Detailed Action
Claim Objections
2. Claims 1-6, 9, and 14-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, “the synchronous control signals comprises” should be changed to “the synchronous control signals comprise”. Claims 2-6, 9, and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent on objected base claim. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Analysis - 35 USC § 112
4. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “synchronous signal process module”, “control module”, “touch driving module”, and “touch sensing module” in claim 1.
Because the claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 1 is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
As for the limitations “synchronous signal process module”, “control module”, “touch driving module”, and “touch sensing module”, they are interpreted as corresponding to [0065]-[0066], [0080], [0082], and [0084] of the specification and Fig. 2 of the drawing. However, the disclosure does not provide the structure necessary to perform the claimed function. Specifically, the limitations “synchronous signal process module”, “control module”, “touch driving module”, and “touch sensing module” use a non-structural term without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the non-structural term is not preceded by a structural modifier.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner's interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
If applicant does not wish to have the claim limitation treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), applicant may amend the claim so that it will clearly not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), or present a sufficient showing that the claim recites sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function to preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 2-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The limitations “synchronous signal process module”, “control module”, “touch driving module”, and “touch sensing module” in claim 2 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 3-6 and 9 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1, 7-8, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over JO (US 20150184989 A1) in view of LEE (US 20210313401 A1).
Regarding claim 1, JO discloses a capacitive touch display apparatus (e.g., Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; capacitive touch display device), comprising a touch panel (Figs. 2 and 4; touch panel), a display panel (Fig. 1; display panel), and a touch sensing control circuit (Fig. 4; touch driving circuit 320 and touch sensing circuit 330); the touch panel comprises a touch electrode layer, the touch electrode layer is patterned into a plurality of first electrodes disposed along a first direction and a plurality of second electrodes disposed along a second direction (Figs. 4 and 8-9 and [0056]; touch electrode layer comprising a plurality of first electrodes X disposed along X direction and a plurality of second electrodes Y disposed along Y direction), the touch sensing control circuit is electrically connected with the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes (Fig. 4; touch driving circuit 320 and touch sensing circuit 330 electrically connected to electrodes X and electrodes Y); wherein in a touch sensing period, the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes are configured to be sensing electrodes and driving electrodes alternately (Figs. 4 and 8-9 and [0072]; electrodes X and electrodes Y act as driving electrodes and sensing electrode alternately); the touch sensing control circuit is configured to output driving signals to the driving electrodes in the touch sensing period, and calculate capacitances of each of sensing capacitors formed by each of the sensing electrodes (Figs. 4 and 8-9 and [0059], [0062]; touch driving circuit 320 outputs driving signals to electrodes X and electrodes Y alternately, and touch sensing circuit 330, signal conversion unit 340, and operation unit 350 determine a touch based on a capacitance variation of capacitors C11 to Cmn); and the touch sensing control circuit further outputs the driving signals to the driving electrodes simultaneously ([0074]; driving signals Tx are applied to driving electrodes simultaneously); wherein the driving signals are periodically in-phase signals, the in-phase signals are pulse signals with a same frequency, a same phase, and a same amplitude ([0074]; same driving signals Tx are applied to driving electrodes simultaneously, which have same frequency, phase, and amplitude).
