DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
This communication is in response to the application submitted November 20, 2025. The present application is a U.S. National Phase of International Patent Application No. PCT/JP2024/017555 filed on May 13, 2024, which claims priority benefit of Japanese Patent Application No. JP 2023-092587 filed in the Japan Patent Office on June 05, 2023. Claims 1 – 17 are pending.
Claim Interpretation in View of 35 USC § 112
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
The claim limitations of that have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, correspond to structure described in the specification as follows:
“acquisition unit”: [0024] The acquisition unit 3 acquires (collects) information related to the user U. The information related to the user U is referred to as user information 30. The acquisition of the user information 30 by the acquisition unit 3 may be performed by the user U consciously operating the user terminal 2 to input the information, or may be automatically performed while the user U is unaware. Any type of information that can be obtained by the user terminal 2 may be acquired as the user information 30. The description will be made with reference to Fig. 2. - claims 1, 4, and 6
“model generation unit”: [0039] The model generation unit 8 acquires the user information 30 from the storage section 10 and, for example, converts the acquired information to obtain (extract, calculate, or the like) the feature amounts of the user U. The model generation unit 8 generates the user model 80 based on the obtained feature amounts. - claims 1 and 17
“information generation unit”: [0066] Fig. 6 is a diagram illustrating an example of the support information 91. Examples of the support information 91 include a proposal to set a sense of values, a proposal to set an action goal, a proposal to correct the sense of values, a proposal to correct the action goal, a reminder, feedback, and other information. – claims 1, 10, 13, and 17
“presentation unit”: [0032] The presentation unit 5 of the user terminal 2 presents the support information 91 from the information processing apparatus 6 to the user U. The presentation mode of the support information 91 is not particularly limited, but for example, a dialogue sentence is displayed, or various notifications are performed. The notifications may be performed via the support – claim 1
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step One
Claims 1 – 17 are drawn to a system, method, and apparatus, which is/are statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A Prong One
Independent claims 1, 16, and 17 recite acquiring user information of a user, generating support information supporting setting of a sense of values and an action goal of the user; and presenting the support information to the user.
The recited limitations, as drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover certain methods of organizing human activity, as reflected in the specification, which states that “In the field of psychotherapy, there is known a therapy for improving mental distress of a patient by setting a sense of values of the patient and an action goal aligned with the sense of values.” (see: specification paragraph 4). If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The present claims cover certain methods of organizing human activity because they address a need “for supporting the setting or the like of a sense of values and an action goal” (see: specification page 13). Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea(s) (Step 2A Prong One: YES).”
Step 2A Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims are abstract but for the inclusion of the additional elements including:
Claim 1: “system”, “acquisition unit”, “model generation unit”, “information generation unit”, “user model”, “presentation unit”
Claims 2 – 3: “system”, “user model”
Claim 4: “system”, “acquisition unit”, “user model”
Claims 5, 7 – 9, 11 – 12, 14 – 15: “system”
Claim 6: “system”, “acquisition unit”, “user terminal”
Claim 10: “system”, “information generation unit”
Claim 13: “system”, “storage section”, “information generation unit”
Claim 16: “user model”
Claim 17: “apparatus”, “model generation unit”, “information generation unit”, “user model”
These features are additional elements that are recited at a high level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instruction to apply the exception using generic computer components. See: MPEP 2106.05(f).
The additional elements are merely incidental or token additions to the claim that do not alter or affect how the process steps or functions in the abstract idea are performed. Therefore, the claimed additional elements do not add meaningful limitations to the indicated claims beyond a general linking to a technological environment. See: MPEP 2106.05(h).
The combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Hence, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A Prong Two: NO).
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, using the additional elements to perform the abstract idea amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic components cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Further, the claimed additional elements, identified above, are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are generic components that are not integrated into the claim because they are merely incidental or token additions to the claim that do not alter or affect how the process steps or functions in the abstract idea are performed. Therefore, the claimed additional elements do not add meaningful limitations to the indicated claims beyond a general linking to a technological environment. See: MPEP 2106.05(h).
