DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/21/2025 and 9/11/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakano, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2022/0001921).
Regarding Claim 1, Nakano teaches: A control device for an articulated vehicle including a tractor and a trailer towed by the tractor (Nakano, Para. 0001, 0019 – “a steering control device… for controlling steering of a vehicle towing a trailer”, where the “vehicle 10 and trailer 50 are coupled by a hitch portion 19 (coupler)”), wherein:
the articulated vehicle includes a non-transmission steered wheel (Nakano, Para. 0021-0024 – “vehicle 10 is provided with: a front wheel steering device 14”, where “front wheel steering device 14 is a steer-by-wire steering system without mechanical connection between steering wheel 13 and front wheels”);
the non-transmission steered wheel is a steered wheel that is steerable under control in a state in which power transmission with an operation unit provided in the tractor is disconnected (Nakano, Para. 0021-0024 – “front wheel steering device 14 is a steer-by-wire steering system without mechanical connection between steering wheel 13 and front wheels 11, 11”, such that the device is disconnected);
the operation unit is an interface configured to receive an intention of a driver to steer the articulated vehicle (Nakano, Para. 0021, 0061 – “a front wheel steering device 14 for operating the steering angle of front wheels 11, 11 based on the input of a steering wheel 13 a driver operates and a command transmitted from a steering control device (steering control unit) 30”, where “steering control device 30 reads the driver's intention based on driver operation information 301”);
the control device is configured to execute a setting process and a non-transmission steering process (Nakano, Para. 0021, 0030-0031 – “a steering control device (steering control unit) 30” which “calculates a first steering angle command for controlling the steering angle of front wheels” and “a second steering angle command for controlling the steering angle of rear wheel”, and furthermore, “performs trailer stabilization control to output the first steering angle command to front wheel steering device 14… and to output the second steering angle command to rear wheel steering device 16” for “operating the steering angle of front wheels 11, 11” and “rear wheels 12, 12 based on the command transmitted from steering control device 30”);
the setting process is a process of setting a target steered angle of the non-transmission steered wheel, using a value of a trailer sway variable as an input (Nakano, Para. 0028-0033 – “steering control device 30… calculates a first steering angle command for controlling the steering angle of front wheels 11, 11 and a second steering angle command for controlling the steering angle of rear wheels 12, 12”, or target steered angles, based on “information of the oscillating motion”, or sway, “which occurs in the vehicle combination composed of vehicle 10 and trailer 50”);
the trailer sway variable includes at least one of the following two variables: a variable indicating behavior of a yaw angle of the articulated vehicle (Nakano, Para. 0033, 0052 – “information on the oscillating motion may include, for example, yaw rates… of trailer 50… and yaw rates and lateral accelerations of vehicle 10”), and a front-wheel steered angle variable (Nakano, Para. 0054 – “information on a front wheel steering angle 300”);
the front-wheel steered angle variable is a variable indicating a steered angle of a steered front wheel of the tractor (Nakano, Para. 0021-0024, 0054 – “information on a front wheel steering angle 300” commanded based on “angle information (angle signal) of steering wheel 13”); and
the non-transmission steering process is a process of steering the non-transmission steered wheel in accordance with the target steered angle set by the setting process (Nakano, Para. 0021, 0030-0031, 0041, 0050 – “steering control device 30 controls the front wheel steering angle and rear wheel steering angle of vehicle” by performing “trailer stabilization control to output the first steering angle command to front wheel steering device 14… and to output the second steering angle command to rear wheel steering device 16”, or target steered angles, for “operating the steering angle of front wheels 11, 11” and “rear wheels 12, 12 based on the command transmitted from steering control device 30”).
In regards to Claim 2, Nakano teaches the control device for the articulated vehicle of Claim 1, and Nakano further teaches wherein the setting process includes a process of setting the target steered angle in accordance with the behavior of the yaw angle (Nakano, Para. 0028-0033, 0051 – “steering control device 30… calculates a first steering angle command for controlling the steering angle of front wheels 11, 11 and a second steering angle command for controlling the steering angle of rear wheels 12, 12”, or target steered angles, based on “information of the oscillating motion which occurs in the vehicle combination composed of vehicle 10 and trailer 50”, where “information on the oscillating motion may include, for example, yaw rates” that occur “in vehicle 10 and trailer 50” which vary “periodically due to the oscillating motion of the vehicle combination”).
