Preliminary Amendment
In the Preliminary Amendment filed 09/09/2026, the following has occurred: claims 1-15 have been canceled and claims 16-35 have been added. Now, claims 16-35 are pending.
The amendments to the Specification and the substitute Abstract, filed 09/09/2026 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 recites “the storage unit of the network or the Cloud.” Claim 25 depends on claim 24, which depends on claim 16. Claim 16 recites “a storage unit” and claim 24 recites “a network or a Cloud.” However, there is no previous recitation that combines the “storage unit” and the “network or a Cloud.” Therefore, the references to “the storage unit of the network or the Cloud” lacks sufficient antecedent basis in the claims.
Claims 27-28 contains the trademark/trade names “WeChat,” “iOS,” and “Android.” Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade names are used to identify/describe the executable application programs and the operating system used for the executable application programs and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim 27 is further recited as being dependent on claim 27. Because the claim is dependent upon itself, the scope of the claim is unclear and indefinite. For examination purposes, claim 27 will be treated as dependent on claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 16-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2A Prong One
Claim 16 recites retrieving a list of a plurality of health conditions caused by said physical health condition; providing the list of said plurality of health conditions; in response to receiving a first input, that specifies one health condition of said plurality of health conditions, providing a group of questions corresponding to said one health condition; and in response to receiving a second input, that comprises feedback to said group of questions, selecting one or more intervention courses based on said feedback to said group of questions, and providing said one or more intervention courses.
Claim 33 recites retrieving a list of a plurality of health conditions caused by the physical health condition; providing the list of the plurality of health conditions; receiving a first input, wherein the first input comprises a selected health condition from the list of the plurality of health conditions; in response to receiving the first input, providing a group of questions corresponding to the selected health condition; receiving a second input, wherein the second input comprises feedback to the group of questions; in response to receiving the second input, selecting one or more intervention courses based on the feedback to the group of questions; and providing the one or more intervention courses.
These limitations, as drafted, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, encompass managing interactions between people, which is a subgrouping of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. For example, the claims encompass manually obtaining a list of health conditions selecting one of them, providing questions related to the condition and receiving a response, using the response to provide a medical intervention. This could be carried out between a patient and a provider for identifying and treating a health condition using question and answer interactions. Such manual steps encompass Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity.
Claims 17-32 and 34-35 incorporate the abstract idea identified above and recite additional limitations that expand on the abstract idea. Claim 17 further expands on communications regarding the health condition as a specified condition. Claim 18-19 further expands on the questions and the intervention based on scoring the feedback. Claim 20 further expands on classifying different interventions based on scored severity of the health condition. Claim 21 further expands on retrieving the health conditions. Claim 22 further expands on the questions. Claims 30-32 further expand on different types of health conditions. Claim 34 further expands on the questions and the intervention based on scoring the feedback. Claim 35 further expands on classifying different interventions based on scored severity of the health condition As explained above, these manual steps encompass Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity.
Step 2A Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the remaining elements amount to no more than general purpose computer components programmed to perform the abstract ideas.
Claims 16-35, directly or indirectly, recite the following additional elements at a high level of generality and merely utilized as tools to implement the abstract idea:
Claim 16:
a computing device which comprises an input interface and an output interface, and a storage unit in which one or more application programs are stored, said one or more application programs being executable for providing instructions for a plurality of steps.
through the output interface of the computing device.
through the input interface of the computing device.
through the output interface of the computing device.
through the input interface of the computing device.
through the output interface of the computing device.
Claim 17:
through the input interface of the computing device.
through the output interface of the computing device.
through the input interface of the computing device.
Claim 19:
one or more processors.
Claim 21:
at the computing device.
Claim 23:
said input interface and said output interface comprise a same display and a same graphical user interface.
Claim 24:
a communication interface which connects the computing device to a network or a Cloud.
Claim 25:
said one or more application programs are stored in the storage unit of the network or the Cloud.
Claim 26:
said one or more application programs are installed on a third party platform.
Claim 27:
said one or more application programs are WeChat mini-programs.
Claim 28:
said one or more application programs are mobile applications installed under iOS or Android environments.
Claim 29:
said computing device is a smart phone, a computer tablet, or a personal computer.
Claim 33:
at an output interface of a computing device.
through an input interface of the computing device.
through the input interface of the computing device.
through the output interface of the computing device.
through the input interface of the computing device.
through the input interface of the computing device.
through the output interface of the computing device.
These additional elements amount to no more than generic computer components executing the abstract idea, including input and output interfaces carrying out the communication of the information. Additionally, the recitations of the type and location of the application programs simply define the components of the generic computer system used to carry out the abstract idea.
The written description discloses that the recited computer components encompass generic components including “The computing device is a device which could perform some or all functions of a computer, comprising a smart phone, a computer tablet or a PC (personal computer). The application programs could be stored in the storage unit of the computing device, and could be retrieved and executed by a processor to provide instructions” (see page 10, lines 33-36). As set forth in the MPEP 2106.04(d) “merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer” is an example of when an abstract idea has not been integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as discussed above with respect to integration into a practical application, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality, and the written description indicates that these elements are generic computer components. Using generic computer components to perform abstract ideas does not provide a necessary inventive concept. See Alice, 573 U.S. at 223 (“mere recitation of a generic computer cannot transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.”).