Further, the claimed additional elements, identified above, are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are generic components that are configured to perform well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry. See: MPEP 2106.05(d). Said additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and provide conventional functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea. The published specification supports this conclusion as follows:
[0019] The support system 1 includes a user terminal 2 and an information processing apparatus 6. The user terminal 2 and the information processing apparatus 6 communicate with each other via a communication network such as the Internet.
[0020] The user terminal 2 is used to acquire information related to the user U and present (display or the like) support information 91 described below to the user U. Examples of the user terminal 2 include a smartphone, a tablet terminal, a PC, a wearable device (such as a wearable watch), and the like, and in Fig. 1, the user terminal 2 is illustrated as an apparatus including a smartphone and a wearable device. The wearable device acquires biological information (vital data) of the user U.
Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination, the claims simply instruct the additional elements to implement the concept described above in the identification of abstract idea with routine, conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment.
Hence, the claims as a whole, considering the additional elements individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (Step 2B: NO).
Dependent claim(s) 2 – 15 when analyzed as a whole, considering the additional elements individually and/or as an ordered combination, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. These claims fail to remedy the deficiencies of their parent claims above, and are therefore rejected for at least the same rationale as applied to their parent claims above, and incorporated herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 2, 4 – 10, and 13 – 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Togawa (U.S. Publication Number 2025/0132001 A1) in view of Internicola et al., herein after Internicola (U.S. Publication Number 2020/0234827 A1).
[Claim 1] Togawa teaches a support system comprising:
an acquisition unit configured to acquire user information of a user (Figure 8: paragraph 8 discloses an acquisition means configured to acquire history information indicating a history of a health state of a target person and an action of the target person contributing to variation in the health state);
a model generation unit configured to generate a user model of the user based on the user information (paragraph 9 discloses a learning means configured to train a model based on the history information and the success/failure information, wherein the model is configured to output information regarding a recommended action recommended to improve the health state of the target person upon receiving an input of the history information indicating the history of the action and the health state of the target person).
Togawa fails to explicitly teach the limitations met by Internicola as follows:
an information generation unit configured to generate, based on the user model, support information supporting setting of a sense of values and an action goal of the user (paragraph 116 discloses the Digital Assistant's conversations utilize natural language processing (NLP) and machine learning (ML) to recognize the patient's emotions and to personalize its statements. These interactive and human like components make the digital assistant an optimum tool for grounding. When the Digital Assistant is in use, the system may track information about the patient's setting, life, symptoms, and overall mental health); and
a presentation unit configured to present the support information to the user (The Abstract discloses a User interface, a Data Storage and Processing Architecture and a Therapist Interface for self-management and treatment support of mental health conditions such as PTSD or other conditions with similar symptoms may be provided to a user via an electronic device, such as a mobile device, computing device, tablet, or the like; paragraph 92 discloses the therapist interface may display data as well as facilitate an interaction between a user and data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to expand the method of Togawa to further include methods, systems, and apparatuses for diagnosing and treating mental disorders by way of various diagnostic tools and principles as well as therapeutic tools and principles by way of data-gathering, diagnosis, and treatment of trauma-related mental disorders such as PTSD as well as other disorders as disclosed by Internicola.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to expand the method of Togawa in this way to provide management tools that are accessible whenever symptoms occur, that can be used both when the user is alone or with other people, that can be activated and completed also in cases where the user's cognitive ability and self-control may be somewhat reduced or impaired; to log information on the use of management tools in the system, improving symptom tracking and reducing the reliance on the user's memory; to provide convenient journaling and reporting tools to help users and therapists identify triggers and progress; and to provide insights from the analyses on collected data to inform on treatment effect, inform treatment decisions, and create personalized therapies (Internicola: paragraphs 38 – 41).
