DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is indefinite because there is a plurality of steps in claim 3. Claim 8 only refers to one step. Which step of the plurality of steps has the height difference? The Examiner requests that the Applicant please clarify.
Claim 9 is indefinite because there is a plurality of steps in claim 4. Claim 9 only refers to one step. Which step of the plurality of steps has the height difference? The Examiner requests that the Applicant please clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al. (2021/0331421A1) in view of Rosal et al. (2019/0151982).
Regarding claim 1, Okada discloses a friction stir spot welding tool, comprising: a cylindrical pin 11 that rotates about an axis; a shoulder 12 having a hollow portion into which the pin is inserted; and a driving unit 53 that performs driving of press-fitting the pin into a joining object while rotating the pin and driving of retracting the shoulder with respect to the joining object (figures 1-4, paragraphs 0028-0103).
Okada is silent to a step-shaped portion forming a step in a rotation direction of the pin is provided on at least a part of a tip surface of the pin. However, Rosal discloses a friction stir pin 912 with a step-shaped portion 966 forming a step in a rotation direction of the pin is provided on at least a part of a tip surface of the pin (figure 9, paragraph 0052). To one skilled in the art at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to have a step-shaped portion as taught in Rosal because Rosal states that engages with and moves a greater amount of workpiece material than a conventional tool (paragraph 0032). This would help ensure that the workpiece material is properly joined.
Regarding claim 2, Rosal discloses that the step of the step-shaped portion is a radial step extending in a radial direction from a center point of the tip surface to an outer peripheral edge (figure 9).
Regarding claim 6, the limitation “wherein the step of the step-shaped portion is a step formed by cutting out a part of an outer peripheral edge of the tip surface” is product by process and does not further limit the apparatus.
Claim(s) 1-9 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al. (2021/0331421A1) in view of Rosal et al. (2019/0151982).
This is an alternate rejection using the same art, but different embodiment
Regarding claim 1, Okada discloses a friction stir spot welding tool, comprising: a cylindrical pin 11 that rotates about an axis; a shoulder 12 having a hollow portion into which the pin is inserted; and a driving unit 53 that performs driving of press-fitting the pin into a joining object while rotating the pin and driving of retracting the shoulder with respect to the joining object (figures 1-4, paragraphs 0028-0103).
Okada is silent to a step-shaped portion forming a step in a rotation direction of the pin is provided on at least a part of a tip surface of the pin. However, Rosal discloses a friction stir pin 1012 with a step-shaped portion forming a step (two extending portions are steps) in a rotation direction of the pin is provided on at least a part of a tip surface of the pin (figure 10, paragraph 0054). To one skilled in the art at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to have a step-shaped portion as taught in Rosal because Rosal states that engages with and moves a greater amount of workpiece material than a conventional tool (paragraph 0032). This would help ensure that the workpiece material is properly joined.
Regarding claim 2, Rosal discloses that the step of the step-shaped portion is a radial step extending in a radial direction from a center point of the tip surface to an outer peripheral edge (figure 10).
Regarding claim 3, Rosal discloses a plurality of the radial steps (two steps, figure 10) are arranged in a circumferential direction of the tip surface of the pin (figure 10).
Regarding claim 4, Rosal discloses that the plurality of radial steps are arranged at equal intervals in a circumferential direction of the tip surface (paragraph 0054, figure 10).
Regarding claim 5, Rosal discloses a maximum height difference of the step of the step-shaped portion is set in a range from 1% to 10% of a diameter of the pin (paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 6, the limitation “wherein the step of the step-shaped portion is a step formed by cutting out a part of an outer peripheral edge of the tip surface” is product by process and does not further limit the apparatus.
Regarding claim 7, Rosal discloses a maximum height difference of the step of the step-shaped portion is set in a range from 1% to 10% of a diameter of the pin (paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 8, Rosal discloses a maximum height difference of the step of the step-shaped portion is set in a range from 1% to 10% of a diameter of the pin (paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 9, Rosal discloses a maximum height difference of the step of the step-shaped portion is set in a range from 1% to 10% of a diameter of the pin (paragraph 0037).
Conclusion
/ERIN B SAAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735