DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Snider et al. (US 2011/023919, hereafter Snider).
With regards to claim 1 and 7, Snider discloses a coupling device (300) for coupling between a top drive (330) and a driven component (para 53), said coupling comprising :a. a first coupling end (320) for connection to an output shaft (312) of the top drive to receive rotational forces from the top drive; b. a second coupling end (304) for connection to a driven shaft of the driven component to transmit rotational forces to the driven component; and c. a clutch mechanism (310) between the first and second coupling ends, said clutch mechanism being incrementally engageable to decrease an amount of torque and rotational speed transmitted from the top drive to the driven component, and incrementally disengageable to allow an increasing amount of torque and rotational speed to be transmitted from the top drive to the driven component (para 53).
With regards to claim 2 and 8, Snider discloses the clutch is a fluid clutch or a mechanical clutch (Fig. 18; para 53).
With regards to claim 3 and 9, Snider discloses the coupling device serves to maintain a primary axial load path at all times between the driven component and the top drive, to ensure that the axial load of the driven component and all elements connected thereto is supported by the top drive (para 17, 55).
With regards to claim 4 and 10, Snider discloses a free turning bearing (318) within the coupling device to accommodate rotation while simultaneously maintaining the primary axial load path.
With regards to claim 5 and 11, Snider discloses the coupling device and its clutch are remotely controllable (para 35; remote control devices are commercially available).
With regards to claim 6 and 12, Snider discloses remote control of the coupling device is conducted by wireless signal from an operator monitoring driven component operation to the coupling device (para 35; wireless remote control devices are commercially available).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited all show similar features to those of the claimed invention.
/DANIEL P STEPHENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676