In regards to Claim 3, Nakano teaches the control device for the articulated vehicle of Claim 2, and Nakano further teaches wherein: the control device is configured to execute a base target value setting process; the base target value setting process is a process of setting a base target value based on an input from the operation unit; the base target value is a base value of the target steered angle; and the setting process includes a process of setting the target steered angle by correcting the base target value in accordance with a variable indicating the behavior of the yaw angle (Nakano, Para. 0054-0058 – “steering control device 30 inputs, for example, driver operation information 301 such as the accelerator opening information AO, the brake opening information BO, and the steering wheel angle information, and information on a front wheel steering angle 300 and a rear wheel steering angle 302 into a vehicle model 303 based on the vehicle specifications, and then, steering control device 30 calculates a theoretical vehicle response 304”, where “Steering control device 30 calculates the yaw moment that suppresses the yaw motion of trailer 50 by trailer motion control 309, and varies front wheel steering angle 300 and rear wheel steering angle 302 in response to a front-rear steering distribution ratio 310 so as to generate the yaw moment that suppresses the yaw motion of trailer 50”, such that the base target value of the steering angles are varied, or corrected, according to “yaw motion” of the trailer).
In regards to Claim 6, Nakano teaches the control device for the articulated vehicle of Claim 1, and Nakano further teaches wherein: the control device is configured to execute a target yaw rate setting process; the target yaw rate setting process is a process of setting a target value of a yaw rate of the articulated vehicle; and the setting process is a process of setting the target steered angle based on a manipulated variable of feedback control in which the yaw rate is a controlled variable (Nakano, Para. 0054-0060, 0087 – “when the yaw motion which exceeds a threshold value occurs in trailer 50, in other words, when the yaw motion of trailer 50 exceeds an allowable level, steering control device 30 generates the yaw moment that suppresses the yaw motion of trailer 50”, where “steering control device 30” determines a “difference between theoretical vehicle response 304 and actual vehicle response 306”, such that the “actual vehicle response” is fed back to determine a target “front wheel steering angle 300 and rear wheel steering angle 302… so as to generate the yaw moment that suppresses the yaw motion of trailer”).
In regards to Claim 7, Nakano teaches the control device for the articulated vehicle of Claim 6, and Nakano further teaches wherein the target yaw rate setting process is a process of setting the target value of the yaw rate based on the steered angle of the front wheel of the tractor and a vehicle speed (Nakano, Para. 0054-0058, 0087 – “Steering control device 30 calculates the yaw moment that suppresses the yaw motion of trailer 50 by trailer motion control 309”, when “the absolute value of the calculated difference between the yaw rate of vehicle 10 and the yaw rate of trailer 50 exceeds the threshold value”, based on “an actual vehicle response” including information from a “vehicle speed sensor 23” and “information on a front wheel steering angle 300 and a rear wheel steering angle 302”).
In regards to Claim 8, Nakano teaches the control device for the articulated vehicle of Claim 7, and Nakano further teaches wherein: the target yaw rate setting process includes a tractor-side target yaw rate setting process; the tractor-side target yaw rate setting process is a process of setting a target value of a yaw rate of the tractor; and the setting process includes a process of setting the target steered angle of the non-transmission steered wheel provided in the tractor in accordance with a manipulated variable of feedback control in which the yaw rate of the tractor is a controlled variable (Nakano, Para. 0051, 0054-0058, 0087 – “Steering control device 30 calculates the yaw moment that suppresses the yaw motion of trailer 50 by trailer motion control 309”, when “the absolute value of the calculated difference between the yaw rate of vehicle 10 and the yaw rate of trailer 50 exceeds the threshold value”, based on “an actual vehicle response” including information from a “vehicle speed sensor 23” and “information on a front wheel steering angle 300 and a rear wheel steering angle 302”).
