DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims recite or require “syringe device containing the otic treatment composition, and an otic delivery injector in communication with the syringe device and insertable into a middle ear of the subject”. The only disclosure of an injector in the disclosure is a dual syringe, yet the claims recite the injector be a component that “communicates” with a syringe device (see specification page 74 lines 1-2). The injector is currently claimed as having a 23G size, but the disclosure details needles, not injectors, with this size (see specification page 58 lines 30-31 and page 73 lines 1-2). As a result, the disclosure does not clearly contemplate the instantly claimed product with the components and currently recites. Thus, the artisan of ordinary skill would not have deemed the applicant to be in possession of the invention as currently claimed at the time of filing.
Claim 1 recites a crosslinking polymer composition as a component of a recited otic treatment composition. Specifically, it states “the otic treatment composition has a gelation time of about 2 minutes to about 8 minutes at a pH of about 5.5 to about 6.0… the otic treatment composition is configured to transition to a gel substance that adheres to the round window membrane of the cochlea for an otic residence time of at least 5 days, the otic treatment composition comprising: about 6% to about 8% by weight of an anti-inflammatory agent and a cross-linking polymer composition including: (i) a modified polyethylene glycol (PEG) polymer in an amount of about 5% to about 15% by weight of the polymer composition, (ii) a crosslinker in an amount of about 0.05% to about 0.6% by weight of the polymer composition so as to provide a gel formation reaction with said modified polyethylene glycol (PEG) polymer, (iii) sodium phosphate in an amount of about 0.01% to about 3.0% of the polymer composition, (iv) water, and (v) a colored dye visible relative to the cochlea, wherein the anti-inflammatory agent is present in the otic treatment composition in an amount sufficient to provide sustained release of the anti-inflammatory agent through the round window membrane into the cochlea of the subject”. A dependent claim later recites that the crosslinking polymer composition is further defined such that the modified PEG polymer is pentaerythritol poly(ethylene glycol) ether tetrasuccinimidyl glutarate and the crosslinker as trilysine.
A number of aspects of the cross-linking polymer composition affect gelation. The identity and relative amounts of functional groups on the modified PEG polymer and crosslinker have an impact on the gelation time. The modified PEG polymer and crosslinker concentrations, reaction mixture pH and reaction mixture temperature also influence the gelation time. All of these are parameters that must be selected for each embodiment and, in combination, result in various gelation times. In addition, the scope of the physical changes that indicates that gelation has occurred is broad. A variety of different possible, non-limiting, metrics of gelation are mentioned in the instant specification, such as coating of a rotating magnetic stir bar and retention of a magnetic stir bar in a sample in the presence of an externally applied magnetic field (see instant example 14). Jarrett et al. (previously cited) discuss gelation as when a cross-linking polymer composition applied to a surface shows substantially no flow when the surface is tilted at an angle of about 60 degrees which is also a broad definition (see paragraph 91). Thus the assignment of a threshold of physical change that indicates gelation also affects gelation.
The applicant cites US Patent 7,332,566 (see IDS) by Pathak et al. as teaching envisioned reaction systems (see specification page 52 lines 25-27). They discuss the utility of amine-N-hydroxysuccinimide (NHS) chemistry as well as the need for more than two functional groups per polymer molecule in order for a gel to form (US Patent 7,332,566 column 9 line 37-column 10 line 16, column 11 lines 33-60, column 20 line 56-column 21 line 2, column 22 line 18-column 23 line 59, tables 1-2). They note the amine-NHS chemistry as useful for in situ reactions on live tissue due to its gelation rate that occurs within 10 minutes. They also comment on the pH sensitivity of the reaction, where a reaction pH range between 5 and 12 is preferred and elevated pH increases the rate of reaction. Their example employing trilysine as a crosslinker with a modified PEG polymer, employs a tetra-NHS containing four armed polymer as the modified PEG polymer. The polymer composition, at an unspecified pH between 4 and 9.5, provided trilysine at 0.9 wt% and the polymer at 19 wt% in water, where gelation occurred within 4 seconds which is a duration outside the functional requirements of the instant composition (see examples 11-12 and figure 12 sample “tri-lysine”).
The instant specification provides a PEG-trilysine system with a modified PEG polymer and trilysine at undisclosed concentrations in water (see example 1). As the pH of the reaction solution is lowered from 9.9 to 8.4 and the trilysine concentration is lowered, the gelatin time increases from 3 seconds to about 62 seconds at room temperature. Further, lowering of the trilysine concentration and including dexamethasone at 2 to 12 wt% produced a gelation time of 55 seconds at pH 8.4 (see example 3). Here, the instantly claimed components are present, but the instantly claimed proportions, pH, and gelation time are not met, nor can they be extrapolated from the examples. Instant example 11 again combines undisclosed concentrations of a modified PEG polymer and trilysine, where a buffer with a desired pH is added to achieve a final composition pH that varied from 6.78 to 7.44 and attained gelation times that ranged from 11 to 3 minutes, respectively. Instant claim 1 recites the composition to have a pH of about 5.5 to about 6 and a gelatin time of about 2 to about 8 minutes. Instant example 11 provides the closest teaching of a composition with the required functionality, yet the function is only embraced by the approximate nature of the upper end of the recited pH range. This composition does not include dexamethasone, dye, the concentrations of trilysine and the generically described modified PEG polymer, or the identity of the modified PEG polymer. Instant example 1 mentions a commercial product from Covidien as the source of PEG ester as a modified PEG polymer and trilysine as a crosslinker employed in the examples; however, the product employed is not clearly identified. The applicant provided product insert for DuraSeal® from Covidien that also employs a PEG-ester and trilysine in a reactive system disclosed its PEG ester concentration in the composition to be 3.87 wt% with a 0.211 wt% trilysine concentration (see DuraSeal, “Dual Sealant System tender Package – page 13 - see IDS). Thus, even if the DuraSeal® proportions were employed, the modified PEG polymer concentration would only be on the periphery of the claim scope. In addition, the instant specification appears to distinguish room temperature, as was the environment in the example, from body temperature that is disclosed as including “about 37⁰C”. Dependent claims recite the gelation time of the composition at “about 37⁰C” to be about 2 to about 8 minutes and to be about 5 to about 8 minutes at “about 20⁰C” which is disclosed as being embraced by “room temperature” (see page 34 lines 8-11). This is another instance of this closest example not fully meeting the situational functional requirements of instant claims. Thus, it is not evident to what degree the example(s) illustrates the behavior of the required composition and reaction conditions.