JO does not disclose the time controller outputs synchronous control signals; the synchronous control signals comprises a display synchronous signal and a row synchronous signal, and the touch sensing control circuit is further configured to execute a synchronous process of the driving signals and the synchronous control signals as claimed. However, LEE discloses a capacitive touch display device (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6-7; capacitive touch display device) similar to that disclosed by JO, comprising a touch panel (Figs. 1, 3 and 6; touch panel ISU), a display panel (Figs. 1-2; display panel DP), a touch sensing control circuit (Fig. 6; touch sensing control circuit IS-C), and a time controller (Fig. 2; timing control circuit TC); the time controller outputs synchronous control signals; the synchronous control signals comprises a display synchronous signal and a row synchronous signal (Fig. 7 and [0184]-[0185]; vertical synchronous signal Vsync and horizontal synchronous signal Hsync); in a cycle of the row synchronous signal, the display panel completes a scanning operation of a row image, in a period of the display synchronous signal, image scan of all rows of image in the display panel are completed (Fig. 7 and [0184]-[0185]; horizontal synchronous signal Hsync corresponds the timing for a single scan line, a period T_Vsync of the vertical synchronous signal Vsync corresponds to the timing for all scan lines); the touch sensing control circuit is further configured to execute a synchronous process of the driving signals and the synchronous control signals, thereby the synchronous process causes the display panel to stop refreshing a display image of the display panel in the touch sensing period (Fig. 7; timing diagram of the touch display, including vertical synchronous signal Vsync, horizontal synchronous signal Hsync, and touch driving signal Tx), and the touch sensing control circuit further outputs the driving signals to the driving electrodes simultaneously (Figs. 6-7 and [0168]; driving signals TX are applied to driving electrodes simultaneously); wherein the driving signals are periodically in-phase signals, the in-phase signals are pulse signals with a same frequency, a same phase, and a same amplitude (Figs. 6-7 and [0168]; driving signals TX are applied to driving electrodes simultaneously, which have same waveform and phase). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from JO to the touch display device of LEE. The combination/motivation would be to provide a touch display device with an improved sensitivity and a reduced noise of a touch detection.
Regarding claim 7, JO discloses a touch sensing method, applied in a capacitive touch display apparatus (e.g., Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; capacitive touch display device); the capacitive touch display apparatus comprises a touch panel (Figs. 2 and 4; touch panel), a display panel (Fig. 1; display panel), and a touch sensing control circuit (Fig. 4; touch driving circuit 320 and touch sensing circuit 330); the touch panel comprises a touch electrode layer, the touch electrode layer is patterned into a plurality of first electrodes disposed along a first direction and a plurality of second electrodes disposed along a second direction (Figs. 4 and 8-9 and [0056]; touch electrode layer comprising a plurality of first electrodes X disposed along X direction and a plurality of second electrodes Y disposed along Y direction), the touch sensing control circuit is electrically connected with the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes (Fig. 4; touch driving circuit 320 and touch sensing circuit 330 electrically connected to electrodes X and electrodes Y); wherein in a touch sensing period, the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes are configured to being driving electrodes and sensing electrodes alternately (Figs. 4 and 8-9 and [0072]; electrodes X and electrodes Y act as driving electrodes and sensing electrode alternately); the touch sensing control circuit is configured to output driving signals to the driving electrodes in the touch sensing period (Figs. 4 and 8-9 and [0072]; driving signals are applied to electrodes X and electrodes Y alternately); the touch sensing method comprises: outputting the driving signals to the driving electrodes (Figs. 4 and 8-9 and [0059], [0062]; touch driving circuit 320 outputs driving signals to electrodes X and electrodes Y alternately), calculating capacitances of each of sensing capacitors formed by the sensing electrodes (Fig. 4 and [0059], [0062]; touch sensing circuit 330, signal conversion unit 340, and operation unit 350 determine a touch based on a capacitance variation of capacitors C11 to Cmn), and converting the capacitances into digital signals (Fig. 4 and [0060]; signal conversion unit 340 generates a digital signal); wherein the driving signals are periodically in-phase signals, the in-phase signals are pulse signals with a same frequency, a same phase, and a same amplitude ([0074]; same driving signals Tx are applied to driving electrodes simultaneously, which have same frequency, phase, and amplitude); and analyzing the digital signals to obtain a touch position of a touch object on the capacitance touch display apparatus (Fig. 4 and [0060]-[0062]; determining a touch position).
