DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“compression fluid” in line 14 should be --the compression fluid--;
“a fluid piston” in line 16 should be --the fluid piston--;
“the pressurised gas” in lines 17-18 should be --the pressurised gas contained in the first container arrangement--.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the gas in” in line 5 should be --the gas contained in the first container--;
“the pressurised gas” in line 5 should be --the pressurized gas contained in the first container arrangement--.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“of claim 1” in line 1 should be --of claim 2--;
“e.g.” in line 2 should be deleted;
“the volume previously occupied” in lines 4-5 should be --a volume previously occupied--.
Claim 6 is objected to because “claim 1” in line 1 should be --claim 4--.
Claim 9 is objected to because “claim 2” in line 1 should be --claim 7--
Claim 10 is objected to because “or operatively associated” in lines 1-2 should be --or is operatively associated--.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the form of” in line 2 should be --a form of--;
“the first container arrangement;” in line 3 should be --the first container arrangement; and--;
“the fluid” in line 4 should be --the cooling fluid--;
“,e.g. film, ” in line 5 should be deleted;
“of cooling fluid” in line 5 should be --of the cooling fluid--;
“the interior surface” in line 5 should be --an interior surface--.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“claim 10” in line 1 should be --claim 11--;
“the top” in line 1 should be --a top--;
“the fluid conduit” in line 2 should be --a fluid conduit--;
“the entry” in line 2 should be --entry--;
“the container” in line 2 should be --a container--.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“claims10” in line 1 should be --claim 10--;
“a second container arrangement” in line 1 should be --the second container arrangement--;
“the gas in” in line 5 should be --the gas contained in the first container--;
“the pressurised gas” in line 5 should be --the pressurized gas contained in the first container arrangement--.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the form of” in line 2 should be --a form of--;
“the second container arrangement;” in line 3 should be --the second container arrangement; and--;
“the fluid” in line 4 should be --the cooling fluid--;
“,e.g. film, ” in line 5 should be deleted;
“of cooling fluid” in line 5 should be --of the cooling fluid--;
“the interior surface” in line 5 should be --an interior surface--.
Claim 16 is objected to because “the top” in line 1 should be --a top--.
Claim 17 is objected to because “the gas in the first container arrangement” in line 3 should be --the gas contained in the first container arrangement--.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the cooling fluid” in line 1 should be --a cooling fluid--;
“the form of” in line 1 should be --a form of--;
“, e.g. cooled compression fluid” in line 2 should be deleted.
Claim 19 is objected to because “one or more of the first containers” in line 2 should be --one or more first containers--.
Claim 20 is objected to because “one or more of the first containers” in line 2 should be --one or more first containers--
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the cooling arrangement” in line 1 should be --a cooling arrangement--;
“one or more of the first containers” in lines 3-4 should be --the one or more of the first containers--.
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the cooling arrangement” in line 1 should be --a cooling arrangement--;
“one or more of the second containers” in lines 3-4 should be --the one or more of the second containers--.
Claim 27 is objected to because “the form of” in lines 1-2 should be --a form of--.
Claim 28 is objected to because “the form of” in lines 1-2 should be --a form of--
Claim 29 is objected to because “a gas” in line 1 should be --the gas--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19, 22, 25-27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adler et al. (U.S. 2019/0032851).
