DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Drawings
Figures 1 - 5 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated as evidenced at Paragraphs [0054] through [0058]. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
At the last 3 lines of Paragraph [00118] and last three lines of Paragraph [00119]: the descriptions that the distance D4 is greater/less than distance D3 requires review and revision because D4 and D3 in Figure 9C are shown as equal (i.e. not greater) and D4 and D3 are described in Paragraph [00120] has having a “difference” (i.e. not equal). In other words, D4 and D3 cannot be equal and at the same time be greater or lesser. Pleaser review the Specification in light of Figure 9C to provide corrections.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 17 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
At Line 3 of Claim 17: the first recitation of “Ǻ” requires revision to - - Ǻ (angstrom) - - to ensure clarity of the claimed subject matter. Also, at Line 4 of Claim 17: the first recitation “
µ
m
"
requires revision to - -
µ
m
m
i
c
r
o
m
e
t
e
r
s
-
-
to ensure clarity of the claimed subject matter.
At Line 2 of Claim 18: the recitation of “60°” requires revision to - - 60° (degrees) - - to ensure clarity of the claimed subject matter.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 14 and 16 recite the limitations “the touch electrodes” at Line 7 of Claim 14 and Line 4 of Claim 16 where there is insufficient antecedent basis for said limitations because no “touch electrodes” are introduced in the chains of dependency of Claim 14 or Claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lan et al. (United States Patent Application Publication US 2023/0299091 A1), hereinafter referenced as Lan.
Regarding Claim 1, Lan discloses “A display substrate” (Figure 1, Item 100 ‘substrate’, and Paragraph [0027], Lines 1 – 2 of paragraph), “comprising: a display area” (Figure 1, Item ‘DA’, and Paragraph [0027], Line 2 of paragraph (Notice that display region DA provides a display area.)), “a fan-out area located on one side of the display area” (Figures 1 and 3A, Item RR ‘fan-out area’, and Paragraph [0049], Lines 3 – 4 of paragraph (Notice the region RR is a fan-out area to the bottom side of the display area DA shown in Figure 1.)), “multiple display fan-out lines and multiple touch fan-out lines are provided in the fan-out area” (Figure 3A, Items DL ‘data line’ and TP ‘touch signal line’, and Paragraph [0048], Lines 9 – 11 (Notice that multiple display fan-out lines DL and multiple touch fan-out lines TP are provided in the fan-out area RR.)), “the display fan-out lines and the touch fan-out lines are electrically connected to a driver chip respectively” (Figure 3B and Paragraph [0027], Lines 5 – 15 of paragraph (Notice that display fan-out lines DL and touch fan-out lines TP bonded to at least an integrated circuit or chip that provided driving electronic signals.)), “wherein in a direction perpendicular to a plane where a base of the display substrate is located, a distance between at least some of the touch fan-out lines and the base” (Figure 3C (Notice that the four (i.e. 2 rightmost and 2 leftmost) touch fan-out lines TP when the label ‘FIG. 3C’ is read from left to right are a distance between the topmost layer in which TP’s are disposed and the base of substrate 100.)), “is substantially equal to a distance between the display fan-out lines and the base” (Figure 3C (Notice that the two, leftmost display fan-out lines DL-2 have portions in said topmost layer such that said two, leftmost display fan-out lines DL-2 have a distance from the base that is substantially equal to said distance between said four touch fan-out lines TP.)).
Regarding Claim 2, Lan discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Lan discloses “wherein the touch fan-out lines comprise first-type touch fan-out lines and second-type touch fan-out lines” (Figure 3C (Notice the 2 rightmost touch fan-out lines TP provide first-type touch fan-out lines and the 2 leftmost touch fan-out lines TP provide second-type touch fan-out lines.)), “orthogonal projections of the display fan-out lines and orthogonal projections of the first-type touch fan-out lines on the base do not overlap with each other” (Figure 3C (Notice that said two, leftmost display fan-out lines DL-1 have orthogonal projections onto the base of substrate 100 that do no overlap with orthogonal projections of the two, rightmost touch fan-out lines TP on said base.)), “and the orthogonal projections of the display fan-out lines and the orthogonal projections of the second-type touch fan-out lines on the base overlap with each other” (Figure 3C (Notice that said two, leftmost display fan-out lines DL-1 have orthogonal projections onto the base of substrate 100 that do overlap with orthogonal projections of the two, leftmost touch fan-out lines TP on said base.)).
Regarding Claim 3, Lan discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 2). In addition, Lan discloses “wherein a minimum distance between the first-type touch fan-out lines and the base is substantially equal to a minimum distance between the display fan-out lines and the base” (Figure 3C (Notice that a minimum distance between the two, rightmost touch fan-out lines serving as the first-type touch fan-out lines and the base (from the top of the layer in which TP’s are made to the top of the base) is substantially equal to the portions of the two, leftmost DL-2’s that share the TP layer (from the top of the layer in which TP’s are made to the top of the base.)), “and a minimum distance between the second-type touch fan-out lines and the base is less than the minimum distance between the display fan-out lines and the base” Figure 3C (Notice that a minimum distance between the two, leftmost touch fan-out lines serving as the second-type touch fan-out lines and the base (from the bottom of the layer in which TP’s are made to the top of the base) is less than the portions of the two, leftmost DL-2’s that share the TP layer (from the top of the layer in which TP’s are made to the top of the base.)).
Regarding Claim 4, Lan discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 2). In addition, Lan discloses “wherein a minimum distance between the first-type touch fan-out lines and the base is substantially equal to a minimum distance between the display fan-out lines and the base” (Figure 3C (Notice that a minimum distance between the two, rightmost touch fan-out lines serving as the first-type touch fan-out lines and the base (from the top of the layer in which TP’s are made to the top of the base) is substantially equal to the portions of the two, leftmost DL-2’s that share the TP layer (from the top of the layer in which TP’s are made to the top of the base.)), “and a minimum distance between the second-type touch fan-out lines and the base is greater than the minimum distance between the display fan-out lines and the base” Figure 3C (Notice that a minimum distance between the two, leftmost touch fan-out lines serving as the second-type touch fan-out lines and the base (from the top of the layer in which TP’s are made to the top of the base) is greater than portions of the two, leftmost DL-2’s that do not share the TP layer (under the layer in which TP’s (the layer in which DL’s exist) are made to the top of the base.)).
Regarding Claim 20, Lan discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Lan discloses “A display panel, comprising the display substrate according to claim 1 (Refer back to the argument regarding the limitations of Claim 1 and notice the display substrate of Lan is a part of the display of panel form shown in Figure 3C.)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 – 13, 15, and 17 - 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Note that the Objections to Claims 17 – 18 must also be overcome to place each of Claim 17 and 18 in condition for allowance.
In the prior art of record, it has been shown to provide for the limitations of Claim 1 from which Claim 19 is directly dependent and to provide for the limitations of Claim 3 from which Claims 5 – 18 are directly or indirectly dependent. However, it has not been shown in the prior art of record to provide for the limitations of Claim 19 in combination with those of Claim 1 or to provide for the limitations of Claims 5 – 18 in combination with those of Claim 3 through each separate chain of claim dependency.
Conclusion
/BRIAN M BUTCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627 September 24, 2026