Trollsas et al. (US PGPub No. 2002/0042473) illustrate a modified PEG polymer and crosslinker that provide reactive succinimidyl and amine groups, respectively. A shift in pH of reaction mixture with 2.5 wt% of both modified PEG polymer and crosslinker from 6.9 to 7.2 lowers gelation time from 10-15 minutes to less than 5 minutes at 45⁰C (see table 5). An increase in temperature of a reaction mixture with 2.5 wt% of both modified PEG polymer and crosslinker at a pH of about 6.6 from 37⁰C to between 40⁰C and 50⁰C lowers the gelation time from 20-25 minutes down to about 5 minutes (see example 5). An increase in pH and component concentration both resulted in reduced gelation time ranging from 5 second to more than 90 minutes (see example 6). Their embodiment that is clearly within the instant claim scope for pH and gelation time with a pH of 6 and gelation time between 2 and 8 minutes had proportions of the crosslinker and modified PEG of 20 wt%. More peripheral pH and gelation times of pH 7 and 6 minute gelation times occurred in compositions with modified PEG polymer at 5 wt% or 10 wt% had crosslinker proportions outside the claim scope that were also at 5 wt% and 10 wt% (see example 6). Thus the prior art does not suggest that the details of the claimed composition parameter value/choice combination that are absent from the instant disclosure were implicit or conventional.
There is no discussion provided by the disclosure aligning structural features of a composition in regard to the identity of the modified PEG polymer and corresponding crosslinker, that when included in the composition at the recited concentrations and recited pH, is illustrative of compositions that meet the claimed situational gelation time constraints. In the context of the more specifically recited crosslinker and/or functional polymer of instant claims 12-13, there is no disclosed connection between this modified PEG polymer and crosslinker with the currently claimed composition’s situational functionality.
The disclosure does not provide an example of the claimed cross-linking polymer composition where the modified PEG polymer and crosslinker are identified and present at claimed proportions The modified PEG polymer, instantly claimed, can have any number of any type of functional groups that are reactive with functional groups in the instantly claimed crosslinker. As a result, there is an inadequate structure-function correlation for the claimed method, and the artisan of ordinary skill would not have deemed the applicant to be in possession of the invention as currently claimed at the time of filing.
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims recite or require a “syringe device containing the otic treatment composition, and an otic delivery injector in communication with the syringe device and insertable into a middle ear of the subject”. The scope of the injector is unclear, given that the only discussion of an injector in the disclosure is a dual syringe, yet the claims recite the injector be a component that “communicates” with a syringe device. The injector is currently claimed as having a 23G size, but the disclosure details needles, not injectors, with this size. Thus the identity/scope of an injector according to the invention is unclear. For the sake of application of prior art, a needle or cannula with the recited gauge will be deemed sufficient to meet the claim limitations for an injector. Clarification is still required.
Claims not explicitly elaborated upon are also indefinite, because they depend from an indefinite claim and do not add clarity.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “the otic treatment composition has a gelation time of about 2 minutes to about 8 minutes at a pH of about 5.5 to about 6.0 and exhibits a mucoadhesion characteristic such that the otic treatment composition is configured to transition to a gel substance that adheres to the round window membrane of the cochlea for an otic residence time of at least 5 days, the otic treatment composition comprising: about 6% to about 8% by weight of an anti-inflammatory agent and a cross-linking polymer composition including: (i) a modified polyethylene glycol (PEG) polymer in an amount of about 5% to about 15% by weight of the polymer composition, (ii) a crosslinker in an amount of about 0.05% to about 0.6% by weight of the polymer composition so as to provide a gel formation reaction with said modified polyethylene glycol (PEG) polymer, (iii) sodium phosphate in an amount of about 0.01% to about 3.0% of the polymer composition, (iv) water, and (v) a colored dye visible relative to the cochlea
The claim recites an otic treatment composition with open language, where a cross-linking polymer composition is one of its constituents
The cross-linking polymer composition is recited with open language
At pH about 5.5 to about 6, the otic treatment composition has a gelation time within about 2 to about 8 minutes, but the claim does not state that the otic treatment composition has a pH within this range
Since the otic treatment composition includes at least one component in addition to the cross-linking polymer composition, the functional properties (e.g., gelation duration), components (e.g., added drug), and component proportions of the otic treatment composition are broader in scope than the cross-linking polymer composition.
Claim 5 further limits claim 1 and recites “the cross-linking polymer composition consists of: (i) the modified PEG polymer in an amount of about 5% to about 15% by weight of the polymer composition, (ii) the crosslinker in an amount of about 0.05% to about 0.6% by weight of the polymer composition, (iii) the sodium phosphate in an amount of about 0.01% to about 3.0% of the polymer composition, (iv) water, and (v) the colored dye visible relative to the cochlea”
The claim requires an otic treatment composition recited with open language, where the cross-linking polymer composition is one of its constituents
The cross-linking polymer composition is recited with closed language.
Since the otic treatment composition includes at least one component in addition to the cross-linking polymer composition, the functional properties (e.g., gelation duration), components (e.g., added drug), and component proportions of the otic treatment composition are broader in scope than the cross-linking polymer composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-11, 14-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarett et al. (previously cited) in view of Lichter et al. (US PGPub No. 2010/0009952 – previously cited ) as evidence by Trollsas et al. and Alter et al. (US Patent No. 5,753,094).
