DETAILED ACTION
This is the First Office Action in response to the above identified patent
application filed on November 25, 2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the implied phrase “The present invention includes:” (line 1) should be deleted. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Subramanian et al. (USP 8,414,470).
Subramanian teaches a curved telescopic device, comprising: N sliding shells (22,24) having one end extending or retracting in an arc shape (Fig.4) and formed in a curved telescopic structure extendable or retractable in a curved shape; and a flexible member (43) inserted into the N sliding shells and configured to push or pull at least one of the N sliding shells to extend or retract the N sliding shells.
Claim 2: Subramanian teaches the N sliding shells have one end connected to an end effector (78), and the other end connected to a tilting part (60).
Claim 3: Subramanian teaches the N sliding shells further comprise flexible member guide parts (30,43) each provided in each sliding shell, and configured to prevent the flexible member from being separated.
Claim 5: Subramanian teaches the N sliding shells comprise: a rail (48) provided on at least one surface of each sliding shell to prevent a path deviation; and a limit block (26) to prevent the sliding shell from being sucked into an adjacent sliding shell in a shortening process.
Claim 6: Subramanian teaches the flexible member is formed to be longer than a length when the N sliding shells are fully extended (Fig. 5) and a remaining portion without being coupled to the N sliding shells is located in a guide groove (such as 46) provided inside any one of the N sliding shells.
Claim 8: Subramanian teaches the flexible member is connected (either directly or indirectly) to an outermost sliding shell among the N sliding shells to sequentially extend or shorten the N sliding shells.
Claim 9: Subramanian teaches a driving unit configured to push the flexible member to extend the N sliding shells, or to pull the flexible member to shorten the N sliding shells.
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bauer et al. (DE 39 16 061).
Bauer teaches a curved telescopic device, comprising: N sliding shells (27) having one end extending or retracting in an arc shape (Fig.1) and formed in a curved telescopic structure extendable or retractable in a curved shape; and a flexible member (25) inserted into the N sliding shells (Fig. 6) and configured to push or pull at least one of the N sliding shells to extend or retract the N sliding shells.
Claim 2: Bauer teaches the N sliding shells have one end connected to an end effector (17), and the other end connected (adjacent 42) to a tilting part (Fig. 3 shows tilting movement of 27).
Claim 3: Bauer teaches the N sliding shells further comprise flexible member guide parts (43) each provided in each sliding shell, and configured to prevent the flexible member from being separated.
Claim 4: Bauer teaches the N sliding shells comprise at least one bearing (47) provided on at least one sliding shell to reduce frictional force of the sliding shell in a process in which the sliding shell is stretched or contracted.
Claim 5: Bauer teaches the N sliding shells comprise: a rail (integral with 27 and engaging 47. Fig., 6) provided on at least one surface of each sliding shell to prevent a path deviation; and a limit block (47) to prevent the sliding shell from being sucked (in a transverse direction) into an adjacent sliding shell in a shortening process.
Claim 6: Bauer teaches the flexible member is formed to be longer than a length when the N sliding shells are fully extended (Fig. 1 shows 25 extending into drum 33), and a remaining portion without being coupled to the N sliding shells is located in a guide groove (inside drum 33) provided inside any one of the N sliding shells (drum 33 is considered part of the first shell.
Claim 8: Bauer teaches the flexible member is connected (either directly or indirectly) to an outermost sliding shell among the N sliding shells to sequentially extend or shorten the N sliding shells.
Claim 9: Bauer teaches a driving unit configured to push the flexible member to extend the N sliding shells, or to pull the flexible member to shorten the N sliding shells.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either one of Subramanian et al. (USP 8,414,470) or Bauer et al. (DE 39 16 061).
Neither Subramanian nor Bauer teach the flexible member is formed of a spring steel material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to form the flexible member from a spring steel , since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subramanian et al. (USP 8,414,470), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Torii et al. (USP 5,085,619).
Subramanian teaches a first gear wheel (36) connected to a motor (32) to receive a driving force; and a second gear wheel (38) engaged with the first gear wheel (via a belt 37) to receive a driving force. Subramanian does not teach a tensioner to adjust a position of a pulley. It was known in the art to configure a belt drive arrangement with a tensioner to adjust the tension in the belt. For example, Torri teaches a belt drive arrangement having a first gear (28a) driven by a motor, a second gear (30a) driven by the first gear via a belt (32), and a belt tensioner (positioned between 28a and 30a) for tensioning the belt by setting a positioning a pulley (36). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to provide the belt drive arrangement of Subramanian with a tensioner for tensioning a belt by positioning a pulley, as taught by Torri, motivation being to prevent the belt from slipping on the gears.
Claim 11: Subramanian teaches the flexible member comprises a plurality of teeth grooves engaging with the teeth of the second gear wheel, and pushes or pulls the N sliding shells by repeating the operation of engaging with the teeth grooves by the rotation of the second gear wheel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note the telescopic device having a curved shape of DE 10 2011 087718.
/WILLIAM C JOYCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618