DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirate (JP 2014-237375 A).
Regarding claim 1, Hirate discloses a steering control device configured to execute a feedback process, an operation process, and a reduction process, wherein:
the feedback process is a process of calculating a feedback manipulated variable [0010, 0033, the torque deviation is a feedback manipulated variable that is feedback controlled];
the feedback manipulated variable is a manipulated variable of feedback control in which a detected value of steering torque is a controlled variable [0022, the target of control by ECU 15 is steering mechanism 100; 0020, steering torque Ts is detected by torque sensor 4, used to calculate the required assist torque command Ta, the motor voltage Vd required to produce the torque command Ta is calculated and applied to steering mechanism 100 and thus the amount of assistance provided to the driver to turn the steering wheel 2 and consequently the amount of force used to steer both tires 10 (steering torque Ts) is controlled, as shown in Figure 2];
the steering torque is torque input by a driver to a steering system [0015];
the operation process is a process of controlling torque of a motor of the steering system using the feedback manipulated variable as an input [0010, 0024, 0033, the motor is controlled based on the assist torque command value that makes a deviation between a target steering torque and the detected steering torque zero];
the reduction process is a process of reducing an absolute value of the feedback manipulated variable when a magnitude of target steering torque is greater than or equal to a predetermined value [0010, 0033]; and
the target steering torque is a target value of the steering torque [0010].
Regarding claim 6, Hirate further discloses wherein the feedback process includes a process of calculating the feedback manipulated variable using an output value of at least one of following elements: a proportional element and a derivative element each of which receives as an input a difference between the detected value of the steering torque and the target steering torque [0035].
Regarding claim 8, Hirate discloses a steering control method comprising executing a feedback process, an operation process, and a reduction process, wherein:
the feedback process is a process of calculating a feedback manipulated variable [0010, 0033, the torque deviation is a feedback manipulated variable that is feedback controlled];
the feedback manipulated variable is a manipulated variable of feedback control in which a detected value of steering torque is a controlled variable [0022, the target of control by ECU 15 is steering mechanism 100; 0020, steering torque Ts is detected by torque sensor 4, used to calculate the required assist torque command Ta, the motor voltage Vd required to produce the torque command Ta is calculated and applied to steering mechanism 100 and thus the amount of assistance provided to the driver to turn the steering wheel 2 and consequently the amount of force used to steer both tires 10 (steering torque Ts) is controlled, as shown in Figure 2];
the steering torque is torque input by a driver to a steering system [0015];
the operation process is a process of controlling torque of a motor of the steering system using the feedback manipulated variable as an input [0010, 0024, 0033, the motor is controlled based on the assist torque command value that makes a deviation between a target steering torque and the detected steering torque zero];
the reduction process is a process of reducing an absolute value of the feedback manipulated variable when a magnitude of target steering torque is greater than or equal to a predetermined value [0010, 0033]; and
the target steering torque is a target value of the steering torque [0010].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirate (JP 2014-237375 A) in view of Mukai (US Patent Application Publication 2004/0083822) and further in view of Davis (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0130593).
Regarding claim 5, Hirate discloses the device of claim 1 as discussed above but does not disclose the steering control device is configured to execute an open-loop manipulated variable calculation process, the open-loop manipulated variable calculation process is a process of calculating an open-loop manipulated variable using the target steering torque as an input, the open-loop manipulated variable being a manipulated variable of open-loop control in which the steering torque is a controlled variable and the operation process is a process of controlling the torque of the motor using the feedback manipulated variable and the open-loop manipulated variable as inputs.
Mukai discloses a steering control device is configured to execute an open-loop manipulated variable calculation process, the open-loop manipulated variable calculation process is a process of calculating an open-loop manipulated variable using a target steering current as an input, the open-loop manipulated variable being a manipulated variable of open-loop control in which the steering torque is a controlled variable and the operation process is a process of controlling the torque of the motor using the feedback manipulated variable and the open-loop manipulated variable as inputs [0035, as shown in Figure 2, the target current applied to a motor of the steering system is determined from the detected value of the steering torque T, and as shown in Figure 3, a deviation E is calculated and is used to determine an open loop manipulated variable in the feedforward control section 21 using the target steering current as an input to control the steering torque output by motor 10, the process also includes using a feedback manipulated variable calculated in the feedback control section 22 as an input].
Mukai discloses the target steering current as an input instead of the target steering torque. However, it is known that the motor steering current is directly proportional to the motor torque, making conversion between and use of either of these two parameters trivial [see Davis 0098]. Mukai teaches that using the feedback manipulated variable alone doesn’t necessarily realize a sufficiently rapid response to a change of motor current, and that by adding the open-loop control responsiveness to a steering operation is improved [0002-0006].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the open-loop control disclosed by Mukai using target steering current as an input to determine an open-loop manipulated variable as an input in the steering control device disclosed by Hirate to improve responsiveness to steering control over what could be achieved using feedback control alone. It would have been obvious to modify the open-loop control to instead use target steering torque as an input because as taught by Davis these parameters are directly proportional to one another.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirate (JP 2014-237375 A) in view of Kanda (JP 2006-175940 A).
Regarding claim 7, Hirate discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the feedback process includes a process of calculating a feedback manipulated variable using the detected value as an input as discussed above, but does not disclose the calculation also based on a difference between an output of a nominal model when an input of the operation process is input to the nominal model and the detected value.
Kanda discloses an electric power steering device performing a feedback process that includes calculating a feedback manipulated variable using a detected value of steering torque and based on a difference between an output of a nominal model when an input of an operation process is input to the nominal model and the detected value [0004, 0012-0014, as shown in Figure 2, the detected steering torque T is used to determine a feedback manipulated variable in torque deviation calculation unit 33 based on a difference between an output of an upstream reference model 31 and an input of an operation process].
Kanda teaches that inclusion of the model makes it easier to tune the relationship between the steering torque and the steering angle of the steering mechanism [0005].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the feedback process disclosed by Kanda that calculates the feedback manipulated variable using an output of a nominal model in the steering control device disclosed by Hirate because it makes it easier to balance the relationship between the steering torque and steering angle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record is silent on performing a feedback control using the feedback manipulated variable based on the target steering torque being outside a detectable range of a torque sensor, which would normally suggest the sensor is nonfunctional.
Conclusion
should be directed to JOSHUA CAMPBELL whose telephone number is (571) 272-8215. The examiner
can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM.
Lindsay M. Low can be reached on (571) 272-1196. The fax phone number for the organization where
this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-
direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR
CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSHUA CAMPBELL/
Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LOGAN M KRAFT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747