Jarrett et al. teach an extended release drug delivery hydrogel composition that gels in situ (at target location and at body temperature) (see abstract; instant claim 1). While envisioned for the eye, other deposition sites are also envisioned and include a space or lumen inside a human (see abstract and paragraph 55). They detail administration to a desired locale via a syringe that may be muti-barreled in design through a (in communication with) a needle to cannula (see paragraph 54; instant claim 1). The hydrogel includes the drug in particle form to facilitate longer term controlled release (see paragraph 25-26). A colored dye may be included for visualization without a machine aid (see paragraph 108; instant claims 1 and 5). Additionally, the polymer constituent materials are biocompatible and biodegradable in a manner that is controlled via modification to the number of degradable portions such that a desired persistence duration is achieved (see paragraphs 4 and 109-113). They detail the gel lasting days to months via control of degradation rate as well as the gel persisting past the duration of drug release (see paragraphs 58-59 and 110). Jarrett et al. also teach that gelation occurs within 0.1 to 30 minutes (see paragraph 91; instant claims 1 and 10-11). Reaction chemistries that pair amine functional groups on one set of hydrogel precursor molecules with NHS groups on another set of hydrogel precursor molecules are taught as advantageous due to the gelation rate being controlled via pH or concentration (see paragraph 98). Jarrett et al. generally teach that the reacting components of the gel are sensitive to pH such that reaction rates increase with pH beyond low levels, such as 4 to 7 (see paragraph 98; instant claim 1). Various buffers to utilize toward this end of raising/controlling the pH are envisioned to include phosphate buffer which has a pH of 5 to 7.5, borate buffer which has a pH of 9 to 12, or triethanolamine buffer which has a pH of 7.5 to 9 (see paragraph 98). They additionally disclose that the elasticity of the polymer is increased with increasing polyethylene glycol chain units and point to molecular weight ranges of 2000 to 100,000 to reach this end which implies that the exemplified polymer has a degree of elasticity (see paragraph 90; instant claims 1 and 14). Jarret et al. further exemplify the amine-succinimidyl in situ gelation reaction in a subject to occur over 2 to 5 minutes in a 6.8 pH aqueous mixture of the reactive gel components (see example 3, as calculated by the examiner assuming a density of 1 g/ml for part A; instant claim 1). Example 10 details an embodiment composed of water, 9 wt% 4-arm 20,000 molecular weight polyethylene glycol succinimidyl glutarate (modified PEG polymer), 0.21 wt% trilysine, and a steroid active at about 2 wt% (see example 10; instant claim 1). These components are initially mixed into a liquid form at pH 4.5 in 1 mg/ml (0.1 wt%) sodium phosphate dibasic to prevent reaction between the reactive terminal NHS groups of the polyethylene glycol chains and the amine groups of the trilysine and then combined with sodium pentaborate to raise the pH and speed reaction (see paragraph 98; instant claim 1). In addition to the steroid active compounds listed in example 10, Jarrett et al. teach and exemplify dexamethasone in examples 2 and 3 as an additional steroid active for inclusion in their gel compositions (see paragraph 117 and examples 2-3). The concentrations employed for dexamethasone are 10 wt% and 20 wt% for examples 3 and 2, respectively. In addition, Jarrett et al. assess the release kinetics of a drug from the gel in pH 6.3 buffer and illustrate gel persistence over more than 14 days and release exceeding 5 days (see paragraphs 33-34 and figures 11A and 12A; instant claims 1 and 8). Jarrett et al. do not explicitly discuss the utility of the composition in an otic locale.
Lichter et al. teach various diseases of the ear by local administration of a controlled hydrogel that contains and releases dexamethasone over at least 5 days (see abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 11, 30, 54, and 64 and examples 28 and 31; instant claims 1 and 8). Dexamethasone is present at 0.1 to 10 wt%, where a concentration of 4.5 wt% (about 6 wt%) is exemplified (see paragraph 383 and claim 1; instant claims 1 and 9). The hydrogel material is envisioned as transitioning from liquid to gel such that it is applied in liquid form and transitions to gel at the target site (see paragraphs 213-216; instant claim 1). Lichter et al. further envision the inclusion of mucoadhesive components that will adhere to the round window membrane of the cochlea (see paragraphs 234-235; instant claim 14). A colored dye may be included to aid in visualization at proportions envisioned to range from 0.15 to 1 wt% of the otic composition (see paragraph 206; instant claim 1). Further, buffering agents are taught that include sodium phosphate which can yield a pH of 6 to 9 (see paragraph 267). Lichter et al. go on to discuss the tonicity of the composition, noting the desire to be isotonic to endolymph or perilymph (see paragraph 195; instant claim 19). They also discuss the endolymph and perilymph to have different osmolalities of about 304 mOsm/kg and about 294 mOsm/kg, respectively, where the osmolality of the composition may then range from about 280 mOsm/kg to about 320 mOsm/kg (see paragraph 194; instant claims 15 and 18). They teach application of the composition to the round window membrane of the cochlea via intratympanic injection or surgical routes for direct access (see paragraphs 272-273; instant claim 1 and 3-4). The administration devices of Lichter et al. include syringes and they envision administered volumes of 50 ml as well as volumes up to 90 ml (paragraphs 209, 381, and 383 and example 22; instant claim 1). Lichter et al. teach intratympanic injection via a syringe and needle which is inserted through the tympanic membrane (see paragraphs 143 and 272; instant claim 3). They additionally teach the application of treatment composition during surgical procedures such as mastoidectomy (see paragraph 277; instant claim 4).
