DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suntharalingam US 2018/0356853 A1 (hereinafter “Suntharalingam”).
Regarding claim 1, Suntharalingam discloses a pedal device comprising:
a pedal having a pedal body (includes 203 and 205) and a pedal cap (201) arranged at a pedal cap-side end of the pedal body, the pedal cap is provided with a tread area (portion that is contacted by foot) forming a free end of the pedal,
a pedal holder (208) on which the pedal body is movably mounted in an axial direction (refer to z axis in FIG. 2),
at least one pedal spring (204) coupled to the pedal holder and the pedal body, and the pedal body is configured to move against a spring force of the at least one pedal spring in the axial direction relative to the pedal holder, and
a spring means (320, shown in one of the embodiments of FIGS. 3-5, ) provided between the tread area and the pedal body, and the tread area is configured to move against a spring force of the spring means in the axial direction relative to the pedal body.
Regarding claim 2, Suntharalingam discloses wherein the pedal cap is seated on a pedal plate provided on the pedal cap-side end of the pedal body and connected thereto.
Regarding claim 3, Suntharalingam discloses wherein the spring means is provided between the tread area and the pedal plate.
Regarding claim 12, Suntharalingam teaches wherein a position sensing device (206) that detects a current axial position of the pedal body relative to the pedal holder, the position sensing device configured to provide at least one position signal (232) characterizing the current axial position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suntharalingam in view of JP S58-162330 (hereinafter “JP ‘330”, cited in an IDS).
Regarding claim 4, Suntharalingam teaches the claimed invention except wherein the pedal cap includes a flexible material at least in areas.
JP ‘330 teaches the well-known concept of having an exterior surface of a pedal to be made of flexible material for various reasons including reducing vibrations, user comfort, and anti-slip properties.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Suntharalingam’s pedal cap with a flexible material as taught by JP ‘330 for providing reduced vibration to the pedal device.
Claims 5-8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suntharalingam in view of JP ‘330 or in view of DE 102014224377 A1 (hereinafter “DE ‘377”, cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 5, Suntharalingam teaches the claimed invention except wherein a cavity is formed in the pedal cap between the tread area and the pedal body, the spring means is located in the cavity.
JP ‘330 teaches a similar device that incorporates a cavity formed between a pedal cap and pedal body, and a spring means is located in the cavity (refer to embodiment of FIG. 2B).
Alternatively, DE ‘377 teaches a similar device that incorporates a cavity formed between a pedal cap and pedal body, and a spring means is located in the cavity (refer to embodiments of FIGS. 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Suntharalingam’s pedal cap to have a cavity structure as taught by JP ‘330 or DE ‘377 as a known variation of a pedal cap design, which also ensures members within cavity are sealed and protected.
Regarding claim 6, Suntharalingam teaches wherein the spring means is formed by at least one solid body (broadest reasonable interpretation includes any spring made of solid material) introduced into the cavity.
Regarding claim 7, Suntharalingam teaches the claimed invention except wherein the spring means is formed by a foam material introduced into the cavity. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use foam material since the examiner takes Official Notice of the equivalence of a spring and a foam material for their use in the pedal art and the selection of these known equivalence to restoring/damp spring members would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 8, Suntharalingam teaches the claimed invention except wherein the spring means is formed by one or more flexible projections extending into the cavity, the one or more flexible projections are spaced apart from one another.
JP ‘330 teaches projections (10) in FIG. 2 as a known variation of spring means. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute Suntharalingam’s spring means to include spaced apart projections of JP ‘330 in order to achieve the same predictable result of providing a restoring force.
Regarding claim 10, DE ‘377 (see also FIG. 2B of JP ‘330) teach wherein the pedal cap is provided with a wall region encircling the cavity, the wall region transitions at one axial end into the tread region and at another axial end into a fastening region, in which the pedal cap is fastened to the pedal body.
Regarding claim 11, JP ‘330 teaches at least wherein at least one groove (refer to FIG. 2B) is provided on an inner side of the fastening region facing the pedal body, in which the pedal body engages at least indirectly.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suntharalingam in view of JP ‘330 or in view of DE ‘377, and further in view of WO 2021/234421 A1 (hereinafter “WO ‘421”, cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 9, Suntharalingam teaches the claimed invention except wherein the spring means is formed by gas trapped in the cavity.
WO ‘421 shows a similar device wherein variation of a damping element may include at least one a foam member, an array of upwardly extending bristles, an array of downwardly extending bristles, an array of compressible hoops, an array of compressible sacs and an air filled or fluid filled balloon.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute Suntharalingam’s spring means with using an air-filled structure as taught by WO ‘421 in order to achieve the same predictable result of providing a restoring force.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suntharalingam in view of Diesner et al. DE 10347843 A1 (hereinafter “Diesner”, cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 13, Suntharalingam teaches the claimed invention except wherein the at least one pedal spring has one or more flat springs aligned transversely to the axial direction, the one or more flat springs are penetrated by the pedal body and resiliently support the pedal body in the axial direction on the pedal holder.
Diesner teaches use of flat leaf or diaphragm springs (30) to provide a restoring force to a pedal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace Suntharalingam’s at least one pedal spring with Diesner’s flat springs in order to achieve the same predictable result of providing a restoring force. The combination of references would make obvious providing a support means (similar to Diesner’s frame-10) to hold ends of the flats springs while the pedal body moves.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/LUIS A GONZALEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653