DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 10 - 13, 17, and 19 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is indefinite because it is unclear what method step or material modification thereof is intended by “the first score remains the same or increases as the amount of accumulated tau protein in the first region of the subject's brain increases, and the second score remains the same or increases as the amount of accumulated tau protein in the second region of the subject's brain increases”. It is unclear if the claim requires a method step of ‘increasing the amount of accumulated tau protein in the first region of the subject's brain’ and keeping the first score the same or increasing it’, for example.
Claim 10 is indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the golden time”. The limitation has not been recited in the dependency chain of claim 10. It is unclear what is being referred to.
Claim 12 is indefinite because “second time” is improper ordinal numbering, as no first time has been recited in the dependency chain of claim 12. It is unclear how many times are required. Similar logic applies to the “third” and “fourth” times, as well as the “second threshold”.
Claim 17 is indefinite because “third threshold value” is improper ordinal numbering, as no second threshold value has been recited in the dependency chain of claim 17. It is unclear how many thresholds are required.
Claim 19 is indefinite because “second threshold value” is improper ordinal numbering, as no first threshold value has been recited in the dependency chain of claim 19. It is unclear how many thresholds are required.
Claim 20 is indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by “based on the amount of accumulated tau protein in the first region of the subject's brain based on the amount of accumulated tau protein in the first region of the subject's brain”. The logic appears to be circular, rendering the require basis unclear. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as containing superfluous repetitive text.
Note: dependent claims that are listed in the rejection header above as being rejected while not having been specifically addressed are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is directed to a computer program, which is software per se. Examiner suggests amending the claim to be directed to a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium that stores the program.
Claims 1 - 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a mental-process type abstract idea) without significantly more.
Independent claim 1:
With regard to Step 1, the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., a method of providing treatment-related prediction information for Alzheimer's disease.
With regard to Step 2A: Prong 1, the claim recites limitations directed towards:
determining an amount of accumulated tau protein in a first region of the subject's brain based on the scan image; and
calculating a first score associated with a need for treatment of Alzheimer's disease in the subject based on the amount of accumulated tau protein in the first region of the subject's brain.
As drafted, these limitations amount to nothing more than steps that can practically be performed in the human mind and/or with the aid of pen/paper. Therefore, the limitations recite a mental-process type abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).
With regard to Step 2A: Prong 2, the claim recites additional elements involving:
receiving a brain scan image of a subject, which is extra-solution activity (i.e., data gathering); and
that a processor performs the mental step, which amounts to no more than an instruction to implement the judicial exception on a computer.
Therefore, the recited additional elements do not, either individually or as a whole, integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With regard to Step 2B, as explained above, the additional limitations are directed towards extra-solution activity and an instruction to implement the judicial exception on a computer. Therefore, when considered separately and in combination, the additional limitations do not result in the claim, as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Independent claim 20:
The claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a mental-process type abstract idea) without significantly more for reasons similar to those of claim 1.
Independent claim 21:
With regard to Step 1, the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., an apparatus.
With regard to Step 2A: Prong 1, the claim recites limitations directed towards:
determining an amount of accumulated tau protein in a first region of the subject's brain based on the scan image; and
calculating a first score associated with a need for treatment of Alzheimer's disease in the subject based on the amount of accumulated tau protein in the first region of the subject's brain.
As drafted, these limitations amount to nothing more than steps that can practically be performed in the human mind and/or with the aid of pen/paper. Therefore, the limitations recite a mental-process type abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).
With regard to Step 2A: Prong 2, the claim recites additional elements involving:
receiving a brain scan image of a subject, which is extra-solution activity (i.e., data gathering);
a memory, and a processor that performs the mental step, which amounts to no more than an instruction to implement the judicial exception on a computer;
a communication module, which is generic hardware for extra-solution activity.
Therefore, the recited additional elements do not, either individually or as a whole, integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With regard to Step 2B, as explained above, the additional limitations are directed towards extra-solution activity and an instruction to implement the judicial exception on a computer. Therefore, when considered separately and in combination, the additional limitations do not result in the claim, as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claims:
claim 2 recites further calculations that read on a mental step. The claim also recites that the first region and the second region are different regions, which merely limits the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
claim 3 recites “the first score remains the same or increases as the amount of accumulated tau protein in the first region of the subject's brain increases, and the second score remains the same or increases as the amount of accumulated tau protein in the second region of the subject's brain increases” which encompasses a law of nature and/or natural phenomenon. Alternatively the limitations merely limit the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
claims 4 - 11 and 17 - 19 recite further calculations, determinations, predictions, and/or identifications that read on mental steps.
claims 12 - 13 recite details of the calculations, which merely further limit the judicial exceptions and do not prevent the steps from being performed mentally and/or with the aid of pen/paper
claims 14 - 16 recite characterizations that merely limit the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Therefore, when considered separately and in combination, the additional limitations do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, or result in the dependent claims amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seeley et al. (WO 2022/072738, of record).
