DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heard 1,876,415.
In regard to claim 1, Heard discloses an auxiliary sealing system (18) for flanged connections comprising an annular element (18) to be applied to the flanges (25) of said connection and characterized in that said annular element (18) is in the form of a one-piece element (see fig. 5) which is circumferentially closed on itself and has opposing seats (opposite interior ends of 18) for at least partially receiving said flanges (25) so as to circumferentially circumscribe the corresponding flange (25) when it is received in the corresponding seat, each seat being provided with sealing connection means (22) with the corresponding flange (25) so as to define between said flanges (25) and said annular element (18) a circumscribed sealed environment.
In regard to claim 2, wherein said seats (opposite interior ends of 18) are coaxial and extend axially in the annular element (18).
In regard to claim 3, wherein the sealing (22) between each seat and the corresponding flange (25) is circumferential and is applied between the mutually overlapping portions between seats (opposite interior ends of 18) and flanges (25).
In regard to claim 4, wherein said annular element (18) has, in a position between the seats (opposite interior ends of 18) of the flanges (25), an annular projection (21) which projects radially towards the interior of the annular element (14).
In regard to claim 5, wherein said annular projection (21) has such an axial thickness (t1) substantially as to compensate for any gaskets (28) interposed between the flanges (25).
In regard to claim 6, wherein said annular projection (21) has such a radial thickness (t2) as to be interposed between the flanges (25) when the joint is assembled and clamped (see fig. 2).
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dunegan 4,457,517.
In regard to claim 1, Dunegan discloses an auxiliary sealing system (10) for flanged connections comprising an annular element (14) to be applied to the flanges (68, 69) of said connection and characterized in that said annular element (14) is in the form of a one-piece element (see fig. 1) which is circumferentially closed on itself and has opposing seats (16,18) for at least partially receiving said flanges (68, 69) so as to circumferentially circumscribe the corresponding flange when it is received in the corresponding seat, each seat being provided with sealing connection means (24) with the corresponding flange so as to define between said flanges (68, 69) and said annular element (14) a circumscribed sealed environment.
In regard to claim 2, wherein said seats (16,18) are coaxial and extend axially in the annular element (14).
In regard to claim 3, wherein the sealing (24) between each seat and the corresponding flange (68, 69) is circumferential and is applied between the mutually overlapping portions between seats (16, 18) and flanges (68, 69).
In regard to claim 4, wherein said annular element (14) has, in a position between the seats (16, 18) of the flanges (68, 69), an annular projection (21) which projects radially towards the interior of the annular element (14).
In regard to claim 5, wherein said annular projection (21) has such an axial thickness (t1) substantially as to compensate for any gaskets 70 interposed between the flanges (68, 69).
In regard to claim 6, wherein said annular projection (20) has such a radial thickness (t2) as to be interposed between the flanges (68, 69) when the joint is assembled and clamped (see fig. 3).
In regard to claim 7, wherein in said annular element (14) there is formed at least one intercommunication passage (45) between said sealed circumscribed environment and the external environment.
In regard to claim 8, wherein said passage (46) can be intercepted.
In regard to claim 9, wherein said passage (46) constitutes a housing (49) (“for transducers” is considered an intended use limitation that carries little patentable weight in an apparatus claim. Housing 60 is capable of housing a transducer and is therefore deemed to anticipate the intended use limitation of the claim).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunegan 4,457,517 in view of DE 3,509,775.
In regard to claims 10-11, Dunegan discloses a flange sealing system as described above,
with an annular element 14, for providing a seal to the exterior of the flange joint, where the flanges are connected by axially extending bolts 72 and nuts 74, but Dunegan does not disclose providing the nuts and bolts with a sealed blind nut. DE ‘775 teaches that providing a similar type of flanged connection 3, 4 that includes an annular sealing system 8 with sealed blind nuts 10, in order to improve upon the sealing properties of the sealing system, is common and well known in the art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the nuts and bolts of Dunegan with a sealed blind nut end cap 10, as taught by DE ‘775.
In regard to claim 12, wherein the sealing means between the nuts and the flanges comprise gaskets (11) interposed between a base of each nut (10) and the respective flange (3,4) (see fig. 3 of DE ‘775).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Young, Smith, Adams, Totman, Chaplin, Harrison, Summerell, Hunt, Bamford and Aurich disclose similar systems that are common and well known in the art.
/DAVID BOCHNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679