DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10 appears to be written in an independent form, yet also refers back to the other independent claim 1. In an interpretation, claim 10 may be construed as an independent claim; and in another interpretation it may also be construed as a dependent claim. In order to prevent any foreseeable ambiguity, it is suggested to bring the entire claim 1 into the claim 10 to have the claim construed as a proper independent claim; or, correct the dependency of the claim 10 (as shown in other depending claims e.g., claim 2, claim 3, etc.) to have the claim construed as a proper dependent claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a data input configured to receive first image data of a subject from a first X-ray imaging modality, receive at least one procedural parameter, and to provide a spatial registration of the first X-ray imaging modality and a second X-ray imaging modality of claim 1.
an output interface configured to provide the calculated positional data of claim 1.
The data input is disclosed in the specification on page five lines 11-14 as “the term "data input" relates to providing or supplying data for data processing steps. The data input can also be referred to as image data input. The data input can also be referred to as data supply, as image data supply, as image input, as input unit or simply as input. In an example, the image data input is data-connectable to an imaging source arrangement”. Therefore, the specification does not disclose structure for the data input to perform the claimed functions.
The output interface is disclosed in the specification on page five lines 19-23 as “the term "output interface" relates to an interface for providing the processed or computed data for further purposes. The output interface can also be referred to as output or output unit. In an example, the output interface is data-connectable to a display arrangement or display device. In another example, the output is data-connected to a display. As an example, the signals by the controller can be provided by the output interface”. Therefore, for examination purposes the “output interface” will be interpreted as a display.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the claim purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, but fails to recite a combination of elements as required by that statutory provision and thus cannot rely on the specification to provide the structure, material or acts to support the claimed functions of the data input of claim 1. As such, the claim recites a function that has no limits and covers every conceivable means for achieving the stated function, while the specification discloses at most only those means known to the inventor. Accordingly, the disclosure is not commensurate with the scope of the claim. Dependent claims are rejected due to their dependency on claim 1. Claim 10 incorporates the device of claim 1 therefore claims 10-12 are also rejected.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “a data input […] configured: to receive first image data of a subject from a first X-ray imaging modality […]; to receive at least one procedural parameter […]; and to provide a spatial registration of the first X-ray imaging modality and a second X-ray imaging modality” of claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification discloses on page five lines 11-14 “the term "data input" relates to providing or supplying data for data processing steps. The data input can also be referred to as image data input. The data input can also be referred to as data supply, as image data supply, as image input, as input unit or simply as input. In an example, the image data input is data-connectable to an imaging source arrangement”. Additionally, the data input is provided in the drawings as element 12 however it is only shown as a box therefore structure for the data input to perform the claimed functions is not provided in the specification or the drawings. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Dependent claims are also rejected due to their dependency. Claim 10 incorporates the device of claim 1 therefore claims 10-12 are also rejected.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-10, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruijters (US 20120183122) and further in view of Ozaki (US 5995581).
