Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogg, US PGPUB 20130002570, in view of Han et al., US PGPUB 20220147146, hereinafter referenced as Han.
As to claim 1, Ogg discloses a display apparatus, comprising: a touchscreen, wherein the touchscreen is provided with a touch-control display surface (e.g., display 151, fig. 2A) and
a haptic feedback surface that are arranged opposite to each other (e.g., haptic device 254, fig. 2B), and
the touchscreen is configured to obtain a touch position ([0074] The display module 251 may have a touch sensor for detecting a touch input thereon);
an ultrasonic transducer array, which is located on the haptic feedback surface and comprises a plurality of ultrasonic transducers arranged in an array ([0089] The haptic device 254 includes haptic modules arranged on the rear side of the terminal body in a matrix form),
wherein each of the ultrasonic transducers is configured to operate independently ([0064] The haptic module 154 may be configured to transmit tactile effects (signals) through a user's direct contact, or a user's muscular sense using a finger or a hand); and
a control module provided with an input terminal and an output terminal, wherein the input terminal is electrically attached to the touchscreen, the output terminal is electrically attached to the ultrasonic transducers, and the control module is configured to control the ultrasonic transducer located at the touch position to perform a vibration feedback (controller 180, fig. 1; the controller 180 may sense which region of the display unit 151 has been touched; wherein a representative example of the tactile effects generated by the haptic module 154 includes vibration).
Ogg does not specifically disclose the haptic module comprises a plurality of ultrasonic transducers.
However, in the same endeavor, Han discloses the haptic module comprises a plurality of ultrasonic transducers ([0055] the transducer drive circuit on the array structure layer, and transmit ultrasonic waves and receive ultrasonic echoes under the control of the transducer drive circuit to provide haptic feedback, thereby achieving an integration of haptic feedback and display).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Ogg to further include Han’s ultrasonic transducers, in order to enhance tactile performance with intention of outputting desired function effectively.
As to claim 7, Ogg discloses a method for preparing a display apparatus, comprising: forming a touchscreen, wherein the touchscreen is provided with a touch- control display surface (e.g., display 151 and controller 180, fig. 1) and a
haptic feedback surface that are arranged opposite to each other (e.g., haptic device 254, fig. 2B), and
the touchscreen is configured to obtain a touch position ([0074] The display module 251 may have a touch sensor for detecting a touch input thereon);
forming an ultrasonic transducer array, which is located on the haptic feedback surface and comprises a plurality of ultrasonic transducers arranged in an array ([0089] The haptic device 254 includes haptic modules arranged on the rear side of the terminal body in a matrix form),
wherein each of the ultrasonic transducers is configured to operate independently ([0064] The haptic module 154 may be configured to transmit tactile effects (signals) through a user's direct contact, or a user's muscular sense using a finger or a hand); and
providing a control module provided with an input terminal and an output terminal, electrically attaching the input terminal to the touchscreen, and electrically attaching the output terminal to the ultrasonic transducers, wherein the control module is configured to control the ultrasonic transducer located at the touch position to perform a vibration feedback (controller 180, fig. 1; the controller 180 may sense which region of the display unit 151 has been touched; wherein a representative example of the tactile effects generated by the haptic module 154 includes vibration).
Ogg does not specifically disclose the haptic module comprises a plurality of ultrasonic transducers.
However, in the same endeavor, Han discloses the haptic module comprises a plurality of ultrasonic transducers ([0055] the transducer drive circuit on the array structure layer, and transmit ultrasonic waves and receive ultrasonic echoes under the control of the transducer drive circuit to provide haptic feedback, thereby achieving an integration of haptic feedback and display).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Ogg to further include Han’s ultrasonic transducers, in order to enhance tactile performance with intention of outputting desired function effectively.
As to claim 2, the combination of Ogg and Han discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1. The combination further discloses the ultrasonic transducer array is a piezoelectric micromachined ultrasonic transducer array or a capacitive micromachined ultrasonic transducer array (Han, [0052] A technology of haptic or tactile feedbacks may reproduce a tactile sensation for users through a series of actions such as force and vibration).
As to claim 3, the combination of Ogg and Han discloses the display apparatus according to claim 2. The combination further discloses the piezoelectric micromachined ultrasonic transducer array comprises a substrate, a structural layer, a first electrode layer, a piezoelectric layer, and a second electrode layer, which are stacked in sequence; the substrate has a plurality of through-holes arranged in an array, and the structural layer is partially exposed through the through-holes; the first electrode layer and/or the second electrode layer is a patterned electrode layer comprising a plurality of sub-electrode blocks arranged in an array, the sub- electrode blocks being each disposed opposite to one of the through-holes; a surface of the substrate facing away from the structural layer faces toward the haptic feedback surface; and wherein, the piezoelectric micromachined ultrasonic transducer array further comprises a vibration matching layer located on a surface of the second electrode layer facing away from the piezoelectric layer (Han, [0060] as shown in FIG. 3A, a plurality of ultrasonic transducers 400 are divided into a plurality of array elements 500, and the transducer drive circuit includes a plurality of transducer sub-drive circuits, and the array elements 500 are correspondingly connected to the transducer sub-drive circuits).