Regarding claims 1, 20, and 21, Seeley shows a system configured to perform a method of providing treatment-related prediction information for Alzheimer's disease. The system comprises a communication module (communication interfaces, page 74, bottom par.) and a processor (computer, page 74, bottom par.) configured by instructions in memory to:
receive a brain scan image of a subject (imaging a brain of the subject, claim 1),
determine an amount of accumulated tau protein in a first region of the subject's brain based on the scan image (analyzing tau protein deposition in at least one region within the brain of the subject, claim 1), and
calculate a first score associated with a need for treatment of Alzheimer's disease in the subject based on the amount of accumulated tau protein in the first region of the subject's brain (“first normalized score … tau protein deposition in a first region of the brain”, claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, Seeley discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Seeley further shows determining an amount of accumulated tau protein in a second region of the subject's brain based on the scan image; and calculating a second score associated with efficacy of the treatment of Alzheimer's disease in the subject based on the amount of accumulated tau protein in the second region (second region of the brain of the subject, claim 1), wherein the first region and the second region are different regions (plurality of regions of the brain of the subject, claim 3).
Regarding claim 3, Seeley discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Seeley further shows the first score remains the same or increases as the amount of accumulated tau protein in the first region of the subject's brain increases, and the second score remains the same or increases as the amount of accumulated tau protein in the second region of the subject's brain increases (see calculations on page 4).
Regarding claim 4, Seeley discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Seeley further shows calculating an overall score associated with the treatment of Alzheimer's disease in the subject based on the first score and the second score (“Based on the calculated first and second normalized scores, the methods of the disclosure make it possible to assess the suitability of a given AD therapy”, page 37, bottom par. - the combined consideration of the first and second scores is interpreted as an “overall score”).
Regarding claim 5, Seeley discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Seeley further shows determining whether to treat Alzheimer's disease in the subject or at least one type of treatment based on at least one of the first score, the second score, or the overall score (“Based on the calculated first and second normalized scores, the methods of the disclosure make it possible to assess the suitability of a given AD therapy”, page 37, bottom par.).
Regarding claims 6 - 7 and 10 - 11, Seeley discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Seeley further shows estimating a start point of a golden time Alzheimer's disease in the subject based on the first score and remaining time until the golden time ends (“critical period … therapeutic window”, page 111, middle).
Regarding claims 8 - 9, Seeley discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Seeley further shows calculating a first time interval between a first time corresponding to the amount of accumulated tau protein in the first region and a second time at which the amount of accumulated tau protein reaches a predetermined first threshold value, on a first path representing a predicted value of the amount of accumulated tau protein in the first region over time; and calculating the first score based on the first time interval, wherein the first path is determined based on a data set associated with the amount of accumulated tau protein in the first region over time for the subject's brain and a brain of each of a plurality of other subjects. (see page 4, and claims 1 and 9 - 10).
Regarding claims 12 - 13, Seeley discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Seeley further shows calculating a second time interval between a third time corresponding to the amount of accumulated tau protein in the second region of the subject's brain and a fourth time at which the amount of accumulated tau protein reaches a predetermined second threshold value, on a second path representing a predicted value of the amount of accumulated tau protein in the second region over time; and calculating the second score based on the second time interval, wherein the second path is determined based on a data set associated with the amount of accumulated tau protein in the second region over time for the subject's brain and a brain of each of a plurality of other subjects (see page 4, and claims 1 and 9 - 10).
Regarding claim 14, Seeley discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Seeley further shows the subject is a patient in whose brain there is determined to be an accumulation of beta-amyloid protein greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (threshold, claim 4).
Regarding claims 15 - 16, Seeley discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Seeley further shows the first region is an entorhinal cortex (EC) region (claim 15) and the second region is an inferior temporal gyrus (ITG) region (claim 16).
Regarding claims 17 - 19, Seeley discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Seeley further shows in response to determining that the overall, first, and second scores are greater than a predetermined threshold value (“Based on the calculated first and second normalized scores, the methods of the disclosure make it possible to assess the suitability of a given AD therapy … threshold …”, page 37, bottom par. - the combined consideration of the first and second scores is interpreted as an “overall score”), identifying that the subject is within a golden time for which the subject is expected to respond to an amyloid-modulating treatment as the treatment of Alzheimer's disease (“critical period … therapeutic window”, page 111, middle), identifying that the subject is expected to respond to Alzheimer's prevention therapy, and identifying that the subject is expected to respond to combination treatment including amyloid-modulating treatment and tau modulating treatment, as the treatment of Alzheimer's disease (pages 6 - 9).
Conclusion
/AMELIE R DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798