Regarding claim 1, Ruijters discloses a device for positioning a […] X-ray imaging system, the device (Abstract – “a method for positioning an X-ray image acquisition device”, [0043] – “existing medical viewing systems may be upgraded with a new software, which, when being executed on a processor, causes the system to carry out the above-mentioned method”) comprising:
a data input ([0052] – “sends data to a data processing unit or a calculation unit 18”);
a data processor ([0052] – “sends data to a data processing unit or a calculation unit 18”); and
an output interface ([0052] – “a display unit 20”);
wherein the data input is configured: to receive first image data of a subject from a first X-ray imaging modality of the […] X-ray imaging system ([0016] – “it is assumed that a three-dimensional reconstruction of the pathological structure to be examined is present. Usually, this three-dimensional reconstruction is pre-operatively obtained through one or several methods…a CT or MR scan or the such for diagnostic purposes and treatment planning may be used for this purpose”); to receive at least one procedural parameter relating to a current interventional medical procedure of the subject ([0016] – “[0016] – “a CT or MR scan or the such for diagnostic purposes and treatment planning may be used for this purpose”, it can be interpreted the treatment planning would include a procedural parameter relating to a current interventional medical procedure, [0030]); and to provide a spatial registration of the first X-ray imaging modality and a second X-ray imaging modality of the […] X-ray imaging system ([0068] – “In order to match the acquired three-dimensional data set and the patient actually positioned on a table of the X-ray image acquisition device the planning and pathology space are registered 48”), the second X-ray imaging modality being different than the first X-ray imaging modality ([0016] – “it is assumed that a three-dimensional reconstruction of the pathological structure to be examined is present. Usually, this three-dimensional reconstruction is pre-operatively obtained through one or several methods…a CT or MR scan or the such for diagnostic purposes and treatment planning may be used for this purpose”, [0025] – “the three-dimensional dataset and the live two-dimensional fluoroscopy images are aligned with each other”);
wherein the data processor is configured: to determine anatomical parameters of the subject in the first image data ([0030] – “pathology anatomical structure to be examined may be characterized by a pathology outline which is a closed trajectory through the three-dimensional space”); and to calculate positional data for the second X-ray imaging modality for generating second image data of the subject with the second X-ray imaging modality ([0054] – “a data processor and preferably a storage means for storing the optimal viewing directions is provided as well as a related software that leads one program element for automatically position the X-ray image acquisition device”), the positional data including first positional data for an imaging device of the second imaging modality ([0054] – “automatically position the X-ray image acquisition device”) and,
wherein the positional data is based on the determined anatomical parameters, the procedural parameter and the provided spatial relation ([0055] – “it has to be taken care, that the stent 28 does not cover the ostias 26. Therefore, a perpendicular viewing direction on the aorta 24, which means viewing directly perpendicular to the aorta's wall, can be considered an optimal viewing direction”, [0068] – “In order to match the acquired three-dimensional data set and the patient actually positioned on a table of the X-ray image acquisition device the planning and pathology space are registered 48”); and
wherein the output interface is configured: to provide the calculated positional data for generating the second image data of the subject by the second X-ray imaging modality ([0065 – “After defining/creating 42 a plane and defining/creating 44 a center point on the plane according to the outline 32 of the pathology to be examined optimal viewing directions may be found and then stored 46”, [0036] – “the surgeon selects a stored optimal viewing direction on an appropriate user interface”).
Conversely Ruijters does not teach a dual-modality X-ray imaging system,
second positional data for a subject support of the second imaging modality.
However Ozaki discloses a dual-modality X-ray imaging system (See Fig. 2, Abstract – “The system also comprises an X-ray CT scanner, coupled with x-ray fluoroscopy apparatus”),
second positional data for a subject support of the second imaging modality (Col. 4 lines 25-27 – “A couchtop 4a is placed on the top of the patient couch 4A while being supported so that the couchtop 4a can slide in its longitudinal Z-direction”, Col. 4 lines 33-37 – “Sliding the couchtop 4a provides the diagnostic X-ray system 1 having multi-functions, where a patient P can be freely transported from the zone of the X-ray fluoroscopy apparatus 2 to the zone of the X-ray CT scanner 3, and vice versa”, Col. 4 lines 63-65 – “In the X-ray fluoroscopy apparatus 2, the support 10 is capable of traveling the entire C-arm 11 at least three-dimensionally in the X-, Y- and Z-directions”, Col. 5 lines 13-15 – “the couchtop 4a that has slid to a given imaging position in the X-ray fluoroscopy apparatus 2”).
Ozaki is an analogous art considering it is in the field of a performing both X-ray CT and x-ray fluoroscopy.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Ruijters to incorporate the dual-modality X-ray imaging system with first and second positional data of Ozaki to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because by combining the modalities it saves space and allows the patient to remain on the couchtop between imaging procedures which may lead to more accurate registration.
Regarding claim 2, Ruijters and Ozaki disclose all of the elements of the claimed invention as cited above in claim 1.