It would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to prepare a modified version of the exemplified composition of Jarrett et al. for application to the round window membrane of the cochlea via a needle and syringe able to dispense the volumes detailed by Lichter et al., where dexamethasone is included in particle form in their hydrogel. This composition choice would have been obvious in light of Lichter et al. who detail the recognized benefit of sustained release hydrogels to provide dexamethasone to the ear and the contemplation of Jarrett et al. of the composition to deliver dexamethasone and to be applied to a space or lumen inside a human. The choice of administration device is obvious in light of both Lichter et al. and Jarret et al., who teach a syringe and needle pairing for administration of the gelling composition to this and other confined locales. Jarrett et al. exemplify a composition consisting of a two part mixture where part 1 consists of water, 4-arm 20,000 molecular weight polyethylene glycol succinimidyl glutarate (4PEG-SG; modified PEG polymer), trilysine (crosslinker), a steroid active and sodium phosphate monobasic that gives a pH of 4.5 and part 2 consists of water and sodium tetraborate which gives a basic pH of about 10 (see Alter et al. column 4 lines 43-45). When combined, the result is an otic treatment composition comprising 2 wt% steroidal compound, sodium tetraborate and a cross-linking polymer composition that consists of water and 9 wt% modified PEG polymer/4PEG-SG, 0.21 wt% crosslinker trilysine, as well as about 0.05 wt% sodium phosphate monobasic, based on the weight of the otic composition. The exemplified concentrations for the envisioned steroidal compounds in examples 2-3 and 10 of Jarrett et al. generate a range of 2 to 20 wt% in the composition while Lichter et al. detail a range of 0.1 to 10 wt% and a 4.5 wt% (about 6 wt%) example for dexamethasone in otic conditions. As applied to the dexamethasone loading, these ranges and proportions meet or embrace the instantly claimed limitation for the dexamethasone proportion, thereby rendering the claimed range obvious. “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed.Cir. 1990)” (see MPEP 2144.05; instant claims 7, 9, 18, and 22). The inclusion of a colored dye at 0.15 to 1 wt% of the otic composition as well as a mucoadhesive component and osmolality adjusting agents to achieve the levels desirable for otic locales also would follow from the teachings of Lichter et al. and Jarett et al. as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement (see instant claim 15). Considering the 4.5 wt% (about 6 wt%) dexamethasone embodiment and dye present at the 0.15 to 1 wt% of the composition taught by Lichter et al., the result is an otic treatment composition comprising 4.5 wt% dexamethasone, sodium tetraborate and a cross-linking polymer composition that consists of, by weight of the cross-linking polymer composition, about 9.4 wt% modified PEG/4PEG-SG, about 0.22 wt% crosslinker trilysine, about 0.052 wt% sodium phosphate monobasic, and water (see instant claim 1 and 5). Additional embodiments within the range of proportions of the modified PEG and crosslinker provided by the examples taught by Jarrett et al. would have been obvious and provide overlapping ranges with the instantly claimed ranges that further render the claimed ranges obvious (see MPEP 2144.05).
In regard to gelation duration functionality at various pH values and temperatures, this is a property of the concentrations of the reaction components and their resulting behavior at the recited pH values and temperatures (see Jarrett et al. paragraph 98 and Trollsas et al. examples 5-6). According to MPEP 2145II, mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention In re Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979). In addition, the fact that an inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Further, Jarett et al. detail ambient temperatures (about 20⁰C) and 37⁰C temperatures for gelation examples (see examples 1 and 10). Since 1) the modified composition gelation times rendered obvious embrace those instantly claimed, 2) the working temperatures of Jarrett et al. meet the instant claim limitations, and 3) the composition has all the claimed components at claimed proportions, the composition would have the instantly claimed pH and temperature dependent gelation time relationship, absent evidence to the contrary (see instant claims 10-11). Therefore claims 1, 3-4, 8-11, 14-15, and 18-19 are obvious over Jarett et al. in view of Lichter et al. as evidenced by Trollsas et al. and Alter et al.
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarett et al. in view of Lichter et al. as evidenced by Trollsas et al. and Alter at al. as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 8-11, 14-15, and 18-19 above, and further in view of Gravett et al. (previously cited).
Jarett et al. in view of Lichter et al. as evidenced by Trollsas et al. and Alter at al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1, 3-4, 8-11, 14-15, and 18-19. These modified teachings of Jarrett et al. render obvious an otic treatment composition comprising 4.5 wt% dexamethasone, sodium tetraborate and a cross-linking polymer composition that consists of, by weight of the cross-linking polymer composition, about 9.4 wt% modified PEG/4PEG-SG, about 0.22 wt% crosslinker trilysine, about 0.052 wt% sodium phosphate monobasic, and water (see instant claims 12-13). Pentaerythritol poly(ethylene glycol) ether tetrasuccinimidyl glutarate is not explicitly taught as the 4 arm polyethylene glycol succinimidyl glutarate of Jarrett et al.
Gravett et al. teach reactive pharmaceutical hydrogels that may deliver drugs (see paragraphs 15-16). The hydrogels are composed of polyfunctional polymers, where 4-arm polyethylene glycol varieties are employed that are made from derivatizing pentaerythritol with polyethylene glycol chains of a desired length and terminated by a reactive functional group (see paragraphs 15-16 and 83). These polymers are pentaerythritol poly(ethylene glycol) ether tetrasuccinimidyl glutarate (see paragraphs 15-16 and 83; instant claims 12-13).
It would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to employ the 4 arm polyethylene glycol succinimidyl glutarate of Jarett et al. in view of Lichter et al. as evidenced by Trollsas et al. and Alter at al. that is structured as pentaerythritol poly(ethylene glycol) ether tetrasuccinimidyl glutarate as taught by Gravett et al. This choice would have been obvious because Gravett al. teach pentaerythritol poly(ethylene glycol) ether tetrasuccinimidyl glutarate was a known particular structure for providing a 4 arm polyethylene glycol succinimidyl glutarate in a reactive pharmaceutical preparation. Therefore claims 1, 3-4, 8-15, and 18-19 are obvious over Jarett et al. in view of Lichter et al. and Gravett et al. as evidenced by Trollsas et al. and Alter at al.
