Detailed Action
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-3 and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NAKAGAWA (US 20190357048 A1).
Regarding claim 1, NAKAGAWA (Figs. 1-15) discloses a method of handling a security event of a personal device in collaboration with a virtual reality headset (Figs. 1-15; authentication management method, authentication to operate or unlock of a personal device, e.g., a smartphone 101, in collaboration with a head-mounted display (HMD) 102, which is a virtual reality headset), the method comprising: capturing a security event raised on the personal device and transmitting a security message, related to the security event, to the virtual reality headset; and handling the security message at the virtual reality headset by switching the virtual reality headset to a passthrough mode (Figs. 1-15 and [0051], [0053], [0058], [0060], and [0063]-[0065], authentication is triggered when a user start to operate or unlock the smartphone 101, an authentication request to start the operation of the smartphone is sent from the smartphone 101 to the HMD 102, in response to receiving the request, the HMD 102 performs an identification of the smartphone 101 by using a camera to photograph and analyze an identification information of the smartphone 101 and transmits an identification result to the smartphone 101; Figs. 5-6, 9-10, 12-13 and 15-16 and [0048], using the camera allows the user to view the real world environment and interact with the smartphone 101 while still wearing the headset corresponds to a passthrough mode of the HMD 102).
Regarding claim 2, NAKAGAWA (Figs. 1-15) discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein handling the security message at the virtual reality headset comprises taking at least one iris photograph and authenticating a user from the at least one iris photograph ([0046]; authenticating a user from an iris photograph).
Regarding claim 3, NAKAGAWA (Figs. 1-15) discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein switching to the passthrough mode comprises switching on a front-facing camera of the virtual reality headset (Figs. 4-15 and [0048], [0051], [0053], [0058], [0060], and [0063]-[0065]; the front-facing camera of the HMD 102 is activated to capture an identification information of the smartphone 101).
Regarding claim 5, NAKAGAWA (Figs. 1-15) discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the capturing comprises handling the security event at a security service embedded within the personal device (Figs. 1 and 3; built-in hardware and software including CPU 104, memory 107/108, authentication units 301-304).
Regarding claim 6, NAKAGAWA (Figs. 1-15) discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein, once the security message is handled at the virtual reality headset, the virtual reality headset switches from the passthrough mode to a normal mode (Figs. 4-15 and [0048], [0051], [0053], [0058], [0060], and [0063]-[0065]; HMD 102 exits the passthrough mode when the authentication request is complete).
Regarding claim 7, NAKAGAWA (Figs. 1-15) discloses a virtual reality headset(Figs. 1-15 and [0051], [0053], [0058], [0060], and [0063]-[0065], authentication is required when a user start to operate or unlock the smartphone 101, an authentication request to start the operation of the smartphone is sent from the smartphone 101 to a head-mounted display (HMD) 102, which is a virtual reality headset, in response to receiving the request from a communication interface 116 through a network 103, the HMD 102 performs an identification of the smartphone 101 by turning on a camera to photograph and analyze an identification information of the smartphone 101 and transmits an identification result to the smartphone 101; Figs. 5-6, 9-10, 12-13 and 15-16 and [0048], using the camera allows the user to view the real world environment and interact with the smartphone 101 while still wearing the headset corresponds to a passthrough mode of the HMD 102).
Regarding claim 8, NAKAGAWA (Figs. 1-15) discloses the virtual reality headset according to claim 7, wherein the processor is further adapted for handling the security message by triggering at least one eye tracking camera adapted to take at least one iris photograph of a user of the virtual reality headset and triggering an authentication of the user from at least one iris photography ([0046]; authenticating a user from an iris photograph).
Regarding claim 9, NAKAGAWA (Figs. 1-15) discloses the virtual reality headset according to claim 8, wherein the processor is further adapted to trigger a transmission, through the interface, of a security response to the personal device according to the authentication (Figs. 4-15 and [0048], [0051], [0053], [0058], [0060], and [0063]-[0065]; the HMD 102 transmits an identification or verification result to the smartphone 101 according to the authentication).
Regarding claim 10, NAKAGAWA (Figs. 1-15) discloses the virtual reality headset according to claim 9, further adapted for, when switching to the passthrough mode, switching on a front-facing camera of the virtual reality headset (Figs. 4-15 and [0048], [0051], [0053], [0058], [0060], and [0063]-[0065]; the front-facing camera of the HMD 102 is activated to capture an identification information of the smartphone 101).
Regarding claim 11, NAKAGAWA (Figs. 1-15) discloses a personal device comprising a processor adapted for capturing a security event and instructing an interface to transmit a security message related to the security event to a virtual reality headset (Figs. 1-15 and [0051], [0053], [0058], [0060], and [0063]-[0065], a personal device (e.g., a smartphone 101) includes authentication units 301-304 and an interface 109, authentication is triggered when a user start to operate or unlock the smartphone 101, an authentication request is sent from the smartphone 101 through the communication interface 109 to the HMD 102 , which is a virtual reality headset, in response to receiving the request, the HMD 102 performs an identification of the smartphone 101 and transmits an identification result to the smartphone 101).