In regards to Claim 9, Nakano teaches the control device for the articulated vehicle of Claim 7, and Nakano further teaches wherein: the target yaw rate setting process includes a trailer-side target yaw rate setting process; the trailer-side target yaw rate setting process is a process of setting a target value of a yaw rate of the trailer; and the setting process includes a process of setting the target steered angle of the non-transmission steered wheel provided in the trailer in accordance with a manipulated variable of feedback control in which the yaw rate of the trailer is a controlled variable (Nakano, Para. 0051, 0054-0058, 0087, 0093 – “Steering control device 30 calculates the yaw moment that suppresses the yaw motion of trailer 50 by trailer motion control 309”, when “the absolute value of the calculated difference between the yaw rate of vehicle 10 and the yaw rate of trailer 50 exceeds the threshold value”, based on “an actual vehicle response” including information from a “vehicle speed sensor 23” and “information on a front wheel steering angle 300 and a rear wheel steering angle 302”; where “steering control device 30 controls the motion of trailer 50 by the rear wheel steering control so that the difference between the yaw rate of vehicle 10 and the yaw rate of trailer 50 becomes small”).
In regards to Claim 10, Nakano teaches the control device for the articulated vehicle of Claim 1, and Nakano further teaches wherein: the non-transmission steered wheel includes a rear wheel of the tractor and a wheel of the trailer (Nakano, Para. 0020, 0044 – “a pair of left and right rear wheels 12, 12” and “left and right traveling wheels 51 and 51 of trailer 50”); and the setting process is a process of setting the target steered angle of the rear wheel of the tractor and the target steered angle of the trailer in accordance with a value of the front-wheel steered angle variable (Nakano, Para. 0024, 0061, 0093 – “steering control device 30 reads the driver's intention based on driver operation information 301”, or “angle information (angle signal) of steering wheel 13”, “to vary the distribution of the front wheel steering and rear wheel steering so as to generate the yaw moment that suppresses the yaw motion of trailer 50 without changing the traveling direction of the vehicle”, where “steering control device 30 controls the motion of trailer 50 by the rear wheel steering control”).
Regarding Claim 11, Nakano teaches: A control method for an articulated vehicle including a tractor and a trailer towed by the tractor (Nakano, Para. 0001, 0019 – “a steering control method… for controlling steering of a vehicle towing a trailer”, where the “vehicle 10 and trailer 50 are coupled by a hitch portion 19 (coupler)”), wherein:
the articulated vehicle includes a non-transmission steered wheel (Nakano, Para. 0021-0024 – “vehicle 10 is provided with: a front wheel steering device 14”, where “front wheel steering device 14 is a steer-by-wire steering system without mechanical connection between steering wheel 13 and front wheels”);
the non-transmission steered wheel is a steered wheel that is steerable under control in a state in which power transmission with an operation unit provided in the tractor is disconnected (Nakano, Para. 0021-0024 – “front wheel steering device 14 is a steer-by-wire steering system without mechanical connection between steering wheel 13 and front wheels 11, 11”, such that the device is disconnected);
the operation unit is an interface configured to receive an intention of a driver to steer the articulated vehicle (Nakano, Para. 0021, 0061 – “a front wheel steering device 14 for operating the steering angle of front wheels 11, 11 based on the input of a steering wheel 13 a driver operates and a command transmitted from a steering control device (steering control unit) 30”, where “steering control device 30 reads the driver's intention based on driver operation information 301”);
the control device is configured to execute a setting process and a non-transmission steering process (Nakano, Para. 0021, 0030-0031 – “a steering control device (steering control unit) 30” which “calculates a first steering angle command for controlling the steering angle of front wheels” and “a second steering angle command for controlling the steering angle of rear wheel”, and furthermore, “performs trailer stabilization control to output the first steering angle command to front wheel steering device 14… and to output the second steering angle command to rear wheel steering device 16” for “operating the steering angle of front wheels 11, 11” and “rear wheels 12, 12 based on the command transmitted from steering control device 30”);
the setting process is a process of setting a target steered angle of the non-transmission steered wheel, using a value of a trailer sway variable as an input (Nakano, Para. 0028-0033 – “steering control device 30… calculates a first steering angle command for controlling the steering angle of front wheels 11, 11 and a second steering angle command for controlling the steering angle of rear wheels 12, 12”, or target steered angles, based on “information of the oscillating motion”, or sway, “which occurs in the vehicle combination composed of vehicle 10 and trailer 50”);
the trailer sway variable includes at least one of the following two variables: a variable indicating behavior of a yaw angle of the articulated vehicle (Nakano, Para. 0033, 0052 – “information on the oscillating motion may include, for example, yaw rates… of trailer 50… and yaw rates and lateral accelerations of vehicle 10”), and a front-wheel steered angle variable (Nakano, Para. 0054 – “information on a front wheel steering angle 300”);
the front-wheel steered angle variable is a variable indicating a steered angle of a steered front wheel of the tractor (Nakano, Para. 0021-0024, 0054 – “information on a front wheel steering angle 300” commanded based on “angle information (angle signal) of steering wheel 13”); and
the non-transmission steering process is a process of steering the non-transmission steered wheel in accordance with the target steered angle set by the setting process (Nakano, Para. 0021, 0030-0031, 0041, 0050 – “steering control device 30 controls the front wheel steering angle and rear wheel steering angle of vehicle” by performing “trailer stabilization control to output the first steering angle command to front wheel steering device 14… and to output the second steering angle command to rear wheel steering device 16”, or target steered angles, for “operating the steering angle of front wheels 11, 11” and “rear wheels 12, 12 based on the command transmitted from steering control device 30”).