As to claim 4, the combination of Ogg and Han discloses the display apparatus according to claim 3. The combination further discloses the first electrode layer comprises a plurality of first sub-electrode blocks arranged in an array, and the second electrode layer comprises a plurality of second sub-electrode blocks arranged in an array, the first sub-electrode blocks and the second sub-electrode blocks are each disposed opposite to one of the through-holes, and the second sub-electrode block is smaller in area than the first sub-electrode block; wherein, an area ratio of the second sub-electrode block to the first sub-electrode block is from 0.5 to 0.8 (Ogg, [0098] As shown in FIGS. 5 and 6 with FIGS. 2A and 2B again, the haptic device 254 is sized to be proportional to the display module 251).
As to claim 5, the combination of Ogg and Han discloses the display apparatus according to claim 2. The combination further discloses the piezoelectric micromachined ultrasonic transducer array comprises a sealing layer, a substrate, a structural layer, a first electrode layer, a piezoelectric layer, and a second electrode layer, which are stacked in sequence; the substrate has a plurality of through-holes arranged in an array, and the through-holes, the structural layer, and the sealing layer form sealed cavities; the first electrode layer and/or the second electrode layer is a patterned electrode layer comprising a plurality of sub-electrode blocks arranged in an array, the sub- electrode blocks being each disposed opposite to one of the through-holes; a surface of the second electrode layer facing away from the piezoelectric layer faces toward the haptic feedback surface; and wherein, the sealing layer is a vibration matching layer (Han, [0054] A display substrate provided by the embodiment of the present disclosure, including a substrate, an array structure layer disposed on the substrate, a plurality of emitting units and a plurality of ultrasonic transducers disposed at intervals on a side of the array structure layer away from the substrate).
As to claim 6, the combination of Ogg and Han discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1. The combination further discloses the touchscreen comprises a base substrate, and the base substrate is flexible (Han, [0023] forming an array structure layer on a base substrate, wherein the array structure layer includes a transducer drive circuit).
As to claim 8, the combination of Ogg and Han discloses the method for preparing the display apparatus according to claim 7. The combination further discloses forming the touchscreen; and after forming the touchscreen, forming the ultrasonic transducer array on the haptic feedback surface of the touchscreen (Ogg, e.g., display 251 and haptic module 254, figs, 2A and 2B respectively).
As to claim 9, the combination of Ogg and Han discloses the method for preparing the display apparatus according to claim 8. The combination further discloses the forming the ultrasonic transducer array on the haptic feedback surface comprises: forming a substrate on the haptic feedback surface, wherein the substrate has a plurality of through-holes arranged in an array; forming a structural layer on a surface of the substrate facing away from the touchscreen, wherein the through-holes form sealed cavities; forming a first electrode layer on a surface of the structural layer facing away from the touchscreen; forming a piezoelectric layer on a surface of the first electrode layer facing away from the touchscreen that fully covers the surface; forming a second electrode layer on a surface of the piezoelectric layer facing away from the touchscreen; wherein the first electrode layer and/or the second electrode layer is a patterned electrode layer comprising a plurality of sub-electrode blocks arranged in an array, the sub-electrode blocks being each disposed opposite to one of the through-holes; wherein, the forming the substrate on the haptic feedback surface comprises: forming a photoresist layer on the haptic feedback surface, and etching the photoresist layer to obtain the substrate; and wherein, the forming the structural layer on the surface of the substrate facing away from the touchscreen comprises: pre-fabricating the structural layer, and adhering the structural layer to the surface of the substrate facing away from the touchscreen (Han, [0054] A display substrate provided by the embodiment of the present disclosure, including a substrate, an array structure layer disposed on the substrate, a plurality of emitting units and a plurality of ultrasonic transducers disposed at intervals on a side of the array structure layer away from the substrate).
As to claim 10, the combination of Ogg and Han discloses the method for preparing the display apparatus according to claim 9. The combination further discloses the forming the ultrasonic transducer array on the haptic feedback surface further comprises: after forming the second electrode layer, forming a vibration matching layer on a surface of the second electrode layer facing away from the touchscreen ([0055] the transducer drive circuit on the array structure layer, and transmit ultrasonic waves and receive ultrasonic echoes under the control of the transducer drive circuit to provide haptic feedback, thereby achieving an integration of haptic feedback and display).
As to claim 11, the combination of Ogg and Han discloses the method for preparing the display apparatus according to claim 7. The combination further discloses forming the touchscreen; forming the ultrasonic transducer array; and after forming the touchscreen and the ultrasonic transducer array, adhering the ultrasonic transducer array to the haptic feedback surface (Han, In FIG. 1, a plurality of ultrasonic transducers 400 included in a region enclosed by a dashed line frame form an array element 500, and the ultrasonic transducers 400 in an array element 500 are controlled by a corresponding transducer driver circuit).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lu et al., US PGPUB 20240046691 discloses Methods, devices and systems for providing extended reality effects are disclosed. In some examples, a control system may control a structure to provide extended reality effects and also may control an ultrasound-based haptic system to create haptic effects via transmitted ultrasonic waves. The ultrasound-based haptic system may include one or more arrays of ultrasonic transducer, such as piezoelectric micromachined ultrasonic transducers, mounted in or on the structure.
/SAHLU OKEBATO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625 8/6/2026