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarett et al. in view of Lichter et al. as evidenced by Trollsas et al. and Alter at al. as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 8-11, 14-15, and 18-19 above, and further in view of Trollsas et al.
Jarett et al. in view of Lichter et al. as evidenced by Trollsas et al. and Alter at al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1, 3-4, 8-11, 14-15, and 18-19. These modified teachings of Jarrett et al. render obvious an otic treatment composition comprising 4.5 wt% dexamethasone, sodium tetraborate and a cross-linking polymer composition that consists of, by weight of the cross-linking polymer composition, about 9.4 wt% modified PEG/4PEG-SG, about 0.22 wt% crosslinker trilysine, about 0.052 wt% sodium phosphate monobasic, and water (see instant claims 12-13). Pentaerythritol poly(ethylene glycol) ether tetrasuccinimidyl glutarate is not explicitly taught as the 4 arm polyethylene glycol succinimidyl glutarate of Jarrett et al.
Trollsas et al teach in situ crosslinking gels for drug delivery (see abstract and paragraph 146). They detail a 4-arm PEG with a terminal succinimidyl group on each arm reacting with a polyamine which employes the amine-succinimidyl (amine-NHS) reaction chemistry also relied upon by Jarrett et al. (see paragraphs 21, 24, and 113-115). Trollsas et al. further teach the 4-arm PEG with a terminal succinimidyl group on each arm as pentaerythritol poly(ethylene glycol) ether tetrasuccinimidyl glutarate (see figure 1 and paragraphs 21 and 114; instant claims 12-13). They exemplify the combination of a solution composed only of such a 4-arm PEG in 6.6 pH 0.2M phosphate buffer with a solution of polylysine in phosphate buffer (PBS) (see paragraph 202). Another example with a tetra succinimidyl functional PEG and tetra amine functional PEG combines the two polymers in water and PBS, noting no other required additions (see paragraphs 202-205). Trollsas et al. also illustrate that the gelation rate of the amine-succinimidyl reactive system increases with concentration of the reactants (see example 6).
It would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to employ the 4 arm polyethylene glycol succinimidyl glutarate of Jarett et al. in view of Lichter et al. as evidenced by Trollsas et al. that is structured as pentaerythritol poly(ethylene glycol) ether tetrasuccinimidyl glutarate as taught by Trollsas et al. The selection of pentaerythritol poly(ethylene glycol) ether tetrasuccinimidyl glutarate, taught by Trollsas et al., for the 4PEG-SG would have been obvious. This choice would have been obvious because Trollsas et al. teach pentaerythritol poly(ethylene glycol) ether tetrasuccinimidyl glutarate was a known particular structure for providing a 4 arm polyethylene glycol succinimidyl glutarate in a similarly structured amine-succinimidyl reactive drug delivery preparation. Therefore claims 1, 3-4, 8-15, and 18-19 are obvious over Jarett et al. in view of Lichter et al. and Trollsas et al. as evidenced by Alter et al.
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarett et al. in view of Lichter et al. and Trollsas et al. and Alter at al. as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 8-15, and 18-19 above, and further in view of Promega® Protocols & Applications Guide “Buffers for Biochemical Reactions” 2012 pages 1-5 (henceforth Promega® reference), and Austin et al. (US Patent No. 5,159,096).
Jarett et al. in view of Lichter et al. and Trollsas et al. and Alter at al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1, 3-4, 8-15, and 18-19, and specifically an otic treatment composition comprising 4.5 wt% dexamethasone, sodium tetraborate and a cross-linking polymer composition that consists of, by weight of the cross-linking polymer composition, about 9.4 wt% modified PEG/4PEG-SG, about 0.22 wt% crosslinker trilysine, about 0.052 wt% sodium phosphate monobasic, and water. The presence of both sodium phosphate monobasic and sodium phosphate dibasic is not exemplified.
The Promega® reference teaches 0.1M phosphate buffer diluted from an 0.2 M stock as a common buffer and lists a pH 6.8 version produced from the three component combination of water, sodium phosphate monobasic, and sodium phosphate dibasic (see page 15-4, especially section C). They also detail combinations of these three ingredients into phosphate buffers that attain a pH level ranging from 5.8 to pH 8 (see page 15-4 section C). Austin et al. detail that sodium phosphate monobasic provides a pH of 4.1 and sodium phosphate dibasic provides a pH of 8.4 (see column 9 lines 21-23).
It would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to control the pH of the composition with sodium phosphate dibasic instead of sodium tetraborate as the basic pH modulator. The modification is obvious as the simple substitution of one known element for another in order to yield a predictable outcome. The exemplified gelation pH of 6.8 of Jarrett et al. that yields gelation within 2 to 5 minutes for their amine-succinimidyl reaction system, indicates a desired zone in which to operate and around which to optimize because these parameters are result effective variables. The teaching of Jarrett et al. of sodium phosphate buffer as an envisioned avenue to attain a desired gelation pH, paired with the illustration by Trollsas et al. of a similar PEG based tetra-arm-tetra amine-succinimidyl reaction system with only water and phosphate buffer controlling pH to nearly the same value, renders the use of a sodium phosphate buffer to generate the gelation pH in the gel composition of Jarrett et al. an obvious choice to the artisan of ordinary skill. Here the Promega® reference demonstrates the conventional nature of adjusting the sodium phosphate salts of phosphate buffer to generate pH values within the 5.8 to 8 range. These values include the exemplified pH values of Trollsas et al. and Jarrett et al. Further, Austin et al. illustrates that the two phosphate salts of the buffer can recapitulate the acid and basic solution pH conditions of example 10 of Jarrett et al. Thus there would have been a reasonable expectation of success for the buffer (pH modifier) substitutions. Since the composition pH, reactant concentration, and gelation time are result effective variables, they are obvious to optimize as a matter of routine experimentation. The resulting ranges for these parameters, including the sodium phosphate monobasic and sodium phosphate dibasic proportions then overlap with those instantly claimed, thereby rendering the claimed ranges obvious. The resulting compositions also provide otic treatment composition embodiments comprising 4.5 wt% dexamethasone and a cross-linking polymer composition that consists of, by weight of the cross-linking polymer composition, about 9.4 wt% modified PEG/4PEG-SG, about 0.22 wt% crosslinker trilysine, about 0.052 wt%, sodium phosphate dibasic, and water. Since the open claim language of the otic treatment composition can absorb any proportion of the sodium phosphate salts that exceed a total of about 3 wt% of the polymer composition instantly claimed, the proportion limitations for this component are also met in this regard. Therefore claims 1, 3-5, 8-15, and 18-19 are obvious over Jarett et al. in view of Lichter et al., Trollsas et al., the Promega® reference, and Austin et al. as evidenced by Alter et al.