Additionally, the aforementioned additional elements, considered in combination, do not provide an improvement to a technical field or provide a technical improvement to a technical problem. These additional elements merely carry out the abstract idea through data collection, data processing, and data communication. Therefore, whether considered alone or in combination, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-26 and 29-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenberg, US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0244292 in view of Moturu, US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0196389.
As per claim 16, Rosenberg teaches a patient care system for providing intervention courses to a patient having a physical health condition, said system comprising: a computing device which comprises an input interface and an output interface, and a storage unit in which one or more application programs are stored, said one or more application programs being executable for providing instructions for a plurality of steps (see paragraph 0019; computer program with stored instructions, remote device for receiving and outputting data) comprising: retrieving a list of a plurality of health conditions (see paragraph 0069; receiving conditions from the treatment recommendation computer system); providing the list of said plurality of health conditions through the output interface of the computing device (see paragraph 0070; the conditions are displayed to the user of the remote device via the display of the user interface); in response to receiving a first input through the input interface of the computing device, that specifies one health condition of said plurality of health conditions (see paragraph 0071; user may selected one of the conditions via the input device of the user interface), providing a group of questions corresponding to said one health condition through the output interface of the computing device (see paragraph 0079 the computer displays questions asking how severe the patient’s condition is and how long the patient has had the condition); and in response to receiving a second input through the input interface of the computing device, that comprises feedback to said group of questions (see paragraph 0079; user may enter answers to the questions), selecting one or more intervention courses based on said feedback to said group of questions (see paragraphs 0080-0082; treatment recommendation system uses condition and input patient information (answers to questions) to provide ranked treatment recommendations), and providing said one or more intervention courses through the output interface of the computing device (see paragraph 0082; computer displays the treatments).
Rosenberg does not explicitly teach the plurality of health conditions are caused by said physical health condition. Moturu teaches monitoring health conditions that are caused by physical health conditions (see paragraph 0064; physical health condition (related to sleep, appetite, concentration on a survey) associated with depression symptoms). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to incorporate a list of health conditions caused by said physical health condition in the system of Rosenberg with the motivation of improving treatment for patients with existing factors that may effect other conditions (see paragraphs 0005-0006 of Moturu).
As per claim 17, Rosenberg and Moturu teaches the system of claim 16 as described above. Rosenberg further teaches said plurality of steps further comprise: in response to receiving an input through the input interface of the computing device, that specifies one or more health conditions of said plurality of health conditions, providing an output through the output interface of the computing device, wherein said output comprises an indication that one health condition of the one or more health conditions is specified (see paragraph 0074; displays treatments for the selected condition. Figure 9A shows an example of the specified health condition being displayed with the treatments); and receiving said first input through the input interface of the computing device (see paragraph 0071; input through input device of the user interface).
As per claim 18, Rosenberg and Moturu teaches the system of claim 16 as described above. Rosenberg further teaches said group of questions is used to evaluate a scale corresponding to said one health condition (see paragraphs 0079-0082; questions are used to provide treatment recommendations, which are ranked (scaled) and correspond to the selected condition); and said one or more intervention courses are provided depending on a scale score calculated based on the feedback to the group of questions (see paragraph 0062; ranking of treatments based on a score that scales highest to lowest).
As per claim 19, Rosenberg and Moturu teaches the system of claim 18 as described above. Rosenberg further teaches one or more processors configured to calculate the scale score using the feedback to the group of questions (see paragraphs 0079-0082; questions are used to provide treatment recommendations, which are ranked (scaled) and correspond to the selected condition).
As per claim 20, Rosenberg and Moturu teaches the system of claim 18 as described above. Rosenberg further teaches said one or more intervention courses can be classified into different levels comprising a level of relaxation tools and a level of cognitive behavioral treatments depending on a severity of said one health condition indicated by the scale score (see paragraph 0079; treatments are determined based on severity of condition from answers to questions; Figures 11A-12 show examples of types of treatments at different levels, including, for example Reduce stress, considered a type of relaxation tool and preventive/consultations). Rosenberg does not explicitly identify cognitive behavioral treatments as one of the types of treatments. Moturu further identifies suggested interventions (see paragraph 0087) that include relaxation tools and cognitive behavioral treatment (see paragraph 0056; stress-relaxation interventions, cognitive behavioral therapy-based interventions interventions). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to incorporate these types of treatments in the system of Rosenberg for treating conditions such as anxiety disorder, behavioral addiction, bipolar disorder, etc. (see paragraph 0039 of Rosenberg). With the motivation of improving treatment for patients with existing factors that may effect other conditions (see paragraphs 0005-0006 of Moturu).
As per claim 21, Rosenberg and Moturu teaches the system of claim 18 as described above. Rosenberg and Moturu further teaches retrieving, at the computing device, the list of the plurality of health conditions caused by the physical health condition comprises (described in claim 16). Rosenberg further teaches retrieving the list of the plurality of health conditions from a condition database (see paragraph 0016; database includes information about patients, conditions, treatments).