Ruijters further discloses wherein the first image data is X-ray CT imaging data ([0016] – “it is assumed that a three-dimensional reconstruction of the pathological structure to be examined is present. Usually, this three-dimensional reconstruction is pre-operatively obtained through one or several methods…a CT or MR scan or the such for diagnostic purposes and treatment planning may be used for this purpose”); and
wherein the second image data is X-ray C-arm imaging data ([0025] – “the three-dimensional dataset and the live two-dimensional fluoroscopy images are aligned with each other”, see Fig. 1, [0053] – “The X-ray image acquisition device comprises an arm in form of a C”), and the first positional data comprises position data of an X-ray C-arm imaging device of the second X-ray imaging modality ([0005] – “adjust the X-ray imaging apparatus so that the desired viewing angle can be achieved”, [0053] – “The X-ray image acquisition device comprises an arm in form of a C”).
Regarding claim 3, Ruijters and Ozaki disclose all of the elements of the claimed invention as cited above in claim 1.
Ruijters further discloses wherein the first image data is used for generating navigational information used during the current interventional medical procedure ([0003] – “an image shows the advance of a guide wire, a catheter, stents, coils or needles on a single image in real-time”, [0016] – “it is assumed that a three-dimensional reconstruction of the pathological structure to be examined is present. Usually, this three-dimensional reconstruction is pre-operatively obtained through one or several methods…a CT or MR scan or the such for diagnostic purposes and treatment planning may be used for this purpose”, if the procedure includes advancement of a guide wire, a catheter, stents, coils or needles it would be obvious for the treatment planning to include navigational information for the interventional medical procedure).
Regarding claim 4, Ruijters and Ozaki disclose all of the elements of the claimed invention as cited above in claim 1.
Ruijters further discloses wherein the at least one procedural parameter comprises information about a selected or current medical procedure ([0003] – “an image shows the advance of a guide wire, a catheter, stents, coils or needles on a single image in real-time”, [0016] – “[0016] – “a CT or MR scan or the such for diagnostic purposes and treatment planning may be used for this purpose”, it can be interpreted the treatment planning would include a procedural parameter relating to a current interventional medical procedure, [0030]).
Regarding claim 5, Ruijters and Ozaki disclose all of the elements of the claimed invention as cited above in claim 1.
Ruijters further discloses wherein the calculated first positional data for the second imaging modality comprises at least two imaging positions of the imaging device for an imaging procedure according to the defined procedural parameter ([0019] – “more than one viewing direction may be stored to guide different aspects within a single treatment”, [0036] – “the surgeon selects a stored optimal viewing direction”).
Regarding claim 7, Ruijters and Ozaki disclose all of the elements of the claimed invention as cited above in claims 1 and 5.
Ruijters further discloses wherein a user interface is provided configured to receive a selection of one of the at least two imaging positions and/or one of the at least two table positions ([0019] – “more than one viewing direction may be stored to guide different aspects within a single treatment”, [0036] – “the surgeon selects a stored optimal viewing direction on an appropriate user interface”), wherein the user interface is further configured to provide the selected imaging position and/or the selected table position to the second X-ray imaging modality ([0036] – “the surgeon selects a stored optimal viewing direction on an appropriate user interface”, [0012] – “selection of at least one optimal viewing angle…and an automatic adjustment of the X-ray image acquisition device to meet these desired viewing angles”).
Regarding claim 9, Ruijters and Ozaki disclose all of the elements of the claimed invention as cited above in claim 1.
Ruijters further discloses wherein the anatomical parameters are determined based on a segmentation of the first image data ([0030] – “the pathology anatomical structure to be examined may be characterized by a pathology outline…This outline may be determined by segmenting the pathology anatomical structure”); and
wherein the data processor is configured to segment the first image data ([0025] – “the segmentation may be generated automatically”).
