DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Benterman et al (US 2015/0119216), hereinafter Benterman.
Regarding claim 1, Benterman discloses a packaging apparatus (Fig. 1, item 1) which packages a stored object (Para. 0050-0052) in a packaging box (Fig. 2, item 8, 80, 81) having a cylindrical body with a bottom portion closed and changes a height (Para. 0050-0052) of the packaging box dependent on a height (Para. 0050-0052) of the stored object (Para. 0050-0052), the packaging apparatus comprising:
a height measuring part (Fig. 1, item 7, 70, 71) which measures a height of the stored object (Para. 0050-0052) stored in the cylindrical body with a top surface opening portion opened (Para. 0050-0052), and
a scoring part (Fig. 2, item 60, 61) (Fig. 7, item 200) (Fig. 9, item 610, 620, 621, 640, 641) which forms a horizontal crease (Para. 0058) in a wall of the cylindrical body (Para. 0058) based on a result of the height measuring part (Para. 0050-0052) to divide the wall into a side wall and an upper flap (Para. 0050-0052), wherein the scoring part includes a roller part (Fig. 9, item 620, 621, 640, 641) which holds the wall of the cylindrical body (Fig. 0058) and moves in a horizontal direction (Fig. 0058) while rolling on both front and rear surfaces (Fig. 0058) of the wall to form the horizontal crease (Fig. 0058).
Regarding claim 2, Benterman discloses the packaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the scoring part includes:
a first scoring part (Fig. 1, item 200) (Fig. 9, item 610, 620, 621, 640, 641) including the roller part (Fig. 9, item 610, 620, 621, 640, 641) which forms the horizontal crease in a pair of the walls (Para. 0053-0056, positioning system can move around four axes and along guide rails 210a, 210b, 220a, 220b) facing each other in a first direction (Fig. 7) when the cylindrical body is viewed from a plane (Para. 0053-0056), and
a second scoring part (Fig. 1, item 200) (Fig. 9, item 610, 620, 621, 640, 641) including the roller part which forms the horizontal crease in a pair of the walls (Para. 0053-0056, positioning system can move around four axes and along guide rails 210a, 210b, 220a, 220b) facing each other in a second direction (Fig. 7) perpendicular to the first direction when the cylindrical body is viewed from a plane (Para. 0053-0056).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benterman in view of Nishio et al (US 6,387,028), hereinafter Nishio.
Regarding claim 3, Benterman teaches the packaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the roller part includes: an outer roller (Fig. 9, item 620, 621) which is disposed in a horizontal direction (Fig. 0058) (Fig. 9) along the horizontal crease via an interval (Fig. 0058) and rotates around an axis (Fig. 0058) while being pressed on a front surface of the wall (Fig. 0058), and an inner roller (Fig. 9, item 640, 641) which is disposed to face the outer roller (Fig. 0058) and rotates around an axis (Fig. 0058) while being pressed on a rear surface of the wall (Fig. 0058).
Benterman is silent about the roller part including a pair of outer rollers and the inner roller which is disposed to face a space between the pair of outer rollers.
However, Nishio teaches a packaging apparatus (Nishio, Fig. 4) comprising a roller part (Nishio, Fig. 4, item 61, 62, 63) including a pair of outer rollers (Nishio, Fig. 4, item 63) and the inner roller (Nishio, Fig. 4, item 62) which is disposed to face a space (Nishio, Fig. 4, inner roller 62 faces the rollers 63 opposite the inner roller 62 such that inner roller 62 also faces the space between the rollers 62) between the pair of outer rollers (Nishio, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Benterman and Nishio to modify the roller part of Benterman to include the pair of outer rollers of Nishio. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to provide a machine which is adapted for high-speed operation (Nishio, Col. 1, lines 61-67).
Regarding claim 4, as combined above, Nishio teaches the packaging apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the inner roller is disposed to face the space between the outer rollers (Nishio, Fig. 4) at a position shifted downward with respect to the outer rollers (Nishio, Fig. 4) (Nishio, Col. 5, line 34-Col. 6, line 8, the inner roller 62 is pivoted downward with respect to the outer rollers 63).
Conclusion
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731