Claims 1-4, 8-11, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarett et al. in view of Lichter et al. as evidenced by Trollsas et al. and Alter at al. as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 8-11, 14-15, and 18-19 above, and further in view of Lichter B (WO 2011/049954 – previously cited).
Jarett et al. in view of Lichter et al. as evidenced by Trollsas et al. and Alter at al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1, 3-4, 8-11, 14-15, and 18-19. The gauge of the needle/cannula included with their administration device is not detailed.
Lichter B teach intratympanic administration of a therapeutic dosage form to the round window membrane of the cochlea of the inner ear (see abstract and paragraphs 2 and 39). Here they detail such administration via needle or cannula with a 25 to 31 gauge size (see paragraph 36; instant claims 2-3 and 16-17).
It would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to employ a cannula sized as taught by Lichter B for the cannula in the administration apparatus of Jarett et al. in view of Lichter et al. as evidenced by Trollsas et al. This modification would have been obvious as the simple substitution of one known component for another in order to yield a predictable outcome. The resulting gauge size overlaps in scope with the claimed range, thereby rendering the claimed range obvious (see MPEP 2144.05). The injectability time range of at least 2 minutes is attainable within the routine optimization that is obvious, given the known correlation between composition pH and gelation time. Therefore claims 1-4, 8-11, and 14-19 are obvious over Jarett et al. in view of Lichter et al. and Lichter B as evidenced by Trollsas et al. and Alter at al.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-11, 14-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarett et al. in view of Lichter et al. as evidenced by Trollsas et al. and Alter at al. as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 8-11, 14-15, and 18-19 above, and further in view of Donovan (previously cited).
Jarett et al. in view of Lichter et al. as evidenced by Trollsas et al. and Alter at al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1, 3-4, 8-11, 14-15, and 18-19, where a needle and syringe are provided for intratympanic administration of the gelling composition. The inclusion of an endoscope for visualization is not detailed.
Donavan teaches intratympanic administration of a composition to the inner ear (see paragraph 43). They detail visualizing the tympanic membrane with an endoscope and making an incision through which injection/instillation of the composition can occur (see paragraph 61-62 and 64-68; instant claims 6-7).
It would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to include an endoscope to permit access and visualization of the round window treatment site for intratympanic administration of the composition of Jarett et al. in view of Lichter et al. as evidenced by Trollsas et al. and Alter at al. as a known procedure for facilitating intratympanic administration. Therefore claims 1, 3-4, 6-11, 14-15, and 18-19 are obvious over Jarett et al. in view of Lichter et al. and Donovan as evidenced by Trollsas et al. and Alter at al.
Double Patenting
The following are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 12-18 of copending Application No. 19/459988 (reference application) in view of Lichter et al. and the Promega® reference.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim a system composed of an otic composition, a syringe device, and endoscope. The otic composition comprises dexamethasone, pentaerythritol poly(ethylene glycol) ether tetrasuccinimidyl glutarate, trilysine, dye, and water. The copending claims recite a gelation time for the composition to range from 2 to 8 minutes at about 37⁰C. In addition, the compositions of the copending claims are also mucoadhesive or elastic. The proportions of components, gelation time, and the pH of the compositions meet or overlap in scope. In addition, the osmolality range of the compositions is the same and spans levels that are isotonic or hypertonic to the endolymph or perilymph (see Lichter et al. paragraph 194). The gels have the same residence time when formed in the middle ear. The copending claims also recite the syringe with a cannula that can provide instantly claimed volumes, where the cannula is sized at 23G or smaller, able to facilitate administration during mastoidectomy, and may be facilitated by an endoscope for visualization. The administration volume capabilities of the copending syringe meet the limitations instantly claimed. The presence of sodium phosphate and colored dye are not detailed.
Lichter et al. teach various diseases of the ear by local administration of a controlled hydrogel that contains and releases dexamethasone over at least 5 days (see abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 11, 30, 54, and 64 and examples 28 and 31). The hydrogel material is envisioned as transitioning from liquid to gel such that it is applied in liquid form and transitions to gel at the target site (see paragraphs 213-216). Lichter et al. further envision the inclusion of mucoadhesive components that will adhere to the round window membrane of the cochlea (see paragraphs 234-235). Further, buffering agents are taught that include sodium phosphate which can yield a pH of 6 to 9 (see paragraph 267). When present with dexamethasone, the sodium phosphate based buffer is exemplified in a 10 g gel as 3.1 mg of a sodium phosphate monobasic and 13.8 mg of a sodium phosphate dibasic which total to 0.169 wt% of the gel (see paragraph 304). A colored dye may be included to aid in visualization without a machine aid (see paragraph 206). They teach application of the composition to the round window membrane of the cochlea via intratympanic injection or surgical routes for direct access (see paragraphs 272-273).