Regarding claim 10, Ruijters discloses a medical […] imaging system for generating first and second type of X-ray image data of a subject (Fig. 1, [0016] – “it is assumed that a three-dimensional reconstruction of the pathological structure to be examined is present. Usually, this three-dimensional reconstruction is pre-operatively obtained through one or several methods…a CT or MR scan or the such for diagnostic purposes and treatment planning may be used for this purpose”, Abstract – “positioning an X-ray image acquisition device a straight reference plane (30) intersecting a three-dimensional representation of the object”), the system comprising:
a first X-ray imaging modality ([0016] – “it is assumed that a three-dimensional reconstruction of the pathological structure to be examined is present. Usually, this three-dimensional reconstruction is pre-operatively obtained through one or several methods…a CT or MR scan or the such for diagnostic purposes and treatment planning may be used for this purpose”);
a second X-ray imaging modality ([0025] – “the three-dimensional dataset and the live two-dimensional fluoroscopy images are aligned with each other”); and
a device according to claim 1 (as cited above Ruijters and Ozaki teach the device of claim 1);
wherein the first X-ray imaging modality and the second X-ray imaging modality provide different image acquisition techniques ([0016] – “it is assumed that a three-dimensional reconstruction of the pathological structure to be examined is present. Usually, this three-dimensional reconstruction is pre-operatively obtained through one or several methods…a CT or MR scan or the such for diagnostic purposes and treatment planning may be used for this purpose”, [0025] – “the three-dimensional dataset and the live two-dimensional fluoroscopy images are aligned with each other”);
wherein the first X-ray imaging modality provides the first image data of the subject ([0016] – “it is assumed that a three-dimensional reconstruction of the pathological structure to be examined is present. Usually, this three-dimensional reconstruction is pre-operatively obtained through one or several methods…a CT or MR scan or the such for diagnostic purposes and treatment planning may be used for this purpose”); and
wherein the second X-ray imaging modality is configured to generate the second image data based on the calculated positional data ([0054] – “a data processor and preferably a storage means for storing the optimal viewing directions is provided as well as a related software that leads one program element for automatically position the X-ray image acquisition device”, [0053] – “the image detection module 16 generates images by exposing this subject to X-ray radiation, wherein said images are further processed in the calculation unit 18”).
Conversely Ruijters does not teach a medical dual-modality imaging system.
However Ozaki discloses a medical dual-modality imaging system (See Fig. 2, Abstract – “The system also comprises an X-ray CT scanner, coupled with x-ray fluoroscopy apparatus”),
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Ruijters to incorporate the dual-modality X-ray imaging system of Ozaki to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because by combining the modalities it saves space and allows the patient to remain on the couchtop between imaging procedures which may lead to more accurate registration.
Regarding claim 12, Ruijters and Ozaki disclose all of the elements of the claimed invention as cited above in claim 10.
Conversely Ruijters does not teach wherein a movable subject support is provided; and
wherein for the relative positioning of the second imaging modality, the subject support is configured for a movement of the subject when the subject is arranged on the subject support, and
wherein the subject support is configured to be moved based on the calculated second positional data.
However Ozaki discloses wherein a movable subject support is provided (Col. 4 lines 47-52 – “The couch control unit 4B controls the couch driving unit 4b on the basis of a sliding position (target value) sent from the CPU of the console 5 and a detected sliding position indicative of a current sliding position (actual value). Additionally, the patient couch 4A is also adjustable concerning its height”); and
wherein for the relative positioning of the second imaging modality, the subject support is configured for a movement of the subject when the subject is arranged on the subject support (Col. 5 lines 13-15 – “the couchtop 4a that has slid to a given imaging position in the X-ray fluoroscopy apparatus 2”), and
wherein the subject support is configured to be moved based on the calculated second positional data (Col. 5 lines 13-15 – “the couchtop 4a that has slid to a given imaging position in the X-ray fluoroscopy apparatus 2”, Col. 7 lines 3-9 – “the couch control unit 4B controls driving of the couch driving unit 4b according to position information detected by the slide sensor 4c, whereby the patient P (couchtop 4a) is positioned at a given scan position (a position at which the lesion is at least included in a fluoroscopy range) for X-ray fluoroscopy by the X-ray fluoroscopy apparatus 2”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Ruijters to incorporate the dual-modality X-ray imaging system with a moveable patient support of Ozaki to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because by combining the modalities it saves space and allows the patient to remain on the couchtop between imaging procedures which may lead to more accurate registration.
