DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
11: inner surfaces
12: First part
13: Second Part
15: Weakening means
The drawings are objected to because the reference characters change in size and some are too small to be legible in printing, see MPEP 608.02(V)(p). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 3, line 4, of the specification, the applicant states “inner surface () of second part ()”. It appears a reference character is missing from the parenthesis.
On page 5, line 27, the applicant states “upon suction, , the liquid”. The are two commas side by side.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because they include reference characters which are not enclosed within parentheses.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant states [line 12] “a longitudinal axis I”. “I” should be in parenthesis if the reference character is in the figures or should be removed.
Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description of the drawings and used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims should be enclosed within parentheses so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Regarding claim 2, the applicant states “where p1 is the pressure inside the compartment (3) and p2 is the pressure outside the compartment (3)”. It appears “the compartment” is referencing “the first compartment” of claim 1. Examiner recommend amending the claim to keep the language consistent in order to avoid confusion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the applicant states “the walls of the first part (12) of the first compartment (3) are rigid meaning that the walls are not configured to give in during emptying at a pressure difference p2-p1 normally obtained inside a feeding bottle (1), where p1 is the pressure inside the compartment (3) and p2 is the pressure outside the compartment (3)”. First, the phrase "meaning that" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Secondly, the phrase “normally obtained” is unclear since the metes and bounds of the phrase are not defined. It is unclear what the applicant means by “normally obtained”. Lastly, the claims states “a feeding bottle” in line 4. Since “a feeding bottle” was previously introduced, this would appear to be double inclusion of the claim limitation. The claim could be written to say “the walls of the first part (12) of the first compartment (3) are rigid wherein the walls of the first part of the first compartment are configured not to give in during emptying at a pressure difference p2-p1 inside the feeding bottle (1), where p1 is the pressure inside the compartment (3) and p2 is the pressure outside the compartment (3)”.
Regarding claim 3, the applicant states “walls of a soft and flexible material being foldable by nature combined with a rigid bottom section”. It is unclear what the applicant is referring to when stating the phrase “by nature”.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "i.e." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 6, the applicant states “the membrane system may comprise two membranes”. The phrase “may comprise” makes it unclear whether or not the limitation that follows “two membranes” are actually required by the claim.
Dependent claims not specifically mentioned are rejected as depending from rejected base claims since they inherently contain the same deficiencies therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DiCarlo-Nelson (US 7,819,263).
Regarding claim 1, DiCarlo-Nelson teaches a feeding bottle (figure 1, reference 10) comprising a container (figure 1, reference 20) comprising an opening for liquid (figure 3, reference 28), a teat (figure 1, reference 29) comprising an inlet for liquid (figure 6, opening at the top of reference 29) and an outlet for liquid (figure 6, opening at the top of reference 29), and a coupling device fixing the teat to the container during use (figure 4, reference 27), the container comprises a first compartment (figure 4, compartment under teat 29) defined by inner surfaces of walls of the container (figure 3, inner wall of 20) which walls during emptying of liquid are configured to give in thereby reducing the volume of the first compartment (figure 2), the first compartment comprises a first part comprising the opening for liquid (figure 3, top portion of 20 near 28) and a second part comprising a bottom section (figure 1, reference 46) adjoined to the first part along a periphery (figure 1), during emptying, the second part of the first compartment is configured to be displaced into a volume formed by the first part of the first compartment (figure 2: volume is located inside container 20), and the bottom section is configured to be displaced in direction along a longitudinal axis of the feeding bottle and of the container (figure 1 and 2: vertical line through center of bottle 10 and container 20), from a position opposite the opening to a position adjacent to the opening (figure 1) characterized in that the bottom section is made of rigid and non-deformable material which is displaced during emptying of the first compartment and not deformed when the volume of the first compartment is reduced (figure 2, reference 46).
Regarding claim 2, DiCarlo-Nelson teaches all of the claim limitations of claim 1, as shown above. Furthermore, DiCarlo-Nelson teaches the walls of the first part of the first compartment are rigid (figures 1-3, reference 28) meaning that the walls are not configured to give in during emptying at a pressure difference p2-p1 normally obtained inside a feeding bottle, where p1 is the pressure inside the compartment and p2 is the pressure outside the compartment (figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, DiCarlo-Nelson teaches all of the claim limitations of claim 1, as shown above. Furthermore, DiCarlo-Nelson teaches the second part of the first compartment either comprises walls of a soft and flexible material being foldable by nature combined with a rigid bottom section, or comprises walls (figure 4, reference 20) comprising weakening means (figure 4, 9 and 10, reference 23) allowing the rigid walls to fold in a controlled way at the positioned of the weakening means (figure 2 and 10).
Regarding claim 4, DiCarlo-Nelson teaches all of the claim limitations of claim 3, as shown above. Furthermore, DiCarlo-Nelson teaches the weakening means are score or folding lines (figure 4, 9 and 10, reference 21 and 23) positioned at or along the inner surface of second part of the first compartment (figure 4).
Regarding claim 5, DiCarlo-Nelson teaches all of the claim limitations of claim 1, as shown above. Furthermore, DiCarlo-Nelson teaches the first compartment is round i.e. the first compartment has a round perimeter and preferably an at least partly spheric outer surface in a state where the first compartment is filled with liquid (figure 3: the upper portion and lower portion of the container, divided along ring 32, are each round, thus the first compartment is round).
Regarding claim 6, DiCarlo-Nelson teaches all of the claim limitations of claim 1, as shown above. Furthermore, DiCarlo-Nelson teaches a membrane system comprising a one-way valve positioned between the first compartment and a second compartment inside the teat (figure 1 and 4, bottom reference 29 and column 4, lines 29-35 and column 6, lines 57-59: The second compartment is located inside teat 29 and a one-way valve is located between the first compartment and a second compartment), the membrane system may comprise two membranes (figure 4: The membrane system may have two membranes).
Regarding claim 7, DiCarlo-Nelson teaches all of the claim limitations of claim 6, as shown above. Furthermore, DiCarlo-Nelson teaches the one-way valve comprises a first side facing the first compartment of the container (figure 4, as shown in the annotated figure below) and a second side opposite the first side facing the second compartment (figure 4, as shown in the annotated figure below) thereby separating the first compartment from the second compartment (figure 4, as shown in the annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 8, DiCarlo-Nelson teaches all of the claim limitations of claim 1, as shown above. Furthermore, DiCarlo-Nelson teaches the teat comprises an internal side facing the second compartment (figure 4, reference 29: the internal portion of the teat has an internal side facing the second compartment), and the teat comprises a securing flange encircling the opening for liquid (figure 1 and 4: the base of teat 29 has a securing flange, as shown in the annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 9, DiCarlo-Nelson teaches all of the claim limitations of claim 6, as shown above. Furthermore, DiCarlo-Nelson teaches the teat (figure 4, reference 29), the one-way valve (figure 4, bottom reference 29), and the container (figure 4, reference 20) are interlocked by a set of complementary engagement elements (figure 4: The internal portion of coupling device 27 has threads [engagement elements] which attach to the outer portion of 28 [engagement elements] which is part of container 20. When connecting the coupling device 27 to the container 20; the teat 29, one-way valve 29 and container 20 are interlocked by a set of complementary engagement elements).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen (US 20180256452) discloses a bottle with a container, teat and coupling mechanism.
Velasquez (US 20150313389) discloses a bottle with a container, teat and coupling mechanism.
/JAVIER A PAGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735