DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the lock engaging a structure of the storage as claimed in claim 1 and the other lock as claimed in claim 7, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 4, change “a portion of a storage box” to -a portion of the storage box- since the limitation is already presented in line 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 requires the following:
At the instant, the limitation is indefinite.
First, there is no antecedent of basis for the “second side” claimed or a first side. Second, it is unclear what is this “user side” claimed. It appears that the intention is to claim that the “user side” is an outer side, so that the user can access the lock claimed.
Therefore, in order to continue with the examination, the limitation will be interpreted as an outer side. Correction is required.
Claim 6 requires the following:
At the instant, it is unclear if this plurality of passages is the same or different as the one already in claim 1.
Therefore, in order to continue with the examination, the claim will be interpreted as the at least one passage (claim 1) comprises a plurality of passages. Correction is required.
Claim 7 requires the following:
At the instant, it is unclear how the invention works as claimed.
Claim 1 requires that a rotational locking bar. As shown in the drawings, the only species that has a rotational locking bar is shown in figs 1-8, showing arm 112 configured to rotate. As to figs 9-16, it is unclear how bar 212 is configured to rotate, since it defines top and bottom flanges 216 (fig 9). That species appears to require a sliding motion of the bar 212. And, as shown in fig 10, that species has two locks. Therefore, the limitations of claim 7 can be related to the invention of claim 1.
Therefore, in order to continue with the examination, a very broad interpretation will be given. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 11,964,632 to Rutman in view of US Pat No 2,748,973 to Rockola.
Regarding claim 1, Rutman discloses a mounting plate for a storage box (34). The mounting plate comprises a rigid plate (30) having a front face having a surface, a back face opposite the front face, and at least one passage (42) through the front face to the back face, the passage shaped and configured to receive a portion (46) of a storage box; and a lock (110) for temporarily locking the storage box to the rigid plate.
Rutman fails to disclose that the lock comprises (a) a key mechanism accessible from an outer side; and (b) a rotatable locking bar positioned on the second side, the rotatable locking bar having a flange, the rotatable locking bar further responsive to an activation of the key mechanism, whereby the flange is configured to engage the storage box when the lock is in a locked configuration.
Rutman discloses a different type of lock that in combination with the passage, are shaped and configured to affix the storage box substantially adjacent the front face of the rigid plate when the lock is in the locked configuration (fig 5).
Rockola teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a lock (44) for securing a member to a mounting plate, wherein the lock is a key lock that comprises a locking bar (45) and an arm that will engage a surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lock described by Rutman as a key lock, as taught by Rockola, in order to prevent any undesired removal unless the user has the key.
As to claim 2, Rockola illustrates that the locking bar and flange are capable of being substantially made of a metallic material.
As to claim 3, Rutman illustrates that the rigid plate is capable of being substantially made of a metallic material.
As to claim 4, Rutman discloses that the recess is shaped and configured to receive a protrusion on a storage box.
As to claim 5, Rutman discloses that the recess comprises a ledge (98R) shaped and configured to engage a lower portion of the protrusion on the storage box.
As to claim 6, Rutman discloses that the at least one passage comprises a plurality of passages for receiving a plurality of protrusions on the storage box.
As to claim 8, Rockola teaches that the arm of the lock is configured to engage a flange surface in the member to be locked.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 11,964,632 to Rutman in view of US Pat No 2,748,973 to Rockola and further in view of US Pat No 5,588,631 to Yee.
Rutman, as modified by Rockola, fails to disclose an additional lock operable independently of one another.
Yee teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a mounting device (20) with two locks (56a, 56b) operable independently of one another to lock/unlock a locking bar (31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the plate described by Rutman, as modified by Rockola, with an additional lock in order to increase the security of the device.
Applicant is reminded that duplicating the components of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art.
Conclusion
/Carlos Lugo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675
October 6, 2026