Regarding claims 13-15, Ruijters discloses a method for determining imaging parameters (Abstract – “method for positioning an X-ray image acquisition device a straight reference plane (30) intersecting a three-dimensional representation of the object”, [0019] – “deriving from a three-dimensional dataset one or more optimal viewing directions”), the method comprising: [claim 13]
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored a computer program comprising instructions to perform a method ([0040] – “a computer-readable medium on which there is stored a computer program for…controlling exemplary embodiments of the above-described method”) comprising: [claim 14]
a processor ([0039] – “The medical viewing system comprises a data processing device adapted to conduct the above-described method steps”) configured to: [claim 15]
receiving first image data of a subject from a first X-ray imaging modality ([0016] – “it is assumed that a three-dimensional reconstruction of the pathological structure to be examined is present. Usually, this three-dimensional reconstruction is pre-operatively obtained through one or several methods…a CT or MR scan or the such for diagnostic purposes and treatment planning may be used for this purpose”);
determining anatomical parameters of the subject in the first image data ([0030] – “pathology anatomical structure to be examined may be characterized by a pathology outline which is a closed trajectory through the three-dimensional space”);
receiving at least one procedural parameter relating to a current interventional medical procedure of the subject ([0016] – “[0016] – “a CT or MR scan or the such for diagnostic purposes and treatment planning may be used for this purpose”, it can be interpreted the treatment planning would include a procedural parameter relating to a current interventional medical procedure, [0030]);
providing a spatial registration of the first X-ray imaging modality and a second X- ray imaging modality ([0068] – “In order to match the acquired three-dimensional data set and the patient actually positioned on a table of the X-ray image acquisition device the planning and pathology space are registered 48”), the second X-ray imaging modality being different than the first X-ray imaging modality ([0016] – “it is assumed that a three-dimensional reconstruction of the pathological structure to be examined is present. Usually, this three-dimensional reconstruction is pre-operatively obtained through one or several methods…a CT or MR scan or the such for diagnostic purposes and treatment planning may be used for this purpose”, [0025] – “the three-dimensional dataset and the live two-dimensional fluoroscopy images are aligned with each other”);
calculating positional data for the second X-ray imaging modality for generating current image data with the second imaging modality ([0054] – “a data processor and preferably a storage means for storing the optimal viewing directions is provided as well as a related software that leads one program element for automatically position the X-ray image acquisition device”), the positional data including first positional data for an imaging device of the second imaging modality ([0054] – “automatically position the X-ray image acquisition device”), the positional data including first positional data for an imaging device of the second imaging modality ([0054] – “automatically position the X-ray image acquisition device”)and […]; wherein the positional data is based on the determined anatomical parameters, the procedural parameter and the provided spatial relation ([0055] – “it has to be taken care, that the stent 28 does not cover the ostias 26. Therefore, a perpendicular viewing direction on the aorta 24, which means viewing directly perpendicular to the aorta's wall, can be considered an optimal viewing direction”, [0068] – “In order to match the acquired three-dimensional data set and the patient actually positioned on a table of the X-ray image acquisition device the planning and pathology space are registered 48”); and
providing the calculated positional data for generating second image data of the subject by the second X-ray imaging modality ([0065] – “After defining/creating 42 a plane and defining/creating 44 a center point on the plane according to the outline 32 of the pathology to be examined optimal viewing directions may be found and then stored 46”, [0036] – “the surgeon selects a stored optimal viewing direction on an appropriate user interface”).
Conversely Ruijters does not teach second positional data for a subject support of the second imaging modality.