JO does not disclose the time controller outputs synchronous control signals; the synchronous control signals comprises a display synchronous signal and a row synchronous signal, and the touch sensing control circuit is further configured to execute a synchronous process of the driving signals and the synchronous control signals as claimed. However, LEE discloses a touch sensing method, applied in a capacitive touch display apparatus similar to that disclosed by JO, the capacitive touch display apparatus (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6-7; capacitive touch display device) comprises a touch panel (Figs. 1, 3 and 6; touch panel ISU), a display panel (Figs. 1-2; display panel DP), a touch sensing control circuit (Fig. 6; touch sensing control circuit IS-C), and a time controller (Fig. 2; timing control circuit TC);, and the touch sensing method comprises: obtaining synchronous control signals from the time controller (Fig. 7 and [0184]-[0185]; vertical synchronous signal Vsync and horizontal synchronous signal Hsync); the synchronous control signals comprise a display synchronous signal and a row synchronous signal (Fig. 7 and [0184]-[0185]; vertical synchronous signal Vsync and horizontal synchronous signal Hsync); in a cycle of the display synchronous signal, image scan of all rows of image in the display panel are completed (Fig. 7 and [0184]-[0185]; horizontal synchronous signal Hsync corresponds the timing for a single scan line, a period T_Vsync of the vertical synchronous signal Vsync corresponds to the timing for all scan lines); executing a synchronous process of the driving signals and the synchronous control signals, for causing a display image of the display panel stops refreshing in the touch sensing period (Fig. 7; timing diagram of the touch display, including vertical synchronous signal Vsync, horizontal synchronous signal Hsync, and touch driving signal Tx); outputting the driving signals to the driving electrodes (Figs. 6-7 and [0168]; driving signals TX are applied to driving electrodes simultaneously), calculating capacitances of each of sensing capacitors formed by the sensing electrodes (Fig. 6 and [0092], [0176]; touch sensing circuit IS-C determine a touch based on a capacitance variation), wherein the driving signals are periodically in-phase signals, the in-phase signals are pulse signals with a same frequency, a same phase, and a same amplitude (Figs. 6-7 and [0168]; driving signals TX are applied to driving electrodes simultaneously, which have same waveform and phase). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from JO to the touch display device of LEE. The combination/motivation would be to provide a touch display device with an improved sensitivity and a reduced noise of a touch detection.
Regarding claim 8, JO in view of LEE discloses the touch sensing method of claim 7, LEE discloses wherein the executing a synchronous process of the driving signals and the synchronous signal comprises: identifying a starting time and an ending time of the synchronous control signal (Fig. 7 and [0189] and [0192]-[0193]; rising edge and falling edge); and setting a state setting signal being outputted after a predefined time duration, the predefined time duration starts from the starting time (Fig. 7 and [0168]-[1069], [0187]-[0189], and [0192]-[0193]; after a time duration defined by signal Vsync, driving signal TX is applied to driving electrodes), JO further discloses setting a state setting signal, thereby setting the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes as the driving electrodes and the sensing electrodes alternately (Figs. 4 and 8-9 and [0072], electrodes X and electrodes Y are set as driving electrodes and sensing electrode alternately; Figs. 10-11, touch driving circuit 320 includes a switching circuit 325, a control signal of switch SW1 corresponds to an operation state setting signal to turn on and off switch SW1 and apply driving signal Tx to the driving electrode that forms the capacitor Cm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from JO to the touch display device of LEE for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 12, JO in view of LEE discloses the touch sensing method of claim 7, JO discloses wherein the touch sensing period comprises at least one first time duration and at least one second time duration, the at least one first time duration and the at least one second time duration are spaced alternately; in the first time duration, the first electrodes are configured to be the driving electrodes, the second electrodes are configured to be the sensing electrodes (Figs. 4 and 8-9 and [0072]; electrodes X and electrodes Y act as driving electrodes and sensing electrode alternately); in the second time duration, the first electrodes are configured to be the sensing electrodes, and the second electrodes are configured to be the driving electrodes (Figs. 4 and 8-9 and [0072]; electrodes X and electrodes Y act as driving electrodes and sensing electrode alternately).
Regarding claim 14, JO in view of LEE discloses the capacitive touch display apparatus of claim 1, JO discloses wherein the capacitive touch display apparatus further comprises a digital signal process module (Fig. 4 and [0060]-[0062]; signal conversion unit 340); the digital signal processing module analyzes the digital signal to obtain a touch position of a touch object on the capacitive touch display apparatus (Fig. 4 and [0060]-[0062]).
9. Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over JO (US 20150184989 A1) in view of LEE (US 20210313401 A1) and further in view of CHO (US 20240393901 A1).