The Promega® reference teaches 0.1M phosphate buffer diluted from an 0.2 M stock as a common buffer and lists a pH 6.8 version produced from the three component combination of water, sodium phosphate monobasic, and sodium phosphate dibasic (see page 15-4, especially section C). They also detail combinations of these three ingredients into phosphate buffers that attain a pH level ranging from 5.8 to pH 8 (see page 15-4 section C).
It would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to include a colored dye and sodium phosphate buffer in the composition of the copending claims in light of Lichter et al. In light of the Promega® reference, the selection of sodium phosphate salt concentrations to generate a desired pH in the recited range was known/conventional at the time of invention and would have been obvious to adjust to still achieve individual concentrations near that of Lichter et al. These modifications would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. The overlapping range of proportions for the sodium phosphate recited in the copending claims renders the instantly claimed range obvious (see MPEP 2144.05). Further, the gelation time relative to temperature is linked to the components of the composition. The composition has all the instantly claimed components at instantly claimed proportions; thus the composition would have the instantly claimed gelation time-temperature relationship, absent evidence to the contrary (see instant claims 10-11). According to MPEP 2145II, mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention In re Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979). In addition, the fact that an inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Therefore claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 12-18 of copending Application No. 19/459988 in view of Lichter et al. and the Promega® reference
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 13-18 of copending Application No. 19/463990 (reference application) in view of Lichter et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims recite a system composed of an otic composition, a syringe device, and endoscope. The otic composition comprises dexamethasone, pentaerythritol poly(ethylene glycol) ether tetrasuccinimidyl glutarate, trilysine, sodium phosphate, dye, and water. The copending claims recite a gelation time for the composition to range from 2 to 8 minutes at about 37⁰C. In addition, the compositions of the copending claims is also mucoadhesive or elastic. The proportions of components, gelation time and the pH of the compositions meet or overlap in scope. In addition, the osmolality range of the compositions is the same and spans levels that are isotonic or hypertonic to the endolymph or perilymph (see Lichter et al. paragraph 194). The gels have the same residence time when formed in the middle ear. The copending claims the syringe with a cannula that can provide instantly claimed volumes, where the cannula is sized at 23G or smaller, is able to facilitate administration during mastoidectomy, and may be facilitated by an endoscope for visualization. The administration volume capabilities of the copending syringe meet the limitations instantly claimed. The presence of colored dye is not detailed.
Lichter et al. teach various diseases of the ear by local administration of a controlled hydrogel that contains and releases dexamethasone over at least 5 days (see abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 11, 30, 54, and 64 and examples 28 and 31). The hydrogel material is envisioned as transitioning from liquid to gel such that it is applied in liquid form and transitions to gel at the target site (see paragraphs 213-216). Lichter et al. further envision the inclusion of mucoadhesive components that will adhere to the round window membrane of the cochlea (see paragraphs 234-235). A colored dye may be included to aid in visualization (see paragraph 206). They teach application of the composition to the round window membrane of the cochlea via intratympanic injection or surgical routes for direct access (see paragraphs 272-273).
It would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to include a colored dye in the composition of the copending claims in light of Lichter et al. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. The composition has all the instantly claimed components at instantly claimed proportions; thus the composition would have the instantly claimed gelation time-temperature relationship, absent evidence to the contrary (see instant claims 10-11). According to MPEP 2145II, mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention In re Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979). In addition, the fact that an inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Therefore claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 13-18 of copending Application No. 19/463990 in view of Lichter et al.
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-15, and 18-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/644801 (reference application) in view of Lichter et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims recite a system composed of an otic composition, and a syringe device/injector. The otic composition comprises dexamethasone, pentaerythritol poly(ethylene glycol) ether tetrasuccinimidyl glutarate, trilysine, and water. The copending claims recite the same range of proportions for the pentaerythritol poly(ethylene glycol) ether tetrasuccinimidyl glutarate and trilysine. The presence of colored dye and sodium phosphate is not detailed.
Lichter et al. teach various diseases of the ear by local administration of a controlled hydrogel that contains and releases dexamethasone over at least 5 days (see abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 11, 30, 54, and 64 and examples 28 and 31; instant claims 1 and 8). Dexamethasone is present at 0.1 to 10 wt%, where a concentration of 4.5 wt% (about 6 wt%) is exemplified (see paragraph 383 and claim 1; instant claims 1 and 9). The hydrogel material is envisioned as transitioning from liquid to gel such that it is applied in liquid form and transitions to gel at the target site (see paragraphs 213-216). Lichter et al. further envision the inclusion of mucoadhesive components that will adhere to the round window membrane of the cochlea (see paragraphs 234-235; instant claim 14). A colored dye may be included to aid in visualization at proportions envisioned to range from 0.15 to 1 wt% of the otic composition (see paragraph 206). Further, buffering agents are taught that include sodium phosphate which can yield a pH of 6 to 9 (see paragraph 267). Lichter et al. go on to discuss the tonicity of the composition, noting the desire to be isotonic to endolymph or perilymph (see paragraph 195). They also discuss the endolymph and perilymph to have different osmolalities of about 304 mOsm/kg and about 294 mOsm/kg, respectively, where the osmolality of the composition may then range from about 280 mOsm/kg to about 320 mOsm/kg (see paragraph 194). They teach application of the composition to the round window membrane of the cochlea via intratympanic injection or surgical routes for direct access (see paragraphs 272-273). The administration devices of Lichter et al. include syringes and they envision administered volumes of 50 ml as well as volumes up to 90 ml (paragraphs 209, 381, and 383 and example 22; instant claim 1). Lichter et al. teach intratympanic injection via a syringe and needle which is inserted through the tympanic membrane (see paragraphs 143 and 272; instant claim 3). They additionally teach the application of treatment composition during surgical procedures such as mastoidectomy (see paragraph 277; instant claim 4).
