs [0168]-[0169]); and a support part (122, 126) provided at a lower portion of the plurality of hanging columns (as shown in Fig. 2) to support the light-emitting device (as shown in Fig. 2).
Skidmore does not explicitly teach that the suspension unit is configured such that all of the plurality of hanging columns are outside a clearance zone having a sprinkler head (SP) as a center in a horizontal direction specified in installation standards of the sprinkler head, and the support part is provided at the lower portion of the hanging columns so as to be outside the clearance zone from the head in a vertical direction specified in the installation standards.
Skidmore alternatively teaches, in the embodiment of paragraph [0165], that the suspension unit is configured such that all of the plurality of hanging columns are outside a clearance zone having a sprinkler head (SP) as a center in a horizontal direction specified in installation standards of the sprinkler head, and the support part is provided at the lower portion of the hanging columns so as to be outside the clearance zone from the head in a vertical direction specified in the installation standards (i.e., as noted in paragraph [0165], the device may be suspended below a sprinkler system, thus, the entire device including the light emitting elements, frames, and support columns must be out of the clearance zone of any sprinkler head there above in order to comply with regulatory standards, such as the NFPA standards).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Skidmore and incorporated the teachings of the suspension unit is configured such that all of the plurality of hanging columns are outside a clearance zone having a sprinkler head (SP) as a center in a horizontal direction specified in installation standards of the sprinkler head, and the support part is provided at the lower portion of the hanging columns so as to be outside the clearance zone from the head in a vertical direction specified in the installation standards, such as alternatively taught or suggested by Skidmore, in order to improve the marketability and/or utility of the device (e.g., by providing a device that is utilizable with overhead or concealed sprinkler systems, and also complies with industry standards or regulatory compliance).
Regarding claim 4, Skidmore teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-73) the support part (122, 126) includes: a frame body (126) fixed to the hanging columns (as shown in Fig. 2); and a plurality of cross members (122) fixed to the frame body at intervals from each other (as shown in Fig. 2), and the light-emitting device (e.g., 144, 152) is supported by the cross members (as shown in Figs. 1-73).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skidmore, in view of Gean (US 2,972,044 A).
Regarding claims 2-3, Skidmore teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-73) cables (162, for each respective lighting device or lighting device group) connected to the light-emitting device (as shown in Fig. 11).
Skidmore does not explicitly teach that the hanging column is formed in a cylindrical shape with a through-hole (31a) through which one or a plurality of cables are allowed to be inserted (as recited in claim 2); and wherein a hanging bolt (31b) is further inserted through the through-hole of the hanging column, and the hanging column is fixed to the ceiling using the hanging bolt (as recited in claim 3).
Gean teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-3) the hanging column (48) is formed in a cylindrical shape with a through-hole (at a top thereof, as shown in Fig. 3) through which one or a plurality of cables (30A) are allowed to be inserted (as shown in Fig. 3); and wherein a hanging bolt (44A) is further inserted through the through-hole of the hanging column (as shown in Fig. 3), and the hanging column is fixed to the ceiling using the hanging bolt (as shown in Figs. 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Skidmore and incorporated the teachings of the hanging column is formed in a cylindrical shape with a through-hole (31a) through which one or a plurality of cables are allowed to be inserted (as recited in claim 2); and wherein a hanging bolt (31b) is further inserted through the through-hole of the hanging column, and the hanging column is fixed to the ceiling using the hanging bolt (as recited in claim 3), such as taught or suggested by Gean, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of easing assembly of the device and/or reduce the cost thereof (e.g., by providing a support structure which can couple the lighting device and power therefor through a single component).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skidmore, in view of Tian et al. (CN 107217777 A, herein referred to as: Tian).
Regarding claim 5, Skidmore teaches or suggests a suspension structure (Figs. 1-73) for suspending a light-emitting device (e.g., 144, 152) from a ceiling (not shown, see paragraph [0168]), a suspension unit (118, 121, 122, 126), wherein the suspension unit includes: a plurality of hanging columns (118, 121); and a support part (122, 126) provided at a lower portion of the plurality of hanging columns to support the light-emitting device (as shown in Figs. 1-73).
Skidmore does not explicitly teach a sprinkler head (SP) provided on a front side of the ceiling surface; said suspension unit suspending the light-emitting device below the sprinkler head; the suspension unit is configured such that all of the plurality of hanging columns are outside a clearance zone having the sprinkler head (SP) as a center in a horizontal direction specified in installation standards of the sprinkler head, and the support part is provided at the lower portion of the hanging columns so as to be outside the clearance zone from the head in a vertical direction specified in the installation standards.
Skidmore alternatively teaches, in the embodiment of paragraph [0165], a sprinkler head (SP) provided on a front side of the ceiling surface (as noted in paragraph [0165], a sprinkler can be placed above the suspension unit and thus, on a front side of the ceiling surface); said suspension unit suspending the light-emitting device below the sprinkler head (as noted in paragraph [0165]); the suspension unit is configured such that all of the plurality of hanging columns are outside a clearance zone having a sprinkler head (SP) as a center in a horizontal direction specified in installation standards of the sprinkler head, and the support part is provided at the lower portion of the hanging columns so as to be outside the clearance zone from the head in a vertical direction specified in the installation standards (i.e., as noted in paragraph [0165], the device may be suspended below a sprinkler system, thus, the entire device including the light emitting elements, frames, and support columns must be out of the clearance zone of any sprinkler head there above in order to comply with regulatory standards, such as the NFPA standards).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Skidmore and incorporated the teachings of a sprinkler head (SP) provided on a front side of the ceiling surface; said suspension unit suspending the light-emitting device below the sprinkler head; the suspension unit is configured such that all of the plurality of hanging columns are outside a clearance zone having the sprinkler head (SP) as a center in a horizontal direction specified in installation standards of the sprinkler head, and the support part is provided at the lower portion of the hanging columns so as to be outside the clearance zone from the head in a vertical direction specified in the installation standards, such as alternatively taught or suggested by Skidmore, in order to improve the marketability and/or utility of the device (e.g., by providing a device that is utilizable with overhead or concealed sprinkler systems, and also complies with industry standards or regulatory compliance).
The combined teachings of Skidmore teach or suggest all of the elements of the claimed invention, except for a ceiling surface (11); a supporting structure body (13) provided on a back side of the ceiling surface; said having columns fixed to the supporting structure body.
Tain teaches or suggests a ceiling surface (9, or 29 below 9 in Fig. 3); a supporting structure body (2 or 9) provided on a back side of the ceiling surface (as shown in Fig. 3); said having columns (17) fixed to the supporting structure body (via 11, 28, 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Skidmore and incorporated the teachings of a ceiling surface; a supporting structure body provided on a back side of the ceiling surface; said having columns fixed to the supporting structure body, such as taught or suggested by Tian, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve, or otherwise increase, the utility of the device (e.g., by providing an embodiment by which the device can be utilized with alternate ceiling constructions, such as those disclosed by Tian).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US-20190338931-A1 to Ross and US-20210016119-A1 to Allen, pertinent to the features of the lighting device and sprinkler placement as recited in claims 1-5.
/COLIN J CATTANACH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875