DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 8, 16, 17, 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 9 is/are also rejected as being depended on an rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 10-15, 20, 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG et al. (2018/0115796) “YANG” in view of CLARKE et al. (2022/0382443) “CLARKE”.
As of Claim 20, YANG teaches
A vehicle-mounted device, comprising a display screen, a splicing apparatus, and a system chip,
wherein the system chip is configured to:
obtain a first display content, wherein the first display content comprises a plurality of area display contents respectively corresponding to a plurality of display areas on a display screen ([1031, 1157, 1183] teach a mechanism of acquiring media components/contents to display on screen divide to a plurality of display areas);
determine at least two areas to be spliced in the first display content based on locations of the plurality of area display contents in the first display content ([1174, 1180, 1183] teachings include choosing of target screen divided into a plurality pf areas or screen partially inserted into the primary screen to display content);
determine a plurality of splicing parameters based on the at least two areas to be spliced ([1157] describes a mechanism of using sub media component of image/content to be displayed on a screen divided into a plurality of areas. [1159, 1161] teach the use of component identifiers to inform about media component types. Thus, it would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that acquiring this information may include determining splicing parameters based on areas to display contents); and
output the plurality of splicing parameters to the splicing apparatus ([1158, 1159] teach showing component including component descriptor, see Fig.62, Fig.63).
YANG fails to teach wherein said
the splicing apparatus is configured to splice the plurality of area display contents according to the plurality of splicing parameters to obtain a spliced display content; and
the display screen is configured to display the spliced display content in the plurality of display areas.
However, CLARKE teaches wherein said
the splicing apparatus is configured to splice the plurality of area display contents according to the plurality of splicing parameters to obtain a spliced display content ([0261, 0263] teach playing visual content from aggregated content item that includes displaying visual contents with different sets of visual parameters applied to different regions ); and
the display screen is configured to display the spliced display content in the plurality of display areas ([0261], Fig.6K teach display screen adapted to display spliced display content in the plurality of display areas).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine YANG’s apparatus with CLARKE’s teachings as shown above, so to enable displaying content items with different durations (see [0263]).
As of claim 1, claim 1 is rejected the same as claim 20. Only claim 1 is a method claim.
As of claim 2, YANG teaches wherein said
before obtaining the first display content, further comprising:
obtaining a second display content;
performing a cropping operation on the second display content based on a resolution of the display screen to obtain the plurality of area display contents; and
generating the first display content based on the plurality of area display contents ([1606] teaches a delivery methods of content component that include may support dynamic configuration (combining, separating, adding or removing) of content components for consumption, may support delivery of information describing the temporal and spatial relationship among content components, may enable the capability of a device to automatically select appropriate layers of streams to decode when multiple video resolution or layered encoding of video content is available. Thus, modifying contents before generating display contents based on area display contents).
As of claim 7, CLARKE teaches
wherein obtaining the first display content comprises: selecting at least one application in response to a first application display instruction; setting a mapping relationship between the at least one application and the plurality of display areas to determine the plurality of area display contents; and generating the first display content based on the plurality of area display contents ([0073, 0126] teach a mechanism that depicts a relationship between applications views or other information occupy various regions of touch screen display. Thus, relationships that would allow generating the first display content based on the plurality of area display contents).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use CLARKE’s teaching as shown above, so application includes application internal state, which indicates the current application view(s) displayed on touch-sensitive display when the application is active or executing (see [0126]).
As of claim 10, CLARKE teaches
wherein the image display method is applied to a vehicle-mounted system of a motor vehicle, and obtaining the first display content comprises: obtaining a plurality of shot contents respectively obtained by a plurality of cameras arranged on the motor vehicle; setting a mapping relationship between the plurality of shot contents and the plurality of display areas to determine the plurality of area display contents; and generating the first display content based on the plurality of area display contents ([0068] teaches depth camera sensor 175 is optionally used to determine a depth map of different portions of an image captured by the imaging module 143. Thus, the establishment of relationships between captured images by camera and display regions on the touch screen display).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use CLARKE’s teaching as shown above, so that the user's image with depth information is, optionally, obtained for video conferencing while the user views the other video conference participants on the touch screen display (see [0068]).
As of claim 11, CLARKE teaches
wherein the image display method is applied to a vehicle-mounted system of a motor vehicle, and a plurality of cameras are arranged on the motor vehicle, and the plurality of cameras are configured to acquire a plurality of shot contents, respectively; the plurality of shot contents are spliced and fused to obtain a spliced shot content; and at least one area display content of the plurality of area display content comprises the spliced shot content ([0068] teaches Device 100 optionally also includes one or more depth camera sensors including a depth camera sensor is located on the front of device 100 so that the user's image with depth information is, optionally, obtained for video conferencing while the user views the other video conference participants on the touch screen display. Thus, a mechanism that teaches having video conferencing participant to view the other video conference participants on the touch screen display that spliced the images for viewers access).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use CLARKE’s teaching as shown above, so that video conferencing participant to view the other video conference participants on the touch screen display that spliced the images for viewers access (see [0068]).
As of claim 12, CLARKE teaches
wherein one display area of the plurality of display areas is partitioned into a plurality of sub-areas; and the display content in at least one sub-area of the plurality of sub-areas comprises a graphic button, and the graphic button is tapped or touched to implement a corresponding function ([0059] teaches Touch screen 112 displays visual output to the user. The visual output optionally includes graphics, text, icons, video, and any combination thereof (collectively termed “graphics”). In some embodiments, some or all of the visual output optionally corresponds to user-interface objects. Thus, an obvious depiction of sub-areas used as input/output interfaces).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use CLARKE’s teaching as shown above, so to provide an input interface and an output interface between the device and a user (see [0059]).
As of claim 13, CLARKE teaches
wherein resolutions of at least two display areas of the plurality of display areas are different from each other (Figs.6L, 6N depict display areas with different resolution (e.g. 628B and 646D)).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use CLARKE’s teaching as shown above, as it is an alternate way manufacture a display device to allow focus on images of interest to the user.
As of claim 14, CLARKE teaches
wherein the plurality of display areas comprise a first display area, and the first display area comprises a first sub-area and a second sub-area; the first sub-area is configured to display an area display content corresponding to the first display area, and the second sub-area does not display a content; or the area display content corresponding to the first display area comprises a first sub-area display content and a second sub-area display content, the first sub-area is configured to display the first sub-area display content, and the second sub-area is configured to display the second sub-area display content (Figs.4A, 6K depict display areas with sub-area wherein displays areas display contents and sub-sub-area either does not display contents or display other graphics).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use CLARKE’s teaching as shown above, as it is an alternate way manufacture a display device so sub-area can be used for input/output interfaces or so.
As of claim 15, CLARKE teaches
wherein the image display method is applied to a vehicle- mounted system, and the plurality of display areas comprise an instrument panel area, a central control area, and a co-driver area ([0073] teaches Device/global internal state 157 includes one or more of views or other information occupy various regions of touch screen display. Thus, it would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to allocated different areas for different use or purpose).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use CLARKE’s teaching as shown above, so to make use of information obtained from the device's various sensors and input control devices ([0073]).
As of claim 37, claim 37 is rejected the same as claim 20. Only claim 37 is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim.
Conclusion
INSA . SADIO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2628
/INSA SADIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628