[Claim 2] Togawa and Iternicola teach the support system according to claim 1. Togawa teaches wherein the user model includes a feature amount obtained from the user information, and
the feature amount of the user model includes at least one of
a feature amount related to an attribute of the user,
a feature amount related to an action of the user, or
a feature amount related to biological information of the user (paragraph 54 discloses the sensor measures a biometric signal or the like of the target person and supplies the measured biometric signal or the like to the action recommendation device as a sensor signal, the sensor signal may be any biological signal (including vital information) regarding the target person such as heart rate, EEG, pulse wave, amount of sweat (skin electrical activity), amount of hormone secretion, cerebral blood flow, blood pressure, body. temperature, myoelectricity, respiration rate, and acceleration. The sensor may also be a device that analyzes blood collected from the target person and provides a sensor signal indicative of the analysis result. The sensor may be a wearable terminal worn by the target person, a camera for photographing the target person, a microphone for generating a voice signal of the target person, or a terminal such as a personal computer or a smartphone operated by the target person).
[Claim 4] Togawa and Iternicola teach the support system according to claim 2. Togawa teaches wherein the acquisition unit acquires a plurality of pieces of the user information of a plurality of the users (Figure 8: paragraph 8 discloses an acquisition means configured to acquire history information indicating a history of a health state of a target person and an action of the target person contributing to variation in the health state).
Togawa fails to explicitly teach the limitations met by Internicola as follows:
the feature amount of the user model includes a feature amount related to comparison with another user of the plurality of the users (Figure 8; paragraph 170 discloses the therapist dashboard may comprise population insights including general trends, treatment trends, diagnosis trends, medication trends, therapy length trends, and the like).
The motivation to combine Togawa and Internicola is discussed int the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
[Claim 5] Togawa and Iternicola teach the support system according to claim 4. Togawa teaches wherein the feature amount related to the comparison includes a feature amount ranking high among the plurality of the users (paragraph 74 discloses the learning device generates the recommendation model by simultaneously training the action policy selection engine and the action imitation engine on the basis of the comparison result between the input and the inference result).
[Claim 6] Togawa and Iternicola teach the support system according to claim 1. Togawa teaches wherein the acquisition unit is provided at a user terminal used by the user,
the user information includes at least one of
operation information of the user terminal,
biological information of the user (paragraph 54 discloses the sensor measures a biometric signal or the like of the target person and supplies the measured biometric signal or the like to the action recommendation device as a sensor signal, the sensor signal may be any biological signal (including vital information) regarding the target person such as heart rate, EEG, pulse wave, amount of sweat (skin electrical activity), amount of hormone secretion, cerebral blood flow, blood pressure, body. temperature, myoelectricity, respiration rate, and acceleration. The sensor may also be a device that analyzes blood collected from the target person and provides a sensor signal indicative of the analysis result. The sensor may be a wearable terminal worn by the target person, a camera for photographing the target person, a microphone for generating a voice signal of the target person, or a terminal such as a personal computer or a smartphone operated by the target person),
log information of a support application, the support application being configured to operate on the user terminal and support the setting of the sense of values and the action goal of the user, or
information on a dialogue performed by the user using the user terminal.
[Claim 7] Togawa and Iternicola teach the support system according to claim 6.
Togawa fails to explicitly teach the limitations met by Internicola as follows:
wherein the log information of the support application includes at least one of demographics of the user,
a subjective scale of the user,
progress of a therapy for the user (Figure 8; paragraph 34 discloses management of symptoms related to PTSD and other mental health disorders; tracking of these symptoms and of the health condition; identifying and analyzing triggers, progress, and treatments; supporting treatment decisions; and allowing therapists to deliver personalized and customized therapy),
a record of a therapeutic activity for the user, or
a subjective evaluation of the therapeutic activity for the user.
The motivation to combine Togawa and Internicola is discussed int the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
[Claim 8] Togawa and Iternicola teach the support system according to claim 1. Togawa teaches wherein the support information includes a proposal to set the sense of values of the user and a proposal to set the action goal of the user (Figure 1; paragraph 12 discloses a recommended action determination means configured to determine a recommended action to be recommended to the target person based on the history information and a recommendation model).
[Claim 9] Togawa and Iternicola teach the support system according to claim 1. Togawa teaches wherein the support information includes a proposal to correct the sense of values of the user and a proposal to correct the action goal of the user (paragraph 105 discloses the recommended action determination unit acquires, in conjunction with the recommended action information, basis information regarding a basis (proof or ground) of the determination of the recommended action. For example, the basis information includes: a past recommended action to a person having similar action/state history information to the target person or to a person having a similar attribute to the target person. and the state of the person that resulted from the past recommended action).
