DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the to-be-connected member and the welding joint (claim 7) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 2 includes the phrase “an cylinder” which should be “a cylinder” Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 6, r0 and r0 are used. They should be the same font to maintain consistency.
Claims 2-20 are also objected to as they depend on an objected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 11-12 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (herein Zhou) (CN 108953153A, English translation provided with IDS). Regarding Claim 1:In Figures 2-7, Zhou discloses a pump body assembly comprising: an cylinder (1), wherein the cylinder (1) is provided with an air suction hole (14) and a sliding vane groove (13) at intervals (as seen in Figure 6); an upper flange (2) disposed on the cylinder (1, see Figure 4), wherein the upper flange (2) is disposed above the cylinder (1, see Figure 4), a return passage (21) is disposed on the upper flange (2), the return passage (21) passes through the upper flange (2, see Figure 2) in an axial direction of the upper flange (2, see Figure 2), and the return passage (21) extends in a circumferential direction of the upper flange (2, as seen in Figure 7); wherein, along the circumferential direction of the upper flange (2), at least one of the air suction hole (14) and the sliding vane groove (13) is disposed in a staggered manner relative to a distribution interval of the return passage (as seen in Figures 6-7 and mentioned in paragraph [0043], the air suction hole 14 is staggered relative to the distribution interval of the return passage 21). Note: The phrase “distribution interval” is broadly interpreted as the boundaries of any one of Zhou’s return passages (21) disposed along the circumference of the upper flange as depicted in Figure 7. This interpretation is used for all claims that do not clearly specify the boundaries of the distribution interval. It is also noted that the term “staggered” is being interpreted as have any circumferential non-overlapping portions. The applicant is requested to more precisely define these terms in the body of the claims to overcome these interpretations. Regarding Claim 2:In Figures 2-7, Zhou discloses the pump body assembly, wherein the air suction hole (14) and the sliding vane groove (13) are disposed at intervals along a circumferential direction of the cylinder (as seen in Figure 6); wherein, along the circumferential direction of the upper flange (2), distribution intervals of the air suction hole (14) and the sliding vane groove (13) are disposed in a staggered manner relative to the distribution interval of the return passage (as seen in Figure 6-7, 13 and 14 are staggered with respect to one or more of the return passages 21).Regarding Claim 3:In Figures 2-7, Zhou discloses the pump body assembly, wherein the cylinder (1) comprises a cylinder block (11) and a connecting portion (12) that are connected to each other, the connecting portion (12) is protruded from a side portion of the cylinder block (as seen in Figure 6), the connecting portion (12) is provided with the air suction hole (14) and the sliding vane groove (13, see Figure 6), and the connecting portion (12) extends in a circumferential direction of the cylinder block (as seen in Figure 6);wherein, along the circumferential direction of the upper flange (2), the connecting portion (12) and the distribution interval of the return passage (121) are disposed in a staggered manner (as seen in Figures 6-7, the return passage has a distribution interval outside the sector depicted by the angle α, while the connecting portion 12 is at least partially within this sector indicating that they are staggered relative to one another).Regarding Claim 4:In Figures 2-7, Zhou discloses the pump body assembly, wherein the upper flange (2) comprises a flange body (body of 2, see Figure 7) and an exhaust valve seat (exhaust valve seat shown in Figure 7 to the left of the sector formed by the angle α, henceforth referred to as EVS) that are connected to each other (as seen in Figure 7); wherein, along the circumferential direction of the upper flange (2), the exhaust valve seat (EVS) and the distribution interval of the return passage (21) are disposed in a staggered manner (as seen in Figure 7, EVS is staggered with respect to one or more of the return passages 21. It is also noted that the EVS partially enters the sector formed by the angle α and so is staggered with respect to the distribution interval of the return passage).Regarding Claim 9:In Figures 2-7, Zhou discloses the pump body assembly, wherein the cylinder (1) is provided with a process hole (15); wherein, along a circumferential direction of the cylinder (1), the process hole (15) and the distribution interval of the return passage (21) are disposed in a staggered manner (as seen in Figures 6-7, 15 is at least partially staggered with respect to one or more return passages 21).Regarding Claims 11 and 14-16:In Figures 2-7, Zhou discloses the pump body assembly, wherein the return passage (21) comprises a plurality of return holes (as seen in Figure 7) disposed at intervals along the circumferential direction of the upper flange (see Figure 7), and a distance between two return holes (hole to the left of the sector formed by angle α and the hole to the right of this sector) at two ends of the plurality of return holes (21) forms a distribution interval of the return passage (as seen in Figure 7).Regarding Claim 12:In Figures 2-7, Zhou discloses a compressor, comprising the pump body assembly as claimed in claim 1 (see paragraph [0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (herein Zhou) (CN 108953153A) as evidenced by Wan et al. (herein Wan) (US 2017/0342982).Zhou is silent regarding an air conditioner using the compressor of claim 12. However, it is extremely well known in the art that sliding vane compressor are routinely used in air conditioners and produce high efficiency compression. For instance in paragraph [0001] Wan states: “The present application relates to the field of air conditioners, and more particularly, to a sliding vane type compressor and an exhaust structure thereof.”Hence, based on common knowledge in the art and the evidence provided by Wan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized Zhou’s sliding vane compressor (of claim 12) in an air conditioner, since doing so would be obvious to try (conventional usage of a sliding vane compressor) and would yield predictable results such as providing a high reliability compressor for an air conditioner with lower power consumption and lower routine maintenance costs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 10 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 recites: an exhaust volume of the pump body assembly is V, an operating frequency of the pump body assembly is f, and a flow area of the return passage (121) is S; wherein 0.1 < S/(0.001 Vf) < 0.6. This relationship between the claimed parameters is not disclosed by Zhou and not anticipated or rendered obvious by any other prior art references.
Claim 6 recites: a radius of a central circle corresponding to the return passage (121) is r0, an outer radius of the upper flange (12) is R, and a maximum radial width of the return passage (121) is w; wherein 1- (r0+0.5w) /R>0.05. This relationship between the claimed parameters is not disclosed by Zhou and not anticipated or rendered obvious by any other prior art references.
Claim 7 recites: wherein the upper flange (12) is welded to a to-be-connected member; wherein, along the circumferential direction of the upper flange (12), a welding joint where the upper flange (12) and the to-be-connected member are welded and the distribution interval of the return passage (121) are disposed in a staggered manner. While Zhou mentions welding the upper flange (2) to the cylinder (1), there is no specific mention of any to-be-connected member being welded to the upper flange. Additionally the spatial relationship between the return passage and the weld joint is considered novel and unique.
Claim 8 recites: wherein a tail hole (1121) is disposed at an end of the sliding vane groove (112), the tail hole (1121) is a circular hole, and a diameter of the tail hole (1121) is d; wherein the upper flange (12) is provided with a first yielding hole (124) corresponding to the tail hole (1121), the first yielding hole (124) is disposed opposite to the tail hole (1121), the first yielding hole (124) is disposed opposite the tail hole (1121), the first yielding hole (124) is a circular hole, and a diameter of the first yielding hole (124) is D; wherein d < D < d +0.5mm. This relationship between the claimed parameters is not disclosed by Zhou and not anticipated or rendered obvious by any other prior art references.
Claim 10 recites: wherein the upper flange (12) is provided with a second yielding hole (125) opposite to the process hole (115), the process hole (115) and the second yielding hole (125) are both circular holes, a diameter of the process hole (115) is d1, and a diameter of the second yielding hole (125) is D1; wherein d1< D1 < d1 + 0.5mm. This relationship between the claimed parameters is not disclosed by Zhou and not anticipated or rendered obvious by any other prior art references.
Claims 17-20 are dependent on one of the aforementioned claims and so are allowable for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20210270268 – Pump body assembly. US 20200018314 – Sliding vane compressor exhaust structure. US 10151513 - Sliding vane compressor return passage arrangement.
/DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746