Regarding Claim 12, Nakano teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a control program for an articulated vehicle including a tractor and a trailer towed by the tractor (Nakano, Para. 0001, 0019, 0022, 0031 – “a steering control device… for controlling steering of a vehicle towing a trailer”, where the “vehicle 10 and trailer 50 are coupled by a hitch portion 19 (coupler)”; where “Steering control device 30 is an electronic control device which includes a microcomputer having an MPU (microprocessor unit), a ROM (read only memory), a RAM (random access memory)” for performing “a steering control method”/“trailer stabilization control”), wherein:
the articulated vehicle includes a non-transmission steered wheel (Nakano, Para. 0021-0024 – “vehicle 10 is provided with: a front wheel steering device 14”, where “front wheel steering device 14 is a steer-by-wire steering system without mechanical connection between steering wheel 13 and front wheels”);
the non-transmission steered wheel is a steered wheel that is steerable under control in a state in which power transmission with an operation unit provided in the tractor is disconnected (Nakano, Para. 0021-0024 – “front wheel steering device 14 is a steer-by-wire steering system without mechanical connection between steering wheel 13 and front wheels 11, 11”, such that the device is disconnected);
the operation unit is an interface configured to receive an intention of a driver to steer the articulated vehicle (Nakano, Para. 0021, 0061 – “a front wheel steering device 14 for operating the steering angle of front wheels 11, 11 based on the input of a steering wheel 13 a driver operates and a command transmitted from a steering control device (steering control unit) 30”, where “steering control device 30 reads the driver's intention based on driver operation information 301”);
the control device is configured to execute a setting process and a non-transmission steering process (Nakano, Para. 0021, 0030-0031 – “a steering control device (steering control unit) 30” which “calculates a first steering angle command for controlling the steering angle of front wheels” and “a second steering angle command for controlling the steering angle of rear wheel”, and furthermore, “performs trailer stabilization control to output the first steering angle command to front wheel steering device 14… and to output the second steering angle command to rear wheel steering device 16” for “operating the steering angle of front wheels 11, 11” and “rear wheels 12, 12 based on the command transmitted from steering control device 30”);
the setting process is a process of setting a target steered angle of the non-transmission steered wheel, using a value of a trailer sway variable as an input (Nakano, Para. 0028-0033 – “steering control device 30… calculates a first steering angle command for controlling the steering angle of front wheels 11, 11 and a second steering angle command for controlling the steering angle of rear wheels 12, 12”, or target steered angles, based on “information of the oscillating motion”, or sway, “which occurs in the vehicle combination composed of vehicle 10 and trailer 50”);
the trailer sway variable includes at least one of the following two variables: a variable indicating behavior of a yaw angle of the articulated vehicle (Nakano, Para. 0033, 0052 – “information on the oscillating motion may include, for example, yaw rates… of trailer 50… and yaw rates and lateral accelerations of vehicle 10”), and a front-wheel steered angle variable (Nakano, Para. 0054 – “information on a front wheel steering angle 300”);
the front-wheel steered angle variable is a variable indicating a steered angle of a steered front wheel of the tractor (Nakano, Para. 0021-0024, 0054 – “information on a front wheel steering angle 300” commanded based on “angle information (angle signal) of steering wheel 13”); and
the non-transmission steering process is a process of steering the non-transmission steered wheel in accordance with the target steered angle set by the setting process (Nakano, Para. 0021, 0030-0031, 0041, 0050 – “steering control device 30 controls the front wheel steering angle and rear wheel steering angle of vehicle” by performing “trailer stabilization control to output the first steering angle command to front wheel steering device 14… and to output the second steering angle command to rear wheel steering device 16”, or target steered angles, for “operating the steering angle of front wheels 11, 11” and “rear wheels 12, 12 based on the command transmitted from steering control device 30”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano in view of Hauck, et al. (German Patent Application Pub. No. DE 10 2005 028 787 A1).