However Ozaki discloses second positional data for a subject support of the second imaging modality (Col. 4 lines 25-27 – “A couchtop 4a is placed on the top of the patient couch 4A while being supported so that the couchtop 4a can slide in its longitudinal Z-direction”, Col. 4 lines 33-37 – “Sliding the couchtop 4a provides the diagnostic X-ray system 1 having multi-functions, where a patient P can be freely transported from the zone of the X-ray fluoroscopy apparatus 2 to the zone of the X-ray CT scanner 3, and vice versa”, Col. 4 lines 63-65 – “In the X-ray fluoroscopy apparatus 2, the support 10 is capable of traveling the entire C-arm 11 at least three-dimensionally in the X-, Y- and Z-directions”, Col. 5 lines 13-15 – “the couchtop 4a that has slid to a given imaging position in the X-ray fluoroscopy apparatus 2”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Ruijters to incorporate the dual-modality X-ray imaging system with first and second positional data of Ozaki to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because by combining the modalities it saves space and allows the patient to remain on the couchtop between imaging procedures which may lead to more accurate registration.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruijters (US 20120183122) and Ozaki (US 5995581) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ruijters (US 20200093447) hereinafter Ruijters 2020.
Regarding claim 6, Ruijters and Ozaki disclose all of the elements of the claimed invention as cited above in claim 1.
Ruiters discloses at least two imaging positions of the imaging device for the second imaging modality in an imaging procedure according to the defined procedural parameter ([0019] – “more than one viewing direction may be stored to guide different aspects within a single treatment”, [0036] – “the surgeon selects a stored optimal viewing direction”).
Conversely Ruiters does not teach wherein the calculated second positional data comprises at least two table positions for a patient table as the subject support in an imaging procedure.
However Ozaki discloses the calculated second positional data (Col. 4 lines 25-27 – “A couchtop 4a is placed on the top of the patient couch 4A while being supported so that the couchtop 4a can slide in its longitudinal Z-direction”, Col. 4 lines 33-37 – “Sliding the couchtop 4a provides the diagnostic X-ray system 1 having multi-functions, where a patient P can be freely transported from the zone of the X-ray fluoroscopy apparatus 2 to the zone of the X-ray CT scanner 3, and vice versa”, Col. 4 lines 63-65 – “In the X-ray fluoroscopy apparatus 2, the support 10 is capable of traveling the entire C-arm 11 at least three-dimensionally in the X-, Y- and Z-directions”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Ruijters to incorporate the dual-modality X-ray imaging system with first and second positional data of Ozaki to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because by combining the modalities it saves space and allows the patient to remain on the couchtop between imaging procedures and the couchtop positioning may lead to more accurate positioning for the second modality imaging.
Conversely Ruiters and Ozaki do not teach wherein the calculated second positional data comprises at least two table positions for a patient table as the subject support in an imaging procedure.
However Ruijters 2020 discloses wherein the calculated second positional data comprises at least two table positions for a patient table as the subject support in an imaging procedure ([0018] – “selecting at least one iso-centering image from the scout at least one of the position parameters of the scout images and a corresponding position parameter representing a present position of the apparatus, for example, positions of units of the apparatus such as a C-arm and the patient support unit”, one with ordinary skill in the art one find it obvious that the scout images may have different position parameters including the position of the patient support unit).
Ruijters 2020 is an analogous art considering it is in the field of a C-arm x-ray apparatus.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Ruijters to incorporate the second positional data comprising at least two table positions of Ruijters 2020 to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because “in order to reduce dose to sensitive organs, for example the eyes in a head scan, it may also be possible to change the axis of rotation of a C-arm with respect to the orientation of the patient, in addition to positioning the patient in x-, y-, and z-direction” (Ruijters 2020 [0059]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruijters (US 20120183122) and Ozaki (US 5995581) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dirkes (US 20160213329).
Regarding claim 8, Ruijters and Ozaki disclose all of the elements of the claimed invention as cited above in claim 1.
Conversely Ruijters does not teach wherein a database is provided with stored predefined optimized viewing directions for selected medical procedures and selected anatomical scenarios.