[Claim 10] Togawa and Iternicola teach the support system according to claim 9. Togawa teaches wherein the information generation unit generates the support information including the proposal to correct the sense of values of the user and the proposal to correct the action goal of the user when a degree of deviation between the sense of values and the action goal set by the user and the sense of values and the action goal proposable based on the user model exceeds a threshold value (paragraph 92 discloses the learning using a predetermined sets of the action/state history information and the success/failure information is completed, if the learning unit detects a user input or the like indicating that the learning should be terminated, and/or if the error in the training becomes equal to or less than a predetermined threshold value, the learning unit determines that the termination condition of the learning is satisfied).
[Claim 13] Togawa and Iternicola teach the support system according to claim 1. Togawa teaches a system comprising: a storage section configured to store a pair of the user model and a corresponding support information candidate, wherein the information generation unit generates the support information based on the support information candidate (Figure 1; paragraph 50 discloses the action recommendation system includes a learning device, an action recommendation device, a storage device, an input device, an output device, and a sensor; paragraph 51 discloses the learning device performs machine learning of the recommendation model as a learning device based on the training data stored in the training data storage unit).
[Claim 14] Togawa and Iternicola teach the support system according to claim 13. Togawa teaches wherein the support information includes a proposal to set the sense of values of the user and a proposal to set the action goal of the user, and the support information candidate is updated so as to include the sense of values and the action goal proposed by the support information (paragraph 96 discloses the learning device updates the parameters of the recommendation model based on the set of the action/state history information and the success/failure information acquired, and stores the updated parameters in the model information storage unit; paragraph 105 discloses the recommended action determination unit acquires, in conjunction with the recommended action information, basis information regarding a basis (proof or ground) of the determination of the recommended action. For example, the basis information includes: a past recommended action to a person having similar action/state history information to the target person or to a person having a similar attribute to the target person. and the state of the person that resulted from the past recommended action).
[Claim 15] Togawa and Iternicola teach the support system according to claim 13. Togawa teaches wherein the support information candidate is updated so as to include the sense of values and the action goal set by the user (paragraph 96 discloses the learning device updates the parameters of the recommendation model based on the set of the action/state history information and the success/failure information acquired, and stores the updated parameters in the model information storage unit; paragraph 105 discloses the recommended action determination unit acquires, in conjunction with the recommended action information, basis information regarding a basis (proof or ground) of the determination of the recommended action. For example, the basis information includes: a past recommended action to a person having similar action/state history information to the target person or to a person having a similar attribute to the target person. and the state of the person that resulted from the past recommended action).
[Claim 16] Togawa teaches a support method comprising:
acquiring user information of a user (Figure 8: paragraph 8 discloses an acquisition means configured to acquire history information indicating a history of a health state of a target person and an action of the target person contributing to variation in the health state);
generating a user model of the user based on the user information (paragraph 9 discloses a learning means configured to train a model based on the history information and the success/failure information, wherein the model is configured to output information regarding a recommended action recommended to improve the health state of the target person upon receiving an input of the history information indicating the history of the action and the health state of the target person).
Togawa fails to explicitly teach the limitations met by Internicola as follows:
generating, based on the user model, support information supporting setting of a sense of values and an action goal of the user (paragraph 116 discloses the Digital Assistant's conversations utilize natural language processing (NLP) and machine learning (ML) to recognize the patient's emotions and to personalize its statements. These interactive and human like components make the digital assistant an optimum tool for grounding. When the Digital Assistant is in use, the system may track information about the patient's setting, life, symptoms, and overall mental health); and
presenting the support information to the user (The Abstract discloses a User interface, a Data Storage and Processing Architecture and a Therapist Interface for self-management and treatment support of mental health conditions such as PTSD or other conditions with similar symptoms may be provided to a user via an electronic device, such as a mobile device, computing device, tablet, or the like; paragraph 92 discloses the therapist interface may display data as well as facilitate an interaction between a user and data).