Regarding claim 12, NAKAGAWA (Figs. 1-15) discloses the personal device according to claim 11, wherein the processor is adapted for deploying a security service in charge of capturing the security event and instructing the interface (Figs. 1 and 3; built-in hardware and software including CPU 104, memory 107/108, authentication units 301-304).
Regarding claim 13, NAKAGAWA (Figs. 1-15) discloses the personal device according to claim 12, wherein the security service is adapted to authorize the security event according to a security response received from the virtual reality headset (Figs. 4-15 and [0048], [0051], [0053], [0058], [0060], and [0063]-[0065]; smartphone 101 is started to operate or unlocked after receiving an identification or verification result from HMD 102).
Regarding claim 14, NAKAGAWA (Figs. 1-15) discloses a system comprising a virtual reality headset according to claim 7 and a personal device comprising a processor adapted for capturing a security event and instructing an interface to transmit a security message related to the security event to a virtual reality headset (Figs. 1-15 and [0051], [0053], [0058], [0060], and [0063]-[0065], a personal device (e.g., a smartphone 101) includes authentication units 301-304 and an interface 109, authentication is triggered when a user start to operate or unlock the smartphone 101, an authentication request is sent from the smartphone 101 through the communication interface 109 to the HMD 102 , which is a virtual reality headset, in response to receiving the request, the HMD 102 performs an identification of the smartphone 101 and transmits an identification result to the smartphone 101).
Regarding claim 15, NAKAGAWA (Figs. 1-15) discloses a non-transitory storage medium comprising program code instructions for executing the method according to claim 1 (Figs. 1 and 3 and [0047], [0040], and [0053]; programs and instructions are stored in storage and are executed by processor).
5. Claim 1, 7, and 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ROTHKOPF (US 20210105614 A1).
Regarding claim 7, ROTHKOPF (Figs. 1-3) discloses a virtual reality headsetvirtual reality headset to a passthrough mode (Figs. 1-3 and [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0052], [0063]-[0068], and [0028]; a head-mounted display 222 (e.g., a virtual reality headset) includes a processor 110 and a communication interface 114, in response to receiving a message or signal indicating that a user intends to access a portable device 226 or a restricted-access function of the portable device 226 through the communication interface 114, the virtual reality headset 222 performs an authentication by using a camera to capture and analyze an information image of the portable device 226 and transmits an authentication signal to the portable device 226 so that the user is able to operate or unlock the portable device 226).
Regarding claim 11, ROTHKOPF (Figs. 1-3) discloses a personal device comprising a processor adapted for capturing a security event and instructing an interface to transmit a security message related to the security event to a virtual reality headset (Figs. 1-3 and [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0063]-[0068], and [0028]; a portable user device 226 (e.g., a smartphone) includes a processor 110 and a communication interface 114, the portable user device 226 sends a message or signal indicating that the user intends to access the portable device 226 or a restricted-access function of the portable device 226 to a virtual reality headset 222 through the communication interface 114, in response to receiving the request message or signal, the virtual reality headset 222 performs an authentication and transmits an authentication signal to the portable user device 226 so that the user is able to operate or unlock the portable device 226).
Regarding claim 1, ROTHKOPF (Figs. 1-3) discloses a method of handling a security event of a personal device in collaboration with a virtual reality headset (Figs. 1-3; authentication method, authentication to operate or unlock of a portable device 222 (e.g., a smartphone), in collaboration with a 222 (e.g., a virtual reality headset); [0028] and [0036]), the method comprising: capturing a security event raised on the personal device and transmitting a security message, related to the security event, to the virtual reality headset; and handling the security message at the virtual reality headset by switching the virtual reality headset to a passthrough mode (Figs. 1-3 and [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0063]-[0068], and [0028]; the portable user device 226 sends a message or signal indicating that the user intends to access the portable device 226 or a restricted-access function of the portable device 226 to a virtual reality headset 222, the virtual reality headset 222 performs an authentication by using a camera to capture and analyze an information image of the portable device 226 and transmits an authentication signal to the portable device 226 so that the user is able to operate or unlock the portable device 226).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over NAKAGAWA (US 20190357048 A1) in view of KOHLI (US 20170286656 A1).
Regarding claim 4, NAKAGAWA (Figs. 1-15) discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the security event relates to a payment triggered at the virtual reality headset. However, KOHLI discloses a method of handling a security event, wherein the security event relates to a payment triggered at the virtual reality headset (Figs. 1-7 and [0042], [0048]-[0051], and [0057]-[0059], user authentication user to operate a first electronic device (e.g., a smartphone) through a second electronic device (e.g., a head-mounted device) for online payment transaction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KOHLI with the authentication management method of NAKAGAWA for enabling authentication of a user of a first computing device used to initiate an online payment card transaction by pairing the first computing device with a second computing device associated with the same user.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623