In regards to Claim 4, Nakano teaches the control device for the articulated vehicle of Claim 3, but Nakano does not teach wherein: the control device is configured to execute a tractor-side derivative acquisition process; the tractor-side derivative acquisition process is a process of acquiring a derivative of a yaw rate of the tractor, the derivative being a variable indicating the behavior of the yaw angle; and the setting process includes a process of correcting the base target value using the derivative of the yaw rate of the tractor as an input.
However, Hauck teaches wherein: the control device is configured to execute a tractor-side derivative acquisition process; the tractor-side derivative acquisition process is a process of acquiring a derivative of a yaw rate of the tractor, the derivative being a variable indicating the behavior of the yaw angle; and the setting process includes a process of correcting the base target value using the derivative of the yaw rate of the tractor as an input (Hauck, Para. 0030-0039 – “the driver can also be supported by active steering intervention in the event of trailer oscillations, which in this context refers to measures that result in a change in the steering angle at the vehicle wheels”, where “yaw rate” of the vehicle is obtained “via a corresponding sensor on the vehicle” and “yaw acceleration” is “obtained from the yaw velocity… by differentiation” for use in determining “the steering wheel angle required to compensate for trailer oscillations”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control device for the articulated vehicle of Nakano to include wherein: the control device is configured to execute a tractor-side derivative acquisition process; the tractor-side derivative acquisition process is a process of acquiring a derivative of a yaw rate of the tractor, the derivative being a variable indicating the behavior of the yaw angle; and the setting process includes a process of correcting the base target value using the derivative of the yaw rate of the tractor as an input, as taught by Hauck, in order to improve vehicle combination stability and “to better counteract stability-critical driving situations” (Hauck, Para. 0009).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano in view of Wu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2022/0026912).
In regards to Claim 5, Nakano teaches the control device for the articulated vehicle of Claim 3, but Nakano does not teach wherein: the control device is configured to execute a trailer-side derivative acquisition process; the trailer-side derivative acquisition process is a process of acquiring a derivative of a yaw rate of the trailer, the derivative being a variable indicating the behavior of the yaw angle; and the setting process includes a process of correcting the base target value using the derivative of the yaw rate of the trailer as an input.
However, Wu teaches wherein: the control device is configured to execute a trailer-side derivative acquisition process; the trailer-side derivative acquisition process is a process of acquiring a derivative of a yaw rate of the trailer, the derivative being a variable indicating the behavior of the yaw angle; and the setting process includes a process of correcting the base target value using the derivative of the yaw rate of the trailer as an input (Wu, Para. 0005-0006, 0027, 0035-0038, 0047 – “an autonomous driving operation of the autonomous vehicle” including “calculating values for a feedback controller” for minimizing “one or more errors associated with one or more commands provided by the feedback controller to compensate for the driving related disturbance” including obtaining input values such as “the angular velocity”, or yaw rate, “of a trailer unit of a semi-trailer truck” and performing derivations including deriving “trailer angular acceleration”; where the “feedback controller 202 can be considered a control system transfer function that can output a… steering command”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control device for the articulated vehicle of Nakano to include wherein: the control device is configured to execute a trailer-side derivative acquisition process; the trailer-side derivative acquisition process is a process of acquiring a derivative of a yaw rate of the trailer, the derivative being a variable indicating the behavior of the yaw angle; and the setting process includes a process of correcting the base target value using the derivative of the yaw rate of the trailer as an input, as taught by Wu, in order to improve tractor stability and compensate for disturbances.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ying, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2019/0001944) teaches a method for mitigating sway of a trailer being towed by a leading vehicle is disclosed. The method may involve using a controller of the vehicle to determine when a trailer sway condition has arisen that requires a mitigating action.
Miyata, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2013/0261841) teaches a motion stabilizer for a combined vehicle including a tractor and a trailer connected (swingably in a lateral direction) to the tractor.
/H.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/HUNTER B LONSBERRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665