DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 11 and 15 – 20 are pending. Claims 21 – 30 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed toward a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 10, 13 and 15 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over von Grolman et al. (U. S. Patent No. 5,666,685) in view of Geng (CN 120021850 A).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Von Grolman teaches a cleaning device (hand-held unit, 200; Fig. 11), comprising: an inner bracket (squeegeeing unit, 232), wherein the inner bracket (232) comprises a squeegee head bracket (squeegee head, 225) and a handle bracket (handle, 236), and the squeegee head bracket (225) is fastened to the handle bracket (236); and an outer casing (230; Fig. 12), wherein the outer casing (230) covers the inner bracket (232) and is fastened to an exterior of the inner bracket (232, Fig. 11) wherein the outer casing (230) comprises a squeegee head portion (wiper plate, 238) and a handle portion (handle, 234), the squeegee head portion (238) comprises a squeegee head body (238; Fig. 11) and a squeegee portion (front edge, 240) disposed at a front end of the squeegee head body (Fig. 11), a thickness of the squeegee portion (240) is less than a thickness of the squeegee head body (238; Fig. 11), and the squeegee portion is flexibly deformable (made of plastic; Col. 4 lines 9 -12); and the squeegee head body (238) covers an exterior of the squeegee head bracket (225), and the handle portion (234) covers an exterior of the handle bracket (236; Fig. 11); and a hook-shaped structure (211; Fig. 12) is formed at a tail of the handle portion (234).
Von Grolman does not teach a tail of the hook-shaped structure has an elastically deformable structure; wherein in the hook-shaped structure, a part with a bending curvature exceeding 900 from a tail end of a handle has an elastically deformable structure.
Geng, however, teaches a tail of the hook-shaped structure (2) has an elastically deformable structure (Paragraph [n0034]); wherein in the hook-shaped structure (2), a part with a bending curvature exceeding 90 degrees from a tail end of a handle (3) has an elastically deformable structure (Paragraph [n0035]; Figs. 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Von Grolman to further include a tail of the hook-shaped structure has an elastically deformable structure; wherein in the hook-shaped structure, a part with a bending curvature exceeding 900 from a tail end of a handle has an elastically deformable structure, as taught by Geng, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size/shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 2, Von Grolman, as modified, teaches the cleaning device according to claim 1, as discussed above.
Von Grolman does not explicitly teach the handle bracket is a plastic injection-molded part; and the squeegee head bracket is a metal part; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Von Grolman to further include the handle bracket is a plastic injection-molded part; and the squeegee head bracket is a metal part, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 3, Von Grolman, as modified, teaches the cleaning device (220; Fig. 11) wherein a handle connecting portion (cutout, 202) is formed on the handle bracket (234); a squeegee head connecting portion (stop strip, 252) is formed on the squeegee head bracket (225); and the handle bracket (234) and the squeegee head bracket (225) are fastened via the handle connecting portion (202) and the squeegee head connecting portion (252).
Regarding Claim 4, Von Grolman, as modified, teaches the cleaning device (220; Fig. 11) wherein the handle connecting portion (202) is connected to an exterior of the squeegee head connecting portion (252).
Von Grolman does not teach the connection through injection molding; however, “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted).
Regarding Claim 5, Von Grolman, as modified, teaches the cleaning device (220; Fig. 11) wherein the squeegee head connecting portion (252) has a non-circular structure (Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 6 Von Grolman, as modified, teaches the cleaning device (220; Fig. 11) wherein a surface of the squeegee head connecting portion (252) has a knurled structure (Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 7 Von Grolman, as modified, teaches the cleaning device (220; Fig. 11) wherein the handle bracket has a hollow structure (Col. 2, lines 13 – 16).
Regarding Claim 8, Von Grolman, as modified, teaches the cleaning device according to claim 7, as discussed above.
Von Grolman does not explicitly teach wherein the handle bracket comprises a first plastic bracket and a second plastic bracket, and the first plastic bracket and the second plastic bracket are joined together to form the hollow structure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Von Grolman to further include the handle bracket comprises a first plastic bracket and a second plastic bracket, and the first plastic bracket and the second plastic bracket are joined together to form the hollow structure, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 9, Von Grolman, as modified, teaches the cleaning device according to claim 2, as discussed above.
Von Grolman does not explicitly teach wherein a first bent structure is formed at the tail of the handle bracket.
Geng, however, teaches a first bent structure (2) is formed at the tail of the handle bracket (3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Von Grolman to further include a first bent structure is formed at the tail of the handle bracket, as taught by Geng, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size/shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 10, Von Grolman, as modified, teaches the cleaning device according to claim 9, as discussed above.
Von Grolman does not explicitly teach wherein a bending curvature of the first bent structure is less than 180°.
Geng, however, teaches a bending curvature of the first bent structure is less than 180° (Paragraph [n0035]; Figs. 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Von Grolman to further include a bending curvature of the first bent structure is less than 180°, as taught by Geng, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size/shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 13 Von Grolman, as modified, teaches the cleaning device (220; Fig. 11) wherein a tail of the hook-shaped structure has an elastically deformable structure (handle 230 is made of plastic; Col. 4 lines 9 -12; thus hook shaped structure is elastically deformable).
Regarding Claim 15 Von Grolman, as modified, teaches the cleaning device (220; Fig. 11) wherein an extension bracket (portion extending past 212) is connected to the tail of the handle bracket (236; Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 16, Von Grolman, as modified, teaches the cleaning device according to claim 15, as discussed above.
Von Grolman does not explicitly teach the extension bracket is a flexible bracket; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Von Grolman to further include the extension bracket is a flexible bracket, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 17, Von Grolman, as modified, teaches the cleaning device according to claim 15, as discussed above.
Von Grolman does not explicitly teach the extension bracket is a rigid bracket, and the extension bracket is non-rigidly connected to the handle bracket; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Von Grolman to further include the extension bracket is a rigid bracket, and the extension bracket is non-rigidly connected to the handle bracket, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 18 Von Grolman, as modified, teaches the cleaning device according to claim 1, as discussed above.
Von Grolman does not explicitly teach wherein an adhesive layer is further disposed between the inner bracket and the outer casing, and the adhesive layer is configured to increase a bonding force between the inner bracket and the outer casing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Von Grolman to further include an adhesive layer is further disposed between the inner bracket and the outer casing, and the adhesive layer is configured to increase a bonding force between the inner bracket and the outer casing, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 19 Von Grolman, as modified, teaches the cleaning device according to claim 18, as discussed above.
Von Grolman does not explicitly teach the adhesive layer covers most of a surface area of the inner bracket.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Von Grolman to further include the adhesive layer covers most of a surface area of the inner bracket, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 20 Von Grolman, as modified, teaches the cleaning device (220; Fig. 11) wherein an anti-slip structure (212; Fig. 13) is disposed on the inner bracket, and the anti-slip structure (212) is configured to restrict relative sliding between the inner bracket (232) and the outer casing (230).
Allowable Subject Matter
The indication of allowable subject matter of claims 12 – 14 in the Non-Final rejection dated May 6, 2026 has been reconsidered and amended claim 1 with included claims 12 – 14 are rejected in this office action.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723