Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations that are being interpreted under 112(f) include “actuating means” in claim 8, line 2, being interpreted to mean an actuator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Christians (US-Pub 2013/0343866).
Regarding claim 1, Christians discloses a turbojet engine rear body (fig 2, whole figure) for a turbojet engine (10, fig 1), the turbojet engine rear body including: an exhaust case (15, fig 1) carrying a confluence plate (41, fig 2) in the form of a revolution wall that surrounds a primary flow (CS, fig 2) passing through the turbojet engine, and that is surrounded by a secondary flow (CF and MF, fig 2) passing through the turbojet engine; an afterburner chamber (31, fig 2) extending downstream of the exhaust case (fig 1, afterburner chamber extends past 17 which is downstream of the exhaust case 15), this afterburner chamber including a rear casing (25, fig 2) and an inner liner (27, fig 2) delimiting with this casing an annular space (path CF takes, fig 2) extending along a longitudinal axis (CL, fig 1) of the engine, this inner liner having a diameter greater than that of the confluence plate (fig 2, the liner is far bigger than the plate);- a stationary shroud (45, fig 2) extending from the confluence plate to the inner liner this stationary shroud comprising fluid passage windows (47, fig 3); and a movable shroud (49, fig 3) covering the stationary shroud and which comprises fluid passage windows (51, fig 3), this movable shroud being rotatably movable about the longitudinal axis between an opening position wherein the windows of the movable shroud coincide with the windows of the stationary shroud , and a closing position wherein the windows of the movable shroud are offset to close the windows of the stationary shroud (par. 0011, the outer cylinder may be rotated relative to the fixed inner cylinder opening or closing the gate).
Christians discloses the claimed invention except for the stationary shroud flaring downstream and comprising a downstream edge at which the stationary shroud surrounds the outer face of the liner. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the stationary shroud (and matching movable shroud) flared outwards so that it surrounds the outer face of the liner for the afterburner, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In the instant case, rearranging the downstream end of the stationary shroud such that instead of connecting to the downstream edge of the turbine case 43 and instead connecting to the outer face of the inner liner 27 would result in a flared shroud structure due to the wider inner liner relative to the turbine case upstream end 41. Having the stationary shroud mounted to the outside of the inner liner rather than the turbine case would not impact the function of the invention as the stationary shroud would still block flow from passing through areas other than the windows, and would do nothing to impact the operation of the movable shroud. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding claim 2, Christians discloses wherein the movable shroud surrounds the stationary shroud (the movable shroud is the outer shroud).
Regarding claim 3, Christians discloses wherein the movable shroud has a shape identical to a shape of the stationary shroud (fig 2, it can be seen that 45 and 49 lie directly on top of each other and thus would have an identical shape).
Regarding claim 4, Christians discloses wherein the movable shroud extends around the confluence plate (fig 3) and around the liner (par. 0011, the claims state the mixing device is attached at the outer diameter of the turbine exhaust case, meaning that it would be attached at the outer edge of the liner).
Regarding claim 5, Christians discloses wherein the movable shroud comprises a conical portion (49 extends outwards before hitting portion 51, and then would need to extend further outward to connect to the outer section of the exhaust case to which it is connected as per par. 0011, fig 2) wherein the fluid passage windows are formed.
Regarding claim 6, Christians discloses wherein the windows (in applicants spec, page 7 recites wherein the crown portion shapes resemble rectangles, fig 3 the shapes are rectangular) have crown portion shapes the long sides of which extend circumferentially about the longitudinal axis.
Regarding claim 7, Christians discloses wherein these windows are circumferentially spaced apart from one another by a value corresponding to the circumferential length thereof (the windows are circumferentially spaced by the circumferential distance between them).
Regarding claim 8, Christians discloses actuating means (53, 55, fig 3) for rotatably moving the movable shroud while the engine is in service.
Regarding claim 9, Christians discloses a turbojet engine (10, fig 1) comprising the turbojet engine rear body according to one of the preceding claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments, see remarks, filed 10/07/2026, with respect to the 112b rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112b rejections of claims 1-9 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 9/28/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-9 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 103.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN V MEILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741