Re claim 1:
Adler discloses system (Fig. 1) for compressing and transferring a pressurised gas (see Fig. 1 and Paras 75-87), comprising:
an apparatus (16, liquid piston multistage compressor - Para 79) for compressing a gas (6, boil-off gas - Para 77)(see Fig. 1 and Para 80), comprising:
a first container arrangement (18 and 20 (first and second compressor stages - Para 80 and Fig. 1)) comprising one or more first containers (18)(see Fig. 1),
wherein the first container arrangement (18 and 20) is configured to receive and/or store a gas (Modified Fig. 1 above - O (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element O as a type of gas to be pressurised)) to be pressurised (see Fig. 1 and Para 80);
a fluid communication arrangement (Modified Fig. 1 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of fluid communication arrangement)) configured to provide fluid communication between a source (26, liquid supply device - Para 81) of compression fluid (28, driving liquid - Para 81) and the first container arrangement (18 and 20)(see Modified Fig. 1 above and Paras 81-83),
wherein:
the apparatus (16) is configured and/or operable to direct the compression fluid (28) to the first container arrangement (18 and 20) via said fluid communication arrangement (Modified Fig. 1 above - A)(see Modified Fig. 1 above and Paras 81-83), the compression fluid (28) being incompressible or substantially incompressible (Para 84) so as to form a fluid piston (Modified Fig. 1 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of fluid piston; see Para 82 - “…liquid piston compressor stages…”)) acting on the gas (Modified Fig. 1 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as gas 6 contained within elements 18 and 20)) contained in the first container arrangement (18 and 20), thereby compressing the gas (Modified Fig. 1 above - B) contained in the first container arrangement (18 and 20) to produce a pressurised gas (Modified Fig. 1 above - D (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element D as a type of pressurized gas to be transferred (see Para 81-83 and Table 1))) to be transferred (see Fig. 1 and Paras 81-83); and
the apparatus (16) is configured and/or operable to direct compression fluid (28) to the first container arrangement (18 and 20) via said fluid communication arrangement (Modified Fig. 1 above - A)(see Modified Fig. 1 above and Paras 81-83), the compression fluid (28) being incompressible or substantially incompressible (Para 84) so as to form a fluid piston (Modified Fig. 1 above - B) acting on the pressurised gas (Modified Fig. 1 above - E (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element E as a type of pressurized gas contained in elements 18 and 20)) contained in the first container arrangement (18 and 20), thereby transferring the pressurised gas (Modified Fig. 1 above -E) from the first container arrangement (18 and 20)(see Fig. 1 and Paras 81-83).
Re claim 2:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the apparatus (16) comprises a second container arrangement (22 and 24)(see Fig. 1), the second container arrangement (22 and 24) configured to receive and/or store the compression fluid (28)(see Fig. 1 and Paras 81-83), and wherein the apparatus (16) is configured and/or operable to direct the compression fluid (28) from the second container arrangement (22 and 24) to the first container arrangement (18 and 20) via said fluid communication arrangement (Modified Fig. 1 above - A) so as to pressurise the gas (Modified Fig. 1 above - C) in or transfer the pressurised gas (Modified Fig. 1 above - E) from the first container arrangement (18 and 20)(see Modified Fig. 1 above and Paras 81-83 and Table 1).
Re claim 3:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the apparatus (16) is configured and/or operable to direct a second volume of gas (Modified Fig. 1 above - F (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element F as a type of second volume of gas to be pressurised)) to be pressurised into the second container arrangement (22 and 24) e.g. as the compression fluid (28) is directed from the second container arrangement (22 and 24) to the first container arrangement (18 and 20)(see Modified Fig. 1 above and Paras 81-83), the second volume of gas to be pressurised (Modified Fig. 1 above - F) occupying the volume (Modified Fig. 1 above - G (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element G as a type of volume previously occupied by element 28 in elements 22 and 24 (see Paras 81-83))) previously occupied by the compression fluid (28) in the second container arrangement (22 and 24)(see Fig. 1 and Paras 81-83).
Re claim 4:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the first container arrangement (18 and 20) comprises a plurality of the first containers (18, 20), at least two of the first containers (18, 20) being arranged and/or fluidly connected in series (see Fig. 1 and Para 80 (elements shown/described fluidly connected in series)).
Re claim 5:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the first container arrangement (18 and 20) comprises a plurality of the first containers (18, 20), at least two of the first containers (18, 20) being arranged and/or fluidly connected in parallel (see Fig. 1 (elements 18 and 20 shown arranged in parallel)).
