DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following:
Per the MPEP guidelines and 37 CFR 1.84(u), a standalone single view should not be labeled as "FIG. 1" or given any other number.
The line quality of figure 1, when zoomed in, illustrate an inconsistent line quality. 37 CFR 1.84(l) states: “All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined”. The drawings should be viewed in the USPTO’s patent center in order to see this problem.
Figure 1 has poor line quality and thus do not meet the requirements of 37 CFR 1.84(l). The drawings should be viewed in the USPTO’s patent center in order to see this problem. The drawings likely contain grayscale elements which causes image degradation in the USPTO electronic filing system. The drawings must be entirely bi-tonal, containing only black or white color values.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it seems to be incomplete. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Amendments needed for removal of “FIG. 1” --— see objected to drawing herein.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities and should likely read as follows: “[...] i. a connection point at a lower end thereof for connection to an elevator for connecting to the casing joint to be made up; and...”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities and should likely read as follows: “The tool of claim 1, wherein the link arms are removable from the bails and replaceable...”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lutgring et al. (US Publication Number 2017/0370165 A1; hereinafter “Lutgring”).
In regard to claim 1, Lutgring discloses: A tool for hoisting and aligning a segment of casing joint to be suspended from a topdrive (110), for making up with a casing string in a wellbore (100 — figure 2 and abstract), said tool comprising:
a. a pair of link arms (130), each link arm being rigidly connectable to a bail (200 connected to 130 at two points of contact — see above and below figure 2) of a top drive, each link arm comprising:
i. a connection point at a lower end (at 222 connecting to elevator 240 — figure 2) thereof for connection to an elevator (240) for connecting to the casing joint (162) to be made up (figure 6); and
ii. a dynamic extension and retraction mechanism for raising and lowering the lower end of the link arm, to thus raise and lower the casing joint (paragraph [0036]).
In regard to claim 2, Lutgring further discloses: wherein the dynamic extension and retraction mechanism of the link arms is that they are telescopic (paragraph [0036]).
In regard to claim 3, Lutgring further discloses: wherein the connection point at the lower end of each link arm is configured with a profile to connect to a mating profile on the elevator (paragraph [0031]).
In regard to claim 4, Lutgring further discloses: wherein the pair of link arms rigidly connected to the bails are actuatable outwardly (i.e., via tilt and pivot) by tilt links connected between the top drive and the bail arms, to pick up the casing joint via the elevator and are actuatable back in line with the top drive and the casing string (paragraph [0027]).
In regard to claim 5, Lutgring further discloses: wherein retraction of the link arms serves to raise the casing joint into engagement with a casing make up tool that is rotatably connected below the top drive (paragraph [0027]).
In regard to claim 6, Lutgring further discloses: wherein the casing make up tool is a casing running tool (CRT) (paragraph [0028]).
In regard to claim 7, Lutgring further discloses: wherein the CRT can engage an inside diameter of the casing joint or an outside diameter of the casing joint (e.g., 160 positioned in 240, as shown in figure 9 | see paragraph [0028]).
In regard to claim 8, Lutgring further discloses: wherein raising the casing joint into engagement with the CRT serves to maintain the casing joint in vertical alignment with the CRT by the force of gravity (e.g., weight support in paragraph [0042]).
In regard to claim 9, Lutgring further discloses: wherein the link arms are removable from the bails and replaceable (e.g., via “removable bail clamps” — paragraph [0033]).
In regard to claim 10, Lutgring further discloses: wherein each of the link arms is length adjustable to set an initial distance between the CRT, the casing joint and the casing string and to accommodate any leveling discrepancies at the rig or at the rig floor (paragraphs [0033-0034]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references in the PTO-892 relate to pipe handling apparatuses.
/NEEL GIRISH PATEL/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676