It would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to include a colored dye and sodium phosphate buffer in the composition of the copending claims in light of Lichter et al. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. The composition has all the instantly claimed components at instantly claimed proportions; thus the composition would have the instantly claimed relationship between gelation time and pH or temperature relationship as well as residence time, absent evidence to the contrary (see instant claims 10-11). According to MPEP 2145II, mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention In re Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979). In addition, the fact that an inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). In addition to would also follow to apply the osmolality, tonicity, injection volume administration capabilities, mucoadhesive additives, and dexamethasone concentration that Lichter et al. teach as suitable and desired for otic compositions Therefore claims 1, 3-5, 8-15, and 18-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/644801 in view of Lichter et al.
Claims 1-5 and 8-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/644801 as applied to claims 1, 3-5, 8-15, and 18-19 above, and further in view of Lichter B.
Claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/644801 in view of Lichter et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1, 3-5, 8-15, and 18-19. The gauge of the injector shaft included with their administration device is not detailed.
Lichter B teach intratympanic administration of a therapeutic dosage form to the round window membrane of the cochlea of the inner ear (see abstract and paragraphs 2 and 39). Here they detail such administration via needle or cannula with a 25 to 31 gauge size (see paragraph 36; instant claims 2-3 and 16-17).
It would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to employ an injector shaft size based on the needle/cannula size taught by Lichter B for the administration apparatus of the modified copending claims This modification would have been obvious as the simple substitution of one known component for another in order to yield a predictable outcome. The resulting gauge size overlaps in scope with the claimed range, thereby rendering the claimed range obvious (see MPEP 2144.05). The injectability time range of at least 2 minutes is attainable within the routine optimization that is obvious given the known correlation between composition pH and gelation time. Therefore claims 1-5 and 8-19 are obvious over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/644801 in view of Lichter et al. and Lichter B.
Claims 1, 3-15, and 18-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/644801 as applied to claims 1, 3-5, 8-15, and 18-19 above, and further in view of Donovan
Claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/644801 in view of Lichter et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1, 3-5, 8-15, and 18-19, where an injector shaft and syringe device are provided for intratympanic administration of the gelling composition. The inclusion of an endoscope for visualization is not detailed.
Donavan teaches intratympanic administration of a composition to the inner ear (see paragraph 43). They detail visualizing the tympanic membrane with an endoscope and making an incision through which injection/instillation of the composition can occur (see paragraph 61-62 and 64-68; instant claims 6-7).
It would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to include an endoscope to permit access and visualization of the round window treatment site for intratympanic administration of the composition of the modified copending claims as a known procedure for facilitating intratympanic administration. Therefore claims 1, 3-15, and 18-19 are obvious over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/644801 in view of Lichter et al. and Donovan.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 19, 2026 have been fully considered. In light of the amendment to the claims, the objections and rejection under 35 USC 112(b) are hereby withdrawn. Altered and new grounds of rejection are detailed to address the altered claims scope in light of the amendment. The applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the instant claims are in contrast to the teachings of Jarrett et al. due to the claimed gelation characteristics at pH values of about 5.5 to about 6 and the initial pH of the gelling solution of Jarrett et al. being prepared at pH 4.5. To the contrary, Jarrett et al. teach that the reaction proceeds slower at pH values between 4 and 7 and that higher pH corresponds to a higher reaction. Further, they employ the addition of a basic solution to a gelling composition at pH 4.5 to speed the reaction rate as desired. The ability to controlled gelation rate with pH is one to the key reasons why Jarrett et al. focus on the NHS-amine chemistry for their crosslinking gel composition Further, they name several buffers in which the gelling reaction was envisioned whose collective pH values span from 5 to 12. Thus prior art was clearly aware that gelation of some instantly claimed polymer and crosslinker combinations at claimed proportions occurred at pH values within the range of about 5.5 to about 6.
The applicant additionally argues that there was a lack of comprehension of the connection between gelation time and pH in the art. This argument is contrary to the text of the rejection, previously and currently, which notes/noted this recognition in the prior art. This recognized connection qualifies pH as a result effective variable because its increase results in a decrease in gelation time for the crosslinking gel system of Jarrett et al., and therefore is obvious to optimize as a part of routine experimentation.
The applicant further argues that the artisan of ordinary skill would not have been motivated to maintain a pH of about 5.5 to about 6 while achieving a gelation time of about 2 to about 8 minutes. To be clear, the claims do not require that the composition be maintained at any particular pH, but instead recites gelation capabilities of the recited composition that are based on pH. In addition, the applicant themselves barely achieve the claimed situational functionalities in a few exemplified embodiment which are embraced by the claims due to the breadth of their approximate numerical ranges.
Further, the applicant argues that cited prior art does not teach the claimed dexamethasone loading. To the contrary, the applicant’s remarks appear to overlook the cited teaching of 4.5 wt% dexamethasone detailed by Lichter et al. in paragraph 383 which meets the instant claim limitation of about 6 wt%.
The applicant reiterates the arguments addressed above in regard to the addition of the teachings of Gravett et al. and Donavan et al. to the rejection. The response is similarly reiterated.
The acknowledgement of the double patenting rejections is noted. It is also noted that 37 CFR 1.111 states that “[t]he reply by the applicant or patent owner must be reduced to a writing which distinctly and specifically points out the supposed errors in the examiner’s action and must reply to every ground of objection and rejection in the prior Office action. The reply must present arguments pointing out the specific distinctions believed to render the claims, including any newly presented claims, patentable over any applied references. If the reply is with respect to an application, a request may be made that objections or requirements as to form not necessary to further consideration of the claims be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated.” Double patenting rejections are not objections or requirements of form that may be held in abeyance and warrant a substantive reply.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARALYNNE E HELM/Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/MELISSA S MERCIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615