Regarding claim 10, JO in view of LEE discloses the capacitive touch display apparatus of claim 8, but does not disclose the method as claimed in claim 11. However, CHO discloses a capacitive touch display device (Figs. 2 and 19), wherein when the synchronous control signal is a row synchronous signal, a starting time and an ending time in one cycle of the row synchronous signal is identified; a time duration between the starting time and the ending time in one cycle of the display synchronous signal is less than the predefined time duration; in the time duration between the starting time and the ending time in one cycle of the display synchronous signal, the row synchronous signal is maintained at a low voltage level, thereby causing the display panel to stop refreshing a display image, after the predefined time duration, the driving signals are provided to the driving electrodes, and are stopped to being provided to the driving electrodes before a starting time of a next cycle of the row synchronous signal (Fig. 31 and [0260]-[0265], Fig. 31 is reproduced below for reference, which is essentially same as Fig. 7 or the second embodiment of the claimed invention).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHO to the touch display device of JO in view of LEE. The combination/motivation would be to provide a touch display device with an improved sensitivity and a reduced noise of a touch detection.
Regarding claim 11, JO in view of LEE discloses the capacitive touch display apparatus of claim 8, but does not disclose the method as claimed in claim 11. However, CHO discloses a capacitive touch display device (Figs. 2 and 19), wherein the synchronous control signals comprises a display synchronous signal and a row synchronous signal; the touch sensing method further identifies a starting time and an ending time of the display synchronous signal; a time duration between the starting time and the ending time in one cycle of the display synchronous signal is less than the predefined time duration; in the time duration between the starting time and the ending time in one cycle of the display synchronous signal, the display synchronous signal is maintained at a high voltage level; in the touch sensing period, the display synchronous signal and the row synchronous signal are maintained at a low voltage level, thereby the display image of the display panel stops refreshing; after the predefined time duration, the driving signals are outputted to the driving electrodes, and are stopped to being outputted to the driving electrodes before a starting time of a next cycle of the display synchronous (Fig. 32 and [0266]-[0271], Fig. 32 is reproduced below for reference, which is essentially same as Fig. 8 or the third embodiment of the claimed invention).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHO to the touch display device of JO in view of LEE. The combination/motivation would be to provide a touch display device with an improved sensitivity and a reduced noise of a touch detection.
10. Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over JO (US 20150184989 A1) in view of LEE (US 20210313401 A1) and further in view of GONG (WO 2023046108 A1).
Regarding claim 13 and claim 15, JO in view of LEE discloses the touch sensing method of claim 7 and the capacitive touch display apparatus of claim 1, respectively, but does not disclose calculates the touch position of the touch object on the capacitive touch display apparatus based on the difference using a barycenter algorithm. However, GONG discloses a capacitive touch display device and a touch sensing method (Fig. 7), wherein the digital signal processing module calculates a difference between the digital signal and a standard signal, and calculates the touch position of the touch object on the capacitive touch display apparatus based on the difference using a barycenter algorithm (Fig. 1 and page 5, lines 26-31; calculation of touch position). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from GONG to the touch display device of JO in view of LEE. The combination/motivation would be to provide a touch display device with an improved sensitivity and a reduced noise of a touch detection.
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 2-6 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) second paragraph, set forth in this Office action. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The present invention is directed to a capacitive touch display device and a driving method of the capacitive display device. The closet prior arts, JO (US 20150184989 A1), LEE (US 20210313401 A1), CHO (US 20240393901 A1), and GONG (WO 2023046108 A1), individually or in combination, discloses a capacitive touch display device and a driving method of the capacitive display device similar to the claimed invention, but fail to teach wherein the touch sensing control circuit comprises a synchronous signal process module, a control module, a first multiplexer module, a second multiplexer module, a touch driving module, and a touch sensing module; the synchronous signal process module identifies a starting time and an ending time of each of the synchronous control signals in one cycle, and provides to the control module; the control module outputs a state setting signal to the first multiplexer module and the second multiplexer after a predefined time duration, the predefined time duration starts from the starting time, the state setting signal is configured to control one of the first multiplexer and the second multiplexer to switch to a first state, and another one of the first multiplexer and the second multiplexer to switch to a second state; wherein in the first state, the first multiplexer establishes electrical connections between the touch driving module and the first electrodes, thereby setting the first electrodes as the driving electrodes; in the second state, the first multiplexer module establishes electrical connections between the touch driving module and the first electrodes, thereby setting the first electrodes as the sensing electrodes; in the first state, the second multiplexer establishes electrical connections between the touch driving module and the second electrodes, thereby setting the first electrodes as the sensing electrodes; in the second state, the first multiplexer module establishes electrical connections between the touch driving module and the first electrodes, thereby setting the first electrodes as the driving electrodes.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623