DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because Applicant’s current submitted abstract is not an abstract, it is the cover page of their PCT Application, additionally the “abstract” is merely a restatement of claim 1 of the PCT application and thus, is replete with legal phraseology. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 1-2, 5-6, and 10-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a belt arranged to be worn by a user”. This limitation should be amended to recite “a belt configured to be worn by a user”.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a hip of a user”. This limitation should be amended to recite “a hip of the user” as “a user” is recited earlier in claim 1.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “its longitudinal direction” twice in line 3. The claim should be amended to remove the use of pronouns to avoid potential issues for lack of clarity. Claim 5 recites the limitation “its longitudinal direction”. The claim should be amended to remove the use of pronouns to avoid potential issues for lack of clarity.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “a user” in line 3. This limitation should be amended to recite “a hip of the user” as “a user” is recited earlier in claim 1.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “its longitudinal direction”. The claim should be amended to remove the use of pronouns to avoid potential issues for lack of clarity.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “its longitudinal direction”. The claim should be amended to remove the use of pronouns to avoid potential issues for lack of clarity.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “its longitudinal direction”. The claim should be amended to remove the use of pronouns to avoid potential issues for lack of clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brocher (US 5,934,281 A).
In regards to claim 1, Brocher discloses a wearable knee arthroscopy leg support arrangement (30; see [col 2 ln 64]; see figure 4) comprising:
a belt (12; see [col 2 ln 38]; see figure 4) arranged to be worn by a user (2; see [col 2 ln 39]; see figure 4);
a base part (32; see [col 3 ln 5]; see figure 4) mounted to the belt (see figure 4), wherein said base part is arranged to envelop the belt in a direction perpendicular to a width of the belt (see figure 5 that 32 encircles 12 in the slots intended to receive 12 in a direction perpendicular to a width of the belt); and
a protrusion (36a; see [col 3 ln 10]; see figure 6), fixed to the base part and protruding radially outward from the belt during use (36a is fixed to 32 and protrudes outward from 12 during use; see figures 4 and 6),
wherein the protrusion is configured to support a leg (20 and 14 mount to 36a and cooperatively are used to support a leg and thus, 36a supports a leg; see figure 4), and wherein the protrusion comprises a cushioning section (16; see [col 2 ln 55]; see figure 3; as stated before, 14 comprises 16 and is mounted to 36a and thus, 36a when mounted with 14 comprises 16).
In regards to claim 2, Brocher discloses the invention as discussed above.
Brocher further discloses wherein the base part (32) has a longitudinal extension (lower portion of 32 below 12; see figure 4) extending below the width of the belt (see figure 4 that the indicated portion extends as claimed) and wherein the base part is arranged to rest on a hip of a user when the wearable knee arthroscopy leg support arrangement (30) is used (see figure 4).
In regards to claim 3, Brocher discloses the invention as discussed above.
Brocher further discloses wherein a length of the protrusion (36a) in its longitudinal direction (vertical direction of 36a seen in figure 6) is equal of less than a length of the base part (32) in its longitudinal direction (vertical direction of 32 seen in figure 6; see figure 6 that the indicated length of 36a is less than the indicated length of 32).
In regards to claim 4, Brocher discloses the invention as discussed above.
Brocher further discloses wherein the base part (32) and the protrusion (36a) are made of a rigid material (see [col 3 ln 21-28]).
In regards to claim 5, Brocher discloses the invention as discussed above.
Brocher further discloses wherein the protrusion (36a) has a length (extending length of 36a) between 12 and 0.5cm (36a extends outward such that 14 is extended from the user’s body by a distance of 1-6 inches and thus, the length of 36a can be 1-4.72 inches which is within Applicant’s claimed range).
In regards to claim 7, Brocher discloses the invention as discussed above.
Brocher further discloses wherein the protrusion (36a) is configured to support a lower half of the leg (20 and 14 mount to 36a and cooperatively are used to support a foot and thus, 36a supports a lower half of the leg by supporting the foot in a desired position; see figure 4).
In regards to claim 8, Brocher discloses the invention as discussed above.
Brocher further discloses wherein the protrusion (36a) is configured to support a part of the leg near an ankle (20 and 14 mount to 36a and cooperatively are used to support a foot near an ankle and thus, 36a supports a part of the leg near an ankle by supporting the foot in a desired position; see figure 4).
In regards to claim 10, Brocher discloses the invention as discussed above.
Brocher further discloses wherein the protrusion (36a) has a length (extending length of 36a) between 10 and 2cm (36a extends outward such that 14 is extended from the user’s body by a distance of 1-6 inches and thus, the length of 36a can be 1-3.93 inches which is within Applicant’s claimed range).
In regards to claim 11, Brocher discloses the invention as discussed above.
Brocher further discloses wherein the protrusion (36a) has a length (extending length of 36a) between 8 and 4cm (36a extends outward such that 14 is extended from the user’s body by a distance of 1-6 inches and thus, the length of 36a can be1.57-3.15 inches which is Applicant’s claimed range).
In regards to claim 12, Brocher discloses the invention as discussed above.
Brocher further discloses wherein the protrusion (36a) has a length (extending length of 36a) of 7cm (36a extends outward such that 14 is extended from the user’s body by a distance of 1-6 inches and thus, the length of 36a can be 2.755 inches which is Applicant’s claimed length)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brocher in view of Kernkamp (US 6,186,381 B1).
In regards to claim 6, Brocher discloses the invention as discussed above.
Brocher does not disclose further comprising a harness arranged to be worn by a user, wherein the harness comprises at least one shoulder strap arranged to be connected to the belt such that the belt is suspended from the at least one shoulder strap during use.
However, Kernkamp teaches an analogous wearable support arrangement (10; see [col 2 ln 36]; see figure 6) which is utilized for the analogous purpose of aiding a user to hold and support a body of a supported individual (see figure 1), the wearable support arrangement comprising an analogous belt (20; see [col 2 ln 38]; see figure 6), a base part (41; see [col 3 ln 25]; see figure 6), and protrusion (47; see [col 3 ln 29]; see figure 6) which protrudes radially outward from the belt during use (See figure 1); further comprising a harness (85; see [col 2 ln 50]; see figure 1) arranged to be worn by a user (see figure 1), wherein the harness comprises at least one shoulder strap (left and right 85) arranged to be connected to the belt (20) such that the belt is suspended from the at least one shoulder strap during use (see figure 1) for the purpose of reducing the risk that the belt will slip out of place under the weight of the supported individual, and for the purpose of distributing the weight of the supported individual over the shoulders of the user, relieving tension on the user’s back muscles (see [col 5 ln 20-30]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wearable knee arthroscopy leg support arrangement as disclosed by Brocher and to have included the harness which includes at least one shoulder strap as taught by Kernkamp in order to have provided an improved wearable knee arthroscopy leg support arrangement that would add the benefits of reducing the risk that the belt will slip out of place under the weight of the supported individual, and distributing the weight of the supported individual over the shoulders of the user, relieving tension on the user’s back muscles (see [col 5 ln 20-30]).
Conclusion
/DANIEL A MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786