Re claim 6:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein one or more of the first containers comprises at least one of:
a first inlet (Modified Fig. 1 above - H (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element H as a type of first inlet)), the first inlet (Modified Fig. 1 above - H) configured and/or operable to act as a gas inlet (see Modified Fig. 1 above and Para 79);
a first outlet, the first outlet configured and/or operable to act as a gas outlet;
a second inlet, the second inlet configured and/or operable to act as a compression fluid inlet; and
a second outlet, the second outlet configured and/or operable to act as a compression fluid outlet.
Re claim 7:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 2 (as described above), wherein the second container arrangement (22 and 24) comprises a plurality of the second containers (22, 24), at least two of the second containers (22, 24) being arranged and/or fluidly connected in series (see Fig. 1 and Para 80 (elements shown/described fluidly connected in series)).
Re claim 8:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 2 (as described above), wherein the second container arrangement (22 and 24) comprises a plurality of the second containers (22, 24), at least two of the second containers (22, 24) being arranged and/or fluidly connected in parallel (see Fig. 1 (elements 22 and 24 shown arranged in parallel)).
Re claim 9:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 2 (as described above), wherein one or more of the second containers comprises at least one of:
a first inlet (Modified Fig. 1 above - I (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element I as a type of first inlet)), the first inlet (Modified Fig. 1 above - I) configured and/or operable to act as a gas inlet (see Modified Fig. 1 above and Para 79);
a first outlet, the first outlet configured and/or operable to act as a gas outlet;
a second inlet, the second inlet configured and/or operable to act as a compression fluid inlet; and
a second outlet, the second outlet configured and/or operable to act as a compression fluid outlet.
Re claim 10:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 2 (as described above), wherein the apparatus (16) comprises, is coupled to or operatively associated with a cooling arrangement (17, heat exchangers - Para 85)(see Fig. 1).
Re claim 11:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 10 (as described above), wherein the cooling arrangement (17) is configured and/or operable to direct a cooling fluid (Modified Fig. 1 above - J (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of cooling fluid at element J (see Para 85))) into the first container arrangement (18 and 20)(see Fig. 1 and Para 85).
Re claim 12:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 11 (as described above), wherein at least one of:
the cooling arrangement comprises or takes the form of a spray cooling configured and/or operable to direct the cooling fluid into the first container arrangement;
the cooling arrangement (17) is configured and/or operable to direct the fluid (Modified Fig. 1 above at J) into the first container arrangement (18 and 20) to form a layer, e.g. film, of cooling fluid on the interior surface (Modified Fig. 1 above - K (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element K as type of interior surface of elements 18 and 20)) of one or more of the first containers (18 and 20) of the first container arrangement (18 and 20)(see Modified Fig. 1 above and Paras 81-85).
Re claim 13:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 11 (as described above), wherein the cooling fluid (Modified Fig. 1 above - J) is directed into the top or a top portion or an area of the fluid conduit (30, intermediate conduits - Para 80) ahead of the entry into the container (20) of one or more of the first containers (18, 20) of the first container arrangement (18 and 20)(see Modified Fig. 1 above and Paras 80-85).
Re claim 14:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claims10 (as described above), wherein the apparatus (16) comprises a second container arrangement (22 and 24)(see Fig. 1), the second container arrangement (22 and 24) configured to receive and/or store the compression fluid (28)(see Fig. 1 and Paras 81-83), and wherein the apparatus (16) is configured and/or operable to direct the compression fluid (28) from the second container arrangement (22 and 24) to the first container arrangement (18 and 20) via said fluid communication arrangement (Modified Fig. 1 above - A) so as to pressurise the gas (Modified Fig. 1 above - C) in or transfer the pressurised gas (Modified Fig. 1 above - E) from the first container arrangement (18 and 20)(see Modified Fig. 1 above and Paras 81-83 and Table 1), and wherein the cooling arrangement (17) is configured and/or operable to direct a cooling fluid (Modified Fig. 1 above - L (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of cooling fluid at element L (see Para 85))) into the second container arrangement (22 and 24)(see Fig. 1 and Para 85).