The motivation to combine Togawa and Internicola is discussed int the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
[Claim 17] Togawa teaches an information processing apparatus comprising:
a model generation unit configured to generate, based on user information of a user, a user model of the user (paragraph 9 discloses a learning means configured to train a model based on the history information and the success/failure information, wherein the model is configured to output information regarding a recommended action recommended to improve the health state of the target person upon receiving an input of the history information indicating the history of the action and the health state of the target person).
Togawa fails to explicitly teach the limitations met by Internicola as follows:
an information generation unit configured to generate, based on the user model, support information supporting setting of a sense of values and an action goal of the user (paragraph 116 discloses the Digital Assistant's conversations utilize natural language processing (NLP) and machine learning (ML) to recognize the patient's emotions and to personalize its statements. These interactive and human like components make the digital assistant an optimum tool for grounding. When the Digital Assistant is in use, the system may track information about the patient's setting, life, symptoms, and overall mental health).
The motivation to combine Togawa and Internicola is discussed int the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Togawa (U.S. Publication Number 2025/0132001 A1) in view of Internicola et al., herein after Internicola (U.S. Publication Number 2020/0234827 A1) further in view of Ichinose et al., herein after Ichinose (U.S. Patent Number 11,669,960 B2).
[Claim 3] Togawa and Iternicola teach the support system according to claim 2.
Togawa and Internicola fail to explicitly teach the limitations met by Ichinose as follows:
wherein in the user model, the feature amount is described using a vector (column 22, lines 17 – 30 discloses the learning unit repeatedly performs convolution and pooling on each of the medical image included in the learning data and the average image to extract a feature vector. The calculation unit acquires the feature vector from the learning unit, and calculates a contribution degree parameter where the parameter is a value that quantitatively indicates a magnitude of a feature difference between the medical).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to expand the method of Togawa and Internicola to further include a learning system, a method, and a program, and particularly, to a learning system, a method, and a program that performs learning for supporting diagnosis using medical images as disclosed by Ichinose.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to expand the method of Togawa and Internicola in this way to provide machine learning to support a diagnosis using the medical images, in order to improve the accuracy of finding and diagnosing a lesion by collecting and learn medical images having various shapes and sizes for each type of organ (Ichinose: column 1, lines 48 – 55).
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Togawa (U.S. Publication Number 2025/0132001 A1) in view of Internicola et al., herein after Internicola (U.S. Publication Number 2020/0234827 A1) further in view of Brick et al., herein after Brick (US Publication Number 2022/0223258 A1).
[Claim 11] Togawa and Iternicola teach the support system according to claim 1.
Togawa and Internicola fail to explicitly teach the limitations met by Brick as follows:
wherein the support information includes a reminder to execute an action related to the action goal (paragraph 22 discloses In response to the physiologic data, the user entered data, and the social-context data, a user device can present an intervention alert which can include instructions or requests for the user that are part of an intervention of some type).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to expand the method of Togawa and Internicola to further include automatic delivery of personalized messages which can be continuously generated and combined with automatically sensed physiological data and the reception of user-input data in order to drive decisions about when and if messages should be delivered, and about the content of the messages as disclosed by Brick.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to expand the method of Togawa and Internicola in this way to automatically provide interventions in the form of text communications in response to a user entering a particular emotional state ( e.g., a stress state, a craving state, or a high risk of a spousal dispute.) (Brick: paragraph 4).
[Claim 12] Togawa and Iternicola teach the support system according to claim 1.
Togawa and Internicola fail to explicitly teach the limitations met by Brick as follows:
wherein the support information includes feedback about execution of an action related to the action goal (paragraph 5 discloses a smartphone app that uses commodity wearable hardware can be used to provide actionable feedback to a user based on physiological changes enacted by their day-to-day behaviors, especially in the context of social interactions).
The motivation to combine the teachings of Togawa, Internicola, and Brick is discussed in the rejection of claim 11, and incorporated herein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Satake (U.S. Publication Number 2014/0095199 A1) discloses medical care plan preparation support apparatus which generates medical care plan display information based on medical care plan information and pattern information
which is commonly included medical care history information of plural patients
KRISTINE K. RAPILLO
Examiner
Art Unit 3626
/KRISTINE K RAPILLO/Examiner, Art Unit 3682