However Dirkes discloses wherein a database is provided with stored predefined optimized viewing directions for selected medical procedures and selected anatomical scenarios ([0016] – “automatically align the spatial position of the x-ray emitter in accordance with anatomical structures to be recorded. In the process, a table or database can be stored, which specifies the ideal alignment of the x-ray emitter relative to a predetermined structure”).
Dirkes is an analogous art considering it is in the field of a C-arm x-ray apparatus.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Ruijters to incorporate the database provided with stored predefined optimized viewing directions of Dirkes to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because “enables more reliable positioning of the recording field and more reliable alignment of the x-ray beam axis.” (Dirkes [0004]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruijters (US 20120183122) and Ozaki (US 5995581) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Akira (JP4564119B2) machine translation.
Regarding claim 11, Ruijters and Ozaki disclose all of the elements of the claimed invention as cited above in claim 10.
Ruijters further discloses having […] a C-arm X-ray imaging device with a movably mounted C-arm as the second X-ray imaging modality (Abstract – “optimal viewing directions may be made available by a single push of a button, leading to automatically positioning of the X-ray image acquisition device”, [0053] – “The X-ray image acquisition device comprises an arm in form of a C where the detection module 16 is arranged at one end of the C-arm”, [0016] – “this three-dimensional reconstruction is pre-operatively obtained through one or several methods…a CT or MR scan or the such for diagnostic purposes and treatment planning may be used for this purpose”)
wherein the C-arm is configured to be moved based on the calculated first positional data (Abstract – “optimal viewing directions may be made available by a single push of a button, leading to automatically positioning of the X-ray image acquisition device”, [0053] – “The X-ray image acquisition device comprises an arm in form of a C where the detection module 16 is arranged at one end of the C-arm”).
Conversely Ruijters does not teach wherein the medical dual-modality imaging system is an angio-CT hybrid imaging system having an X-ray CT imaging device with a movable gantry as the first X-ray imaging modality and […],
wherein a common spatial coordinate system is provided to which the X-ray CT imaging device and the C-arm X-ray imaging device are linked.
However Ozaki discloses wherein the medical dual-modality imaging system is an angio-CT hybrid imaging system (Col. 2 lines 59-62 – “the X-ray fluoroscopy apparatus is an X-ray TV system for cardiovascular examination constituting an interventional radiology (IVR)-CT/angiography system in conjunction with the X-ray CT scanner”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Ruijters to incorporate the dual-modality X-ray imaging system of Ozaki to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because by combining the modalities it saves space and allows the patient to remain on the couchtop between imaging procedures which may lead to more accurate registration.
Conversely Ruijters and Ozaki do not teach imaging system having an X-ray CT imaging device with a movable gantry as the first X-ray imaging modality and […],
wherein a common spatial coordinate system is provided to which the X-ray CT imaging device and the C-arm X-ray imaging device are linked.
However Akira discloses imaging system having an X-ray CT imaging device with a movable gantry as the first X-ray imaging modality ([0018] – “the CT stand G moves in a direction (front-to-back direction) that allows the patient bed 1 to be introduced into or led out of its cavity H”) and […],
wherein a common spatial coordinate system is provided to which the X-ray CT imaging device and the C-arm X-ray imaging device are linked ([0037] – “if the control device C determines, based on the absolute coordinate values output from the AE10, that the C-arm 3 and the CT mount G are likely to interfere with each other, the control device C will act on the power source of the CT mount G”).
Akira is an analogous art considering it is in the field of a performing both X-ray CT and imaging with a c-arm.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Ruijters to incorporate the dual-modality X-ray imaging system with a moveable gantry and a common coordinate system of Akira to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because “if the control device C determines, based on the absolute coordinate values output from the AE10, that the C-arm 3 and the CT mount G are likely to interfere with each other, the control device C will act on the power source of the CT mount G to turn it OFF…a collision with the C-arm 3 is prevented” (Akira [0037]).
Conclusion
/R.C.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/JOSEPH M SANTOS RODRIGUEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797