As per claim 22, Rosenberg and Moturu teaches the system of claim 16 as described above. Rosenberg further teaches the group of questions is classified into one or more condition groups representing one or more respective health conditions from the list of the plurality of health conditions (see paragraph 0079; questions related to patient’s condition).
As per claim 23, Rosenberg and Moturu teaches the system of claim 16 as described above. Rosenberg further teaches said input interface and said output interface comprise a same display and a same graphical user interface (see paragraphs 0070-0071; patient input and output on the interface of the remote device).
As per claim 24, Rosenberg and Moturu teaches the system of claim 16 as described above. Rosenberg further teaches said system further comprises a communication interface which connects the computing device to a network or a Cloud (see paragraph 0038; network interface connected to the network facilitating transmission of data from the computer over the network and receipt of information from the network to the computer).
As per claim 25, Rosenberg and Moturu teaches the system of claim 24 as described above. Rosenberg further teaches said one or more application programs are stored in the storage unit of the network or the Cloud (see paragraph 0019; network system stores computer program).
As per claim 26, Rosenberg and Moturu teaches the system of claim 24 as described above. Rosenberg further teaches said one or more application programs are installed on a third party platform (see paragraph 0019; network system stores computer program, which is a “third party platform” relative to a remote device user).
As per claim 29, Rosenberg and Moturu teaches the system of claim 16 as described above. Rosenberg further teaches said computing device is a smart phone, a computer tablet, or a personal computer (see paragraph 0037; laptop, tablet, smartphone).
As per claim 30, Rosenberg and Moturu teaches the system of claim 16 as described above. Rosenberg further teaches a physical health condition is cancer, asthma, atopic dermatitis, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, bullous pemphigoid or chronic spontaneous urticaria (see paragraph 0039; at least asthma). As noted above, Rosenberg does not explicitly teach the plurality of health conditions are caused by said physical health condition. Moturu teaches monitoring health conditions that are caused by physical health conditions (see paragraph 0064; physical health condition (related to sleep, appetite, concentration on a survey) associated with depression symptoms). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to incorporate a list of health conditions caused by said physical health condition in the system of Rosenberg with the motivation of improving treatment for patients with existing factors that may effect other conditions (see paragraphs 0005-0006 of Moturu).
As per claim 31, Rosenberg and Moturu teaches the system of claim 16 as described above. Rosenberg further teaches the list of said plurality of health conditions comprises mental health conditions, dietary related conditions and/or physical exercise related conditions (see paragraph 0039; anorexia, anxiety disorder, and ADHD are examples of mental health conditions; acute respiratory distress syndrome, asthma, back pain are examples of physical exercise related conditions).
As per claim 32, Rosenberg and Moturu teaches the system of claim 16 as described above. Rosenberg further teaches the list of said plurality of health conditions comprises fatigue, insomnia, frustration, anxiety, and/or pain (see paragraph 0039; at least anxiety and pain).
Claims 33-35 recite substantially similar method limitations to system claims 16 and 18-20 and, as such, are rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Claim(s) 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenberg, US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0244292 in view of Moturu, US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0196389 and further in view of Sun et al., Preferences for a Mental Health Support Technology Among Chinese Employees: Mixed Methods Approach.
As per claim 27 Rosenberg and Moturu teaches the system of claim 16 as described above. Rosenberg does not explicitly teach said one or more application programs are WeChat mini-programs. Sun teaches one or more application programs are WeChat mini-programs used by individuals in a medical data collection and treatment environment (see page 11, paragraph 2, WeChat mini-programs deployed for digital mental health). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to implement WeChat mini programs for use with the smartphone interface of Rosenberg with the motivation of providing easier access to the services (see page 11, paragraph 2, users can access content without downloading, installing, or signing up).
As per claim 28, Rosenberg and Moturu teaches the system of claim 16 as described above. Rosenberg does not explicitly teach said one or more application programs are mobile applications installed under iOS or Android environments. Sun teaches one or more application programs are mobile applications installed under iOS or Android environments (see page 2, paragraph 5; mental health apps for smartphone with Android or iOS). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to utilize iOS or Android environments the smartphone interface of Rosenberg s with the motivation of improving accessibility to the servers in Rosenberg (see page 2, paragraph 5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Maia et al., Empowering Preventive Care with GECA Chatbot, discloses computer-based interaction with a user to determine a user’s medical condition and recommend a treatment.
Legere, International Publication No. WO 2021/155103 A1, discloses providing recommended treatments based on user responses to questions.
Choi, US Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0342924, discloses an interface for receiving input specifying a health condition and a treatment model that selects a treatment program corresponding to the health condition.
Moen, US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0223291, discloses selecting and recommending treatment by medical practitioners that specialize in patient’s condition.
Karim, US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0277251, discloses an interface for a user to select medical symptoms to determine a medical condition.
Chen et al., Effects of frequent assessments on the severity of suicidal thoughts: an ecological momentary assessment study, discloses the use of WeChat mini-programs users to fill medical forms.
C. Luke Gilligan
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3683
/CHRISTOPHER L GILLIGAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3683