Re claim 15:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 14 (as described above), wherein at least one of:
the cooling arrangement comprises or takes the form of a spray cooling configured and/or operable to direct the cooling fluid into the second container arrangement;
the cooling arrangement (17) is configured and/or operable to direct the fluid (Modified Fig. 1 above at L) into the second container arrangement (22 and 24) to form a layer, e.g. film, of cooling fluid on the interior surface (Modified Fig. 1 above - M (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element M as type of interior surface of elements 22 and 24)) of one or more of the second containers (22, 24) of the second container arrangement (22 and 24)(see Modified Fig. 1 above and Paras 81-85).
Re claim 16:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 14 (as described above), wherein the cooling fluid (Modified Fig. 1 above at L) is directed into the top or a top portion (Modified Fig. 1 above - N (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element N as a type of top portion of elements 22 and 24)) of one (24) or more of the second containers (22, 24) of the second container arrangement (22 and 24)(see Fig. 1 and Paras 80-85).
Re claim 17:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 14 (as described above), wherein the cooling arrangement (17) is configured and/or operable to seed the cooling fluid (Modified Fig. 1 above - L) into the second container arrangement (22 and 24) prior to completion of the compression of the gas (Modified Fig. 1 above - C) in the first container arrangement (18 and 20)(see Modified Fig. 1 above and Paras 80-85 (structure described capable of performing the claimed function)).
Re claim 18:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 10 (as described above), wherein the cooling fluid (Para 85 - “…this heat will be transferred to the driving liquid…”) comprises or takes the form of the compression fluid (28)(see Fig. 1 and Para 85), e.g. cooled compression fluid.
Re claim 19:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the apparatus (16) is configured and/or operable so that the gas to be pressurised (Modified Fig. 1 above - O) is supplied directly into one or more of the first containers (18) of the first container arrangement (18 and 20)(see Modified Fig. 1 above and Paras 80-83).
Re claim 22:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the apparatus (16) is configured and/or operable so that the gas to be pressurised (Modified Fig. 1 above - O) is supplied directly into one (22) or more of the second containers (22, 24) of the second container arrangement (22 and 24)(see Modified Fig. 1 above and Paras 80-83).
Re claim 25:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 11 (as described above), wherein the apparatus comprises: one or more cooling fluid inlets (Modified Fig. 1 above - at J (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of cooling fluid inlet at element J (see Para 85))); and/or one or more cooling fluid outlets
Re claim 26:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the apparatus (16) comprises a separation arrangement (34, coalescing filter - Para 86), the separation arrangement (34) configured and/or operable to separate the gas to be pressurised (Modified Fig. 1 above - O) from the compression fluid (28) forming the liquid piston (see Fig. 1 and Para 86).
Re claim 27:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 26 (as described above), wherein the separation arrangement (34) comprises or takes the form of a mechanical separator member (see Fig. 1 at 34 and Para 86).
Re claim 29:
Adler discloses method for compressing and transferring a gas (6), using the system of claim 1 (Fig. 1)(see Fig. 1 and Paras 80-85).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-21 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adler et al. (U.S. 2019/0032851) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hodgson et al. (U.S. 2023/0132083).
Re claim 20:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the apparatus (16) is configured and/or operable so that the gas to be pressurised (Modified Fig. 1 above - O) is supplied
Adler fails to disclose the gas to be pressurised is supplied indirectly into one or more of the first containers of the first container arrangement via a manifold.
Hodgson teaches wherein an apparatus (Fig. 8) is configured and/or operable so that a gas (220, fuel gas - Para 60) to be pressurised (see Fig. 8 at 220 and 280) is supplied indirectly into one or more first containers (250) of a first container arrangement (250, 280) via a manifold (260)(see Figs. 8 and Paras 60-66).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the apparatus of Adler after that of Hodgson, thereby supplying the gas to be pressurised of Adler indirectly to the one or more of the first containers of Adler via a manifold, in the way taught by Hodgson, for the advantage of being able to improve the transfer of gas from the source vessel into the receiving vessel (Hodgson; see Fig. 8 and Para 60).
Re claim 21:
Adler/Hodgson teaches the system (Adler; Fig. 1) of claim 20 (as described above), wherein the cooling arrangement (Adler; 17) is configured and/or operable to direct a cooling fluid (Adler; Modified Fig. 1 above - J (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of cooling fluid at element J (see Para 85))) into the first container arrangement (Adler; 18 and 20)(Adler; see Fig. 1 and Para 85), and wherein the apparatus (Adler; 16) is configured and/or operable so that the cooling fluid (Adler; Modified Fig. 1 above - J) is supplied indirectly into one or more of the first containers (Adler; 18) of the first container arrangement (Adler; 18 and 20) via the manifold (Hodgson; 260)(in the combination of Adler/Hodgson described above, Adler has been modified to include a manifold as taught by Hodgson which would arrive at element J of Modified Fig 1 above supplying element 18 of Adler indirectly via a manifold).
Re claim 23:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 2 (as described above), wherein the apparatus (16) is configured and/or operable so that the gas to be pressurised (Modified Fig. 1 above - O) is supplied
Adler fails to disclose the gas to be pressurised is supplied indirectly into one or more of the second containers of the second container arrangement via a manifold.
Hodgson teaches wherein an apparatus (Fig. 8) is configured and/or operable so that a gas (220, fuel gas - Para 60) to be pressurised (see Fig. 8 at 220 and 280) is supplied indirectly into one or more second containers (250) of a second container arrangement (250, 280) via a manifold (260)(see Figs. 8 and Paras 60-66).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the apparatus of Adler after that of Hodgson, thereby supplying the gas to be pressurised of Adler indirectly to the one or more of the second containers of Adler via a manifold, in the way taught by Hodgson, for the advantage of being able to improve the transfer of gas from the source vessel into the receiving vessel (Hodgson; see Fig. 8 and Para 60).
Re claim 24:
Adler/Hodgson teaches the system (Adler; Fig. 1) of claim 20 (as described above), wherein the cooling arrangement (Adler; 17) is configured and/or operable to direct a cooling fluid (Adler; Modified Fig. 1 above - J (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of cooling fluid at element J (see Para 85))) into the first container arrangement (Adler; 18 and 20)(Adler; see Fig. 1 and Para 85), and wherein the apparatus (Adler; 16) is configured and/or operable so that the cooling fluid (Adler; Modified Fig. 1 above - J) is supplied indirectly into one or more of the second containers (Adler; 22) of the second container arrangement (Adler; 22 and 24) via the manifold (Hodgson; 260)(in the combination of Adler/Hodgson described above, Adler has been modified to include a manifold as taught by Hodgson which would arrive at element J of Modified Fig 1 above supplying element 22 of Adler indirectly via a manifold).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adler et al. (U.S. 2019/0032851) as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of McBride et al. (U.S. 2010/0205960).
Re claim 28:
Adler discloses the system (Fig. 1) of claim 26 (as described above), wherein the separation arrangement (34) comprises or takes the form of a
Adler fails to disclose wherein the separation arrangement comprises or takes the form of a chemical separator.
McBride teaches wherein a separation arrangement (2550, carbon-dioxide extraction system - Para 130) comprises or takes the form of a chemical separator (see Fig. 25 and Para 130).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the separation arrangement of Adler after that of McBride, thereby including a chemical separator in the separation arrangement of Adler in the way taught by McBride, for the advantage of being able to extract carbon dioxide which can be sold as a useful solvent or used in biofuel production (McBride; Para 130).
Conclusion
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 10/9/26